Luray cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Luray Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed - 1 Bath - (Sleeps up to 5)

Secluded along the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains we have the ideal vacation getaway. This unspoiled paradise is perfect for a romantic rendezvous or a family retreat. With 10+ acres there is plenty of space to soak up the crisp, clean mountain air and enjoy the great outdoors. Walk, hike, or visit the nearby creek. Catch a glimpse of wildlife roaming the area. Play outside on the large front lawn and fire up the BBQ grill for a picnic on the covered patio. At the end of your day, watch the sunset from the porch swing, curl up by the gas fireplace or roast marshmellows around the campfire area. The cabin is located just outside Luray in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, minutes from Skyline Drive and Luray Caverns. Open year round.

16 Reviews of Property 201517 in Luray, Virginia

Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

Great owner, property, and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First off, Erik (the owner) was so accommodating to our needs and questions. Really went above and beyond to help me organize our weekend trip!

The cabin is so wonderful! Easy to find, easy access to food markets, gas stations, restaurants, coffee shops, but you still feel like you are in a private secluded area. Very quiet and relaxing. Upon our arrival we heard charming singing bells far off in the distance, right before sunset and that was just magical! The front porch is huge, with a delightful swing to enjoy your morning coffee while you gaze over the well maintained front yard! The side porch provides a charcoal and gas BBQ pit and large picnic table. There is a nice size stone fire pit behind the cabin! Our dogs loved running all over and fetching on the huge grassed yard!

Inside, the cabin has brand new upgraded wood flooring in the living room, with brand new sofa and reclining love seats to enjoy the view from the huge picture window overlooking the front lawn. Our favorite feature was the record player with the fantastic selection of vinyl country classics. We played some great classics while BBQing outside, or getting ready in the morning! The kitchen was well stocked!

The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water and clean towels and linens. The cabin is heated by baseboard heating, which has individual controls for the living spaces, which was nice, and a wonderful gas fireplace in the living room for added toasty warmth for the evening! The entire cabin was superbly clean, and lots of useful travel and sight seeing information.

Location was great for all the entertainment the National Parks had to offer, and every single local we met was so friendly. We hiked the White Oak Run Trail, which had multiple waterfalls, great riverside places to relax, and breathtaking views! I have to say this little cabin was just the perfect get away for us and our dogs! Thank you Erik!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
Virginia Beach, VA
3

What a great property!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is a fabulous cabin with great space and very clean. We stayed for a week along with our pet dog. It was very well maintained. There was plenty things to do and see in the area including the SNP, the town of Luray and Harpers Ferry site was nice. The only short fall was that the furniture was a very outdated and the bed in the main bedroom was so uncomfortable, we made due however by purchasing an air mattress and placing it on the bed. In the future I would update the living rm and bedroom (beds especially) furniture. Other than that it was one of the best places we have stayed in the Luray area without a doubt. We look forward to returning and recommending Fox Den to our friends.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We strive to keep our property clean and well maintained for every guest that stays with us. The oldest piece of living room furniture also serves as a great sleeper sofa, which is why we have left it in place. We will be replacing the living room furniture this year. The main bedroom mattress is firmer than the mattress in the secondary bedroom. Previous guests have referred to the mattresses as "comfy". The secondary bedroom mattress was replaced in late 2012. Finding beds that suit everyone’s needs and tastes is very hard to do. We will look into purchasing two mattresses of similar comfort level if this continues to be an issue. We always welcome feedback and advice on how to improve our property for future guests.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
Binghamton, NY
4

sweet cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
sweet cabin with an awesome firepit area. situated on a beautiful spread of land. no direct view of mountains or the valley, but the drive in and out offers amazing views and within 10 minutes you are easily on Skyline Dr.

The description here is very accurate and the kitchen is well stocked.

