Helen house rental - Welcome to Unserhaus
Welcome to Unserhaus
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Helen House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR + Loft Suite, 4 Baths, Sleeps 12, 2 Full Kitchens

Located in Innsbruck Golf Resort, a championship 18 hole course. 1 mile from downtown Helen. Hot Tub, 2 Fireplaces, TVs and Ceiling Fans in all Bedrooms, Gas & Charcoal Grills, WIFI, 2 Full Kitchens.

This house is perfect for both couples and families with children of all ages. Families with small children will find a pack ‘n play, booster chairs, baby gates, children's books and much more. Activities are supplied for both children and adults - board games, puzzles, a PlayStation II with games, competition quality Foosball, and electronic dart board. Watch family oriented DVDs and Videos or just relax in the front porch swing, rocking chairs, or on the deck with recent copies of Golf Magazine, Better Homes, or Southern Living.

Unserhaus is a TRUE 'Rental by Owner' - No agencies involved and No hidden or add on charges - What you get is a GREAT PLACE with GREAT SERVICE and GREAT RATES!! Video Tour: Go to YouTube and Search for 'Unserhaus Video Tour.'

Helen, GA: Helen is located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Georgia on the Chattahoochee River, just 75 minutes from Atlanta, and is a rare recreation of an alpine village complete with cobblestone alleys and old-world towers. Helen sponsors year-round events including a Trout Tournament, canoeing and rafting, Hot Air Balloon Festival, fireworks, Oktoberfest (Sept. Oct., Nov.), a Christmas lighting spectacle, and both a winter and spring Volksmarch. Nearby attractions include Unicoi State Park (outstanding daily buffet), Anna Ruby Falls, panning for gold and precious gems, tubing on the Chattahoochee, water park, Extreme Speed Go Carts, museums, Babyland General Hospital (home of Cabbage Patch Kids, Free Admission), Lake Burton, Hiawassee (Georgia State Mountain Fair), Tullulah Falls & Gorge, and much, much more.

Innsbruck & Unserhaus: Innsbruck Resort is a gated community and is Alpine Helen’s only full facility resort with an 18-Hole Championship golf course, swimming, tennis and clubhouse. The golf course was rated among the Golf Digest’s Best Places to Play 2006/2007. #6 is a hole you will never forget. A 160 yard par 3, but standing on the tee you are 150 feet ABOVE the green! Enjoy the best nature has to offer, breathtaking views and abundant wildlife.

Unserhaus - What a unique and awesome home. Wood floors, beamed ceilings, comfortable furnishings, quality linens, bedroom TVs, and gas log fireplaces make you feel at home. The #1 rule in this home is to bring your bags only - 'Unserhaus' is fully equipped for your enjoyment. From spices to your first cup of coffee 'Unserhaus' provides all of your needs. Foosball, Electronic Darts, PS2 with games, 3 DVD players & in-house video library, games and puzzles for all ages, and current magazines provide at home entertainment for all ages.

Our Commitment to Quality and Value: UNSERHAUS is a TRUE 'RENTAL BY OWNER' - No agencies involved and No hidden or add on charges - What you get is a GREAT PLACE with GREAT SERVICE and GREAT RATES!!

*** WINTER-SPRING SPECIALS - 4 weekday nights for $585, 2 weekend nights for $435 (taxes and cleaning fees included, holidays excluded) ***

We understand there is CLEAN and there is rental clean, there is COMFORTABLE and there is rental adequate, there is FULLY STOCKED and there is minimum necessities provided. Having personally experienced those differences, we are committed to providing you with a CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, FULLY STOCKED location for your family vacation. But don't take our word for it - read our reviews! Unlike the slick commercial websites, we don't have the option to 'pick and choose' or edit our reviews, so 100% SATISFACTION really means 100% satisfaction!

