Kentucky Lake house rental - What a view to start the day! - Sunrise in summer as a crane takes flight.
What a view to start the day! - Sunrise in summer as a crane takes flight.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kentucky Lake House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, Sleeps 6

2000 square foot private Kentucky Lake front home. Beautiful views

of Jonathan Creek bay from every room. Great kitchen with grainte countertops. Twenty by thirty-five foot great

room with floor to ceiling windows facing the lake and wood burning

fireplace for chilly nights. Deck and screened porch facing lake. Satellite internet. Sits on approximately 3 1/2 acres plus TVA land. Great for families, duck hunters, fishermen, etc. For additional pictures visit our facebook page 'I had rather be fishing' and click on photos.

I grew up in Mayfield KY about 20 miles from the lake. I now liv n St Louis MO and I am a lawyer. We built this house so that we could visit our aging parents without the hassle of packing and unpacking all of the time. The house was built for us, not as an income property so it has many touches that other rental houses do not have - huge fireplace, oversized windows overlooking the lake, high end appliances, high ceilings, tall doors,maple and cherry floors in the bedrooms, cherry handrails, large yard (3+ acres) etc. After 3 of our parents died we no longer came to the lake as often but could not bear to sell the house where we had spent so much quality time and where our grandchildren had made so many memories. We decided to rent our house through Homeaway so that others could have great memories there as well.

Melinda purchased this house in 1998

Since we live in a large city, we wanted a place that was away from the hustle and bustle. We found that here. The house sits on 3 acres plus TVA land. We have deer and other wildlife everywhere. At night the stars are very bright and unobstructed by light pollution. You hear the sounds of nature instead of the rumble of cars.

We love that you can see the lake from every room of the house. Even the bathrooms have views of the woods. Sitting on the deck at night with a fire or watching the moon rise over the lake is a priceless treat. Kids can play in the woods or yard and you do not have to worry about them. It is just a good place to be..

26 Reviews of Property 205889 in Kentucky Lake, Kentucky

I had rather be fishing
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
5

great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
the house was in perfect shape and well taken care of. the veiws are stunning with the entire back of the house being all windows the veiw of the lake is great. the boat dock is a great place to hang out and have a fire at dusk. very peaceful and private. The back deck is a nice place to have a cook out for dinner or lunch. And the sat light tv came in handy when them uninspecting storms come.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We love the lake house and are glad that others appreciate it as well. The only problem - we are renting it so much that we hardly get to use it ourselves anymore!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Illinois
4

Everything you need in a home away from home...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
You get what you see here only a little better! Very inviting, cozy atmosphere and the decorating is nice as well. Close to several state parks for a variety of activities. Quiet, remote area is fantastic. The dock and outside areas are great! The dock has a swing, hammock, fire pit, paddle boat, chairs, etc. Part of the dock is covered for those not wanting the sun but a section is uncovered for those who want it. There was even a ceiling fan above the hammock! Everyone's happy on the dock!

The kitchen seemed to have everything, including a bottle opener for my wine. I initially started to grumble because I meant to bring one but it turns out Melinda has thought of everything. Satellite TV was a nice plus for late evenings and even though I didn't put my iPod on the dock it was nice to know that I could. Plenty of outlets for charging cell phones and laptops. There was a small storm go through and the satellite went out briefly but there were some movies on the DVR so we still had something to watch.

We golfed several courses in a 45 minute radius and the variety was enjoyable. A couple of the courses (Calvert City comes to mind) were extremely well maintained. If you plan to eat out and you're visiting outside of the summer season, be prepared to drive 20-35 minutes. Locally, The Dinner Bell provides some great home-style cooking served smorgasbord style and Kentucky Dam State Park has a nice menu.

All in all...everything was great and I would certainly recommend this home to anyone. We enjoyed celebrating our 25th anniversary in this home away from home.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
North Ridgeville, Ohio
5

Relaxing and Secluded Oasis! Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a truly amazing vacation we had at "I had rather be fishing"

The owner, Melinda, was awesome to work with. She was outstanding at communicating and answered any question I had.

We were unsure of what to expect when driving up the house. It was very remote and had a long gravel road for the driveway. When we finally saw the house, "Wow" was what first came to mind. This is a hidden gem in Benton, KY.

The house was very updated and very clean. Every bedroom had a flatscreen (Not that we used it alot since we were outside most of the time). The Wi-Fi was nice to have for our smartphones and Ipad. The washer and dryer were a plus, too. The kitchen was fully stacked.

The property was perfect for our German Shorthaired Pointer. An extra plus that we are able to bring our dog.

There is a gentle slope that leads to the dock. Was very easy to access. The dock was great. We fished quite a lot.

I would like to mention that Marshall County is a dry county (We did know this going into our vacation). We were prepared and brought our own spirits and beer. There is a small liqour store in Murray (By Krogers) to fit your needs.

Kroger was about a 17 minute drive. We stocked up well, and ate all our meals at the house. There are quite a few Dollar Generals scattered around Benton, to pick up any quick needs (Bread, Milk, etc)

We went to Kenlake Marina and that was about a 5 to 10 minute drive, where we rented a pontoon for the day.

Great relaxing vacation. We loved how quiet it was and very secluded and private. We enjoyed eating our meals outside on the patio and fished daily.

