Willsboro estate rental - Heated Pool capturing 180 degree view of Lake Champlain and Green Mountains
Heated Pool capturing 180 degree view of Lake Champlain and Green Mountains
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps13
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Willsboro Estate Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 6 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

To our Knowledge the ONLY luxury Property in the area with an upscale Heated Pool overlooking the Lake.... for the days you feel lazy . Located on Lake Champlain, in Willsboro New York, a few short hours drive from New York city (NYC), New Jersey, Boston, and Montreal. The home is right on the beach with over 100 feet dock providing mooring for the crafts and an in to the Lake via 2 ladders. There are six bedrooms, five bathrooms, and one powder room. Fabulous 18 foot cathedral ceilings and skylights with breathtaking views from every room. This is one of a Kind ... A Luxury Estate!

LARGE 18X45 FT IN-GROUND DESIGNED HEATED POOL OVERLOOKING A MAGNIFICENT 180 DEGREE VISTA OF MOUNTAINS, FORESTS, LAKE, ISLANDS AND BLUE SKY (Pool in summer, early Fall and late Spring only)

The large dining room seats 12 plus. The 24' x 24' living room has a fireplace. Large Family/Playroom smack on the lake. This home is tastefully furnished throughout and features original paintings. Covered Porch with a magnificent Vista of the Lake, the four Brother Islands, Vermont’s Green Mountains and many Ski Resorts. Check your email using our Computer and Laser Printer with toll-free High-Speed Internet Cable connection and WiFi connectivity.

Over 6 Acres of manicured landscape and managed Forest with trails. Beach stairs lead to over 300 feet of private beach, breakers, and dock. There is safe swimming in pristine water. Sailing, Fishing, exploring hidden Bays, Coves, and Beaches of the largest US lake after the Great Lakes. You can boat straight to New York City, Montreal and beyond, right from your own dock! Burlington is just 15 minutes across the Lake and many restaurants minutes away.

Bed Set-Up for a total occupancy of 13 People. 1 California King, 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Double, 2 Twins, 1 Bunkbed (Lower Double; Upper Twin), 1 Crib.

Directions: North of Lake George exit 32 off NY I-87 or by Ferry from Burlington/Charlotte VT (I-89 and Route 7). Nearest Airports: Plattsburgh International Airport , Burlington, Vermont , Westport NY Private Landing

Keywords: Home right on Beach with a 100' dock and Moorings all Amenities.

More Details
Hide Details

Sylvia and Roger raised 3 children and 9 grand children on that happy lucky Home

enjoying sailing and all water sports in summer ... and in Winter , when the lake used to freeze then all the way to Burlington.

Sylvia purchased this estate in 1979

In the 70's we kept a sailing boat in the Marinas on Lake Champlain ... after 7 years we ended knowing all the coves and bays ... we selected that spot ... the best sailing spot on Lake Champlain

The view is unique, and because it is the WIDEST PART OF THE LAKE ... great sailing and crystal clear water

11 Reviews of Property 20512 in Willsboro, New York

Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
ShortHills, NJ
5

What a Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were so happy to pull into this fabulous property, where we were warmly greeted by the owner and her staff.
This place in big! 6 bedrooms - some are not big, but lots of common room and a great room that accommodated all 13 of us. The dinning room that usually sits 12 comfortably had another small table added to it to accomodate our family by the owner, who normally says that when her family is there they sit 18 in there - all squished she says.
The grounds are something else, like 6 acres or something with tons of stuff to do on that property from football, to Frisbee, to badminton, swings, horseshoes, bocce ball and tons more....then of course there is a heated pool...we were lucky with the weather but still nice for a late dip when heated.
When renting there one cannot forgot to mention the incredible lake and the views that are breathtaking from the verandas that surround the house.
A fantastic vacation, a fantastic home, a fantastic spot and memories that we will never forget.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Chicago, IL, USA
5

Fantastic Stay - GREAT property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My extended family were warmly welcomed in this great home on this spectacular lake. The owner greeted us into her home and even showed us all the pictures of the family who spent time there. The kitchen was well stocked with all the things the 11 of us needed all the way down to wine decanters.
The kids loved swimming in the amply heated pool, while we all sat in the huge space around it, some of us under an awning, others warming ourselves in the sun - so much space.
The grounds are spectacular, with flowers everywhere and beautiful trees to take cover under on the hot afternoons.
My 2 sons are avid fishermen, and the lake was a delight to fish in. the owner set us up with a local fisherman, who shared all his favorite spots and would not take a penny - not even a tip, as he was honored to do it for the owner.
We had a lot of fun in the great room, and wonderful dinning room and were lucky to almost all have our own bathroom!
We will be back and i would recommend this place for any family that wants to really have a grand time.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
2

