Moloaa Bay cottage rental - Gilligan's Beach Cottage in natural, unspoiled Moloa'a Valley
Gilligan's Beach Cottage in natural, unspoiled Moloa'a Valley
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Moloaa Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

And not only secluded, but only a four and a half minute walk to a gorgeous and private beach! Gilligan's Beach Cottage is not like one of the houses packed into town--it is about 15 minutes east of Princeville in rural Kauai in an unspoiled, natural valley called Moloa'a. If you check it out on a map, you will find Moloa'a Bay in the upper right hand corner. Since there is very limited public parking near the beach, this beach is relatively undiscovered by tourists. Hollywood, however, did discover this idylic location in the 1960's and filmed the entire pilot episode of 'Gilligan's Island' here--thus, the name we chose.

Gilligan's Cottage is situated on a large rural lot which is filled with fruit and palm trees, to the delight of our guests. This valley is sparsely populated, and privacy and tranquility is what you will find here. Gilligan's has one bedroom, one full bath with a private outdoor Hawaiian Shower (which is very popular with our guests!). The cottage is fully modern in every way, yet still retains the charm of Old Hawaii in its plantation setting.

Moloa'a Beach--oh, the beach! Just a four and a half minute walk down a lovely paved country road. Very beautiful, very clean and very LONELY! Many times, you will be the ONLY one to be walking this beach watching turtles, picking up shells, and observing an occasional Monk seal. This is the type of setting in which you totally forget that there is a civilization!

But the nicest part--civilization is just a few minutes drive away from Gilligan's! You will notice that Moloa'a is centrally-located on Kauai, and after a day at restaurants, shopping, hiking, and touring paradise, you still have Gilligan's to come home to--only a dream away...

Keywords: Cottage,TVNC-4189, Special Permit 2011-21

3665 Moloa'a Rd., Anahola, HI 96703

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 201813 on Moloaa Bay, Hawaii

Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Vancouver, Wa
5

This is our paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We loved this cottage! It is completely private, located in a beautiful garden filled with fruit trees. We love grilling on the deck and watching the mountains. The beach is a short walk and is the best on the island. There is a washer and dryer, nice kitchen and a fantastic outdoor shower. Truly a Hawaiian experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gilligan's Cottage. Felt like a home away from home. The cottage was exactly what we anticipated. It was clean and well kept. We were close enough (15-20 min) to Kapaa where we could buy groceries and such but far enough to feel secluded and quiet. The beach was a stroll down the road and not busy which was wonderful.
We explored most of the island and didn't feel like we were far from anything. It was a perfect home base. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting something other than a hotel or resort experience. Looking forward to returning. The owner was very easy to deal with and made the whole booking process a breeze. Mahalo and aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
-
5

Delightful!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent 10 wonderful days at Gilligan’s cottage immediately following the disgruntled renter who wrote a previous review and apparently left after one night (March, 2013). Since we and the previous renter stayed at the same cottage and shared the same amenities within one week of each other, we can only assume that her needs and expectations were quite a bit different than ours. It sounds like she would have been more comfortable staying at a hotel or condo. However, WE really enjoyed the privacy, the wildlife, the bright stars at night, the gorgeous lush landscaping and a very charming cottage. She mentioned no shades on the windows. It never entered our minds to have them as the foliage gave us complete privacy, and we would never have used them had they been there. The cottage is a darling, happy abode.

We were impressed with the overall maintenance of the property and the attention to details, including comfortable sleeping quarters, a well-stocked kitchen, and an abundant supply of books and movies. Actually, we didn’t turn the television on even once while we stayed at Gilligan’s. It would have been a distraction from the gorgeous environment and experiences we had while on Kauai. We were also impressed with an assortment of snorkeling gear, beach mats and towels, and beach chairs for us to use. We couldn’t have been happier walking to what was almost our own private bay, not seeing more than a half dozen local people there.

