Tahoe City house rental - Lots of parking and access during summer and winter. Space for two cars or tricks in the garage and two in the drive way during winter
Lots of parking and access during summer and winter. Space for two cars or tricks in the garage and two in the drive way during winter
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Tahoe City House Rental Photos and Description
3BR and 2 and 1/2 baths Forest/Park Vacation Rental Tahoe City, California USA

This home is located in Lake Tahoe's 'Gold Coast' region -- in the northwest corner of lake Tahoe. All summer and winter recreational and commercial facilities are within walking, biking, or short driving distance.

World-famous Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, Homewood, and Northstar ski resorts are within minutes. Truckee river rafting or golfing is just two miles away in Tahoe City. Summer hiking and biking trails are one block away, heading north or south. Spectacular Emerald Bay and great boat marinas are a short drive to the south on highway 89 (West Lake Blvd.), or north in Tahoe City.

The house has parking for four cars and a boats, as well as room for an RV during the summer. The two-car garage will protect your cars during the winter months, and your bikes in the spring.The huge redwood deck is full of sun during the summer, but has a shaded corner for avid readers. Cable TV and high speed Wi Fi internet access are included. Enjoy the summer sunning; or have a barbecue on the deck while family and friends play horseshoes.

Hike a block into State and National forest land which surround the property-- or through a local meadow of wildflowers. Ward Creek state park trails for hiking and biking are being upgraded in the summer of 2012. You can walk one block to the entrance of this hidden park. You'll be close to fine dining and great cafes and pubs. There's great shopping at outlets in Truckee and at small specialty stores in Tahoe City.

Want some nightlife? Jump in the car for a short trip to casinos or shows at the state line in the North or South Shore. How about a trip to Reno for 'Hot August Nights', or to the docks for the annual wooden boat show? Gamble or visit Virginia City.

Want to rest? Stay at home and enjoy the bar, full kitchen, and cable TV upstairs and downstairs. Tastefully decorated, very clean, and comfortable -- this home has everything you'll need for a great vacation in Tahoe.

If you do need to work or stay in touch you can use the wireless internet.

Home Details: 2014 brings a totally remodeled kitchen with high GE Cafe appliances. New granite counters and beautiful cabinets along with a granite sink. In addition remodeled bath rooms were completed at teh end of 2013 upstairs serving three bedrooms. Beautiful custom travertine tile to the sealing in a walk in shower with a granite toped vanity is attached to master bedroom. Extraordinary green Italian tile is installed in a new walk in shower in second bathroom. Granite vanity top in second bathroom as well as frameless glass shower doors in both bathrooms. The master bedroom has it won mounted flat 47 inch screen TV with new remodeling. Downstairs a great living room now has a huge brand new (in 2013) 55 inch flat screen TV, cable, entertainment center and plenty of seating with three couches

The house was recently painted and all doors and windows replaced. New carpets have been installed up and down stairs while beautiful natural travertine rock has been laid in the kitchen and dining areas. The house is surrounded by a wains coating of river rock with a granite trim. The home sits on a 2/3 acre lot with parking for 5-6 cars and a boat. A horse shoe pit sits just above the backside driveway to the back entrance. The house has central heating as well as a wood burning stove. Sorry but No pets are allowed to help insure the cleanliness of the house.

More Details
Hide Details

We are both professionals who love the lake and the area. We originally owned the property with friends and have renovated over the years as we became sole owners.

Pete or Julie Murchison purchased this house in 1973

There is only one Lake Tahoe. The geography of the land is inspiring to all that visit. The local residents are second home owners like us are working to maintain and restore Tahoe to it's natural and pristine beauty. Our home is in great location on the colorful 'gold coast of the lake' within walking distance of the lake's beach itself and many natural amenities. Emerald Bay, Eagles Peak, The Rubican Trail, The Truckee River, Sugar Pine Park are all minutes away. At the same time we are also within minutes of many man made attractions and facilities to make each day fun and entertaining.

Wonderful people choose to live, work and visit here. Let us fill you in on some of the specific benefits of spending time here?

want to know how to find an eagles nest from the water from a boat or jet ski? Interested in great Shakespear plays with a lake view? Want to cut down your own Christmas Tree for $10 with the support of the forest service? We can help!