Overstated - Way Over Valued - Very Dated - Not accurate description. NOT LUXURY.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We rented the "Luxury Private Resort" Aug 17 - 24th 2013. Owner was very nice. The property had a great view and had a heated pool. The house had plenty of room and bathrooms. However, the house was very dated. Amenities were also dated but functional. The house had a lot of bugs (centipedes, flies, fruit flies and beetles) which no one really appreciated. Did not rank as LUXURY by any means. It was indeed private. The shoreline and access is not well defined in description. High cliff, very rocky beach. Could not use the dock - had to use mooring for our boat and rent a slip on opposite side of peninsula in bay to safely load kids, while the Owner's boat remained on the lift next to the dock. We felt that the owner should have made the dock accessible for our boat and our family with young kids. Especially for the amount of money we paid. Nights were very cool and owner DID NOT allow campfires or provide a fire pit - which was really a bummer. On the shoreline, at night, when it’s very cool, with tons of bugs – not having a fire took a good portion of the vacation away from us. Instead you needed to stay inside most nights. Owner says the absence of a fire pit was a safety issue - but was really a lame excuse. The property had plenty of safe areas for a good bon fire. The rental was EXTREMELY overpriced for the outdated conditions of the house, poor beach access conditions and not being able to have nightly fires with the kids. Having rented Luxury Resorts before we all felt that the property description was more than a bit misleading, not awful, but not accurate. Once you arrive, there are no other options - middle of nowhere and anything worth doing is a minimum of 1.5 hrs away. We did charter a fishing trip and hit about 10 fish, which was a highlight.
Owner's Response: Todd,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are sorry your vacation was not all that you felt it could be. Unfortunately the weather this spring and summer made the shore more difficult to access - water levels of lake Champlain were at their record highs - in fact in over 100 years of record keeping the lake has never been as high as it was this July. The high waters meant not only that there was in fact not much shore, but made the waters too deep for the dock to be put out in it's entirety.

As for campfires, I believe the question was asked before you came - and our answer was the same. Our property is in the Adirondack Park and therefor managed by the APA (Adirondack Park Agency). We are sorry you consider it "lame" - however campfires are considered dangerous and there are in fact insurance issues related to that as well.

As for the house being "dated" - well it's a matter of opinion. The house is equipped with TVs (satellite and cable), XBOX, Wifi, Computers etc...what most would consider pretty modern equipment. The house is also equipped with a basic pantry (so you don't have to go out and buy salt and pepper) and the kitchen is stocked with all modern appliances, as well as more than enough silverware glassware and place settings for at least 12 people.

Finally - yes, Willsboro NY is pretty remote - and the house is set on the Lake and therefor is very private. However Plattsburgh is a half hour away where they have shopping, movies, restaurants and an International Airport. There is much to do within a half hour of the home if the remote location is not what you are looking for during the whole vacation.

Again, thanks for taking the time to review your stay and we hope you find somewhere more to your liking next summer,
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Canton, CT
5

Extended Family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We drove down the long driveway and immediately were awed by the view of the Adirondacks and Lake Champlain. Add to that a wonderful pool and a yard that had room for badminton and volleyball. The lake was right in front of us, perfect for kayaks or a refreshing swim. The house was just right for the 11 of us. Bedrooms were upstairs with plenty of bathrooms. The living room was large and roomy, so we could all sit comfortably. Every night we ate out on the outside porch. We used the indoor porch to build a puzzle and play games. The kitchen was well stocked, too. Other than golf and going out for ice cream we were content to just be there. We have recommended this property to others who have extended families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Sue,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at our home. We also appreciate the recommendations to friends! We loved having you as a guest in our home and would love to see you again there soon!
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Lee, Ma
5

Willsboro /Lake Champlain Vacation Resort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 11 spent a week at this beautiful home in July of 2013. I had done extensive research to find a location that all of us could enjoy. I had previous experience with renting through VBRO and had a very clear picture of what I wanted. Sylia Melka was wonderful to work with {unlike our previous California rental where the owner had no interest at all in her property accept for the money it would bring in.} Sylvia immediately answered any questions I had. Upon our arrival she met with us and reviewed everything we would need to know. The house was a charming, very spacious, extremely clean and fully stocked with all that we would need to enjoy are week. The property was beautifully maintained and the gardens were spectacular. The location on the lake was amazing. Both adults and children loved having access to both pool and lake on the same property. Photos on VBRO were representative of the property but of course it was even more beautiful than photos depicted. I would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful property. I cannot not say enough about how easy it was to work with Sylvia and how gracious she was to share her beautiful home with us. My children have all decided that there is no point in looking for another location for next years family vacation when we have everything we could possibly want at this beautiful spot. We look forward to spending many more years there.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Susan,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate how well you treated our home while it was in your care. We would love to have you and the family come back for many years to come!
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Jackson,NJ
5

