Margarees cottage rental - Lovely Cottage by the Ocean
Lovely Cottage by the Ocean
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Margarees Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

(Although many of our July-August bookings are filled in SeaSky, please check our other two cottages at Homeaway #382569 and #3490361 if you find your weeks booked; both have spectacular views and lots of privacy!)

This stunning oceanside cottage is located five minutes from the Cabot Trail on a 150-acre property and has been featured in Canadian House and Home and Victoria Magazines. You’ll love the clean air and sound of waves rolling in on the rocks below SeaSky. It's only two minutes to the beach itself. This architect-designed cottage is built on a bluff over the ocean and was designed to recall the best aspects of Maritime tradition, but to modernize them with an open-concept interior. It has a summer-y feeling, with a high ceiling, boarded walls and fresh white paint. Sunsets will knock your socks off. This design is best suited for couples, or couples with one or two children. There's a large deck with a BBQ and amazing views. The ocean and beach views are breathtaking! As you relax back at the cottage in the evening, you’ll be reassured by the steady cadence of the Margaree Island lighthouse. If your dates are already booked, you could also check #3490361, the Deep Blue Sea cottage, which is new for 2013-check listing; there is also #277105 or #382569 which are on nearby properties, equally spectacular and out of sight of each other.

About us...: Bell grew up in Margaree Valley, about twenty minutes from here, while I grew up in Toronto; we both love it here, so being here makes a lot of sense for us. We opened Cape Breton Clay, our pottery business in 1996 and we've been busy here ever since. Bell is also a painter and I am a photographer and filmmaker. We built this cottage in 1994 as a summer house when we hadn't yet settled permanently in Cape Breton. There is a rich, strong culture here, historically and musically, and life unwinds at its own special pace. Although a three-day visit to the Island is not uncommon, a week is more what it takes to really get a sense of the rhythms and charm of Cape Breton.

Local residents...: Fishermen haul their lobster traps each year out in front of our cottage. Moose, eagles, deer and foxes are regulars. It's easy to meet people here, and the daily pace here is slower than in most cities. It's nice to be in a place where you don't need air-conditioning; Cape Breton summers are warm-to-hot in the day, but perfect in the evening, and at the shore there are ocean breezes to keep any bugs at bay. Chimney Corner beach is one of the finest on the island, but because it is not visible from the road, it's usually unoccupied during the week– in addition to the fine beach and swimming, there are interesting rock formations to explore nearby. Cape Breton is a spectacular place, and you'll find the scenery on this stretch of coast particularly striking.

More Details
Hide Details

Bell and I built the cottage in 1994 as a summer house when we hadn't yet settled permanently in Cape Breton. We are both artists, and when we decided to live here all year 'round, in 1997, we needed more room–we built another building to contain studio and production space and commuted between the buildings every day. Eventually, over the years, we migrated to the larger building permanently, and used the cottage for studio space and for guests. So, the cottage is a special place for us, and we laboured for years to make it right.

Stewart purchased this cottage in 1994

Cape Breton is a spectacular place, and the scenery on this stretch of coast is particularly striking; it can also be dramatic, with 130 kph winds at many points of the year. One must keep a clean yard in such conditions! There is such a rich culture here, historically and musically, and life unwinds at its own special pace. We see some of the most dramatic sunsets anywhere, watch whales play in our front yard, and fishermen haul their lobster traps every year. There are the gorgeous rolling hills of Mabou, and the town of Inverness, which offers music, pubs and food; the acclaimed new Cabot Links golf course (rated #42 in the world by Golf Digest) by the sea, which is only 20 minutes away and offers a unique golfing experience in Inverness. Moose, eagles, deer and foxes are regulars. It's easy to meet people, and the daily rhythm here is slower than in most cities; we visit neighbors and friends whenever we can, as we are busy in the summer months. It's also nice to be in a place where you don't need air-conditioning; Cape Breton summers are warm-to-hot in the day, but perfect in the evening, and at the shore there are breezes to keep any bugs at bay. Chimney Corner beach is one of the finest on the island, but because it is not visible from the road, it's usually unoccupied during the week– we love to take our dog Ryder there for a good run.

