Brooklyn apartment rental - XL Bedroom: (2) Queen-size beds; (1) full-size sofa bed; (2) wardrobes; A/C
XL Bedroom: (2) Queen-size beds; (1) full-size sofa bed; (2) wardrobes; A/C
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Live like a Brooklynite in this Sunny Townhome! Working Fireplace + Hi Ceilings!

MACON MANOR, Apt 2:

If this Apartment is not available for your dates, please see our other HomeAway listings:

Apt 1: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3488786

Apt 3: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191274

Apt 4: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354

Yes, you can live like a real Brooklynite in this Sunny Townhome Apartment just 5 express stops from Downtown Manhattan! This bright & cheery Apartment can sleep up to 8 (suggested maximum) or 10 (absolute maximum; we supply queen-size Aerobed air mattresses [extra guest fee of $49 pp pn for each guest over suggested maximum]). Ideal for large families, groups of friends, and individuals / couples who like a lot of space.

It features:

• “The Grand Room” -- An extra large Bedroom with (2) queen-size beds (each sleeps 2) + (1) full-size sofa bed (sleeps 2); (2) wardrobes; A/C; alarm clock to which you can connect an iPod; bookshelf with books & games for kids & adults, as well as guide books to NYC; original art; hardwood floor.

• “The Sunshine Room” -- A lively Living Room with (1) full-size sofa bed (sleeps 2); 3rd wardrobe; (1) large full-length mirror; expandable dining table & chairs for 8; 2nd A/C, working(!) fireplace; 32 in. HDTV with DVD player & DVD library for kids & adults + cable (including premium channels such as HBO / Showtime / Starz on Demand, which allows you to watch any movie or program they offer -- Curb Your Enthusiasm, Game of Thrones, Girls, Sex in the City, The Sopranos, True Blood -- at any time); reading lamp; hardwood floor.

• A fully-equipped Kitchen, with fridge / freezer, gas oven / stove, microwave, blender, coffee grinder & coffee maker, cooking utensils / dishes / silverware; hot & cold drinking water dispenser; ceiling fan.

• A modern Bathroom with shower.

Also: complimentary coffee / tea / bottled water; all linens & towels; free Wi-Fi; high ceilings throughout.

The Utica Station of the “A” (Express) and “C” (Local) subway line is about a 5-minute walk; Manhattan is about 12 minutes away on the “A” (Express) train. Bars, boutiques, cafés, galleries, great restaurants (like Zagat-rated Peaches [BBQ] and Saraghina [Italian]) are 1-2 minute walk.

Our website (http://www.TRUErentals.com) has extensive tourist information about local resources (nearby bars, cafés, museums, parks, restaurants, shops, etc.), sightseeing suggestions, transportation, and much more, which would be of interest to anyone planning a visit to Brooklyn, whether you stayed with us or not.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is TRUE, I am an Artist / Designer, and have been the Owner / Operator of MACON MANOR since purchasing the Home in 1999.

I moved from Los Angeles, CA. to New York to be a part of its vibrant culture (and to study at Sarah Lawrence College and The Cooper Union Art School) and then moved from Manhattan to Stuyvesant Heights because I found it to be safer and much quieter.

TRUE purchased this apartment in 1999

I chose MACON MANOR because it offered exactly what I wanted: a lot of space; many of its original architectural details; a chance to explore my interior design ideas; a Garden; and a quiet block just 5 minutes from an express train that can get you into Manhattan in just 12 minutes.

The properties in the Stuyvesant Heights Historic District were built for the wealthiest people of the day in the late 1800s, when everything else in the area was farmland. Throughout the course of the 20th century, as public transportation made it easier for the working class to get deeper into Brooklyn, the wealthy fled, and their homes transitioned into the hands of the middle class.

Living in one such home, and having the chance to lovingly restore it and share it with travelers from around the world is a very unique opportunity, one that I cherish.

19 Reviews of Property 206384 in Brooklyn, New York

Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
average rating of 4.631579 based on 19 reviews
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
5

Perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
6 of us stayed for 4 days/3 nights in this awesome place. We could not have found a better place.

The location is perfect. Not only is the local neighborhood vibrant with lots of great places to eat within 2 blocks, but the subway stop is 4 blocks away – a lovely 5 minute walk.

True could not have been more accommodating from the moment we arrived; he spent the time needed with us to show us this beautiful apartment, gave us all the information needed to tour the city and how to get to places, talking about the nice quiet neighborhood and all the wonderful local places within walking distance. The décor is one of my favorite things about this place; great taste!!! The apartment was very clean and exceeded our expectations. We had AC in both ends of the apartment, never felt uncomfortable (given that it was 100 degrees outside). The pictures of the apartment don’t do it justice; we really loved it.

