Andrews house rental - Living room with Gas Fireplace and new leather furniture with cabin decor
Living room with Gas Fireplace and new leather furniture with cabin decor
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Andrews House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 3 Baths

Enjoy the Majestic Fall Colors of the Smoky Mountains!!!

The Choga Mountain Creek Cabin, located in Topton near Andrews North Carolina, comes with a guarantee. If you find a better price for a comparable cabin in the Smokies, we will beat your best price.

You will find the comfort of 3 Bed/3 Bath, beautifully situated in the Smoky Mountains above Andrews, the perfect mountain respite for your party (sleeps 8). Tucked away amidst the cool fresh mountain air, you can pass the time listening to the soothing sounds of nature and rushing water, enjoy hiking, fishing, boating, biking, rafting, swimming or exploring.

You will feel at home the moment you arrive to the welcoming sight of an easily accessible driveway and parking area (4x4 not required), a large level grass yard and the perfect covered deck with a calming porch swing (note: garage is not available to renters).

The inside will remind you of a rustic vacation cabin dream with more room than you imagined possible. Beautiful hardwood floors, wood ceilings and walls, surround you in a relaxing atmosphere with all new plush, leather furniture and ample seating. The main level consists of a living room, kitchen, master bedroom & bath, 2nd bedroom with adjoining guest bathroom, and a spacious sunroom/dining room and playroom equipped with toys for tots and a game table for teens and adults.

Downstairs you will find a large family room, more leather sofas, a 56 inch big screen TV, movie/game library, laundry room, and 3rd bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds and full bathroom.

You'll find an outside entrance to a covered porch and beautiful screen room, as well as a back deck equipped with a gas grill. There is a winding creek running through the property partially fed by a small fresh water spring, perfect for drinking, playing or keeping beverages cool the old fashion way. The property is within walking distance (about 1 mile) to a private family cove on Lake Nanahala (follow the trail behind the house to the dirt road, turn left and follow the road to your left at the fork in the road just after a family uninhabited hillbilly 'glory hole'), six miles from a public boat ramp, ten miles from Andrews where you will find the local grocery store, drug store, restaurants and more.

When you have conquered the dragon's tail, tired from white water rafting, gem mining, riding some of the most beautiful mountain bike trails in North America, playing in the waterfalls, exploring the scenic hiking trails or a fun filled day at the Lake, you can retreat to the comforts of the Choga Mountain Creek Cabin recluse and gather your party around the outdoor fire pit for a marshmallow roast.

We have basic satellite in the basement TV viewing area. Pay per view movies are available at the renter’s expense. There is a landline phone for your convenience. Local phone calls & local or toll free dial up modem internet are free. Long distance phone calls will be charged 40 cents per minute. There is no cell phone coverage on the mountain.

Emergency Medical Treatment: we are several miles from the nearest hospital. If you have a medical emergency, there is a 911 emergency medical/ambulance discharge center within minutes of the cabin.

Boating: Lake Nantahala is one of our favorite places to enjoy the spring, summer and fall. The water is clean and cool. You will find brochures in the cabin welcome binder for several different places that rent Pontoon or ski boats. We recommend “Lakes End” marina located on Wayah Rd. It is the closest and will get you out on the Lake in no time. Ask at the desk for a map of the lake and where you can tie up and enjoy the rope swings or hike to the waterfalls! Ask about our 'Bed and Boat' value pack for a combined cabin rental and boat rental package.

Rafting: There are multiple adventure centers that can cater to your white water needs, brochures are located in the cabin welcome binder. The closest and best value rafting companies are Carolina Outfitters and Paddle Inn Rafting Company. Ask about our 'Rent and Raft' value pack for a combined cabin rental and white water rafting package.

Fishing: If you have little ones and want a guaranteed catch, there is a trout farm located about 10 miles from the cabin. Prices are reasonable, they provide poles, worms and will even gut and clean your trout for you.

