El Cuyo house rental - view of the house from the ocean
view of the house from the ocean
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

El Cuyo House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

This very spacious (optional 3- to- 6 bedroom) Caribbean Beach Villa 'La Casa en el Aire' is a comfortable two-level-house directly on the beautiful sandy beach with palm trees around the house. It features a newly added spectacular roof terrace with lounge area.

The lower level of the house features two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a living room with a large lounging area, a shaded terrace facing the beach and a covered dining aera behind the house facing the garden.

The up-stairs of the house features three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a huge shaded terrace with a bar area and a palapa for the kids. Note: second floor not suitable for very small children - only under permanent adult supervision (balcony gaps).

We offer two rental options: The house can be rented entirely (max. 10 adults and 4 kids) or if you have a smaller party, we close the up-stairs bedrooms and you can rent only the lower level plus the kids Palapa (max. 4 adults and 4 kids) - see different pricing options.

Please note that we never rent the house to different parties at the same time!

Please contact for daily rate (3 nights minimum stay).

The beach is kid friendly as there are no dangerous currents and no steep declines. Enjoy walking the endless virgin beach with its beautiful palm trees.

This spacious Caribbean Beach Villa is located in El Cuyo, a small fishing village in Yucatan. El Cuyo is located in a natural reserve area. It is a paradise for adventurous bird and nature lovers (Flamingos, Frigate birds, Pelicans, Herons, Cranes, Cormorants, Ibises and many more…)

With a little luck you can spot Dolphins from the terraces of the house, mostly during early morning hours.

There is almost no tourism in El Cuyo.

El Cuyo offers 25 miles (40 km) of fine white sand beach, from the house to the east 9 miles (15 km) of virgin beach without any houses but lot’s of beautiful palm trees. Nature lovers will enjoy the tranquility of this location.

From june to september you can take a boat tour to swim with whale sharks near Holbox Island.

There are several Mayan ruins in the area.

You can book tours to see the flamingos. During july and august the enormous sea turtles lay eggs on the beach and hatch.

El Cuyo is not a place with a lot of infrastructure, there are a few restaurants and a few small shops, but no supermarkets or discos. You can buy fresh fish at the harbor and depending on season also shellfish and calamaris.

This area does experience ocasional power outages, although the house is equipped with emergency lightning, it would be a good idea to bring your own flash light(s). It will also serve you on nightly beach excursions...

Beach is perfect for kiting, kite surfing and windsurfing, but you need to bring your own equipment.

Keywords: Beach House, Beach Villa, 3 or 6 bedroom rental, caribbean style, kid friendly, pet friendly, roof terrace, directly on the beach, spacious, fully equipped, El Cuyo, Yucatan, Mexico

More Details
Hide Details

german ownership

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

perfect getaway for a relaxed stay in paradise far from the hectic world.

Miles of virgin beach with nothing but palm trees and the ocean to disconnect from today´s busy life.

very spaceous and comfortable house directly on the beach, very tranquile and safe location, expectacular views from the 3 terraces, fully equipped kitchen because we love to cook

20 Reviews of Property 201413 in El Cuyo, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
5

Autentico Mexcio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
La casa en el aire...
Preciosa casa para para pasar unas vacaciones ideales con la familia y practicar deportes como el kitesurfing o windsurf. Su situacion es privilegiada, en una hermosa playa de mas de 20 km donde nunca fuimos mas de 6 personas tomando el sol y haciendo deporte.
Paseos interminables con la familia y niños, entre pelicanos, fragatas, iguanas e infinidad de vida animal e incluso algún avistamiento de delfines. Los niños se lo pasaron genial con todo eso!!!!
La casa estaba mas que equipada con todo lo necesario para pasar una semana muy comodamente, incluso jueguetes para que los mas pequeños se entretuvieran en la playa.
El Cuyo es un pueblo muy pintoresco de pescadores, aunque algo limitado en servicios como es lógico, pero precioso y muy seguro, es una alternativa muy gratificante a lo que conoze la gran masa de turistas que se dirigen a Cancún, se puede decir que visitando El Cuyo te puedes hacer una idea de lo que es la vida local en Yucatán.
Sara y Gabriel son una pareja super amable, atentos y totalmente dedicados a hacernos pasar una semana agradable en La Casa en el Aire!!!
Sin duda un lugar al que volveremos!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
México
5

Unforgettable family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We've spent one of our most exceptional vacations in La Casa en el Aire in the lovely town of El Cuyo. This is the third time that members of our family have stayed in this house. The ocean is perfect for small kids to enjoy and learn how to swim. The yucatecan food was excellent, provided by Magdalena and Valente. We had the opportunity to visit exciting nearby places to visit (Chichen Itza, Holbox, Río Lagartos, Ek Balam, etc.). We also had the chance to swim with the magnificent whale shark. The house offers every ammenity needed to have an excellent time with your family. Thanks to Susanne, Sara and Gabriel for your wonderful service. Hope to see you soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Oakland, California
5

