Grand Cayman condo rental - Let your worries melt away...
Let your worries melt away...
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Grand Cayman Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom + 1 Bath - (Sleeps 2-4)

Kick back “island-style” in a luxurious setting!!! Leave the crowds behind on Seven Mile Beach. The Retreat is located at Rum Point, in the heart of the Cayman Kai area, on the north side of the island. There are only 23 units on our seven acres of beachfront property with 1,300 feet of white sandy beach. An easy 35 minutes by car from the airport, George Town, great shopping, and many delectable restaurants. This is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the Caribbean in all its natural beauty.

This is truly the most beautiful beach on Grand Cayman! The sand is a gorgeous white with a hint of pink. The water is turquoise blue and absolutely crystal clear. The water is very shallow hundreds of feet offshore, perfect for the kids. The beach has lots of vegetation, shade trees, and wildlife, making it a nature lover’s paradise. The waters are part of a nationally protected marine park. So, you will find lots of fish and coral right out your back door.

In addition to our stunning beach, the Retreat offers many great amenities including a newly resurfaced tennis court, a new game room, new work out facility and attractively landscaped pool. All of these amenities are available for your enjoyment at no cost during your stay.

Right next door to the Retreat is the Rum Point Club, which has a nice gift shop, is the very popular Wreck Bar and Grill, a great fine dining restaurant, and a Red Sail Sports rental and activity center. The food at Rum Point is outstanding, the drinks may be even better, and the friendly service can’t be beat. At Red Sail Sports, you can plan snorkeling, diving and Stingray City excursions. If you want to play on the beach, you can rent all kinds of beach toys including snorkeling gear, wave runners, sailboats, kayaks, and more!

Our condominium is a large one bedroom, one bathroom unit, with more than 1,000 square feet of living space. We have a great view of the beach from the living room and the screened lanai. The unit is on the third floor, which almost always provides for a nice breeze if you want to open up the screened windows and let the ocean air flow through. Our unit is ideally situated for a couple or young family. The large bedroom features a king sized bed.

The living room has a queen-size pullout couch. An additional pullout bed is available upon request. The kitchen is fully equipped, including a dishwasher and disposal. Our unit also has a washer and dryer, so feel free to pack light.

To keep you entertained in the evenings, we have cable television, a DVD player with a selection of movies, a stereo with a variety of CD’s, video games, board games, puzzles, and cards. A small library of novels is available for your enjoyment. Email your family and friends from your laptop. We have high-speed wireless internet and a color printer for your use free of charge. Local telephone calls are also free of charge. International calls can be made using your calling card or any major credit card.

From our condominium, you will walk out your door onto one of the Caribbean's most amazing beaches. If you stay on the Lagoon, you will find yourself driving to our beach. You may be able to find a place at the Kaibo that is a little bit cheaper. But, you will find our condominium to be the best value on the treasured ocean side at Rum Point.

The Retreat and our unit have been inspected and approved by the Cayman Islands Department of Tourism. So, rest assured that our amenities are up to the finest of standards. We would be happy to answer any questions you may have about our condominium or the island. So, please don't hesitate to ask. We hope to have the opportunity to share our pristine home away from home with you…

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I have been married for 17 years. We have 2 boys, ages 10 and 14. We live in Houston, Texas. We enjoy getting away to our condo at Rum Point as frequently as we can. Our kids enjoy telling their friends that in Grand Cayman their back yard is a beach and their front yard is a pool and tennis court! We enjoy having friends and family visit so that we can show off our home away from home. We would love to share our island home with you while we are back in Houston, putting in time in the 'real world.'

Adela Parlette purchased this condo in 2007

My husband and I have talked about buying a property in the Caribbean since our honeymoon. Everytime we would go on vacation to an island, that conversation would come back up. But, we never pulled the trigger. Back in July of 2007, my in-laws watched the kids for a week while my husband and I went on our first vacation by ourselves since the kids were born. We went to Grand Cayman and stayed on 7 Mile Beach. The beaches were stunning and the island was absolutely paradise. Beatiful views...warm water...laid-back island atmosphere. Around the middle of the week, we decided to rent a car and drive over to Rum Point, which we had read about online. Now, I grew up in the Caribbean and we have traveled pretty extensively to various island destinations. I have seen my share of stunningly beautiful beaches. But, let me tell you...when we got out of the car and walked around the corner of the gift shop and saw the beach at Rum Point, we were absolutely awestruck by the beauty. We had a drink at the Wreck Bar and decided to walk out to the water. The water was perfectly calm and clear as a looking glass. We were able to walk out a couple hundred feet from the shore and the water was only waist high! We began to talk about how this would be such a perfect place to come with the kids. Shallow, calm water. Nice quiet, family atmosphere. Just about then we noticed a couple of really nice looking buildings right next door on the same beach. We wandered next door, found out there was a one bedroom condo for sale, and the rest is history.