It's a great getaway place if you want a relaxing weekend.
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
Orlando, FL
5

Fantastic Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed four nights at the Fox Den and wish we stayed even longer! As soon as we drove into the driveway and saw the beautiful yard and surroundings, including a firepit, we felt right at home. The outside porch area and exterior of the cabin looked very well-kept. With the directions Erik gave us, it was easy to get in, and the interior was extremely clean. The cabin itself is really lovely--it has a really large kitchen for all of your cooking needs and there were even some items in the fridge that came in really handy during our stay. There were plenty of directions on how to operate the A/C and other appliances. We also used the grill a few nights and had a nice picnic dinner out on the patio. The porch swing was a really nice place to sit and relax. There was satellite television, but one request maybe for the future would be wi-fi. And that's only because we had absolutely no cell phone reception with the carrier we use. There were cell towers around, but just not for T-Mobile. We did find wi-fi at a coffee place in Luray and were able to let our family know what the phone number to the cabin was--then we waited each night for calls from them, so we were glad the phone was there and available for our use. The beds were pretty good--the double bed in the second bedroom seemed to be softer and a little more comfortable than the main bedroom bed. Otherwise, everything was well-stocked and our stay was like a home away from home. We're avid hikers, so getting to Shenandoah National Park from the cabin to the entrance station was extremely easy and quick--it's in a great location to access the park. I would highly recommend staying here--this beats any type of hotel stay by a mile! If we come back to the area, this is the only place we want to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
4

Perfect location and great exterior facilities

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The lodge is in a perfect location next to the Shenandoah National Park in the oputskirts of Luray. Access to the park is a 10m drive away. The lodge lies next to the forest is very quiet and in good shape. The exterior with the barbecue, terasse and fireplace are superb. Erik has also been a great host and the whole process was very smooth. He provided plenty of information on things to do and go in the area in the lodge. The interior was clean and the gas fireplace a nice addition. The facilities and furniture were clean and sufficient but not up to modern standards which is fine but given the high daily price I expected that the place had been recently refurbished. I should note, however, that end of April is high season and most lodges close to Luray were comparably priced. Finally I would like to mention that we forgot a guide book and other items in the lodge and Erik did send them to my DC address directly and free of charge which is much appreciated.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

A warm week in April

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just got back after spending a week at the Fox Den Cabin with my Dad. What a great location and fabulous cabin. The cabin is so well equipped, and in a great location. We fished all over the Shenandoah valley. Fishing was good, and coming home to the cabin was always a good ending to a great day. The location is bucolic and peaceful.

I highly recommend the Fox Den Cabin to anyone visiting the Shenandoah area. You won't be sorry you chose the Fox Den.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

Love this cabin!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My boyfriend and I went to this cabin for our 2 year anniversary and fell in love with it right away. It is in the perfect area near alot of attractions and the cabin is very homey and clean. The owner is also very easy and nice to work with. Would definitely recommend this cabin for others and we plan to return in the future! =)
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
4

Truly a home away from home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
For our 32nd Anniversary it was a wonderful surprise to have a cabin so close to Skyline Drive and near the town of Luray- yet far enough back to have complete privacy and quiet.
The Fox Den cabin has all the comforts of home making you feel welcome as soon as you come in the door.
The kitchen and outside grill are available if you choose to do your own cooking. Plenty of towels in the bath and nice clean beds. Satellite TV is available if the weather bans you to the inside.
If you choose to explore..
We recommend visiting Lake Arrowhead, the town of Luray- touring antique shops and walking the pathway created in town as a natural park, and always driving parts of Skyline Drive. Or hiking and seeing wildlife.
Eric, Thank you for sharing your home.
Ted and Donna Ford, Honey Brook, PA
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
4

Fox Den Cabin Sits in a Lovely Setting

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at Fox Den Cabin. It sits in a lovely setting and provides for easy, quick access to the Thornton Gap entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The location is quiet and relaxing and we enjoyed sitting on the porch or around the fire pit after days of hiking in the park. The cabin was clean and well maintained and I did not have any trouble at all with my pet allergies. It looks just like the pictures on the ad. The only thing the property lacked at all was internet access and a dishwasher.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201517
+540 742-4136
Luray Shenandoah Valley
Mooresville, NC
5

Fox Den

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family really enjoyed staying at Fox Den. The cabin was clean and beautiful. The area surrounding the cabin was just as clean and beautiful. We stayed there for a weekend and were sad to leave because the visit was so relaxing and wonderful. We'll definitely consider staying again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We take pride in keeping the property clean and well maintained for our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2