One of the world's most perfect spots

One of the world's most perfect spots
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I fell in love with El Cuyo and this house last year and counted the days until we could return. El Cuyo is a small town and remote, allowing one to really experience the beauty of the Yucatan. The house is spacious and comfortable, so hanging out inside if it rains is not a hardship. The kitchen is well equipped - we thoroughly enjoyed cooking. In and around the house, there are many tranquil spots to hang out and watch the world go by. The new extended palapa roof over the deck on the second floor is a great addition.
I can't say enough wonderful things about the owner and the caretakers - they are attentive and responsive.
This house - this location - this experience - is the stuff that memorable vacations are made of.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Kelowna BC
5

Canada

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our 5 week vacation in El Cuyo was wonderful. The house suited all the needs we wanted for a family of five.
The beach is very safe and we caught fish just off shore. It is very peaceful and the stars are amazing. El Cuyo is full of friendly people and each evening would wonder to the village quare and watch soccer or dancing. The food stores are basic but we stocked up when we went through Tizimin. We never felt unsafe in El Cuyo. Sara and Gabriel are wonderful caretakers. They helped us with anything we asked and even socialized with them as they were a lot of fun. I have no complaints!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Mexico City
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Great place if you want to get away from everything, work, school... Everything you want you can get it, great food, cold beer and a lot of beautiful shells you can take back home as a souvenir. The beach has smooth sand and the color of the sea will take your breathe away. You won´t regret
Suggestion: Make a fire by the beach, buy some sea food and some beer or a wine bottle, turn off all the lights of the house and look at the stars, I´ve never seen so many...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Québec, Canada
5

Le petit paradis perdu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Notre objectif de voyage était de "décrocher" de la vie quotidienne. Eh bien, l'objectif a été atteint et de loin. Un environnement merveilleux qui fait partie maintenant de nos "Best of". Une maison splendide, qui était au-delà des photos du site. Des hôtes accueillants et généreux de leur temps en Sara et Gabriel. Des plages désertes avec comme panorama le vert-azur de la mer et de son beau sable blanc. Situé à pas de marche du port de pêche, nous avons dégusté ses succulents poissons frais du jour. Les gens du village sont super sympatiques. (une base en espagnole est utile) Quoi demander de plus! Une expérience qu'on est pas prêt d'oublier! En espérant que cet endroit conserve son charme typiquequemment local et que ça ne devienne pas trop touristique.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/6
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Oakland, California
5

Perfect place to unplug and unwind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! The description and photos are even better in person. The house is spacious and comfortable - a perfect place from which to explore the area....or not.
Susanne (the owner) and Sara and Gabriel (the caretakers) are responsive and helpful and a pleasure to interact with.
Please note - El Cuyo is quite remote, but for us, that was part of the appeal.
We thoroughly enjoyed evening walks into town (kicking coconuts and greeting the local dogs along the way) and watching the local soccer matches. Beachcombing, "body surfing", iguana-chasing, star gazing, and visits to Ek Balam and Izamal rounded out the trip and made for a fantastic vacation.
We (two adults and two small children - 1 yr. and 5 yrs.) had such a great time - we can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Germany
5

The title describes completely the house and its place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
We had been twice to this place that you must call "paradise"!!
Our whole family (two adults and two children) enjoyed everything in our stay at this very special place!!
The white sanded beach, the blue and warm sea, the great and very well furnished house, the wonderful terraces with the most fantastic view on the carribean ocean, the fresh fish market, the very friendly neighbours -above all sara and her husband who prepared the house and informed us about everything and helped us with everything we needed!!
We had long walks on the beach and found very special shells cause there are not too many persons to collect them before you do so.... The children loved to sleep in the "children´s palapa" and we loved to sleep with the wonderful noise of the waves of the sea...
The place is even better than you can see on the photos - thats for sure!!
And there are so many things to do as well in the surrounding....
If you want to meet very nice friendly mexican people and not too many tourists you need to go to El Cuyo!! Thats for sure!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/6
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
guilhemfouert
5

Great House, Great Setting, Perfect Vaca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We loved our experience in the beach house in El Cuyo. We wanted a secluded area and intimacy, blue water and white sand and looked for weeks to find this listing. All our expectations were met plus more, as we did not expect to meet so many great people! The house was perfect for our family, the beach and the water were amazing. The children had so much fun (looking for crabs thanks for the tip!) the managers were very nice and helpful. We will keep very fond memories of our vacation and will go back the next time we need to feel like a family again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Caribbean Style Beach House in Idyllic Fishing Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201413vbi
El Cuyo Yucatan
Mexico
5

Authentic caribbean atmosphere - far from Cancun´s permanent party

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Beautiful and very comfortable and quiet accomodation. Ideal to relax and retire. No TV. Authentic atmosphere of a Caribbean fishing village - no luxury around, but amazing nature and delicious, simple sea food meals in very basic but cosy restaurants.
Ideal for kids - so many things to discover (crabs, turtles, white sands ...).
Interesting tourist attractions can be reached on daily trips (Chichen Itza, Ek Balam, Valladolid, Merida, Holbox...), though -but you need a car as public transport is not very developped.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/4