Midland house rental - Kitchen- New Cabinets, Granite, Hardwood Floors & New Appliances!
Kitchen- New Cabinets, Granite, Hardwood Floors & New Appliances!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Midland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Thank you for viewing our listing. This is our second home and we welcome families that will care for it as much as we do. There is a dock for a boat or jet skis. Fish right from the dock! Sanford is great for Bass, Northern Pike, Muskie, Walleye, Bluegill & Perch.

We have 120' of lake frontage with about 30' of sandy beach area for kids to play. The shore is shallow and great for swimming. Sanford Lake is a quiet, 1500 acre lake great for kicking back and relaxing. The marina is only about 1/2 mile from our home and has a boat launch. At the south end of the lake there is a large public beach and a very nice splash park for the kids!

There are 5 bedrooms throughout the 3 levels. The top floor is a loft area featuring the master bedroom with kind bed and full bath. The main level of the home features 2 bedrooms; one bedroom has two twin beds and the other bedroom has one twin bed plus one crib. There is a full bathroom on this floor as well as the living room, dining room, and kitchen. The downstairs features two more bedrooms; one bedroom has a queen bed and a twin bed and the other bedroom has a full bed and a twin bed. There is another full bathroom downstairs as well as the family room with TV and another gathering area with table & chairs and video game area. The downstairs is a walk out basement style. By law we can only have 12 people occupying the home.

Outside you'll enjoy a large, wooded, and secluded yard with playscape swing set with slide, a hammock for reading your favorite book, and a fire pit for warming up smores! Enjoy!!!

Keywords: Lakehouse, boating, fishing, swimming, waterfront,

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I have owned this as a second home since 2007. We have three young daughters and only live about 30 minutes away.

Kip Northrup purchased this house in 2007

We chose to buy this vacation rental because it was close to home and didn't want to drive 2+ hours away every time we wanted to visit. This property is only 15 minutes from Midland, MI which offers a shopping mall, major restaurants, a museum, Dow Diamond, a movie plex, and many other fun activities.

10 Reviews of Property 203359 in Midland, Michigan

Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Saginaw
5

Incredible Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My wife and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved this special place. It was march so cold outside, but the house was really cozy. The master bedroom was really nice with a comfortable king sized bed and bathroom attached. The kitchen had everything we needed to stay in and cook our own meals. The house is quite large and very well done. Would love to do a family trip in the summer! Thanks Kip and Nicole for your hospitality, you guys made our 25th Anniversary one to remember!
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Lapeer, MI
5

Beautiful Vacation for All Ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Ideal home for our entire family, ages 65 - 1yr. The home and property were safe and fun for younger children. Great fishing! The adults could relax and just enjoy being together. Clean, spacious, beautiful view. We had a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
5

Lovely, spacious home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our group is comprised of four old school buddies, who gather each fall for a weekend of fun. We enjoyed every aspect of this property. It was large enough for each of us to have private space, while also enjoying the kitchen, deck, tv room, living and dining rooms together. Everything was sparkling clean, and the grounds were a delight. A visit by a pileated woodpecker added a special touch! We all would recommend this lovely home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Belleville, MI
5

Everything described and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just returned from a family trip to this beautiful home! We had a group of 6 adults, 3 kids and a baby and there was plenty of room. The owners were very helpful with any questions we had.

The house is gorgeous! Very well appointed and comfortable and clean. The kitchen is spacious enough for 3 of us to be in there cooking at once and had just about everything you could need to whip up a meal. The gas grill was very nice as well.

The deck was wonderful with fabulous deck chairs for lounging and a table with umbrella for dining outdoors. The property is very private despite having neighbors on either side....wide and wooded on the property lines so it feels secluded.

The beach area was perfect for little ones....there is a nice sandy area and it's very shallow so we could let the kids play without fear of it being too deep. The only "drawback" of the lake/beach area is that it is shallow for a bit so swimming for the adults required us to go out quite a ways but the lake is so peaceful that we were able to float out on a raft to get to deeper waters. We also had a boat with us and used it to get to deeper water for swimming.

Fishing on the lake is wonderful as well. The "boys" went out daily and had fun catching fish every outing.

We stayed pretty close to the house this trip but did venture into downtown Midland for a bit of shopping. It is a very nice downtown area with shops and casual dining....the ice-cream at Sam's Pizza was generous and delicious.