For the more adventuresome fisherman we recommend the river along Wayah Rd. The further you go the more beautiful the scenery becomes. Just stop along the way and pick a spot not already occupied along the river. You can also try down Ole River Road just off of Junaluska Rd. or contact the Nantahala Outdoor center for more suggestions.

Hiking: Please enjoy the many trails and walking areas behind the house and up by the old church and cemetery. The old logging road behind the house will take you to Lake Nantahala. It is all family property and privately owned. We suggest taking a snack or light lunch and plenty of water.

The little white church and cemetery on the hill across the street is fun to explore.

Also a fun family play spot is located just a ¼ mile further down Lil Choga Rd. It is a small area where the creek runs over the road. Our little ones like to “hike” down to splash and play in the cold mountain water.

Mountain Biking: Contact NOC for local maps and details on trails. Or check cabin welcome binder and NOC NC trail gide in cabin.

In Andrews: For those rainy days…there is a small, very affordable, local movie theater located on main street. Show times are normally 7 and 9pm

Out to Eat: There is a new Pizza buffet/Pub with a nice soup and salad bar located by the Family Dollar Store just off Main St. in Andrews. If you’re looking for something more traditional Elsie’s is nice. Lastly, if you want to spice it up a little, try Monte Albon. Their authentic Mexican cuisine is delicious!

Shopping: Ingles in Andrews is the closest grocery store, about 20 minutes from the cabin. If you can’t find what you need there, there is a Wal-Mart in Murphy about 10 minute from Andrews

Keywords: Relax, family, lake, brook, stream, creek, cabin, 3 Bed 3 Bath, large, spacious, sunroom, screen room, big screen TV, secluded, easy access, boat, raft, white water, fresh air, cool, special, discount, value, motorcycle, mountain bike, hike, fish

More Details
Hide Details

The Choga Creek Cabin is everything our busy metropolitan lifestyle is not – the perfect family get away. My large family and I love visiting Choga. We explore the miles and miles of private family trails, camp, hunt, wade in the streams and play on the lake rope swings, we enjoy the white water rafting, motorcycle and mountain bike trails, fishing, boating and relaxing to the soothing sounds of the fresh water spring behind the house. We vacation here in our spacious recluse as often as possible, but when we are not here, we are pleased to make our mountain get away available to renters seeking to leave worry, stress and the busy city behind for a season and escape to the carefree life in the mountains.

BILL HENRIE purchased this house in 2007

The Choga Creek Cabin is beautifully situated in the Smoky Mountains above Andrews, but easily accessible. It is surrounded by hundreds of acres of family property where renters can access miles and miles of private hiking trails, fishing and a beautiful cove on Lake Nanahala.

We feel our cabin, with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and beds for 8, is one of the best value rentals on VRBO. It is clean and newly remodeled. Whether you are coming for the fresh mountain air, a hike through miles of private trails, fishing, white water rafting, swimming/boating at Lake Nanahala within a short walk from the cabin, or just relaxing to a book, video or board game from our small personal library and the soothing sound of the brook behind the house, we are confident the Choga Creek Cabin is perfect for your upcoming vacation.

25 Reviews of Property 201402 in Andrews, North Carolina

Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Wichita Falls, Texas
3

Lots of space for the price

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The location was beautiful and the cabin was set up for a family with children. The house was clean and had all the basic necessities. It was a good place for my dog who does not need a fenced yard. The nearby lakes were fun to visit. Our only drawback was getting to the cove. My kids were very excited, but when we went we were on another family members property, he was very friendly, but steered us away from the path we were following, so we got the feeling he did not want us walking near his residence. Other paths were a little unsettling with debris so we sort of stayed away and were unable to reach the cove.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Dallas, TX
5

Excellent stay on a rainy week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
House is every bit as nice as advertised. We had 4 adults and 5 kids (ages 2-9) at the cabin for a week, and it was ideal for our needs. The older kids slept in the downstairs bunk beds, while the little ones and adults were in the upstairs bedrooms. The kitchen is well-stocked with utensils/pots/pans, and we were able to cook all of our own meals with no trouble. (Be aware that there's no dishwasher.) We even grilled kebabs on the handy patio grill and roasted marshmallows on the fire pit. I think the owner's thorough summary on VRBO actually undersells Ingle's in Andrews - it's a modern supermarket with pretty much everything you would need, no reason to go to WalMart in Murphy. You may want to take inventory at the cabin before shopping, though - many non-perishable items have been supplied or left behind by previous renters. Don't buy any more coffee filters. :)

