Brooklyn apartment rental - Living Room: (1) Full-size sofa bed (sleeps 2); lounge chair; French door...
Living Room: (1) Full-size sofa bed (sleeps 2); lounge chair; French door...
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Live like a Brooklynite in this Peaceful Townhome! 2BR + Huge Bath + Dining Area

MACON MANOR, Apt 4:

If this Apartment is not available for your dates, please see our other HomeAway listings:

Apt 1: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3488786

Apt 2: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206384

Apt 3: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191274

Yes, you can live like a real Brooklynite in this Peaceful Townhome Apartment just 5 express stops from Downtown Manhattan! This quiet & comfortable Apartment can sleep up to 8 (suggested maximum) or 10 (absolute maximum; we supply queen-size Aerobed air mattresses [extra guest fee of $49 pp pn for each guest over suggested maximum]). Ideal for large families, groups of friends, and individuals / couples who like a lot of space.

It features:

• A large Master Bedroom with (2) queen-size beds (each sleeps 2), A/C, ceiling fan, full-length mirror and large closet.

• A 2nd BR with (1) full-size sofa bed (sleeps 2); 2nd A/C; 2nd ceiling fan; and 2nd closet.

• A Living Room with (1) full-size sofa bed (sleeps 2); lounge chair; 3rd A/C; 3rd closet; dining table & chairs for 6; 32 in. HDTV with DVD player & DVD library for kids & adults + cable (including premium channels such as HBO / Showtime / Starz on Demand, which allows you to watch any movie or program they offer -- Curb Your Enthusiasm, Game of Thrones, Girls, Sex in the City, The Sopranos, True Blood -- at any time); hot & cold drinking water dispenser; original art; books & games for kids & adults, as well as guide books to NYC; hardwood floor.

• A fully-equipped Kitchen with fridge / freezer; gas oven / stove; microwave; toaster; blender; coffee grinder & coffee maker; cooking utensils / dishes / silverware; 3rd ceiling fan.

• A large Bathroom with tub / shower.

• Also: complimentary coffee / tea / bottled water, all linens & towels, free Wi-Fi.

The Utica Station of the “A” (Express) and “C” (Local) subway line is about a 5-minute walk; Manhattan is about 12 minutes away on the “A” (Express) train. Bars, boutiques, cafés, galleries, great restaurants (like Zagat-rated Peaches [BBQ] and Saraghina [Italian]) are 1-2 minute walk.

Our website, http://www.TRUErentals.com, has extensive tourist information about local resources (nearby bars, cafés, museums, parks, restaurants, shops, etc.), sightseeing suggestions, transportation, and much more, which would be of interest to anyone planning a visit to Brooklyn, whether you stayed with us or not.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is TRUE, I am an Artist / Designer, and have been the Owner / Operator of MACON MANOR since purchasing the Home in 1999.

I moved from Los Angeles, CA. to New York to be a part of its vibrant culture (and to study at Sarah Lawrence College and The Cooper Union Art School) and then moved from Manhattan to Stuyvesant Heights because I found it to be safer and much quieter.

TRUE purchased this apartment in 1999

I chose MACON MANOR because it offered exactly what I wanted: a lot of space; many of its original architectural details; a chance to explore my interior design ideas; a Garden; and a quiet block just 5 minutes from an express train that can get you into Manhattan in just 12 minutes.

The properties in the Stuyvesant Heights Historic District were built for the wealthiest people of the day in the late 1800s, when everything else in the area was farmland. Throughout the course of the 20th century, as public transportation made it easier for the working class to get deeper into Brooklyn, the wealthy fled, and their homes transitioned into the hands of the middle class.

Living in one such home, and having the chance to lovingly restore it and share it with travelers from around the world is a very unique opportunity, one that I cherish.

8 Reviews of Property 206354 in Brooklyn, New York

Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
4

Great Flat and good price

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
True was very easy to contact and he was honest from beginning.
The flat is simple, a bit old but has definitely some charm! Fact it's air conditioned is a plus as well and we found it enjoyable to stay in.
A good thing was that True was very flexible and helpfull whenever we need even if sometimes it was hard to contact him, but after waiting a bit, he always gave an answer :)
The area around is nice, but at night it is true you may want to be with your friends, not that it's dangerous but like any other cities, in areas with less people that you don't know that well, you will probably want to avoid walking alone.

Except that, I would definitely recommend True to everyone!

Thanks for making our stay enjoyable and flexible!
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
4

Great Flat and good price

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
True was very easy to contact and he was honest from beginning.
The flat is simple, a bit old but has definitely some charm! Fact it's air conditioned is a plus as well and we found it enjoyable to stay in.
A good thing was that True was very flexible and helpfull whenever we need even if sometimes it was hard to contact him, but after waiting a bit, he always gave an answer :)
The area around is nice, but at night it is true you may want to be with your friends, not that it's dangerous but like any other cities, in areas with less people that you don't know that well, you will probably want to avoid walking alone.

Except that, I would definitely recommend True to everyone!