At first, we weren’t sure what to expect from the neighborhood but honestly, this is such a quiet place with lots of friendly people; we never had to worry about anything.

I will certainly contact True on my next visit to NYC.

Thank you so much for everything True, for being a great host and for making sure we had everything we needed!!!
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
Sandy
5

Stay in New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Macon Manor was every bit as nice as the listing described. True was a great host and provided us with all the information needed to move around and see the city. We were there for a family wedding and having the subway so close (a short walk a couple of blocks away and through the park) made it convenient to get to our wedding commitments. The kids loved the movie selection and games. We would definitely stay at Macon Manor on another trip to New York.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
5

Our stay at Macon Manor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
7 of us stayed at Macon Manor in April and we would definitely stay again! True was very helpful and accommodating and we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It was very convenient to the train into the city, we easily found parking for our two cars and having children with us, we felt very safe in the neighborhood. The apartment itself was very spacious and clean, comfortable bedding and towels enough for all of us. There was a nearby store which had great prices and an excellent take out breakfast--I wish I could remember the name. True was very helpful in offering us maps and tips on where to go and how to get there to make the most of our trip. Although we used the apartment mainly to sleep, it was well equipped with books and videos and cable tv. Also a reliable wireless connection which the family needed for their gadgets. Thank you again, True, we really had a memorable time visiting your city!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
Richmond, VA, USA
5

The perfect place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Four friends and I stayed at Macon Manor for a weekend and found it to be the perfect place to stay while exploring New York City. The owner met us when we arrived and showed us around the property as well as offering helpful hints on great things to do, see, and eat in the neighborhood. There are several restaurants and markets within a short walk. There is a restaurant called Saraghina that was so good we ate there twice, it is one block from the house. Street parking was no problem all weekend, we parked right across the street from the house. The neighborhood is very pleasant and feels very safe to walk around, even at night. The owner lives on another floor of the house and was available to answer questions when we needed something.

We spent most of our weekend in Manhattan, which takes 10-15 minutes to get to by subway. The subway station is only a couple of blocks from the house and proved to be extremely convenient for bouncing back and forth between Manhattan and Brooklyn. The apartment itself is very spacious and comfortable. There were 5 of us and we all slept comfortably. There are 2 full beds and 2 futons that fold out into full beds. The beds had fresh clean sheets and the owner provided us with as many blankets and pillows as we could handle for the futons. And even with the futons folded out there was plenty of room to relax and hang out. The kitchen had everything we needed and there were even a bunch of good DVDs to watch at night.

I have stayed at several Manhattan hotels where you pay $300 for a tiny closet with a bed in it. Staying at Macon Manor makes for a comfortable and affordable way to spend a weekend in NYC. I will definitely be staying there again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
5

Snazzy and Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The first thing I thought when I walked into Macon Manor was how lovely and vibrant the colors on the walls and in the decoration were! I especially loved the brick wall in the bedroom and the pictures on the wall gave it a very cool vibe.

The place isn't the largest but the use of space is exceptional and there are no tight squeezes or feelings of confinement. The building itself is very lovely on the outside and the neighborhood is sooo quiet, even at night, which is very important to me and those I was with! I felt that having the beds all together and the area into the living room being very open, was ideal because I didn't want to be locked away in my own separate room in a hotel, this way I felt like we were all really on vacation together and had so many laughs and late night conversations. It's a very cozy feeling and the fireplace sure warms up the place quickly!

I thought having one bathroom would be an issue for the 7 of us, but it worked out just fine and we had no issues whatsoever with plumbing, or lack of toiletries, there's even a cabinet in the kitchen full of shampoos and other things that can be used!

I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone visiting New York, it's in a very convenient location and the Subway is only about 5 blocks away! I'm very happy for my stay there and will definitely use this place again should I find myself in the area:)
Owner's Response: Wow! We absolutely LOVE to get such great feedback! This Apartment was once the top half of the Owner's duplex, so it has a little extra bit of love and care (and anal retentiveness) in the design and decor. The framed art all references the history of the Community, as being home to such greats as Chris Rock, Eubie Blake, Jackie Robinson, Lena Horne, Max Roach and others.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
5

Nice and pleasant stay at the Macon Manor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
On arrival, the access information which was very detailed provided us with a smooth entrance in the manor. Inside, the apartment was perfectly clean and well prepared with the right amount of beds and towels for our party. Meeting TRUE was great and he provided us with practical information about the city and the neighborhood. During our stay, everything was perfect. We felt safe and the owner was always making sure we had everything we needed. Very pleasant !
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
5