Unfortunately it rained for most of our stay, but we made the best of it and had a great time. The TV with a supply of kids' movies was invaluable for the rainiest days. I highly recommend renting a boat at the marina - we had a picnic lunch on our pontoon boat and even swam a little (the water was freezing!). The younger kids loved splashing in the creek over Little Choga Road (seems more like a 1/2 mile down the road than a 1/4, though). We also took a side trip to Franklin for gem mining, which the kids really liked, and the dads even got away for round of golf in Murphy (the twilight green fees are a good deal in the summer). We tried hiking to the family cove, but it's a long way, and the kids gave out before we made it to the lake. Hopefully someday we will be back when the kids are older and will make it all the way down the path.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
4

Girls getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Cabin was excellent. Very spacious! Not having phone service was difficult but overall had a great experience. Would definitely recommend this cabin!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: There is no cell phone coverage in the mountain, however, we do have land line phone service in the cabin
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Marshville, NC
5

Awesome rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had 2 families to stay for a weekend and had a great time!! There was PLENTY of space for everyone, the kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, a crock pot, coffee pot, lots of baking pans, toaster and all. It was very nice to have so much available to us! The bedrooms were spacious and the kids room was HUGE!! The bathrooms were very spacious as well! The cabin was very clean and beautifully decorated! The ceilings were wood and well as the floors....absolutely beautiful! The living room downstairs had a big screen tv with a TON of movies for us to watch and satellite was available as well. We had NO complaints at all with our rental! The owners were great at giving us clear directions and answered all the questions we asked....they were very helpful!! If you are looking for a vacation to get away from the world...this is the place to stay! There is no cell service or internet at the cabin....but that was the BEST part about spending quality time with my family. We actually did ALOT together since there were no distractions. We were not able to walk the trail behind the house because we simply ran out of time.....we were gone one whole day to Bryson City to ride the Great Smoky Mountain Train ride. Also....we were using GPS to get us to the cabin and when it said we had arrived....there was nothing in sight but hills and trees...haha...we kept driving several more minutes and as soon as the paved road turned into dirt, we saw our cabin. GPS just didn't pick up there like the cell phones. Overall....the cabin was PERFECT!!! A HUGE thanks to the owners for a wonderful stay!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Lincolnton NC
5

Father's Day Weekend

Father's Day Weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Great place to stay! The pictures do not do the cabin justice. we felt right at home this weekend. The property was very clean and well maintained. The caregivers were quick to help with our needs ans questions. . The owners answered all our questions and was very helpful to area attractions. This is a great vacation spot for the whole family. Kid friendly! My family rented a boat on lake Nantahala for the day and it was beautiful. The church across the street is charming, and in walking distance is an old hunting lodge full of history. Can not wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Where do you live?
4

