White Stone Beach house rental - Entrance side - Francis Point cottage
Entrance side - Francis Point cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

White Stone Beach House Rental Photos and Description
3Bedrooms, 2Bathrooms Sleeps 6 near White Stone, Lancaster Co.,Virginia, USA

This secluded three bedroom home is on an old family vacation retreat on Francis Point . Our family would love to share this beautiful spot with yours. Our Small sand beach is a wonderful place for children to play and the shallow water is also ideal for wading and dip-net crabbing. This relaxing getaway on Carter Creek, is in the tidewater area near where the Rappahannock River joins Chesapeake Bay.

Make sure you bring along your binoculars to watch the birds and boats. At night, this is a great location for star gazing, as we're far from the bright city lights.

You can fish and swim off our dock and moor your boat (5' depth at end of dock at MLW), or pull your small boat up on the shore.

While you are here you can visit historical sites, colonial churches, museums, old fishing villages and interesting antique and other shops. Marinas and charter fishing boats are also nearby, as well as golf courses & great restaurants.

There are plenty of other tourist attractions to visit within an hour + drive

Tourist Travel Info and Activities available: Williamsburg and Busch Gardens Amusement Park are about 50 miles away, Jamestown is 54 miles, Richmond is 64 miles, Virginia Beach is 90 miles, Norfolk is 75 miles, Newport News is 60 miles, Colonial Beach is 60 miles, and Stratford Hall (General Lee's birthplace) is 46 miles. Belle Isle Virginia State Park is 24 miles N. off of Rt. 3 and has many activities. There are several great golf courses nearby which are open to the public. Charter fishing boats are available for River or Bay fishing. There is a Sailing School nearby, too.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 206044 in White Stone Beach, Virginia

Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
3

Away for the weekend

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This house is a wonderful location with lots of privacy, beautiful beach, and on a very historic point of land. It is an old farmhouse with old bathrooms and decor but very homey. Kitchen is new and very well equipped not only with dishes, pots, and pans but with also supplies of things that you may have forgotten. We enjoyed our stay.
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Pictures don't do it Justice

Pictures don't do it Justice
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Lovely cottage on white sand beach, with it's own private pier. Wonderful views. The cottage was very clean and the kitchen well-equipped with anything you might need. Safe, convenient location.
Owner's Response: We are pleased their stay was enjoyable and they found the kitchen convenient for their family. Our guests seem to feel this older cottage is comfortable and welcoming, and we are happy to have them visit and relax while appreciating the great views.
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Sweet Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Our family has stayed at Francis Point for a few different occasions; family retreat, girlfriend weekend, anniversary celebration. They are gracious hosts. The crab were plentiful off the dock. The fish were biting. We enjoyed a picnic on the beach and the dock. We played Clue by lantern light on the back porch in a storm; it made the game particularly fun! With coffee on the dock in the morning and wine on the porch in the evening; it was delightful. We miss it still! We can not wait to get back to that part of the country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed helping these caring and faithful guests relax & recharge in our calming setting. We look forward to their relocation back to our area in the future. They will like the updated kitchen and screened porch.
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Baltimore, MD
5

Excellent long weekend -The fish were biting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We recently spent a long weekend at this cottage. It is on a beautiful point and set off from the Rappahannock River, and tucked away in calm waters. Lots of privacy. Great for the dog as well. The fish were practically jumping on our lines so if you have young kids they would love this. The house is fully stocked and well organized. It is not overdesigned so you feel right at home and comfortable. Good for canoeing and kayaking. You could also bring a larger boat there, but we did not. There are also a few good local restaurants but this house is built for staying put and relaxing. Thanks - we loved your place!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always pleased when our guests have a good time. We've had a number of others say the fishing from the dock -(and from a boat in the River) was great. The crabs have also been plentiful here. We do welcome larger boats, too, as the water is 5 ft. deep at Mean Low Water (low tide). Glad we were able to accomodate you on short notice.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Richmond, VA
5

Relaxing Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Francis Point Cottage. The location was exactly what we were looking for - remote and very quiet but not too far from town, and in the Northern Neck. The property faces Yopp's Cove, providing a beautiful view, a good place to put in our kayak, and except at highest tide, our very own small but private beach. The house sits near the end of a pennisula where Carter's Creek joins the Rappahannock River, so there is a view of the Rappahannock also, and the breezes are cooled by water no matter which way the wind is blowing. Yet White Stone is less than five minutes away, and Kilmarnock only 15 minutes or so

The house itself has everything you might need during your stay; the kitchen is well equipped, there's plenty of space to spread out, and the porch facing the cove was our favorite room. Six people could stay here quite comfortably; eight is probably doable, more would be a squeeze, though I'm sure it's been done. The process for checking in and checking out is simple, and communication with the owner is timely and thorough.

Overall, the only problem with our stay was that it was too short; next time we will definitely stay a full week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Midlothian, VA
4

Family Friendly

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My family and I have visited Francis Point Cottage for several years now. It's hard to find a spot on the river or bay that has all that it does! Nice sandy beach for young kids to swim or catch minnows (sandy beaches are hard to find on the river!). A dock for Dad's fishing boat. Crabbing. Beautiful wildlife. The lot is VERY secluded. There are some very nice restaurants nearby. The location is perfect - on the inside of creek, where I love to kayak, but close to the river and bay for hubby's sport fishing. A grassy yard by the house for outdoor games like frisbee, croquet or bocce is also fairly unique. Great views for those who prefer to stay dry and cool indoors. Something for everyone! The cottage is older, but I find it to be relaxing and charming. Ever year our family considers where we will vacation, and we can't stay away. We love Francis Point.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Waterfront Family Home w/ Dock + Sand Beach; Fish; Swim; Great views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206044
+1 540-937-4091
White Stone Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Reisterstown, MD
5

Cozy, relaxing vacation home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
If you want seclusion and a place to get away from all the worries of your everyday life, this little piece of heaven is for you. It's cozy and comfortable. Ms. Bailey has thought of everything for you. Imagine crabbing during the day and enjoying fresh steamed crabs on an air conditioned porch in total comfort while overlooking the beautiful water. Then enjoy a game of cards and great conversation as you watch the sun fall behind the horizon. Catch up with friends via Internet, catch your favorite TV show on the cable and play a game with the kids from her library of board games. Don't forget your binoculars because the wildlife is amazing and Ms. Bailey has provided resources to recognize what you are seeing through the lens. If you forgot something, the super Walmart is only a 15 min trip down the road. You can get your Va fishing license online and have your own "catch of the day" at your dinner table. There are local restaurants but we just couldn't bear to leave the peninsula. We used Ms. Bailey's grill and made our own fresh meals. We've enjoyed two relaxing weeks at Francis Point and plan to make this "our home away from home" from now on.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: These guests have visited 2 different times - June and December. 1st, they made a thank-you card incorporating photos they took and e-mailed it to me. It was creative, pretty and much appreciated. Wonderful guests like these make us happy to share our cottage.
Helpful votes: 2/2