Castine house rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps11
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Castine House Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom, Sleeps 11. Add $15 pp pn after 8.

The prettiest town on the coast of Maine, with lots of history, as well as beach, golf and tennis.

This classic sea captain's home, built in 1823, has been lovingly cared for and renovated to accomodate up to ten people. You will be very comfortable here, whether sitting on the screened porch or sitting by the fire in the family room.

The house is one and a half blocks from the ocean and the town dock, near restaurants and shops. It has a large fenced yard, a modern eat-in kitchen, large bedrooms, formal living room and dining room, family room, and a wonderful screened porch.

Within two blocks are the golf course and the tennis courts, which welcome visitors for modest fees.

Castine is a special town for those who love history and the sea. Our historical society is open daily with fresh exhibits about the early sailing days on the Maine coast, as well as exhibits of famous writers and artists that made Castine the place to come for summer inspiration. You can get just about everywhere on foot or bike, leaving the car parked until you want to explore Acadia National Park and other inviting small towns on the coast. Kayak rental and tours are also available at the town dock, along with ice cream and lobster rolls!

Come here to smell the sea and relax in a beautiful setting that takes you back to simpler times.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 206023 in Castine, Maine

Classic In-Town Sea Captain's Home - Great Fall Escape too!
average rating of 4.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Classic In-Town Sea Captain's Home - Great Fall Escape too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206023
+1 6512698888
Castine Downeast and Acadia
5

Very Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Captain’s House is wonderful place for family gatherings. Even as a party of ten, we had plenty of leisure space. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable.

The house is also in the perfect location. The town dock, the restaurants, the shops, and the MMA are all just right around the corner. We walked everywhere and everyone had an amazing time!

The owner, Penny, is delightful, extremely helpful, and whole rental process was easy and enjoyable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic In-Town Sea Captain's Home - Great Fall Escape too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206023
+1 6512698888
Castine Downeast and Acadia
Portland, ME
5

Graduation perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Due to a graduation at Maine Maritime Academy, we needed accommodations for a large number of our family who were planning to attend. Penny's house certainly filled our need. Not only was it large enough, it sits right across the street from MMA.

We have a vacation home in the area, so we are very familiar with all that Castine has to offer. It is picture post card perfect.

The house itself is like an architectual museum, from its square-nailed wide pine floors, to one of the coolest kitchens you'll ever see.

We would most certainly recommend Penny's house to those MMA parents who will be attending graduation festivities in the future. However, make sure you rent her house early enough in the week, so you can relax and enjoy the scenery of the Blue Hill peninsula before the mayhem of graduation begins.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic In-Town Sea Captain's Home - Great Fall Escape too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206023
+1 6512698888
Castine Downeast and Acadia
5

Beautiful Huge Old Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed in this house in the fall, it is a lot bigger than it looks from the pictures and is wonderfully maintained and emmaculate. The house seems to go on forever with many unique and beautifully decorated rooms. Each couple/family had thier own room and in our case we were able to have our young son right next door to us which was great. Everyone just loved the house and it's charm. It's right in the heart of the town only steps from the Academy's football field and shoreline. You can walk to everything in town or at the Academy. A few steps down and your on the waterfront and the training ship, or you can walk into town for some breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
The owner was a real pleasure to deal with and her house was all that she said it was, and then some.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Classic In-Town Sea Captain's Home - Great Fall Escape too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206023
+1 6512698888
Castine Downeast and Acadia
Wichita, Kansas
4

Sea Captain's Home

Sea Captain's Home
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Just this month, nine long time friends had the pleasure of staying in this very lovely home built in 1832. The owner met us at the home upon our arrival (from Indiana & Kansas), took us on a tour, answered questions and provided useful information. It appeared just as the pictures on this site depict!

We loved being in the charming little town, found the people very friendly, enjoyed wonderful food, and had a wonderful time in spite of an unusual heat wave. Being there for the 4th of July was very special as was shopping at the weekly Farmers' Market.

The men played golf X 4, we tried most of the local restaurants, shopped, attended Mass at the tiny little Catholic church, and had wonderful fun times on the screened in porch. We did several day trips to other coastal towns and genuinely fell in love with the beauty of Maine.

Our group has done several trips together using vacation rentals, and we were extremely satisfied with our choice in Castine. It was nice to know the owner was staying with a friend while our group was enjoying the comfort of her home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/4