Like Home in the Big City!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I'm so Happy I found this address online ! I couldn't dream of a better deal !
We really felt like home in this nicely decorated appartment, and my kids enjoyed the comics collection and the movies after the long day visits ... We appreciated taking all our breakfasts and dinners in the appartment conviently furnished ; or to be able to go out for dinner or have a drink in the nice places of the neighborhood that True, the owner, has advised us.
The place is clean, cosy and quiet ; and if you have any question, you can always ask True who live downstairs and is very accomodant.
We found that Macon Manor was perfect for a big family to visit NYC.
We'll come back for sure !!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
1

Not for kids

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The email communication with True was slick and his website provided lots of useful information. His recommendations regarding restaurants were spot on. The apartment is in a lovely neighbourhood and we felt very safe at night. On the downsides, we had arranged for a key to be left in a secure place, but this had not been done so when our taxi dropped us arrived in at 1am with three young children, we panicked slightly, fortunately we managed to rouse the owner. My main comment is that this should be marketed as an apartment that is not suitable for children (unless your children are very quiet and light on their feet, do not book this apartment). The owner complained about our children waking him up (the complaint was made on our second day, and we came in late and went soon after waking so the children had only been wake in the flat for a total of 4 hours. apparently they woke the owner despite only waking themselves at 7am themselves). Unfortunately this resulted in us feeling very uncomfortable during our stay and we couldn't have been more pleased to move on.
Owner's Response: We've been renting Apartments in MACON MANOR since 1999, and have hosted hundreds of guests -- mostly families with children -- from about 40 countries around the world. This is the first and only 1-star rating we've ever received (we have dozens of 4- and 5-star reviews), and we are sincerely sorry if this guest felt uncomfortable for any reason.

If we may address their issues specifically: we live in the building; in the event that we will not be home, we leave keys in lock boxes which can be accessed from outside the property. If we are home, we prefer to check guests in ourselves. When this guest arrived, we saw them approach the property on our security monitors, and went up to greet them; they had been out front less than a minute before the doors were opened for them. We apologised and explained that we had been expecting them.

Secondly, yes, we did politely ask that their 3 young children be a bit more mindful of their volume, particularly early in the morning, as some guests may choose to sleep later than 7 am. Screaming, continuous running back and forth, and the slamming of doors may not be as much of an issue in a hotel, but this is a private home, and was not designed to muffle sounds of that volume.

As I mentioned, most of our hundreds of guests have children, some louder than others. We are truly sorry if asking that their kids be mindful of the fact that there were people staying above and below them made them uncomfortable, but we felt it was in the best interests of all our guests, and would do so again in the future, if we had guests that were behaving in a similar manner.

We're very happy that these guests were still able to enjoy the other aspects of this rental: the lovely Neighborhood, the safe environment, the excellent restaurants just around the corner, and our very informative website.
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
Rome, Italy
5

Great service and communication.thank you.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I visited the owner's Macon Manor website (congratulations!) , which shows several photos, a video, and many helpful information on the property and about his neighbourhood. Stuyvesant Heights looked at me very beautiful and fascinating and I was interested also in how seems very easy to commute to Manhattan. The owner , True, is incredible: pfect and impressive communication: I seemed to know him for years. He was very friendly , clear and gave me lot of information, about my accomodation in his property with my family ( with three children....), both by email and telephone. So I made a deposit to secure a booking for our next summer holidays. One month later, unfortunately, something wrong cropped up and , we had to cancel our trip due to an unespected trouble. When I contacted the owner, he was very kind and took care about a full refund of our deposit. He gave the order and, very quickly I received my money back, on my credit card. It's easier and safer to do this transactions across the world than in Italy!. Definetly I will try to visit Macon Manor as soon as possible. Thank you True. ciao
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Apt 2: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; Sleeps8-10; HBO/DVD; Near Bars/Cafes; Safe/Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384
Brooklyn New York City
5

BROOKLYN, WE LOVE YOU

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We were so happy and lucky to have come upon this appartment in Brooklyn. It was lovely, decorated in such good taste and so spacious; with those pretty gardens in the back and front of the brownstones.
Stuyvesant Heights is a great place with so many nice restaurants and a peaceful residential neighborhoud too. When we'd come back from Manhattan extenuated at the end of the day, it was like coming home; and it was such a short trip from the city and everything we wanted to see.
So when we come back to NY, we know where we're going to book, because we have such wonderful memories of NY.

The Schopp family (Strasbourg, fr)
Helpful votes: 6/6