34 Reviews of Property 205956 in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
average rating of 4.970588 based on 34 reviews
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Perfect spot for a week vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We found the Retreat at Rum Point to be the perfect place for us. The Condo was exactly as it is described, and looks exactly as it appears in the pictures. You can see the ocean from both the living room and the bedroom (it has views of both the east and west side of the penninsula). The entire property is well maintained, and Number 16 was clean and comfortable, and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals in. The water is warm and calm, the private beach quiet-- well maintained (there was an employee raking seaweed off the beach daily and with nice lounge chairs to use. Rum Point next door is just a short walk for food, cocktails and water sports (including tours of sting ray city, excursions and kayak rentals). The location is a bit of a drive from the airport, we were glad to have a car. However, we preferred to be on the quite side of the island, and very much enjoyed driving around, soaking up the scenery and beach views. Adela is a fantastic remote hostess. She provided us with detailed, insiders information about where to eat and what to do, as well as really helpful driving directions. She touched base and made herself available if we needed anything (however, our welcome packet was so complete, that we did not need to contact her.) I would recommend a stay here to anyone, especially couples wanting a romantic vacation, and families who want a safe beach that children can enjoy.
Owner's Response: Dear Jessica and Adam,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I could tell you were enjoying your stay. You were always on the go! I am glad that our arrival information packet gave you ideas for activities to participate in during your visit. The Mastic Trail is such a wonderful walk through a small Caribbean forest with its unspoiled natural vegetation and a great variety of birds. Botanists are still discovering new trees and plants and some have medicinal functions. Then, you moved on to the sea to see the corals and swim with the sting rays and fish which is the other aspect of the island. When I am in Rum Point, I become an amphibian. I am constantly in and out of the water! From the accounts you shared with me, you were totally happy amphibians! It was a great pleasure for me to assist you with your vacation plans. I hope you come back soon! Adela
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
St. Cloud, MN
4

Repeat visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I returned to #16 recently, staying a week. We found everything as delightful as on our first visit five years ago. I can't add much to what other say about the condo itself, but I would like to mention that the grounds at The Retreat are remarkably well maintained, with numerous exotic plants and trees. Many of them were in bloom during our visit which added to the attraction. We think The Retreat is absolutely the best place to stay on Grand Cayman. The beach is clean and the snorkeling is excellent. We like being well-removed from the busyness of Seven Mile Beach. We spent two evenings in Bio Bay, which somehow we missed on our first visit. The best part of the day was gathering on the beach with other residents in the evening to watch the sunset.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was such a wonderful pleasure to have you back at The Retreat 16. We just recently found the Bio Bay ourselves! It is a rare event to have the right concentration of these tiny animals to make the bay glow at night. There is so much to see and do in the Rum Point area. Such diversity in such a small area. The star fish, sting rays, Caymanian vegetation, bio bay, snorkeling beach, sunrises and sunsets from the point within walking distance make this location wonderful for everyone! Thank you for your kindness and thoughtfulness. Adela
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Swansea, MA
5

Just lovely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family and I stayed in this unit for two weeks over Christmas. From the minute we booked Adela was extremely professional and prompt in answering any questions/concerns. We were very fortunate that she and her family were staying close by during our stay and we were able to meet her personally. She even offered us use of her kayaks so that we may do the Bio-tour at night. We did not end up doing this because we were too busy relaxing but heard that it is fabulous!
The unit was clean and comfortable and had a beautiful view! It had everything you would need and we ate in on the patio many nights and enjoyed the view/sounds of the ocean. The Rum Point side of the island is very clean and quiet which was perfect for us since we were there with children. Even though it is a very busy season we felt like we were the only ones there and many times were alone in the pool which was only steps away from the unit.
The beach was also very quiet and is steps away from the Wreck Bar and Grill. We ate lunch there many days and would walk over from the association beach to grab a drink or an ice cream. The restaurant that is open in the evening was very good and worth a trip!
The kids also loved Starfish Beach which is minutes away by car!
If we ever do return to Grand Cayman, we would definitely stay there again. Thank you for your hospitality!
Owner's Response: Hi Corinne, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great working with you and meeting you in Rum Point. It was also a ton of fun doing the Conga line with you and the rest of your gang at the Rum Point Club Barbeque Night! You all were so friendly and outgoing. I always saw you having a good time day and night! You are welcome to become Holiday Castaways with us! Have a great 2014! Adela
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Bellmore, NY
5