37 Reviews of Property 203860 in Margarees, Nova Scotia

Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 37 reviews
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Magic in Margaree

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
To say that this little cottage is charming, welcoming, and perfectly placed in the quiet heart of Margaree would be an understatement. My brother and I had the privilege of spending a week here this past summer, and I can honestly say I have never had a more enjoyable, more perfect vacation experience. The cottage itself, tucked away on a quiet hilltop, exceeded our expectations. It was warm and inviting - giving us a sense of home despite our being 3,000 miles away. The upstairs loft provided the perfect place for restful, peaceful nights beneath the stars, and cozy naps during the day. I love to cook, and the kitchen proved to be more than up to the task of a little Texas cooking. It's obvious that the owners, Stewart and Bell, have made it a priority to maintain this property, and I have to say, they do a brilliant job of it. In addition, I say with great certainty that you will not find two more gracious, more welcoming, and more kind hosts than Stewart and Bell. Stewart made it a point to welcome us, and make us feel at home. He was incredibly understanding and accommodating - two features that were an absolute blessing. I highly recommend that you let him walk you through the map of the island. After listening to live music and eating excellent food at the Red Shoe Pub, or grabbing lunch and a pastry at the local Dancing Goat, you won't regret this decision at all! For those wishing for a little quiet and relaxation, the true gem of staying at Chimney Corner is the beautiful beach located just down the road. My brother and I spent every day down on the quiet stretch of sand in our little cove. It's a short two minute drive to the entrance, or in my brother's case, the perfect end point on the return from his morning run. You'll love the cool, crystal clear water, climbing the rocks up the hill, and the abundance of crustaceans you'll find scurrying along the ocean floor. If I haven't expressed my enjoyment enough at this point, allow me to say this - You won't find a sweeter, more intimate and peaceful vacation spot than this. An absolute gem in the heart of Margaree Harbor, and perhaps one of my favorite places on earth. Once you walk up to the top of that hill and overlook the ocean below, you'll realize this place is worth every penny. And if you listen hard enough, you might just hear Stewart at the top of that same hill saying, "Welcome home."
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A beautifully appointed cabin nestled on the ocean. The listing was just as described with incredible views of the ocean and privacy. The cabin is contemporary and very comfortable. The wood burning stove heated the cabin perfectly (additional heating units were available when needed). Two beds are located in the spacious loft and both are very comfortable. Furnishings are perfect for the cabin with a large library of music and books.

The owners, Belle and Stuart, were very helpful and friendly. Located on the property, Stuart took time to show me the ins and outs of the cabin and identified "must see" locations on a map of the Cape. From the onset of planning my trip to leaving the property, Stuart was always attentive and helpful.

I would most definitely recommend this property (or Stuart and Belle's other properties) for those traveling to Cape Breton. This was a magnificent stay!
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Wonderful SeaSky Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This past summer my husband and I had the pleasure of spending the first week of July at Sea and Sky cottage. It was truly amazing and exactly as advertised on the web and in other reviews. In fact it was better! We pretty much lived on the deck overlooking the ocean. We couldn't get enough of the spectacular view! We enjoyed watching the whales, lobster boats and of course the beautiful sunsets! The cottage was well equipped and quite comfortable. We liked the eclectic music selection. My husband was especially impressed by the number of John Prine CD's. It was also a great location for day trips and Stewart provided us with excellent advice of where to go and what to see. We certainly plan a return visit in the near future!
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fit us Perfectly

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you SO much for all of your kindness and the guide to the island! We did go visit the Big Spruce brewery (just a tiny little place, a true "mircro" brew!) Ryan ended up with a growler of the Spruce Tip IPA, he said it was a good one. We absolutely loved our time here and the funniest part is we weren’t sure what to expect; yet everything fit us perfectly. We explored the Cabot Trail, we were able to see whales, seals, and bald eagles, made it to The Barn, visited many local artisan shoppes (Bell's work is lovely and we are excited to be bringing several pieces back to the states with us), had a great anniversary dinner at the Distillery, spent some time in Mabou, had a few lobster dinners from the Bistro and more then our share of wine!

However, far and away the cottage was the highlight - I think we will miss that most. The views are breathtaking and the low key pace here allowed us to make the most of it. This 10 year trip for us turned out to be everything we wanted.
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Philadelphia, PA
5

Spectacular Views is an Understatement

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Staying at this cottage was an amazingly enjoyable experience. My wife and I enjoyed one of the most relaxing weeks we've ever had while staying at Stewart and Bell's property. All of our expectations were either met or exceeded during our week. All of the pictures and descriptions were absolutely accurate.

The views at sunset were just breathtaking. Every night the sky was painted a different shade of purple and pink as the sun dropped below the horizon. We had a wonderful time sitting outside enjoy wine and cooking on the grill while we watched the bald eagles fly by, or looking down and seeing a whale or seal swim by (seriously - this is what you see). Even the one night we had some rain and wind, we still enjoyed watching the ocean waves churn up through the floor to ceiling windows while we stoked a fire in the wood burning stove.