Melinda - Thank you for sharing your home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2013 family vacation.
Owner's Response: We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed our home. The house was built with views of nature in mind and its secluded location makes it possible to have unobstructed views and privacy. The fishing in Jonathan Creek is some of the best in the U.S. and I am glad you were able to take advantage of the opportunity to sample some of our KY fish. Hope to see you again sometime. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Hendersonville, Tennessee
5

Our families 4th of July tradition

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family has been coming here for years and feel like we are home when we are here. You have all the comforts of home and fantastic views wherever you are in the house. Bringing a boat makes the time there so much more fun! The paddle boat is a nice way to see the lake too. We have already booked for next year on the 4th for our annual gathering. Our children and grandchildren look forward to this time together as much as we do, making memories at a beautiful retreat.
Owner's Response: We are happy to have you back each year. Traditions that we can look forward to are such an important part of life. Several of our guest families are repeat visitors who have found that our house is centrally located where family members living in different locations can get together and reconnect. We are glad your family chooses our house to be a part of your family tradition.
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Danville KY
5

outstanding vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home is one of the nicest that we have ever rented (and we rent often!). The setting is so peaceful and private, yet right next to the vastness that is kentucky lake. The home had more amenities than we have ever had available. The house and setting are lovely with beautiful views of Jonathan "Creek" (hardly a creek) and easy accessibility to the "big lake". We made the big decision to tow our boat down from our home in Central kentucky and that was a great decision . We had such easy access to our boat and three of our family thoroughly enjoyed the dock for fishing (many fish caught; all returned to their lake home. ) I would recommend this vacation rental (really a home that the owners are nice enough to share with others) to anyone and would return. The owners are always able to be reached by e-mail. We cooked in most times but went to Murray for pizza and to Patti's (of course) for dinner one night.
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Indianapolis
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house is beautiful and very well designed. Beautiful landscaping and decorated in a way that makes you feel like you are at home. The location is a little remote. Would be a great getaway in the summer if you have a boat and enjoy the water. My oldest son and girlfriend did not want to leave!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay. You had such rainy weather! I also appreciated the picture that Dave took of the irises. They looked like Georgia O'Keefe paintings.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
5

Attention from owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The home was very clean and well maintained. The dock is nice but a little shallow for fishing at this time of year. We did have an issue with the propane which is used to heat the home. As soon as I notified the owners, they quickly made the problem a priority and had a family member present to help meet our immediate needs as well as the having the propane company on site to rectify the problem as soon as possible. The owners are easy to work with and very supportive. The fishing was a little slow but a cold front was passing through at the time of our stay. If I return to KY lake this is a property I would definately consider renting again.
Owner's Response: Yes we did have a propane problem! Between the time we left and our guests arrived, a period of about 24 hours, the valve on the propane tank developed a leak and lost most of the tank of propane so that they did not have heat the following day. That is when the big fireplace comes in handy. We got it fixed but it did take a little time. I am pleased that you were so understanding and worked with us in getting the problem resolved. We all know that unexpected issues do occur and we try to solve any problem as quickly as possible. I am glad the rest of the week was warm and that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We visited for four day weekend to see our son who is attending Murray State University. We brought friends with us who are considering sending other daughter to Murray State next year. We all enjoyed our visit so much. We were able to visit our son in a homey atmosphere complete with our family dog and a roaring fire. He and his father even got to go fishing. Our friends got to visit MSU at theIr leisure with their daughter. We all got to hike and explore Land Between the Lakes. The house is beautiful and you feel like you are out in nature with all those big windows. We had a great weekend and we will be visiting again during our son's years at MSU. P.S. great kitchen too!
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
5

Small Family Thanksgiving Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was the perfect home for our first Thanksgiving destination vacation! It is the most comfortable home and peaceful setting. Our two grandchildren enjoyed it as much as the adults! From making smores at the Franklin stove on the deck to fishing off the dock. We were able to take our pet, Cosmo. He is a small rat terrier and he loved that he could see out from any directions due to all the wonderful glass windows and open floor plan. We enjoyed the fireplace so much. Watching the fall leaves drift down from the trees was almost like watching snow fall in the winter.

We actually have talked about making this a yearly tradition. My son is a big hunter and fisherman. He absolutely loved the woods surrounding the property. We enjoyed an afternoon of shopping and eating at Grand Rivers, Ky. We drove to Murray to watch a movie, but mainly just enjoyed the homes ambiance.

Thanks Melinda, for making your home available for some great family bonding. I think our family talked, shared, laughed and relaxed more than I can ever remember. We shared a morning devotional together everyday at the breakfast table. Your home made this possible by having us together for 4 mornings that we would not have had if we had Thanksgiving at our home. Everyone would have been off and running in different directions when the meal was over. My husband and I think it is the best investment we have made in a long time!!!

Delores Jones
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review. We love this house in every season but fall and winter are actually my favorite times to be there. When I am trapped inside with cabin fever in St Louis in January, I just get in the car and drive to the lake house. Everything is suddenly better. The light from the big windows chases away the winter blues and the fireplace is so cozy. We can go for walks in the woods or along the shore, watch birds fishing in the lake and throw frisbees to Flora until she is ready to go take a nap. Flora, our goldendoodle, starts wagging her tail as we cross the bridge into Illinois because she knows where we are going. I am so glad you enjoyed your time there as much as we do.
business
I had rather be fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205889
314 809-0080
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Welch, Oklahoma, USA
5

Excellent Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Just returned from spending four fabulous days at this lake house. The place is fantastic. Excellent views of Jonathan Creek from most windows. Very clean and well cared for with all the ammenities anyone could ask for. My sister and family met my wife and I from Oklahoma for this long (7 months in the planning)awaited vacation. This rental was nothing less than perfect.
The weather was almost perfect for us with light mist the day of our arrival, heavy wind on day two and perfect weather the last two days. The black bass made us work for the ones we did manage to catch, but that is fishing.
There is not one negative thing to say about this rental, I highly recommend it to anyone considering this as a possiblility, let your search end here. The owners are very easy to work with and very accomodating. We all hope to be back in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4