Wonderful, Relaxing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had the best time at The Retreat #16. The condo was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed to make our stay fantastic including a full well-stocked kitchen, a beautiful pool, exercise room with a pool table, plenty of parking, free Wi-Fi, and the Magic Jack, which allowed us to call home. We loved hanging out & eating on the patio. The view was gorgeous! Adela was a pleasure to work with - she was very helpful in answering all our questions very quickly.

We stayed on Seven Mile Beach 15 years ago for our honeymoon and while we loved it there, nothing could compare to the beauty of Rum Point! This time we were traveling with our 6 year old daughter and we wanted to stay in a less touristy area. This place was just what we were looking for! We went to the beach every day and snorkeled. There were a ton of beautiful fish right off the pier. We also went to StarFish Point one day, which was a lot of fun. We went to Stingray City and on the bioluminescent boat ride (offered by Sweet Spot at the Kaibo Yacht Club). We ate lunch at The Wreck Bar several times and the food was delicious! We truly had a wonderful relaxing vacation!

Thank you again, Adela for providing such a wonderful vacation getaway at such a reasonable price! We will not wait 15 years before returning to Grand Cayman again! When we do return, we will be going back to Rum Point and the Retreat #16.
Owner's Response: Hi Lorraine, Thank you for your thoughtful and wonderful review. You did so much and I know your daughter created some beautiful memories to share with her new classmates! Hoping she has a fun school year and that she can return next summer! She must have had a great time exploring under the pier. Tell her I go snorkeling under the pier with my sons too! We must have taken the Sting Ray City tour a dozen times but each time seems magical and it feels like we are visiting our friends! Did you see the dolphin that hangs out at Star Fish Point around sunset? I hope you come back soon to explore even more, hang out on the beach and relax in a hammock under the palm trees! Many blessings! Adela
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing, perfect location for your Grand Cayman vacation this is the place to go. We stayed for 7 days at The Retreat and loved every minute of our stay. This was our first trip to the island and we were very torn about whether we should stay in the 7 Mile Beach Area or at Rum Point but we are so glad we picked Rum Point. The beaches and water were absolutely gorgeous, and we got to enjoy a great Cayman Island experience without all of the touristy traffic of the 7 Mile Beach area. We took a few day drives to 7 Mile Beach which was very easy to do. It was great to experience both areas of the island but we were happiest at Rum Point. The condo is even nicer in person than in the pictures and the lanai was large with an incredible view. One of the best parts of the trip was working with Adela. I have rented many condos in the past but never enjoyed such a wonderful experience working with a realtor as I did with Adela. She is willing to answer any and all questions with patience, courtesy and humor, and by the time your vacation is over you will feel like you have made a new friend. I highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a great vacation in Grand Cayman.
Owner's Response: Hi Jayme,

I had a great time working with you and answering your questions. My sole objective is to help my guests enjoy their vacation time to the fullest. Rum Point Beach is unique with its many activities and attributes. From your emails I could tell that you had found some of the best kept secrets such as the Rum Point Wreck Bar, Kaibo's Restaurant and Over The Edge Restaurant! Take care, Adela
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Fabulous stay at The Retreat #16!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first trip to Grand Cayman and we loved the island and this condo! We found the unit to be very spacious, well stocked and comfortable. The view of the Caribbean Ocean from the living room was beautiful. The king size bed was very comfortable. We ate every breakfast on the deck looking out at the water. Having our own private beach was fabulous! It was nice to visit the public beach at Rum Point but then come back to our own quiet, scenic beach. We like to cook some of our meals in and the kitchen was well equipped and very clean. For meals out it was so convenient to have a few restaurants very close by. We visited Seven Mile Beach which was beautiful but if I returned to Grand Cayman would choose to stay at Rum Point again. We hope to return soon!
Owner's Response: Hi Valerie, So happy to know that you and Joe had such a great time in our condo, Rum Point and Grand Cayman. I agree with you that The Retreat Beach is so quiet and scenic but if you want to visit Rum Point Beach Club, all you have to do is go right next door. I personally love the Wreck Bar and Grill great rum drinks and delicious lunch specials! Hope to hear from you soon! Adela
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