If you’re looking for a Motel 6 or Marriott experience, then Gilligan’s cottage may not be for you. However, if you want to experience the beauty of the jungle in a delightful rural neighborhood with beautiful landscaping, a 4-minute walk to the ocean, and a charming cottage surrounded by coconut trees and a multitude of indigenous fruit trees, we would encourage anyone to rent Gilligan’s cottage. It provided a respite from our daily routines and a very enjoyable vacation experience for us. We couldn’t have asked for more, and we would definitely go back; we’ve already encouraged others to stay there. It was a piece of heaven.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Cottonwood, CA
5

Dream Vacation at a Charming Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I just read the critical review by Seattlite, and I am wondering if she even stayed in the same cottage that we stayed in, because we loved the place and did not find Gilligan's Beach Cottage to be anything as bad as she is trying to make it out to be. To begin with the we loved the openness of the cottage - so many windows to look out at the beautiful tropical landscape. The place seemed larger than it was because of the windows not being covered. The decor was very Hawaiian and felt homey with personal touches. It was supplied with all we needed - in the kitchen, down to Olive Oil and tea bags and for the beach it had the beach chairs and beach toys. We felt right at home. It was centrally located which made it easy to visit different sites. We did have trouble with the telephone and the toilet (nothing big) but the owner took care of it right away. We would highly recommend it and hope to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Merced California
5

Gilligan's Cottage-What a place!

Gilligan's Cottage-What a place!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
While looking for availability to again rent Gilligan's Cottage for next year, I saw a review from "Seattlite" on her stay at Gilligan's. I am amazed that Seattlite and I could have such different experiences in the same cottage. I stayed there last July and fell in love with the cottage and Moloa'a Valley. I loved the privacy and yes, even without blinds on the windows it is very secluded and private. It is surrounded by jungle but within minutes you can be at one of the most beautiful, uncrowded beaches on the whole island. The cottage is absolutely charming in every respect and has everything you could possibly need to make the stay perfect. The location is convenient to visit all of the interesting sights and activities the island has to offer. I can't remember if the pillowcases were "completely frayed", but it sure didn't ruin my trip! The place was so clean and charming, I will continue to plan my vacations to stay at the same place. The owners were so accomodating and treated me like they had known me their whole lives. There was nothing "scary" about the cottage and its location. It is truly a relaxing vacation environment! I feel bad for Seattlite that she was not able to appreciate what a wonderful location it is.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Granbury, Texas
5

Wonderful Vacation Experience at Gilligan's

Wonderful Vacation Experience at Gilligan's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I don't usually write reviews, but when I came across the review by Seattlite, I knew I had to set the record straight. She is dead wrong. I'm not really sure what her problem is, but Gilligan's Beach Cottage is a very charming place to stay.

Our stay was for 10 days, in August, 2012. We had a great time. We loved the peace and solitude, the 11 types of fruit in the yard, the beach toys and gear, and the fully stocked kitchen with all the amenities not offered at many of the other places we had checked out. The outdoor shower, the short tranquil walk to the beach we took most mornings and countless other amenities. We had many quiet evenings on the deck and the wonderful breakfasts in the morning. We also observed much of the native wildlife walking across the property and got many beautiful pictures. We even took family pictures on the property which came out great.

The attention to detail by the owner is wonderful and the available pictures on the website detailed everything to expect. What to expect at Gilligan’s beach house and places to go and see. He left nothing out. If you are a stay at home type, the movies and books provided are plentiful. Most resorts you have to pay to do laundry, not here. Washer and dryer provided with detergent provided for free, which came in very handy on our daily visits to the beach.

Seattlite says that she can't recommend this cottage to any one. Maybe she means 'anyone with paranoid fears'. We plan on many more great vacations in Kauai and are looking forward to many more stays at Gilligan’s Beach Cottage in the future. Planning a family trip at any of the big time resorts would have cost us much more and offered so much less than this experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Seattle, WA
1

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this cottage. I had chosen it because Moloaa Bay is beautiful. I arrived late afternoon and as evening came on, I realized there were no blinds/shades on any of the windows, not even in the bedroom. There were very high plants across the front of the house, but I still felt very exposed in a lit up room and a very dark outdoors. I was reading the visitors' book and read that in January of 2013, one couple had gone out for a short while and came back to find that a thief had come in a small window and stolen the woman's purse and keys and her husband's PC and MP3. This unnerved me. Then there were 2 small plug in lights that flashed blue every few seconds and I did not know what they were for, but they were very irritating.