Thanks for making our stay enjoyable and flexible!
Owner's Response: We're always glad to receive positive reviews such as this.

Yes, the house is "a bit old" -- MACON MANOR is 105 years old, in fact, and we strive to preserve its charm and architectural integrity, updating it with such amenities as the (3) ceiling fans and (3) AC units, for maximum comfort.

It is also true that walking with friends is always a good idea when in a big city. Thankfully, police patrol the streets of our community, the subway stations, and the trains. We’ve been here since 1999, in that time we’ve hosted hundreds of guests from all over the world – mostly families – who have come and gone without a single incident. More than anything, most guests are taken aback by how friendly and helpful people in the Neighborhood are – moreso than in most other New York Neighborhoods.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
Savannah, Georgia
5

Great stay in Brooklyn

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family of four enjoyed our stay at Macon Manor. The apartment was comfortable, great beds. The air conditioners were a life saver after a day touring the city in the middle of a heat wave. Loved the neighborhood - very quiet and lots of new upcoming businesses. Parking was easy and we just left our car and used the subway into the city. We would definitely stay at Macon Manor again.
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
5

We felt like Home !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I'm so Happy I found this address online ! I couldn't dream of a better deal !
We really felt like home in this nicely decorated appartment, and my kids enjoyed the comics collection and the movies after the long day visits ... We appreciated taking all our breakfasts and dinners in the appartment conviently furnished ; or to be able to go out for dinner or have a drink in the nice places of the neighborhood that True, the owner, has advised us.
The place is clean, cosy and quiet ; and if you have any question, you can always ask True who live downstairs and is very accomodant.
We found that Macon Manor was perfect for a big family to visit NYC.
We'll come back for sure !!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
4

A great place to stray for an outstanding vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I wanted to take the time to let you know that the family and I had a great time while in New York. We truely loved our stay at your place and everything was just like you desribed. TTh information oonn yourr web sit and th brochure attheaparment wee a very big help. The only bad thing was trying to find a place to put the car for an hour and half during the street sweeping day. However we did find a 24 hour parking garage for only $10.00 dollars all day on the corner of Bedford and Atlantic. Thank you again for hosting our family and I hope to visit again in the furture. I would highly recomend any of my friends or family to stay at your place while visiting New York.

Thank you Allen
Owner's Response: Thank you for this glowing review!

We're sorry about your street sweeping day adventure; perhaps you may not have noticed that in our initial email response, we encourage everyone to check the FAQ page of our site (TRUErealty.biz) for details on parking. On it, we state that during the 90-minute sweeping period, one can legally double-park directly across the street.

From our FAQ:

"As MACON MANOR is an attached Townhome without garage or driveway, we are unable to provide off-street parking. Street parking, however, is safe and fairly easy to get right out front in the morning and afternoon, though it does become increasingly difficult the later it gets in the evening (late nights may be particularly difficult when there is street sweeping the following day).

"There are (2) 90-minute street sweeping periods in front of MACON MANOR per week: Tuesdays and Fridays from 9 am - 10:30 am. During those times, it is legal to double-park on the opposite side of the street. Street sweeping for the opposite side of the street happens on Mondays and Thursdays from 9 am - 10:30 am. Be sure to check the posted signs before leaving your vehicle.

"If you are driving to NYC, and you would really rather just park your car off of the street for the duration of your stay, you can do a Google search for 'parking garages 11233,' which should show the nearest ones."

. . .

Now that you know, you'll be an expert next time.

We look forward to hosting your family again in the near future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
Jackson, TN
5

True is very accommodating!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We are from the nashville area and stayed for my sisters graduation from Columbia! There were 7 of us including a baby and it was a safe, comfortable place to stay! Everything we needed was there. True answered all my questions I would have asked so we felt very taken care of. The neighborhood is quiet, safe and friendly. We took our one year old to the parks around there and getting to the subway was easy. The only thing I can think of I wished we had was a larger pot for cooking since we did cook there for breakfast every morning and a couple of dinners. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
3

Macon Manor Stay from Nov. 11-16 2011

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We enjoyed our stay at Macon Manor. The description and amenities were accurate as described. Transportation via subway was convenient and easily accessible. We felt safe walking in the area night or day.

The apartment was clean and comfortable. I would recommend issuing more than one towel per customer, considering we had a five day stay. A little more wall decor and perhaps an additional TV would enhance the atmosphere.

Aside from those minor issues, I would recommend to friends and loved ones.

Al Villanueva
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Apt 4: 5min to Subw/12min Manh; 2BR/Sleeps8-10; HBO; Nr Bars/Cafés; Quiet/Safe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206354
Brooklyn New York City
Glen Allen, VA
5

Good Summer Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My daughters and I rented this penthouse apartment from True during a five week stay over the summer. True was very helpful before and during our stay. Great location for subway, food. Photos were just as they appear in this listing. Everything was clean and in good order. My daughters drink tea every morning and loved that the water dispenser also dispensed hot water. I would recommend this apartment for anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay that is close to everything you may want or need.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4