THE RETREAT AT RUM POINT NEW YEAR'S STAY

THE RETREAT AT RUM POINT NEW YEAR'S STAY
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I celebrated the new year (2013) at Rum Point Retreat. We stayed for 5 days/4 nights. We loved it! The condo is right next to the beach. We could see the blue water and white sand from our balcony. The sound of the ocean was very soothing. We were impressed by the spaciousness and cleanliness of the condo. It would be a great place for a honeymoon or vacation. It was very comfortable. We liked the bedroom, and slept very well there. There was lots of storage space to store for everything the items that we brought. It was very well furnished and there were many amenities such as WIFI, cable TV, I-pod player, movies, alarm clock, etc., right in the condo. The kitchen was well stocked, including a coffee maker, microwave, oven, stove, dishwasher, cookware, dinnerware, and much more. The other guests and staff at The Retreat were very friendlly and pleasant. There were plenty of wonderful amenities for all guest at The Retreat, including a large, clean swimming pool, game room, gym, easy access to the beach and restaurants, and free parking on the property. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously, and would definitely stay there again.
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa. I am glad you enjoyed our condo so much! Should you come back to Rum Point, we sincerely hope you stay with us.
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
United States
5

Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This condo was perfect for my husband and I. We had a great relaxing vacation and the beach was BEAUTIFUL! If you are looking for night life this is not the place (although there was the beach bar next door and Kaibo down the road). The snorkling was amazing, and you could go 200 yards out and still be in water waist deep. Tons of colorful fish and coral! At night we walked down the rum point pier and saw a lot of stingrays... although none during the day. The condo was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We went to seven mile beach one day and it was CROWDED and we thought the Rum Point beach was nicer. It was nice to be away from all the crowds and cruise ships. We went on the bioluminesence tour which was amazing. We also took advantage of the grill and kitchen because eating out is very expensive. The grocery stores near the airport were the easiest places to shop, and only 25-30 min. drive from the condo. We stocked up after arriving and used the grocery store close to the condo for little things (its more expensive). All in all I would highly recommend this condo and Rum Point!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Lynn,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am thrilled that your husband and you had such a wonderful time in Rum Point. I also think that the Bioluminescent Bay is amazing and I am so glad you experienced its beauty. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the beach and the reef so much! We hope you come back soon to our little piece of Paradise! Adela
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Wonderful trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a lovely time at #16 Retreat at Rum Point. We were awarded with breathtaking sunrises, sunsets and beautiful and quiet surrounding beaches and waters. The photos don't do it justice and we now have hundreds of our own to remind us of our week!

The owners of this unit are so helpful. Adela was in town and took us out on the lagoon to witness the full moon and biolumenscense in her own kayaks. It was a treat among many treats. We dived, (Red Sall/Tortuga divers! Fantastic! We snorkeled, swam and explored. We did make our way to Seven Mile beach and snorkeled a few spots and enjoyed one of the public beaches... But when you made the trek back to Rum Point, I was glad to be in a quiet less touristy place. We saw and experienced so much in the week that we visited and it was a great way to unwind and then reprogram into a much more relaxed place. Thank you so much for your place, it was comfortable, had a great view and mad e the coming back at the end of a full day, feel like home. We loved it!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront - #16 The Retreat at Rum Point -Gorgeous White Sandy Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205956
+1 2819354141
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Salem, OR
5

The perfect condo at the perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Excellent communications with the owner, excellent location, excellent condo....have I mentioned how excellent everything was?

If you want an out-of-the-way place to be with the one you love, away from the hustle and bustle of the "city," where you can truly be with your spouse and relax...look no further!

My wife and I are extremely grateful for the opportunity to rent this condo and it, and everything around it, was beyond our expectations!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bryan, I am so pleased that you and your wife found everything you needed and more! All your preparation paid off and as a result you had a wonderful getaway time with your wife. We hope you made some wonderful memories and took some awesome pictures to look back on your relaxing trip to Rum Point. Your welcome and best wishes, Adela
Helpful votes: 1/1