If you are looking for something to do in the area, the Great Lakes Loons (Minor league A team for the Dodgers) provide a fun and economical evening. Tickets were very reasonable ($9 for seats, $6 to sit on the lawn with $4 parking at the field) and the field is modern and clean and they have a varied selection of food/drink. We enjoyed a very good game while we were there.

We had a wonderful time at this property and would highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Atlanta, GA
4

Great holiday getaway!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family of 8 thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas stay in your home! Everything was clean and just as advertised. The main floor dining/living area is very spacious and great for gathering and family games. A lighted Christmas tree made it feel very festive, and we appreciated the view of other homes' lights across the lake. The owners were very helpful and provided just what we needed for a memorable family gathering.

Lots of geese on the lake and ice on the edges - beautiful at sunrise and sunset. Just wish the state of Michigan could have cooperated and added snow for the week!

We drove to Gladwin for Christmas Eve dinner at the Riverwalk Grill and thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Definitely hope to stay in your home again!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Kathleen! So glad you enjoyed your visit during the Holidays. We love the Riverwalk Grill too! Sorry the weather didn't cooperate by snowing...maybe next time! Thank you again, Kip & Nicole
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Ponte Vedra Beach
5

Summer 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed on Sanford Lake in the Northrop home over the 2011 summer. The house was comfortable, clean and very big. We had plenty of room for 11. The master bed and bath was the best.

The entire family especially enjoyed the deck, large back yard and view of the lake. We were lucky enough to have a full moon one evening. During our week, we had home cooked meals in the large kitchen and also did some grilling. We found everything we needed to prepare our meals.

We wanted to rent a boat, but Lake Sanford does not have any company on that lake that furnishes rentals. We were able to ride north for 20 minutes to Stryker’s Marina in Edenville and had a great time on their lake. It is close enough to the house to make it very easy to rent a boat.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
NY, NY
5

Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We would highly recommend staying at this property! My family spent 3 nights here with 7 adults and 2 young children (ages 1 and 3) and there was plenty of room for all of us. The house was very clean and I actually thought it looked nicer in person than it does in the photos. Comfortable beds, nice linens, and comfortable furniture. The large dining room table was especially nice for our big family. If you have young kids, they have a great new swing set in the backyard with a small climbing area- the two little girls were in heaven! We all enjoyed playing in the shallow water and the girls particularly loved the small sandy beach. For a lake, we found the water to be relatively clear. We enjoyed paddling around the lake in kayaks, etc and fishing from the boats and dock (small but plentiful fish). Loved the fire pit. The only down side (and it was really minor) was that none of us had cell phone coverage, so just be aware that you might not be able to contact people once there. We truly had a wonderful time! As a side note, I appreciated the owner's quick responses to my emails.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jennifer- We're so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves! Your kind comments are much appreciated!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Sylvania, OH
5

Great home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful lakefront home. Our family really enjoyed the space your home provides as well as the huge yard. The kids enjoyed the beach as well as the play set. We spent many nights enjoying the camp fire down by the water and loved the privacy your lot provides. Thanks so much for a great place for our family vacation.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Anna! We hope to see you again in the future! Kip
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Saginaw, MI
5

Great vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family had a great time at this home. The home is well kept and clean. It was nice have 3 levels since we had two families together we could have some separation when we wanted. The yard is really big and allowed us to do whatever we wanted. There is a fire pit near the shore which was nice. The beach area was great for our kids to play in and swimming was great also. A little mucky but expected since it is a lake. Overall we had a great time and plan on renting again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lakefront Home with Sandy Beach & Swimming!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p203359vbi
Midland Eastern Michigan
Ann Arbor, Mi
3

Great House, not so great lake

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The house was awesome and there was plenty of room/privacy for the three couples that stayed here. At the very least, there needed to be another tv in the main floor living area. The outside was very well maintained but the lake was definitely not for swimming. We found good restaurant/bars with excellent seafood. They held our deposit for a month after our visit.
Owner's Response: Super glad to hear they had a great time! We've had some issues this year with water levels in the lake due to repairs being made to the dam (fluctuating water levels) that have made swimming less desirable. Dam should be completely repaired in October 2010. There is a great "gathering" area called the swimming hole where dozens of boats gather around and swim together. Our 1 and 3 year old girls love it!
Helpful votes: 4/6