16 Reviews of Property 205455 in Tahoe City, California

Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
4

Comfortable stay, lovely home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We enjoyed our stay in Pete's Tahoe home. It was as described and the location is pretty fantastic. Close to Tahoe City as well as the ski resorts. The Savemart is really convenient. It's on the way in on our drive up and also on the way in from Squaw or Alpine. Everything was super clean and the kitchen and bathroom were really nice. We didn't cook much, but the kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc. We also enjoyed the wifi and tv! The shag carpet offered my kids an interesting activity...they would run around and shock each other!
They had a bear deterrent, and that sounded scarier than it was. It was actually very simple to use and not much of a hassle.
We did encounter a couple of hiccups....The driveway was not cleared and ice had formed in spots, so our van had a little trouble getting into it. Also, the garage (it's "attached" to the house, but you walk up steps from the garage to the front door - so you're not going into the house directly from the garage) was a little too short for our van and we couldn't park in it. That wasn't a problem because it didn't snow during our stay, but it would have been nice to have been able to.
Also, the handouts we received prior to arrival, did warn us about neighborhood dogs and that they were friendly, but there was one dog that just stood at the front door and barked for a long time. Once in the evening before dinnertime, and then one time in the morning when we were trying to leave. My kids had a bad experience with big dogs before and they were terrified. In the morning though, the kids locked themselves in the upstairs room and my husband opened the front door to the barking dog. Luckily, the dog just ran away. So we were able to leave. But after that, my kids did not want to play on the deck (which was a great area for them) because they were afraid the dog would come back.

If you need to checkout early in the morning, I would suggest bringing your own towels and sheets because it's part of the deal that you wash all the linens before you leave.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again...if it weren't for the big dog. Friendly or not, big dogs that bark at them, terrify them.
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

A wonderful cabin located in a lovely neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I'd like to keep this review brief and to the point; that is to say, our experience here was absolutely perfect. The cozy environment and warm motif makes you feel right at home. The cabin has a brilliant layout with very spacious and comfortable rooms. The bathrooms, kitchen, and living areas have recently been renovated with a lovely modern touch. The kitchen also features brand new appliances and electronics. Overall, not only is this a stunning cabin, but the location (being very close to Tahoe City) is incredibly convenient (given the fact that some of the best food in Tahoe is only a few minutes away).

I extend my thanks and appreciation to the owners for keeping this property "in with the times" and in tip-top shape. We can't wait to come back!
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
ann arbor,mi
4

Great place to stay on Tahoe's west shore

Great place to stay on Tahoe's west shore
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great location and wonderful amenities, very comfortable for up to 7 people. Everything was very clean and well-maintained.

Would recommend bringing your own linens and towels to avoid spending too much time washing/drying on your last day.
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Los Angeles, CA area
5

Great attention to detail makes this place so comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I took our two teenagers here for our first trip to Lake Tahoe right after Christmas for some rest and relaxation and were not disappointed. The neighborhood is quiet but still an easy, less than ten minute, drive to the markets and shops. The owners have done a superb remodel of the kitchen and bathrooms and have left no detail unattended to make your stay comfortable. No question that we would rent this house again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Just like home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This will be my 3rd season I will be staying here. It is a very warm, homey place. The owners are most gracious and phone available when there are issues which were few and far between. It is a big house and every year there are new and more wonderful improvements. If there is something wrong they fix it. It is a little above my budget, but I am willing to stay here and eat out less.It is worth it. I am looking forward to spending my ski week there again this year.

Even though no pets are allowed in the house there are plenty in the neighborhood to pet and wonderful neighbors who are very friendly.
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Perfect Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Came here to get some R/R, spend some quality time with friends and enjoy the scenery; that's exactly what I got!

The cabin is pretty much exactly as it is shown in the pictures, with my favorite part of it being the big deck that sits atop the garage. There is plenty of space to kick back and enjoy the sun or start your own BBQ, which is what my friends and I decided to do. During the nighttime, the deck also provides for some great views of the stars.

