Keaau house rental - Awesome Views!
Awesome Views!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
1 or 2 BR Oceanfront Bungalows, Sleeps 2 to 5

Vacation in Paradise! This is the perfect vacation rental for one or two couples or a family traveling together. You can rent the main house only (for 2 or 3 people) or both bungalows for slightly more! This rental is comprised of a one-bedroom/one-bath home with all amenities including a washer/dryer and then there is a detached bedroom that sleeps two with a bath. This back 2nd bedroom was remodeled June 2011 with new tile in the bathroom and fixtures and now has a sitting area to relax. The main house kitchen has new tile counters and backsplash along with the bathroom. Bungalows are not rented separately for our guests privacy. There are ocean views from both bedrooms and the living room. We now have WiFi available at the house for those that need it and free long distance phone service.

The amenities include a barbecue on the lanai or out by the surf with picnic table, and a hammock 20 feet off the ocean -- the ideal spot for an unforgettable dinner. There's also picnic gear for those adventurous excursions. The beautiful property setting includes 32 palm trees, pine trees, banana, plumeria, hibiscus and gardenias. See turtles, whales, and dolphins from the backyard. Hike Kilauea, or fish off of the property. Swim in the hot ponds 15 minutes away,hike to tide pools by the rental or surf where the locals do. Get a massage 20 feet from the ocean on the property, or relax and do nothing!

The Owners: Jeff and Shelley live just a few doors from the rental property for their guests' questions, concerns, or directions to nearby attractions.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 206526 in Keaau, Hawaii

Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Benton City, WA
5

Hawaii Dream No Ka 'Oi!

Hawaii Dream No Ka 'Oi!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
What a great place. It truly is as lovely as it looks on the web site! Private, spacious, quiet, spotlessly clean...it felt like home. Well, home with an outstanding view of the ocean, warm tropical tradewinds and the sound of waves crashing on the rocks lulling you to sleep each night. Shelly and Jeff were readily available to attend to any requests we had. A friend from Oahu joined my husband and I and the additional studio was perfect. A great space for 2 couples or small family. Everything was provided--beach towels, full kitchen, BBQ, stereo, snorkeling equipment, even a fishing pole by request! The hot tub was wonderful. Some of the best snorkeling on Big Island, volcano, Hilo, Black Sand Beach (there's a new one), thermal pools--all a short drive. I especially liked watching the fishermen casting their lighted lures in the moonlight. Don't miss the Sunday farmers' market down the street! I used to live in Hilo and love this side of the island so I'm biased, but we really didn't want to leave this house. Turtle and whale watching is addictive!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joyce and Larry! We love sharing our piece of Paradise and the comments in the guest book in the rental is a clear indication of how much everyone loves the property, especially all our return guests year after year.

Aloha and Mahalo nui loa!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Venice, CA
5

A Stay At Ocean's Edge

A Stay At Ocean's Edge
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house is the perfect place to come for peace, privacy, and natural beauty. Imagine waking up in the morning and walking to the edge of the ocean where there are sheets of lava! The lava is centuries old, and one can see the striations which indicate different layers. It's as fascinating as the roaring waves!
The kitchen will satisfy any cook, as it is unusually well-equipped for a vacation home. The barbecue is beautiful! The entire home is spotless, but user-friendly and comfortable. It's a summer treat to eat out in the lanai, listening to the waves. The extensive vegetation all around the property ensures complete privacy. We did not use the hot tub since the hot, muggy weather we experienced felt as if we were living in one, so cannot comment.
The hosts are fun and friendly, and completely respect one's privacy. They are cooperative and easy to deal with while setting up the rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
5

Perfect Hawaiian getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great location. Close to conveniences and activities but far enough away to feel secluded. It was about a 10 minute drive into Keaau and a 25 minute drive into Hilo. The property was the perfect spot to enjoy a sunrise and walk along the lava cliffs or just lay in the hammock under the coconut trees. The main house was perfect for our family of 4. It was well stocked with everything needed for preparing meals and had lots of books to enjoy. There was also beach gear like boogie boards, mats, coolers and towels that we made great use of. The bed was very comfy. The sofa bed in the living room was fine for our 2 small kids but would probably be a little uncomfortable for adults. Shelley and Jeff provided very easy and convenient directions and lots of information and suggestions on things to do in the area. The entire process from initial email contact to stepping into the door was very smooth. Shelley was very responsive and accommodating. I have stayed at a number of vacation rentals in Hawaii over the years and this one is my new favorite.
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Lincoln, NE
5

A wonderful place to relax and rejuvenate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is a beautiful property! We loved sitting on the lanai watching the sun come up while having coffee and listening to the ocean.

I would encourage anyone planning a visit to the big island to try and book My Hawaii Dream, it truly is a dreamy place to stay. We are in the process of booking a 2nd visit.