Christmas in the Smokey Mountains

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful stay. The home is so nice and spacious. The furniture is beautiful -what a wonderful retreat. We celebrated Christmas in the area so we had a houseful with 10. We do wish there had been one or two more sofa beds as we had 2 that had to sleep on the couches the whole week. The other accomadations were wonderful. The master bedroom's king bed was a wonderful treat, the room was large as was the master bath. The other two showers certainly helped with 10 people to get through each day. We spent a lot of time relaxing together in the basement in the evenings watching dvds or playing on the Play Station. There is plenty of room in the main area as well as a nice bedroom with 2 sturdy bunkbeds. Being able to do laundry was such a blessing. After traveling 18 hours each way, it was beyond nice to arrive home with little to no dirty laundry. The kitchen was well stocked with most everything we needed as far as pots/pans/dishes. It has been well thought out and supplied. The dining room area has 2 tables. A stereotypical table that seats 6 as well as a raised table that seats 6 as well. It worked for us to have the children at one table and the adults at another. The super surprise was the stocked toy area with a doll house, dolls, trains & track, dinosaurs, 2 rocking horses as well as plenty of chairs for seating. Our children spent a lot of time in there together playing games (there is a well stocked shelf in the basement) as well as relaxing and enjoying the toys. Our dog joined us for the week - it is so nice to have a home that is pet friendly.
The mountains are beautiful in the area! One day we drove to nearby Nantahala Lake as well as up to the Appalachian trail. We checked out the Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters and enjoyed a day of rock climbing, zip lining, paint balling and swinging on the 3-man swing. Our son joined them another day for a trip to a nearby ski resort to snowboard. The children also took many opportunities to hike the trails around the house and check out the creek as well. One day we even had a little snow to make our Christmas vacation white....it was beautiful.
The owners were readily available and very accomadating to our schedule. They keep the house very clean and renter-ready. There were plenty of clean towels, sheets and other linens for the week.
It was the most relaxing vacaion we have had in some time. The kids have already asked several times if we can go again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Texas
4

Great Cabin, Questionable Surroundings

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The cabin itself is wonderful...roomy, well appointed, and comfortable. However, the area behind the cabin is marred by old trailers and broken-down vehicles - all of which are visible right out the back windows of the cabin. The views that you see in the pictures above are not taken from the cabin. There are some very nice hiking trails behind the cabin; however, you have to hike past some questionable "settlements" (as described by the owner). Overall, our stay at the cabin was fine because the cabin itself is very nice and the owner goes above and beyond to make sure that you have what you need to be comfortable there.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: In the past few months, a family member that owns the property behind our acreage (on the other side of the stream) has added a camping trailer and a broken down vehicle. It is partially visible from the back windows of the cabin. We are working with him to remove these unsightly items or to acquire his property. In the mean time, we have reduced our rental pricing to offer an even better value to our customers. We guarantee, you will not find a better price for a 3 bed 3 bath cabin anywhere in the Smokey Mountains.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Huntsville
4

Inside was very nice

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Owner was very accommodating to help us on short notice with paypal option. 20 min or so from Nantahala put in. Inside of cabin was very nice. Could comfortably fit your average family so my wife and I had plenty of room. Large yard, great for throwing football. GPS put us on the right road but needed to keep driving for 5 minutes or so after it told us we were there. Logging trail was not clearly marked and there were forks on the trail so we were not able to find lake. Overall nice place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Charleston SC
5

Cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The directions were impecable as well as the inside of the cabin was very impressive and clean. Definately a lot of thought and care was put into all of the wood furniture as well as the overall layout. The kids had the run of the basement which was great with the bunkbeds down there as well as all of the movies that were available for all ages. The only drawback for us was the following of the directions to the "hidden cove" which we never did find. However, while white water rafting the water there was 45 degrees f. , so not sure if a swim would have been long anyway.
We would definately recommend this spot and cabin to our friends looking to get away from all the busy life. Thanks again for the overall relaxing terms and being available for us when we had questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The water on the river is very cold because it is fed by the Nanahala dam and the water comes from the bottom of the lake, however, the lake water is beautiful and very comfortable for swimming and boating. The cove is a long relaxing walk - probably over a mile, but mostly shaded with canopy trees and the sound of rushing water that leads to the cove. It is well worth the walk.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Smoky Mountain Cabin on Creek Near Lake - Best Price Guarantee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201402vb
Andrews Murphy / Andrews Area
Knoxville, TN
5

Getting away from it all...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We wanted a family vacation away from the city and that is exactly what we got. The home was beautifully decorated and well equiped with everthing we needed to enjoy our stay. It was a bit of a haul to get to activities, but we knew that going in. Nearby white water rafting was very inexpensive and we went to Cherokee to go tubing, which was also great fun. We found a great local hotspot for swimming, cliff jumping and sliding down a waterfall (route 64) and the kids had a ball there. We will certainly stay here again if we come back to this area for vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2