More Details
Hide Details

We are part of a large extended family group who spent many summers vacationing together in rental properties. We always dreamed of someday having a place of our own. Unserhaus is truly our second home and we visit 10-12 weeks each year, never going more than 2 months without a visit to the beautiful north Georgia mountains.

Jerry Snow purchased this house in 2003

When we first visited Helen and Innsbruck in 2000, we immediately fell in love with both the people and the place. We knew this was where we were meant to be. There is so much to see and do that we never get tired of visiting. We love the different seasons, the unique activities, the excellent local and nearby restaurants, the wildlife, and the peace and tranquility that surround Unserhaus.

Having spent many vacations in rental properties that provided only the barest of necessities, and sometimes not even that, we made a commitment that our guests would always have what they needed to thoroughly enjoy their visit.

74 Reviews of Property 203674 in Helen, Georgia

Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
average rating of 4.972973 based on 74 reviews
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Tallahassee, FL
5

Lovely Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
First of all let me just say that Jerry Snow was awesome to work with from start to finish. The house was wonderful and decorated beautifully for the holiday. We felt very at welcome and at home in this house. My only complaint and its very minor is the road up to the house was kind of confusing but I admit it was a rainy weekend which didnt help. The home was fully stocked and extremely clean. I would stay here again if I ever come back to Helen. Thanks again Jerry.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
5

Thanksgiving Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a wonderful holiday we spent at Unserhaus with our 2 children, their spouses and 2 grandchildren for Thanksgiving this year! Jerry was very helpful, informative and very easy to work with. The house was exactly as described and had more kitchen gadgets and spices than we've ever had in a a cabin or condo before. There were so many dishes & glasses, pots & pans... we were pleasantly shocked. Everything was clean and very roomy for the 8 of us. It could have accommodated even more. With 3 levels, each family had their own level and having a 2nd kitchen was great for preparing a large traditional Thanksgiving Dinner. The dining table had a leaf which made easy seating for 8 at the table without using the bar and barstools or TV trays.

There were plenty of bath towels, and a nice supply of paper towels, toilet paper and dish washer soap.

The location was convenient to Helen in a gated community and paved roads were a definite plus! Neighbors were close by, but was not a problem for us.

We checked out on Saturday and had our security deposit back by Tuesday afternoon.
Would definitely rent again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Auburn, AL
5

Excellent accommodations for our family of 9 - Veteran's Day long weekend

Excellent accommodations for our family of 9 - Veteran's Day long weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
From the moment we contacted the owners via VRBO, we knew this would be a great place for our weekend away! Jerry was very easy to work with, answered all our questions with prompt replies, called to make sure we arrived and the house was as we expected, and even promptly refunded our deposit.....easy-breezy!! Unserhaus was everything we expected and more! We totally enjoyed our stay at your wonderful mountain home! It surpassed our needs for space and privacy for our family, each family had their own floor! Our three-year-old grandsons loved finding the toys in the coffee table drawers, the ducks on the window sills and the little buildings on the dining room window sills! The weather was wonderful and enclosed deck on the main floor was the ideal place for them to play with trucks and tractors! Even though we had close neighboring houses, we never heard a peep from them. Getting to Helen was a short ride without having to get on the main thruway. Our only inconvenience was the WIFI was service was intermittent; but, we feel that was a DSL provider problem. We were able to get on line during our stay but it was sketchy as to how long and how many devices. It caused us to turn off computers, iPhones, Droids, etc. and actually talk to each other! Thank you for sharing your mountain home with our family! - The Taunton Family

P.S. We gave a shout-out on Facebook for any of our friends looking for a rental in Helen to check out Unserhaus!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Windstream did a system reset then sent a technician out to check the signal to the house and replace the modem. This has eliminated the intermittent service and significantly increased the speed of the WIFI. Thanks for pointing this out!
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
5

