La Conner cabin rental - Sunset at Nita's - True view from Deck/Hot tub and all living areas.
Sunset at Nita's - True view from Deck/Hot tub and all living areas.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

La Conner Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6) Oceanfront

Fun cabin atmosphere with unexpected luxuries that make it a truly relaxing retreat. Spacious 1400 square feet with an open floor plan. Hot tub steps from the front door, deck overlooking the entire Skagit Bay with sunsets every night of the year. Unobstructed water and mountain views out of every room in the house, so close to the water it feels like being on a boat. Kids love our Western Bunk Room filled with vintage western gear, adults love the comfortable pillowtop beds and fine cotton linens, fluffy down comforters (on every bed) and the fully stocked gourmet kitchen. There is a Queen pillowtop bed in the Main BR and an equally comfortable Plush Queen in the Western Room which also has 2 long twin beds. Nita's Cabin is our own retreat, it's filled with everything needed to escape and relax in luxury that we continue to fine tune. We have so many things to look at in the cabin, an eclectic mix of art and furnishings that are local, vintage, upcycled, from our travels, you name it. (The coffee table is an antique Indonesian table that once was used to make batik). Everywhere you look there is something of interest, we pride ourselves in having designed Nita's for comfort and relaxation. It's fully stocked for 6-8 people, not just for sleeping but for lounging too. We provide comfortable seating for that many people inside and out. (Our worst experiences as renters have been the places with out a comfy couch, that expect you to lounge on a bed, or that have only one chair on the deck.) We like to be comfortable wherever we are, so Nita's has the goods to make that happen. Comfy chairs and couches by the windows, outdoor chairs and tables on a spacious deck, plus the lovely beds. Plus we use natural, unscented cleaning products to reduce allergens for our guests.

Nita's has views that can't help but inspire you and an open floor plan is perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations at the beach, reunions, retreats. It's a great base for exploring the NW including Skagit Valleys tulip fields and family farms. Nita's is the best value for luxury in the area and has very reasonable rates. You'll be sharing our own retreat, our guests love the Nita's experience and return again and again.

Nita's is stocked many games, music and movies for your use and has comfortable furniture inside and out. Private setting, surrounded by water, woods and flower gardens, yet only a 30-40 minute walk on wooded country roads into La Conner. Nita's is 15 minutes from Deception Pass State Park, Chuckanut Drive and Anacortes, (think whale watching and the ferry to the San Juan Islands and BC), a perfect home base for a NW vacation. Great kayaking, fishing and crabbing, pretty driftwood beaches.

Exceptional birding in all seasons, Skagit Valley is home to multiple species and is on the western flyway for the coastal migrations. Herons, kingfishers, terns, seals, river otters, loons, raccoons, ducks, geese, eagles, hawks, falcons, owls, songbirds and deer can be seen right out the windows, the list goes on and on. In winter Snow Geese and Swans flock to Skagit Valley and large numbers and multiple varieties of waterfowl feed in our bay. This is an ideal home base for anyone birding and wildlife viewing in the rich Skagit Valley and beyond.

Lots of locally grown organic produce stands plus artisan cheeses, dairy, shellfish, fruit and berries are close by. Multiple festivals including The Tulip Festival, The Poetry Festival, Quilt Festival, Arts Alive, The Family Farm Festival, plus we have venues in La Conner, Mt. Vernon and Anacortes for music, theater and cultural events year round. Skagit Valley is home to many artists, fisher folk and farmers and is ripe with history, great shopping, antiques all with a small town speed. Hike and explore tide pools at Deception Pass State Park, ski and snowboard at Mt. Baker or just slow down and see what happens out Nita's enormous windows overlooking the bay. Ferries to the other San Juan Islands are a short drive away.

There is lots of additional information in a Cabin Book put together for guests at Nita's Cabin about what to do and in and around picturesque La Conner and Skagit Valley.

Please note, Nitas Cabin is child and pet friendly but is NOT child proofed or pet proofed. Children and pets must be supervised at all times. The hot tub is not fenced. We are not responsible for accidents on the property, use of Nita's property and things are at your own risk.

Don't be fooled by the inexpensive rates. This is a fully stocked home that we share with guests. Aunt Nita is a fun and sensible gal, come and see what she started.

Keywords: Fully stocked, House, Cabin, waterfront, view, Skagit Bay, La Conner, birding, bird, fun, vintage, beach, hot tub, deck, relaxing, peaceful, retreat, Tulip, San Juan Islands, Fidalgo, Anacortes, NW, PNW, private, garden, comfortable, tasteful, eclectic, luxury, art, sunset, cottage, 2 bedroom, 2 queen beds, 2 singles, Indonesian, bunkbeds, full kitchen, open floorplan, large windows, convertible bed, futon, washer and dryer, dishwasher, games, dvds, ipod dock, music library, stereo system, artists, couches, firepit, down comforters, fine linens, gas fireplace, antique,

More Details
Hide Details

We love to travel but have never found a better view anywhere than at Nita's Cabin! We have put all our love of the NW into Nita's Cabin and have loaded it up with what makes us comfortable and happy. It's eclectic, fun and luxurious. Think beautiful but fun and not stuffy.

Nita's has the best water view of any place we have ever stayed in the Northwest. We love the windows, windows and more windows, it's like watching an ongoing nature show, only from a really comfy chair, couch or hot tub. Plus, Nita's is in the San Juan rain shadow, so the sun shines more! Bring your binoculars, there are lots of birds!

There is nothing more relaxing than watching water reflections and nothing more exciting than the wildlife viewing at Nita's. It's a great combination! And the sounds... waves lapping, gently knocking driftwood at high tide, great horned owls hooting at night, eagles calling, otters whistling, kingfishers and oyster catchers chattering and winter storm winds rocking the trees on the point.

27 Reviews of Property 205406 to La Conner, Washington

Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
average rating of 4.962963 based on 27 reviews
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
washington
5

a little paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
a well appointed waterfront spot with exceptional views and unique interior touches. Well maintained and many comforts of home. I stay here frequently and look forward to each and every time of being able to shed the stress of daily life in a natural setting. The owners clearly care about this property. I'm grateful they share it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind thoughts. Nita's is truly a magical place to relax and unwind. We look forward to hosting your family again soon.
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
Seattle, WA
5

Feels like home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We've stayed at this cabin many times over many years -- and it feels like a home away from home for us. From the car/trailer salt/pepper shakers to the cowboy sheets and pillows, the place brings back memories for us. The kids loved climbing on the rocks (and getting stuck in the mud) and we loved the quiet hours in the cabin. There's no better place to be even when it's raining.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So true! Thanks. B and G
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
5

A Storybook Vintage Waterfront Retreat with all the amenities.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My 89 year old aunt, myself and my mom booked Nita's for two nights to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday and we are all so glad we did. This cabin is absolutely true to it's description and more. Quirkiness and charm is everywhere here without being overbearing mainly because you can feel the history of this lovely cabin. Don't let this fool you, though because thought has been put into every thing a guest would need right down to a needle and thread. Spices and dried herbs in the kitchen, olive oil, tiny reading lamps over each bed, flashlights strategically placed, binoculars aplenty, super comfy beds with views of the ocean. The Western room is adorable! The beds are really comfortable, the place was super clean and ready for our arrival and Greta and Bob were right there via email to answer any questions and concerns. I have to say that I love that this cabin that was Aunt Nitas' has not been redone or overhauled rather it feels like it's only been lovingly added to over the years. I would VERY highly recommend Nita's for the cottage/cabin experience that a lot of us have only read about. Local activities for us was Antique and Thrift Stores of which there are lots of in La Conner, Mount Washington, Anacortes. We had a bit of a wind storm while we were there which was very cool to experience with the amazing view and comfort of the gas fireplace. I can't say enough about our experience staying here except that 2 days is not enough…even in Winter! Thanks Greta and Bob. PS: I hope you enjoyed our little carving and book we left for you and future guests to enjoy. We'll definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you had a good birthday celebration and a good time at Nita's! Thanks so much for the kind words. G and B
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
New England
5

Natural Beauty, Inside and out

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay at this fantastic place. The cottage is cozy and very bright, with fantastic views out the wall to wall windows on the ocean. We saw a pair of eagles, otters, and other birds right out the window. The kitchen was very well set up for cooking and after a shop for premium local ingredients at the nearby Skagit Valley Coop in Mt. Vernon, we settled in for great food, great walks, and a quiet time reading and hot-tubbing out on the deck. The cottage was spotless, and NO hint of mustiness. We enjoyed a fantastic grass fed, local burger lunch in nearby LaConner at Nell Thorne's restaurant. Greta, our hostess was welcoming and made our transaction very easy. We hope to stay there next year when we visit Seattle again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lisa and Mark - We are so happy that you enjoyed the wildlife out the windows and the great food and views in Skagit Valley. It sounds like you did just what we do when we stay at Nita's. We love to share Nita's with people like you who truly enjoy the experience, we hope to see you back next year! Greta and Bob
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
5

Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Nita's is a charming cabin in a beautiful location. We enjoyed the view, the town of La Conner, and really enjoyed the construction of the cabin. I has a great feel to it; it has a lot of custom touches that make the place unique and incredible.

Overall, it was an amazing place to find oneself for the weekend and I would love to visit again.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We hope to see you back again at Nita's!!
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
Seattle
5

Charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a ladies weekend at Nita's cabin and we all agreed, we will be back. Easy to find, private, plenty of room for the three of us, spectacular views, comfortable beds and easy access to La Conner. What's not to love? Thanks, Greta and Bob, for sharing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you had fun!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
West Jordan, Utah
5

Amazing View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I were looking for cooler weather, peaceful surroundings, and a fabulous view. We found all of this at Nita's cabin. We enjoyed the peace and quiet that the cabin provided and hope to return again next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The view still amazes us every time we walk through the door. It's all about location, location, location. We will be happy to welcome you back anytime for more of the same. Thanks for staying!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
5

Tulip tour with friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Nita's cabin is a wonderful place to go to relax and/or as a starting point each morning for your adventure around the Skagit Valley. It was very much as described and met our needs perfectly.
My only regret was that we didn't have more hours at the cabin since the view is gorgeous and very peaceful. Make sure you're there for sunset and be sure to have a glass of wine with you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Touche! It's true about the view and the setting. Most people tell us they would have liked more "down time" at Nita's as it is an amazing setting. Two nights just gets you started, three nights makes you forget.
Hope to see you back for the Snow Geese in the fall.
Bob and Greta
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
United States
5

Cozy Secluded Cabin, Amazing View, close to La Conner shops and restaurants

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I recently had the chance to stay in Nita's Cabin on Fidalgo Island. We were looking for a quiet, romantic, secluded get away, and Nita's provided just that.

When you stay in a place like Nita's, if you're a novice to this sort of vacation rental (we were), you need to keep in mind you're staying in another family's cabin, not a strictly commercial unit, so you'll find evidence of their lives and lifestyle around you as you settle in to the inviting living space. The kitchen is fully supplied with an eclectic mix of gear that includes all the things you need for preparing, cooking, serving and eating. I should mention that we never did find the paper towels, napkins or coffee filters (they were probably there, but we couldn't track them down) so you might want to bring some paper goods with you.

The gas fireplace in the seating area heats the cabin very well (it was rather cool, even cold outside that weekend) and provides great ambiance. The bedroom has a window that opens to provide views of the Sound through the living room picture windows that are just wonderful to wake up to. The cabin's location on a corner means you have a much greater sense of seclusion than you might have further up the street, where other cabins seem to invade each other's space more noticeably.

If you're in town to shop and sample the local eateries, La Conner is just across Swinomish Channel, a short drive or reasonable walk from the cabin. If you want to just get away from it all, Nita's deck based hot tub, delightful views and many amenities will making staying hidden away easy and enjoyable to do. If you have kids, there's a great bunk house style bedroom for them ... separate from the grown up sleeping quarters. :)

Be prepared to do your own dishes and laundry before you leave, and so long as you took good care of the place, you'll get your security deposit back in about a week, by our experience. We'd highly recommend Nita's to anyone looking for a quiet, cozy get away with a more personal touch than a hotel or commercial cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed Nita's, sounds like you did up the town too! For next time, no worries, Nita's coffee maker has a gold filter, it doesn't require paper filters (and we provide cloth napkins in a drawer in the kitchen island). We agree it's much more completely furnished than most rentals and are glad you like the personal touches. As with all rentals, you do need to do your own dishes. It is a private home, so we don't have laundry service, so starting the laundry is much appreciated but not required. Thanks for taking such good care of Nita's, we are thankful to have such nice and thoughtful guests! We hope to see you back again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Skagit Bay Waterfront - Nita's Cabin (NW Birding Paradise)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205406vbi
(206) 612-4683 (Washington, USA)
La Conner Northwest Washington
Seattle, Washington
5

This cabin is very cool!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Four women of a certain age, old friends, spent 3 nights here and we had a ball. The house is not fancy, rather it is eclectic and inspired in its decor, use of vintage/thrift store items. The owners must be artists because everything in the place has a cool factor. The setting is quiet, private and gorgeous. The living area is perfect for conversation, playing games, reading, eating, drinking and relaxing. Only one bathroom (no prob for us). Beds were very comfy, including the extra-long twin I slept in. Old stove but worked okay. If it's luxury you're looking for this is not your place. If you want a sweet cabin to spend quality time with friends or family, Nita's is highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love to share Nita's and its true it is full of cool vintage stuff, including a great stove with colored/lighted push buttons We think its cabin fancy, although things purposely aren't matchy matchy. We do make sure the real luxury items are there. Comfy beds, comfy seating and a killer view! That is our definition of luxury! It's certainly not a generic condo experience, it's way more fun! Glad you enjoyed it.
Helpful votes: 1/1