The cottage location is perfect for enjoying Cape Breton. It was a short ride to the town of Inverness and an equally easy and scenic ride up to the national park where we did some great hikes. If hiking isn't your thing, the nearby beach is totally accessible and perfect for fires at night.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the wireless worked perfect. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and accessible but not overbearing. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Exceeded All Expexctations!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay at this lovely cottage was more than perfect. We have stayed at many
places that were recommended on this web site, and while we have thoroughly
enjoyed them, this cottage overlooking the St. Lawrence Bay exceeded all
expectations. The cottage itself was impeccably clean and is absolutely beautiful. The view from the deck is spectacular. Our greatest challenge was to overcome the desire to simply stay at the cottage! Of course, we did venture out to many of the sites on Cape Breton, and the cottage is extremely well located to do so.
Belle and Stewart are wonderful hosts! Every recommendation they gave us was spot on.
While we were here in August, we cannot imagine that Fall or Spring would not be equally
amazing. We’re already planning our trip back to the cottage next summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

great cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a great place to spend a vacation. The location is really special with great views and lots of privacy. Stewart, the owner of the cottage, lives next door. However, you still have remarkable amount of privacy due to the layout (own driveway, entrance, views, etc.) In fact we went most of the week without seeing a soul. That said, Stewart is quite helpful on suggestions of things to do in the area and is readily available by phone/email if you need him. There are many activities do do within a 30-40 minute car ride of the cottage - whale watching, fly fishing, visiting cape breton national park, musical events; the list can go on. However, you can walk/drive a few 100 meters down the way and have very picturesque beach - most likely all to yourself and we sometimes regretted leaving to do anything because the cottage itself was so enjoyable what with the amazing view, bird watching and even the occassional whale moving up the coast.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Living the Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a once in a lifetime vacation for my wife and me, a celebration of our having mutually turned 60 this past year. She'd been to Cape Breton for the Celtic Colors music festival, and her dream was to get me up here. She found this cottage on line, and we never looked back!
Stewart and Bell are gracious and quiet hosts, living right next door where they're able to pop over if there's a problem, but very sensitive about not being omnipresent! They had some great tips on where to go and what to do, and their description of the cottage was absolutely accurate. It is a joy to live in, with panoramic window views of the ocean vista (and yes, we saw whales!), a nearby beach frequented primarily by local folks, modern appliances, very hot water, and comfortable seating and sleeping accommodations. And what a joy to have Wi-Fi so we could keep in touch with our children back home!
This place is private, with no traffic to interfere with sleep, no jetskis, and consequently, it's a bit of a trip to get to a grocery or gas station. But that seems to be true for the entire island, and certainly didn't stop us from fully enjoying the national park and a variety of local beaches for rock hunting. We found a plethora of very good restaurants, and you should be sure to ask Stewart for directions to the Normaway Inn for their weekly concerts in The Barn!
By the way, this house was written up in the Canadian version of Better Homes and Gardens in 1998, and we found that seemingly anywhere we were on the island, we no more had to mention Stewart and Bell's name to find that they were known and liked by all. That's helpful when you're making reservations or just trying to meet local people.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

A tough act to follow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
After reading the many glowing reviews for this special place it's difficult to add to the superlatives. Stewart and Bell.(..and Ryder) deserve first accolades. In similar circumstances you would be pleased just to have convivial and attentive hosts doing all the right things. In this case it quickly be came apparent that we were confronted with new friendships. It's hard to explain why people connect but sometimes they just do - and this was one of those times. By the end of our two weeks we felt that we had established some sort of beach head in Cape Breton and could no longer be considered mere tourists. Things will never be quite the same.
Much has been said by others of the natural beauty of Chimney Point, the simple yet elegant architectural sophistication of the cabin and the many splendours of Cape Breton. It is difficult to add to these endorsements yet perhaps we can say that the Celtic culture provided a particularly comforting ambiance given our own Scottish heritage and love of music. The Barn at the Normway, the Red Shoe Pub and many other venues offer superb entertainment in intimate surroundings where you almost feel part of a family gathering. Next time I will definitely have to bring my bagpipes and get measured for a kilt!
....and by the way, if you are a golf nut don't overlook the newly minted Cabot Links course at Inverness. We found the splendid landscape home to two baby foxen. (I'm not sure of the plural for "fox" - ox vs. oxen?). No doubt this will become a 'must play' destination for the true aficionado.
All-in-all we would like to add one more star to this review and give Stewart and Bell a big six!

John and Signy Cowle
business
Lovely Oceanside Cottage with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203860
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Beautiful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
It's almost misleading for me to review this cottage, because our time was so great and the weather was absolutely perfect. Cape Bretonites tell me the weather isn't always so good. Our luggage was lost, and we were without it for two days. Stewart was most helpful, and improvised a sign for American Airlines so that they wouldn't miss the driveway. And by the way, you won't go wrong following any of Stewart's suggestions for places to visit and things to see. The property was clean and well-maintained. The view and surroundings are so aesthetically pleasing and relaxing that we didn't feel that much like traveling. It was always a pleasure to return to the cabin, and gaze out over the sea, with its interesting beach and island on the south side of your view. I highly recommend this place, except someone who would have problems with an upstairs bedroom coupled with a downstairs bathroom might not like it.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1