WEEKEND GETAWAY SPECIALIST

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I, along with two other couples, stayed over a long weekend for Octoberfest. We had a great time. The house was WONDERFUL. The house is laid out to allow privacy for each couple AND it has a great areas to get together in. We stay at houses all over the east and this is by far one of the most inviting and well stocked houses we have ever rented. The kitchen has everything you could want and need. Which is big for us because we like to cook while we are on getaways. The Helen Octoberfest was a great experience too. We have all been to Germany due to our military experience and felt the little Georgia town works really hard to try and get as close as possible to the atmosphere. The food in town at the restaurants is great too. Read the reviews on trip advisor they are true to life. Our favorite is Bodenese. We have eaten there twice and loved it both times. But it was also just nice to hang out at the house and visit and play games. We will be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Newport, TN
5

Everything you want and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really enjoyed staying at Unserhaus. Our motley crew consisted of one aunt, three cousins/spouses and one teenaged granddaughter. My husband chose the house because there were no steps to get into the house and the main floor had a large bedroom/bathroom – great for someone with limited mobility. The beds were very comfortable. There are bedrooms/bathrooms on each of the three floors so everyone had their own space. It is a clean, well-maintained and beautiful house. Although there are houses on either side, it feels as though you are secluded in the woods, yet you are just a short drive to downtown Helen. The house is well insulated and very quiet and peaceful. We did venture out to see some of the local attractions/stores, but the best times we had were at the house. We used the hot tub, cooked a lot and the kitchens were extremely well stocked and the grill large enough to cook steaks and chicken for everyone. Jerry was a pleasure to work with and answered all my questions in a timely fashion. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We hope to rent Unserhaus again next fall.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Manassas, VA
5

Well stocked and comfortable accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Even with 10 people in this house, it never felt crowded. We were all comfortable and very pleased with the accommodations. The house is conveniently close to Helen, but just out of the way enough to enjoy a peaceful cup of coffee on the back deck, while watching the hummingbirds feed every morning. Jerry, the owner, was wonderful and provided a good bit of information in advance, letting us know what to expect and about nearby attractions. He also has a wonderful binder on the premises with brochures about many attractions.

The gas grill was a wonderful addition, along with a well stocked spice cabinet. If Helen wasn't 10 hours from my home, I'd already be reserving a week for next year. The kids loved the foosball table and their grandmother enjoyed just sitting on the porch swing chatting-when we weren't busy seeing the nearby waterfalls or shopping in town, of course.

If you're going to Helen, this is the place to stay. Everything is well stocked, clean and well maintained.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
5

Wonderful Family Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was the ideal place for our family vacation! We had 3 families and with there being 3 levels it was PERFECT for us! The view was beautiful and we really enjoyed sitting on the back deck and watching the birds in the morning and evenings. The kids also had a blast! There was something for everyone! Thanks for opening your beautiful home for us to make such wonderful memories! We will definitely be coming back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
5

We will be back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Loved the house, location, everything about it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Panama City, Florida
5

Family gathering at Unserhaus...FABULOUS!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I cannot imagine our vacation this spring at Unserhaus being any better! The owners are wonderful, accommodating, and sincerely interested in their renters happiness! The home is "stocked" to the hilt with everything one could need for a successful vacation...from kitchen supplies, pack-n-play, high chair and booster seats to even toys on each floor! We didn't even have to unpack my 3 grandchildrens toys...YAY! Nice furnishings, beautiful location in the Georgia mountains and town of Helen and convenient to everything! This will be on our families permanent list of a vacation spot for the future and we can't wait to go back for another visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Unserhaus - Quality & Comfort - Great Vacation Home with Great Rates!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203674
334 244-7748
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, Georgia
5

A wonder girls getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
For our FIRST girls getaway, we had an absolutely wonderful time! The property was nice, very clean and well kept. We were welcomed by three deer outside the property on the golf course when we arrived. Everyone stopped to take pictures with their camera phones. The owner of the property was very nice to work with and quickly responded to any of our questions. The owner placed information/tourist binder in the home so we could pick and choose things to do in Helen during our visit. We will definitely recommend this property to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children