Overall, a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. I would highly recommend this cabin to friends, family, and strangers alike!
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This cabin is a great place to get away and relax. I would highly recommend it! It's well maintained, comfortable, and makes you feel right at home from the second that you walk in. There are numerous activities that are just within driving or walking distance for families or couples alike.

Couple of things that I really enjoyed doing while I was there (August) was going to the beaches and hiking. Emerald Bay has some great Hikes while Kings Beach was my favorite beach that I went to.

Looking forward to my next visit! Thanks Pete and Julie!
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Tahoe is a an amazing getaway that everyone should experience. That being said, I would have to say that this cabin perfectly encapsulates Lake Tahoe's look and feel. The cabin was clean and well maintained, and lets off a homey feel that can't help but make you feel more relaxed.

All you need is to bring your own food and you are set; the cabin has the rest! Don't want to make food? There are plenty of amazing places to eat around the lake. Personally, when I go on vacation, I like to eat out and find good places to eat. Here are a couple that I can remember that I enjoyed:

Firesign Cafe: Amazing breakfast with tons of variety.
Hacienda del Lago: Mexican Place on the Lake.
Captain Jon's: Lunch on the lake. (Literally on a dock)
Kings Cafe: Great Milkshakes.
Bridgetender: Lunch/Dinner on the Truckee River

As for attractions, there are tons of things to do. Couple of things that we all enjoyed:

-Kings Beach is an amazing beach we went to. The sand was soft, the water was nice, and the weather was perfect. They have paddle boats, jet skis, and para-sailing available as well.
-Emerald Bay: Nothing beats the hike down and the views that emerald bay does.
-Sitting at the Cabin BBQing and relaxing. Nothing like sitting on a deck and just talking with your friends.

Overall, I had an amazing experience and so did my friends. I would highly recommend this cabin!
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Feels like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Beautiful cabin in North Lake Tahoe.. I literally felt like I was in the woods and I loved it. Very quiet and peaceful with very nice view of the bright stars on the deck above the 2 car garage. It is a VERY SPACIOUS cabin with WIFI! Even when on the deck! The living area is big and has a pull out sofa and a cool fire place. Stepping into the cabin you automatically feel like its home because everything inside is so warm and welcoming. The kitchen is fully equipped with basically anything that you would need for cooking, baking or even tv dinners. The 3 bedrooms are upstairs: 1 Master Bedroom w/ a bathroom connected. The 2nd full bathroom is also upstairs in between the other 2 bedrooms. Linens and towels in the closets. There is a 1/2 bathroom downstairs. And a laundry room; YES! You can wash and dry your clothes in the house! I loved it, especially when you want your swim wear washed and dried after a day at the lake.

Speaking of lake, this cabin is minutes from lake/beach access such as Common's Beach which is along the strip. The stip filled with hometown shops and restaurants. The Truckee River is minutes away, yes you can float down the river and if you do not have your own floating devices such as tubes or small rafts, you can rent one. There are plenty of markets/stores to grab some last minute essentials such as sunblock or even if you need a gallon of milk. This cabin is in the perfect location.

I truly felt relaxed and stress-free staying here. It was like a home away from home. I definitely will come back and recommend staying at this cabin. 10 stars all the way!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Tahoe Gold Coast Home, Beautiful and Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205455
+1 5107459191
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Spacious vacation home close to beaches!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This home is perfect for couples or families. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to cook or bake; you just need to bring your own food. The laundry room is very useful. Linens and airbeds are handy for extra family members. The home is very comfortable, with heating for cold nights, and dual pane windows to keep the home cool in the summer. There's even a large collection of movies, board games, and legos to keep the kids entertained. With 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths fully furnished, the place feels like home. Commons beach park (with a playground) is minutes away in "downtown" Tahoe City, and that park had many events going on that weekend, from wine tasting to movie on the beach, to concert on the beach. Safeway and Savemart are close by, along with many restaurants. Meeks bay resort is also about 10 minutes away, with a hot sandy beach perfect for swimming. The drive to South Lake Tahoe and popular casinos is about 35-40 minutes. You won't regret renting this place.
Helpful votes: 1/1