After one night, I called the owner and explained my concerns to him. He was not helpful and said I had "irrational fears" because I wanted to have some blinds in at least the bedroom, did not like the two flashing blue lights (which he said I should leave plugged in due to insects that could come in otherwise.) Also I was upset by the break-in in his cottage, just 2 months prior. He said those January tenants must have left a very small sliding window open and that this road had seen several break- ins in the last few months. He kept telling me I was in "in the jungle" and that if I wanted blinds, I should have gone to a condo! His ad saying "secluded" does not say "jungle".

Also, I did not find the cottage really well-kept up, though it was, in general, neat. One screen was broken and was patched together with scotch tape; in the kitchen one hinge was broken on a cabinet door; in the bathroom there was a broken handle on the cabinet door under the sink. The pillow cases on the bed had completely frayed edges. For the price I had paid, I did not expect these issues.

Because this owner would not address my concerns, and kept repeating I just had "irrational fears" and would not negotiate with me or meet me half-way for the 12 days I had already paid for, I chose to leave this cottage and paid again for a rental elsewhere so I could enjoy my 2 weeks in Kauai.

So buyer beware. This cottage was way below my expectations; I was extremely dissatisfied, so I would not recommend it to anyone.
Owner's Response: I guess I am not surprised since Christine left our conversation with the threat “if you don’t refund me, I will just have to write a negative review on VRBO”. I have never, ever heard the complaints that Christine has. She came to the cottage alone and called me to tell me that she felt “unsafe”. The reasons were 1) no blinds on the window (the cottage is surrounded by tropical foliage in a secluded valley with very few people around. To watch her through the bedroom window, someone would have to go under some thick palms and climb a stepstool to peer in the high window—which won’t happen. The uncovered windows bring in the tropical beauty, and blinds have never been an issue). 2) Bug repellent plug-ins in the living room have a blinking blue light and this was “scary” to her at night. (unplugging them may allow more bugs in). 3) The darkness at night was scary to her (yes, she said that). 4) The reason I told her of the opportunistic thief who had entered unlocked doors or windows in some of the houses in the area two months prior (there were no “break-ins”—just easy entry), was to make sure she protected her valuables, not to use against me in an online review. Christine said if she were with a husband, she might feel safer. Since being alone was so scary to her, I asked her why she didn’t rent a condo rather than this isolated house. She said some friends who enjoyed their stay here referred her (forgot to warn her of no blinds?). She seemed surprised that I have had many single women stay here, one who comes nearly every year. As far as the condition of the cottage, she was reaching in order to validate her negative review. I come out to Gilligan’s every four months to make improvements, and I check out any broken items. I myself taped an obscure corner of the screen above the bathtub to hold down an area that was allowing bug access. The other 11 house screens are new. As far as “completely frayed” pillowcases, maybe my standards are just not as high as hers. I ask each guest for suggestions for improvements, and they usually email me rather than post them online, but I will check these out. I am sure that Christine’s “irrational” fears are real to her. It should be pointed out that sometimes people can bring their own hangups that can keep them from appreciating the beauty of Moloa’a and the charm of Gilligan’s. Since 2000, hundreds of people have emailed to me their happiness with Gilligan’s, and I am so sorry this was not the case with Christine.
Helpful votes: 5/8
business
Gilligan's-a Secluded Honeymoon Cottage Near a Beautiful Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201813vbi
(209) 581-3150 (California, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Appleton, WI
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Kauai and rented Gilligan's Cottage in August 2009. We were there for 10 days and couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience! Gilligan's is everything it boasts to be and more...the pictures don't do it justice. The owners have thought of every possible amenity to make it feel like a home away from home. It was spotless and well maintained. We loved spending time on the lanai. The bed was very comfortable. Don't pack a lot of clothes, as you won't need them! The washer and dryer are very handy to have. The owners are very helpful and accommodating. The North Shore offers lots of sightseeing, beach, shopping and restaurant choices. Moloa'a Beach is paradise found....especially beautiful for pictures in the early morning. We would recommend this cottage to anyone. You won't be disappointed and the price is incredibly good.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is gratifying to me to have our guests love the place as much as we do, and I try to stock the things that I look for in a vacation rental. I'm very glad that this couple had such a memorable time and could appreciate and enjoy the beauty and charm of Gillgan's Beach cottage and Kauai.
Helpful votes: 11/12