Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this cottage. I had chosen it because Moloaa Bay is beautiful. I arrived late afternoon and as evening came on, I realized there were no blinds/shades on any of the windows, not even in the bedroom. There were very high plants across the front of the house, but I still felt very exposed in a lit up room and a very dark outdoors. I was reading the visitors' book and read that in January of 2013, one couple had gone out for a short while and came back to find that a thief had come in a small window and stolen the woman's purse and keys and her husband's PC and MP3. This unnerved me. Then there were 2 small plug in lights that flashed blue every few seconds and I did not know what they were for, but they were very irritating.
After one night, I called the owner and explained my concerns to him. He was not helpful and said I had "irrational fears" because I wanted to have some blinds in at least the bedroom, did not like the two flashing blue lights (which he said I should leave plugged in due to insects that could come in otherwise.) Also I was upset by the break-in in his cottage, just 2 months prior. He said those January tenants must have left a very small sliding window open and that this road had seen several break- ins in the last few months. He kept telling me I was in "in the jungle" and that if I wanted blinds, I should have gone to a condo! His ad saying "secluded" does not say "jungle".
Also, I did not find the cottage really well-kept up, though it was, in general, neat. One screen was broken and was patched together with scotch tape; in the kitchen one hinge was broken on a cabinet door; in the bathroom there was a broken handle on the cabinet door under the sink. The pillow cases on the bed had completely frayed edges. For the price I had paid, I did not expect these issues.
Because this owner would not address my concerns, and kept repeating I just had "irrational fears" and would not negotiate with me or meet me half-way for the 12 days I had already paid for, I chose to leave this cottage and paid again for a rental elsewhere so I could enjoy my 2 weeks in Kauai.
So buyer beware. This cottage was way below my expectations; I was extremely dissatisfied, so I would not recommend it to anyone.
Owner's Response: I guess I am not surprised since Christine left our conversation with the threat “if you don’t refund me, I will just have to write a negative review on VRBO”. I have never, ever heard the complaints that Christine has. She came to the cottage alone and called me to tell me that she felt “unsafe”. The reasons were 1) no blinds on the window (the cottage is surrounded by tropical foliage in a secluded valley with very few people around. To watch her through the bedroom window, someone would have to go under some thick palms and climb a stepstool to peer in the high window—which won’t happen. The uncovered windows bring in the tropical beauty, and blinds have never been an issue). 2) Bug repellent plug-ins in the living room have a blinking blue light and this was “scary” to her at night. (unplugging them may allow more bugs in). 3) The darkness at night was scary to her (yes, she said that). 4) The reason I told her of the opportunistic thief who had entered unlocked doors or windows in some of the houses in the area two months prior (there were no “break-ins”—just easy entry), was to make sure she protected her valuables, not to use against me in an online review. Christine said if she were with a husband, she might feel safer. Since being alone was so scary to her, I asked her why she didn’t rent a condo rather than this isolated house. She said some friends who enjoyed their stay here referred her (forgot to warn her of no blinds?). She seemed surprised that I have had many single women stay here, one who comes nearly every year. As far as the condition of the cottage, she was reaching in order to validate her negative review. I come out to Gilligan’s every four months to make improvements, and I check out any broken items. I myself taped an obscure corner of the screen above the bathtub to hold down an area that was allowing bug access. The other 11 house screens are new. As far as “completely frayed” pillowcases, maybe my standards are just not as high as hers. I ask each guest for suggestions for improvements, and they usually email me rather than post them online, but I will check these out. I am sure that Christine’s “irrational” fears are real to her. It should be pointed out that sometimes people can bring their own hangups that can keep them from appreciating the beauty of Moloa’a and the charm of Gilligan’s. Since 2000, hundreds of people have emailed to me their happiness with Gilligan’s, and I am so sorry this was not the case with Christine.
Helpful votes: 5/8
Did you find this review helpful?