Our 2011 stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Just wanted to get back to you and let you know that our family vacation was one of the best. Accommodations were great, weather could not be better as the sun was shining every day. Children and some adults went skiing, tubing , boating .....just enjoyed the lake. The pool was an extra and made for a great family gathering place, resting place and water sports....all in family are very competitive. The view of the lake from your home and the pool is spectacular. The Fishing was one of our best. We caught some large Walleye and Small Mouth Bass and (one unidentified large fish). All were fairly good size. I’ll try to send you some pictures.
Some extra’s included Ausable Chasm, Paint ball (not Me), and a 9 hole golf course and some reading. We did get the entire family out to dinner at the Upper Deck. Expensive but the food and service was terrific. The double barbecue worked great.
Hope you found everything in order at your home. We confess to breaking one plate(one of the adults, not me) and our youngest did her nails on a towel, of course in black, which JoAnn tried to clean but was unsuccessful. The boat worked great but we did begin to have trouble with the boat lift in the last couple of days. We weren’t sure why it didn’t go down as far, unless the water level went down. By the last day John indicated it wouldn’t go up or down. I left you a phone message on that.
thanks for making our vacation special and you have a great place there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so so much Mike for your nice words. So happy you enjoyed your stay ... pool, boat weather trips and all! Let me tell you that we hardly had to clean after your stay ... give our thanks to the lady of the House. I am sorry about the lift ... it was only a jam in the lower cable , that got caught under the shaft/poley. There must have been a wave action at time of embarking on the lift. It took Pat a few seconds and we were in business again.... I wish you had called him and saved yourself obvious frustration the last day... Sorry ... Next time!
All the best and thanks again. Look forward to seeing you this summer again!
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Los Angeles
5

Lake Champlain Wikllsboro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Mu husband and I rented this property during the summer of 2010 for our yearly family reunion. Our experience there was perfect and the place was impeccable. We have tried to return each each since but unfortunately the place was not available the week we wanted it. We would unequivocally recommend it for any family vacation.
Douglas and Francoise
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so sorry we won't get to see you this year! Look forward to seeing you next time!
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Canada
5

A Lake Champlain Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This property is fantastic - we have been back many years in a row. The outdoor area is pristine and very well kept. The pool is clean and beautifully situated overlooking the lake, the Four Brother islands and the Green Mountains of Vermont. Inside the home the rooms are clean and charming with lots of bedrooms and bathrooms for big families and guests. The owner is clearly very conscientious as everything is kept in good working order from year to year. The area generally is beautiful as anyone who has visited this part of Lake Champlain will tell you. Two thumbs up.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for posting this review. Our family of return renters is truly the greatest testimonial we could have. We look forward to seeing you again this summer.
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Anchorage, AK
5

Super Location + a heated pool!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
My husband's parents rented this home for two family vacations. We first stayed there for a week in the summer of 2007 and then returned for another week in the summer of 2009.

The location of this place is wonderful (big property, no visible neighbors, great view of the Green Mountains across the lake) and the pool is lovely too (and heated!). The house is very comfortable (but not overly-fancy, so it is not worry-inducing to be there with little kids) and spacious. We stayed there with nine adults and six children so it was a little tight in terms of sleeping arrangements but it still worked out well.

There were a few minor glitches that came up during one of our stays (for example, the mini fish missing some parts and one summer the pool cover got stuck) but the Melkas were quick to get things fixed or offer alternatives. Also, it sounds like they have made many improvements since we were last there. I hope we get to return another year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words. We look forward to your coming back. We are sorry that the rigid cover of the Pool got stuck during your last visit ... you'll be happy to know that this cover was in the meantime entirely replaced by its Californian supplier who invoked a faulty mechanism ... working as a charm since.
All the best to the rest of the family
Best
Roger & Sylvia
business
Lake Champlain Luxury Private Resort Right on Your Own Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p20512vb
(518) 569-1033 (New York, USA)
Willsboro Lake Champlain Valley
Santa Fe, NM
5

Family Gathering on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Every year our family gets together for a reunion. Last summer our reunion was held on Lake Champlain and it was a wonderful experience. The home is gorgeous and well taken care off. There are plenty of bedrooms, a pool and easy access to the lake. Arranging for a small sailboat and other water recreational vehicles was easy to do. Working with the Melka's was also a pleasure. I highly recommend use of this wonderfully secluded home nestled in the trees.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hello Friends
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you and shall continue doing our best to make your future stays pleasant and care free. Since your last stay we have built an extra deck around the pool of 34 ft. by 12 for sun bathing and built along the shore a retaining wall to hold the bank ... which we have immediately buried and planted vines to give it back its natural look. Please make sure to drop by to say hello anytime you are in the neighborhood Hope to see you soon.
Regards
Roger & Sylvia