Orrs Island cottage rental - Oceanfront view from cedar deck
Oceanfront view from cedar deck
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Orrs Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 1 full bath, 1 half bath w/jacuzzi tub, sleeps 8, oceanfront

Our cottage is oceanfront in lovely Orrs Island, Maine. Sunrises are full of red, orange and golden skies within view from an elevated cedar deck, overlooking the bold open ocean. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinners on your private oceanfront lawn or deck. Spectacular ocean views can be found around every turn in this spacious cottage. Adirondack chairs sit oceanside for reading on lazy days or for watching a nautical show of lobster boats, sailboats and motorboats. A Vermont Castings gas grill located in an alcove on the deck is perfect for your favorite summer meal. The first floor master bedroom with a king size bed enjoys a panoramic view of the ocean.

In 2007 we renovated the first floor master bathroom adding Brazilian cherry hardwood floors, New England beadboard, and an antique style four-legged console sink. In 2008 we renovated the den and the master bedroom.

See my Facebook page

Boating: Though there is no mooring off the property, the Orr's-Bailey Yacht Club is literally around the corner from the cottage. It is on the other side of the point, a short walk away or 2 minute drive away, if you prefer. Here is its website:

http://www.obyc.org/

Brand new kitchen!: A new kitchen was added in 2011 with Asian Hickory hardwood floors, honed granite and cherry countertops, stainless steel Bosch and LG appliances, new slow close cabinets and an island that gives a view to the ocean.

Three photos of the new kitchen are on this website.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 202846 on Orrs Island, Maine

Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Spectacular Silver Anniversary Getaway in October

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This beautiful cottage on gorgeous Orr's Island was the perfect location for our getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.  It was a week in "paradise"!!
 
Everything that we experienced from the time we pulled into the drive, until our departure, was WONDERFUL!  The cottage is lovely and full of charm.   It is more than adequate with all of the amenities that Damian provides.  We really felt at home.   

With the kitchen's open design, you are still a part of what is going on in the main living area, which is so nice.  We enjoyed the comfortable living room, fireplace, and large flat screen TV - very cozy.    

The view is breathtaking from the house, the deck, the yard, and the rocky shoreline.    The shore is an excellent spot to cast for Striper and Rock Bass. 

Damian was a pleasure to work with in planning our trip to the cottage.  And we found his tip sheet to be the perfect key to unlocking all of the treasures of the area.  We really enjoyed The Giant Steps, Reid State Park, Popham Beach, Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, plus great shopping and site seeing north in Brunswick, Bath, Boothbay, Wiscasset, Newcastle, Rockland and Camden.   

Since you are searching for a rental, our recommendation is this: stop looking because you have found paradise in Maine!

The Butlers - Strafford, Missouri
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

A Perfect Place for a Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is an ideal place for a family vacation. The setting is beautiful, there's space for everyone to spread out, and the house is perfectly equipped.

We arrived in July, 2012 with a party of seven that included my retired parents and my two-year-old daughter.

While the weather in most of New England very hot and humid, the weather on the island was very comfortable and breezy. The setting is very beautiful: you drive into the island over several small bridges past views of the water.

The house is just as it appears in the pictures. We loved the deck, which spans the full width of the ocean-side of the house. There are several large tables and a seating area on the deck, and we ate dinner there every evening. My daughter enjoyed playing on the lawn behind the house. The Adirondack chairs facing the water are an especially beautiful place to sit. The whole neighborhood is very serene.

There are places to head in the morning or evening within easy walking distance: a cafe at the cribstone bridge to the south, and an ice cream shop to the north. There are a number of places to eat within a very short drive. For food and supplies, there are several convenience stores within a short drive and a very large Shaw's grocery store around 20 minutes away.