Connie
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Exeter,NH---------USA
5

Unforgettable Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We have to say this trip went down as one of our favorite ones we have had in awhile. It is over 2 years later and we still talk about the great times we had at The Hawaii Dream house. (Sorry you two, we had submitted a review but came back and saw it never posted..??) Anyway, the location of the property is just stunning. If you want to be where all of the buzz is then this place is not for you. If you want some privacy and a home with a cool volcano rock path to the ocean about 30 steps away then this is it. Trust us we have stayed in villas 2-3 times a year for the last 15 years in the Caribbean and still this Home is still top on our list. Every morning we would brew a pot of coffee and walk down to the ocean and watch the sun rise (not tough to do since we are on East Coast time). We LOVED... the BBQ, hammock, whales gong by, green sand beach, going to the volcano park, going to downtown Hilo with it's GREAT outdoor market, seeing the sea turtles, eating FRESH tuna (on BBQ), swimming in hot springs, going to my first luau, and so much more. The home even has a hot tub and I said "whatever, It is Hawaii I will not be using it" Well I/we were in it almost every night after coming back from a day of sightseeing.

Truth be known that there were a few small issues(hot tub was not staying hot enough, unusual traffic down road near the home...most likely addressed by now)....However, Jeff and Shelley addressed them right away. They are close by, but you will NEVER see them unless YOU want to talk to them or to ask questions. They totally respect your privacy.

All in all, for the price this small home is a 10. We would not hesitate to return tomorrow if we could.
K. and D. Johnson
Exeter, NH
Owner's Response: We're so glad you have thought of us recently to even think of posting a review 2 years after the fact. Over the years we have many guests return because they love the location, the property and just the atmosphere our little "Dream" has. Keep in mind - returning guests do get discounts on the rental amount. Mahalo for the lovely review and Aloha!
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Kodiak, Alaska
5

This Is A Wonderful Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
If you want to kick back and relax, this is the rental for you! While the area offers a wide variety of activities plus places to see, we spent most of our time at the property enjoying the surroundings....the grounds are gorgeous, the ocean is just a short walk from the lanai (humpback whales and green sea turtles), and the birds keep us company.

The house is very clean and quite comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with almost anything you could want to cook your meals at home. We took great advantage of the nearby farmer's markets for fresh fruits and vegetables.

Shelley and Jeff are ideal hosts; they respond quickly to any questions or concerns. We like this rental so much that we've stayed here two years in a row and have already booked for next year.
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Bow, WA
5

It really is an Hawaiin Dream!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had a fantastic time on the Hilo/Puna side of the Big Island. You are in a remote location on a beautiful Black Lava coast and just enjoying the waves crashing in was fantastic. It is a very comfortable space and you are minutes from restaurants & shops (Pahoa area and some great beach activites - snorkeling (Kohoho Tidal Pools), Boogie Boarding or Surfing (Issac Hale State Park) and 20 minutes from historical Hilo and ~45 minutes from Volcano National Park.

Everything you need for cooking and enjoying the water is here. Enjoy!

Mahalo Shelley and Jeff

Don and Carol
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Texas
5

Super wonderful rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a wonderful two week stay. The extra studio made it perfect for two couples to share and still have privacy. We slept with the sliders open to the breeze every night so we could hear the sounds of the surf. The property has everything you need to be comfortable plus lots of extras to make your stay enjoyable.
The oceanfront picnic table is a great place to watch the sunrise and have your morning coffee.
We couldn't have been more pleased with this property.
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at My Hawaii Dream vacation bungalows. Would love to have you return again in the future - returning guests receive discounts! Aloha and Mahalo nui loa - The Hechts
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Eagle Bend Minnesota
5

Million Dollar View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
The Ocean Front Bungalow is short on what the property is like. The clear blue water slapping the shoreline is so relaxing and the view from most everywhere on the property is toward the ocean. The house was just like the description. We found everything to be in good working order and the one time we had a issue (a small one ) Shelley and Jeff were right there to fix it . They never came to check on things out of the blue, giving us total privacy. As far as things to do, Great snorkling close by, Farmers Markets , hot Ponds, Waterfalls, Gardens, Parades , The Volcano and there was even a Artist Studio show going on in our area. This is the rainy side of the Island yet there was not one day of our 9 day stay that we got wet... This is the first time while on vacation that we stayed around the house and did nothing for 2 dsys and I cant tell you how relaxing it was . Everyone should expereince Paradise and it does'nt get any better than this.... Jeff and Shelley You have a great place thanks for sharing it with us...
Mahalo
Bruce and Tammy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many Mahalos, Bruce and Tammy, for the nice review! We love sharing our bungalow, our piece of paradise, and we try hard in making sure our guests have everything they need for a great vacation. We hope to have you come visit again soon. Aloha, Shelley & Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Oceanfront Value - Beautiful property and Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206526
808 966-8972
Keaau Puna District
Seattle,Wa/Bay Area,Ca
5

The perfect place to relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We arrived hoping the bungalow would be pretty close to what the pictures represented on there web site. Well, the bungalow is so much better than we could have thought.

We called to let Shelley/Jeff know we arrived and asked for some suggestions on where to get a bite to eat and their suggestions were spot on perfect EVERY TIME we asked for any.

We woke up to a hot tub every morning and would make it the last thing we did at night. There is so much privacy you can sun bath and tub without worrying about anyone bothering you. One of the best things we did was to have Mayumi (the masseur) give us massages on the deck next to the tub.

We can't say how much we enjoyed our stay.

ps; if people are saying don't stay on the Hilo side of the island because of the rain then let's keep it a secret. It only rained once at it was a 8pm while we were in the hot tub. We both looked at each other and said "this doesn't suck"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway