Harpers Ferry cottage rental - Back porch with rockers overlooks Potomac River
Back porch with rockers overlooks Potomac River
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Harpers Ferry Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 2-4

Just a short drive (or train ride!) from the DC-Baltimore metro area yet a complete getaway for a weekend or longer, this charming, historic cottage is ideally located in the scenic 'upper town' of Harpers Ferry with tri-state and river views. Leave the car and walk five minutes to the Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, a treasure trove of pre-Civil War and Civil War history and one of the best-preserved 19th century towns anywhere, complete with living history presentations, museums, interactive exhibits, shops, restaurants, river sports, hiking, biking and much more. Harpers Ferry was the site of abolitionist John Brown's raid in 1859, one of the important triggers of the American Civil War. Visit the John Brown 'fort' just a short walk from the cottage.

Relax!: Relax in the rocking chairs on the back porch overlooking the Potomac River and Maryland Heights, or have your morning coffee while sitting on the comfy Adirondack chairs on the huge, secluded front porch. Gaze out over the river gap--the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers--from the sitting area in the spacious, beautifully decorated upstairs bedroom.

Freshly renovated and painted, this delightful cottage is tastefully appointed and has central A/C and heat, a full kitchen, a cozy and romantic gas fireplace, and intimate proportions that are ideal for a special weekend or week away.

Area Attractions: Walk to nearby Jefferson Rock, where Thomas Jefferson declared the view 'worth a trip across the Atlantic,' and hike a little of the Appalachian Trail, which passes just 200 yards from the cottage. Or walk down to the historic lower town and take a dip in the Shenandoah. Cross the footbridge over the Potomac to the Maryland side of the river and you are on the C&O Canal towpath--a 184.5-mile-long national park that offers fabulous biking and hiking. Or try rafting, tubing, kayaking, or canoeing with one of the local outfitters. You will want to explore the gift shops, bookstores, restaurants and ice cream parlors that are part of the Harpers Ferry historical park, or try golfing or wine-tasting at local courses and vineyards. First-class thoroughbred racing is just four miles away at the Charles Town Race Track, and the Summit Point car races are about a 15-minute drive.

Historic Property: As with many historic properties, due to steep, curved stairs, we do not recommend the cottage for families with toddlers or persons with limited mobility.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 205203 in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia

Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Tavares, Florida, USA
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Lives up to billing. We, together with our Standard Poodle, stayed at the Peggy Dye house in mid-April, 2013. This charming cottage was extremely clean and well maintained. The location, within easy walking distance of historic Harpers Ferry, is perfectly situated for visiting Harpers Ferry as well as a base for exploring nearby locations such as Gettysburg and Antietam Battlefield Parks and the Appalachian Trail. We even attended horse races at the Charles Town race track only 20 minutes away. In addition to a fully stocked kitchen and flat screen/satelite tv, the owner has included books and magazines on local/regional history. Of particular interest is a scrapbook including helpful information and a history of the cottage. From booking to travel direction to post-visit followup, the owner, Patricia, has not overlooked a detail and made every effort to guarantee our visit was perfect. We heartily recommend the Peggy Dye House if Harpers Ferry is your travel destination.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Robesonia, PA
5

Warm & Welcoming Home!

Warm & Welcoming Home!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Arranged for a 2 night rental to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday & we were very glad we chose this home for our stay.
The Peggy Dye home is simplistically stylish with warm colors, comfortable furnishings (the bed was so comfy!), a cute kitchen with everything you could need available (as well as coffee, filters, & creamer for that first morning without worry!), convenient to town, & an awesome view from the bedroom window. Patricia was very quick & helpful in answering any of my questions prior to the rental time which was greatly appreciated.
I would not hesitate to recommend this home for anyone considering a visit to the Harpers Ferry area!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
5

Relaxing and charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The perfect mix of charm and relaxing. The owners have done a wonderful job updating the property without losing the history. We found the cottage very clean and well maintained. Very walkable to downtown.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Springfield, PA
5

Charming Cottage in Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I was thrilled when I walked into this charming, immaculately kept cottage. It is everything promised! My friends and I found it to be a cozy refuge after a busy day of sight-seeing and activities. We were able to walk into town and found the location great for accessing the hiking, biking, and kayaking we were interested in doing. I highly recommend a stay here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
209
5

Quick & Easy NYC winter weekend getaway

Quick & Easy NYC winter weekend getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This cottage is the perfect winter getaway for a couple in NYC. It is spacious, quiet, and well-lit. Each day we cooked dinner in the well-equipped kitchen, and then enjoyed our meals at the dining room table by the warm fireplace. In the morning, we took in the beautiful view of the river valley from our bedside window. You can explore downtown Harpers Ferry by foot in a day, and many other nearby towns are also worth exploring! Patricia was extremely helpful and always available when we needed her.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Reston VA
5

Lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We had a wonderful weekend getaway at this lovely cottage. It is beautifully appointed and restored, from polished old hardwoods to antique furniture, with a perfect location and stunning views. A large selection of local maps and guidebooks was a thoughtful extra. We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Historic, Charming, Luxurious Cottage with Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205203
301 606-0539
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Maryland
5

A Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
This quaint and comfortable cottage was clean and nicely decorated, with little touches of home (not only were dishes, towels and linens provided, but also sugar and sweetener, tea and coffee, salt, pepper, and a little welcome basket). There was plenty of room for the two of us and would be fine for kids and/or pets. The location in Harpers Ferry would be perfect in warmer months (we were there in January) for a short walk to the shops and restaurants, and for hikers wanting to take advantage of the many trails and scenery.

The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom spacious. We liked the little sitting area perfect for the book reader. The closet was large and the bathroom was outfitted with soap and shampoo and little plastic cups.

The cottage is very charming and we really loved it. We hope to go back there in the spring to enjoy all that Harpers Ferry has to offer.

Two small caveats: Although the neighborhood is very quiet, trains go by frequently. We liked the sound, but it might be bothersome for others. Also, there is no parking at the house itself. Parts of Harpers Ferry pre-date motorized vehicles, so there is street parking about half a block away. We only found it a minor inconvenience. Due to that, to the stone steps leading up to the house's front door (which does not face the street), and to the stairs inside that lead up to the bedroom, we would not recommend the cottage for anyone with mobility issues.

One more little thing--there are no curtains on the kitchen windows, which look out over the house's charming little patio. We would have preferred a little more privacy from the neighbors by way of something covering the windows. We are not at our best in the morning before caffeine!

All in all, we really loved the cottage and can't wait to go back. We hope by this recommendation we haven't made it look so good that others will book it when we want it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 21/21