It was an ideal vacation spot that we only reluctantly left. I can't imagine that anyone would be disappointed with this vacation rental.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

AMAZING FAMILY VACATION!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We returned yesterday from our week in Orr's Island at Damian's cottage and couldn't have had more FUN! If you're looking for a secluded, quiet get-away this is it! Orr's is remote, quaint and so charming. You'll be in walking distance to 3 restaurants and a "lobster shack" where you can get steamed lobsters, corn & steamers. You're also 15 minutes from numerous hiking trails and an hour from Reid State Park and Popham Beach. There are not any sandy beaches on Orr's which was totally fine as you're close to golf, sailing and kayaking opportunities. Damian's cottage has a 180 degree view of the ocean, very quiet respectful neighbors, and a very small beach close by. You must get a blueberry or strawberry rhubarb pie for breakfasts at the Salt Cod Cafe. We found great hard shell lobsters at Allan's Lobster in South Harpswell (I think!) for around $4/lb! Stock up in terms of provisions before you arrive as there's not much in terms of grocery stores within a half hour. In addition to an amazing ocean-front retreat the owner also provides a 5 page summary of the area in which he offers numerous outstanding suggestions. We really could not have asked for more and hope to return next year. Cheers!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Holiday perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The house was everything that I was looking for in a vacation property on the coast of Maine. It is quite spacious and comfortably furnished. It has a newly installed kitchen equipped with all the tools for serious cooking and eating, including a wine chiller, essential for a good holiday. Great fireplace and the huge deck is fabulous. The views are incredible from the house but the Adirondack chairs are the perfect spot for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails while being entertained by lobstermen and the wild life of Casco Bay. Damien has created a real treasure. He is generous to share it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Virginia
5

Some of Our Favorite Things

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We have stayed here two years in a row and have loved it. You can't beat the view and the fact that it is right on the ocean. The deck is wonderful. At night the moonlight and stars are magical especially with the sound of the waves. We loved being able to sit in the chairs down by the water. There is a beach nearby where the water is actually quite warm. You can walk to ice cream which is a vacation plus in our book and to get lobster rolls. Within short driving distance are places to eat by the water, the rock stairs, lobsters to buy off the boats and lots of beautiful scenery. The house is clean and bright and well taken care of. Damian is easy to get along with which is important in renting a vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Massachusetts
5

As advertised...sweet home, spectacular views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The house was everything that we had hoped for – from the ocean view to the well-appointed rooms. We had a fantastic week of watching the sun come up, listening to the waves and eating out on the deck. Located on a quiet road. Freeport, Portland and Old Orchard for day trips, all less than 1 hour away. Owner is responsive, provided great information on the area. Wouldn't hesitate to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Pepperell Ma
5

Our best vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We vacation every year ( wife, me, son) with another couple. Last 5 years, 5 different areas, this vacation was so good we are coming back next year. The house is right on the ocean, I'm not good enough with words to describe how beautiful the view is. I was worried about there being no ac, but the nights were nice and cool with the ocean air. We were lucky enough to have a full moon while we were there, and that's a sight I won't soon forget, sitting on the deck watching the water with the moon reflecting on it. The house is secluded, but near to stores and restaurants, and Giant Stairs on Baileys Island, We fished, ( not much luck) took small roadtrips of the Islands, went to Fat Boys Drive-in for lunch ( highly recommended) , The house was clean, nice, and everything Damian said it would be, and Damian was very easy to deal with, more concerned about us having a good time than any one else we rented from on Homeaway. I would recommend this house to anyone, and like I said, we are coming back next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Orr's Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202846
+1 6177330767
Orrs Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Boston
5

Breathtaking!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
The views (sunset, sunrise, moonlight) from this place are simply awesome. It's well equipped for family gatherings, outdoor entertaining, grilling, sunning and relaxing. This home is nicely situated for walks to dining and shopping, kayaking, fishing, tidepool adventures and the like. The ocean front lawn is huge! It's truly a place meant for shared times with family and friends and has the floorplan and furnishings to accomodate. The owner is great and has paid attention to the details that make a difference. Really comfy beds!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 20/20