Kailua Kona house rental - Kona OneNalo from Magic Sands Beach.
Kona OneNalo from Magic Sands Beach.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS - MODERN LUXURY WITH SOUTH SEAS AMBIANCE.

Everything the Big Island has to offer. Welcome to Kona OneNalo, a community of 12 private homes in a gated oceanfront community. Your rental borders one of the best snorkeling areas on the Big Island and is 200 yards from Magic Sands Beach. You can snorkel, surf, scuba, swim or just sunbathe on the beach, all within 200 yards of your front doors.

Your home has two lanais from which to sip your morning Kona coffee and view the spectacular Pacific ocean and Kona coastline. Watch the surfers from the lanais when the surf is up. Let the waves lull you to sleep while you watch the stars from the master bedroom. Wake to the calls of tropical birds and the sounds of the surf. Plumerias and gardenias are among the lush landscaping surrounding Kona OneNalo. Massive lanai doors permit unfettered views of the surf from both the first and second floors.

This home boasts a three-story cathedral ceiling in the living room and cathedral ceilings in the bedrooms. The master bedroom is furnished with a California king bed and a TempurPedic mattress. The second bedroom has twin beds which can be configured to a king. Both bedrooms have private baths. There is a den with two futon chairs which convert to twin-size beds suitable for children. A full dining room and a gourmet kitchen make mealtimes a breeze.

The house is decorated with many works of art with an emphasis on local artists and their work. The Hawaiian ambiance is carried out with koa trim throughout the home and an assortment of glass fishing floats.

Kona OneNalo is minutes from Kahulu'u Beach, perfect for snorkeling and surf lessons and populated by amazing tropical fish and sea turtles. There are many golf courses nearby for golf enthusiasts, and the pool and adjoining whirlpool/spa at Kona OneNalo are steps away from your door. You are centrally located on Alii Drive, only four miles from the center of Kailua-Kona and one mile from the Keauhou Bay community.

Further afield you can visit Volcanoes National Park, the Mauna Kea observatory or the famous black sand beaches.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I first went to Hawai'i in 1967 and were captivated. It took more than 30 years before we actually bought a house. We live on the East Coast, but decided it was truly worth the 10 hour flight to be able to spend time in Hawai'i.

The Owner purchased this house in 1999

14 Reviews of Property 201332 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Comfort & convenience in an unbelievable location!

Comfort & convenience in an unbelievable location!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a fantastic time staying at your house! The location was prime - just yards from one of the best white sand and boogie boarding beaches around. A 3 minute drive to the best snorkel beach, and 10 minutes to tons of restaurants and activities. The house was clean, comfortable, and well stocked to make our vacation superb. The pool was fun and the views inspiring. Thanks so much!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Exceptional house - better than the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a free standing house in a small, safe, intimate complex right on the water. The view of the ocean and the crashing waves were fantastic, the surrounding gardens beautiful, and the swimming pool was a huge hit with our young kids. The house itself is clean, very tasetfully decorated, well equiped and much bigger than we expected. The master bedroom, with its large window and own balcony was great. The second bedroom was also lovely and both have thier own private bathroom with wonderful showers. Our kids slept in the small office/bedroom downstairs on futon chairs that converted easily and comfortably into two single beds (even fine for teenagers, but adults may find them a little small). The master bedroom is partially open to the living room and some noise does transfer, but the design is quite lovely and it keeps the bedroom (which is upstairs) cooler.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need, including modern and tasteful serving dishes. We had a friends over for a BBQ on a couple of nights and had lovely meals around the big table on the deck. The kids loved watching the surfers from the same deck in the morning and late afternoon. A definate highlight are the massive sliding glass doors that open on to the deck and when opened make the entire living space feel like one huge extended deck.

The grounds are safe and our kids (both under 10) could wander around and explore. The best snorkel beach, with protected and shallow entry, is just a few minutes down the road and has ample parking. There is a great surfers beach within walking distance of the house.

The whole place was exceptional and worth every penny. The pictures on the internet do not do the house, its grounds, or the view justice.

The owners are friendly, helpful, and happily accomodated several small requests we made. I would recomend this house to friends, family, and we will be back when we can. So, in case it wasn't obvious, we loved this place and you will too.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
colorado
4

Fantastic house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We absolutely loved our time at Susan's home. It has a fabulous location with beautiful views, is walking distance to a great beach, and is very well equipped and comfortable. Susan was very efficient and helpful, even providing us with a booster chair which made meals with our 2 yr old much more pleasant. We ate all of our meals out on the lanai and enjoyed the birdsong and ocean waves. Every evening we watched the sunset from the pool area. One night we saw spinner dolphins. We had an incredible time in Kona and the beauty and location of the home had much to do with it. Really the only negative was that we found the house too hot in the afternoon. Our toddler would be napping and it would be toasty. The open layout of the home and homeowners association rules apparently make it impossible to add AC. I'm sure this isn't an issue for most of the year, we were there during August. We highly recommend this house!
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Wake up to the ocean and birds!!! - update

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I must have hit the 4 by accident....it was supposed to be a 5. Sorry folks.
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

wake up to the ocean and birds!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Well.......here is what I wrote when we first landed:

Hi Susan,
we are settled in….and LOOOOOVVVVEEE your place. So glad we found it on the internet.

Jager…my youngest (7) went to the bathroom and he kept yelling at me….mom the sink is soooo cool…..lol…

You have a beautiful place, and it is very clean, well kept and stocked. No worries….we will keep it as clean and as tidy as I am sure you do.

We enjoyed some french wine, cheese, ahai and shrimp on the upstairs lanai tonight…….I won't bug you…just wanted to check in and let you know all is ok and mahalo.

Cara

it didn't change throughout our stay. Everything Susan had given us was exactly how it was......it was soooo easy. We truly enjoyed the location...minutes from the action...but quiet enough that you could sleep...We also loved that it was clean....didn't feel like you had to wash everything....hehe...It was great having the use of the beach towels and chairs....and my 7 yr old loved the "fish net" for snorkel fishing :) The boys loved the pool....they were sad that the hrs were 9-7....they asked why it couldn't be 7-9...hehe.. We would typically go to the beach in the mornings, shop in afternoons or just go back and hang at the pool......kids loved going to the pool after an early supper and my husband and I loved watching an unobstructed sunset while they were playing in the pool.

For those of you that rely on air conditioning....there are times it gets humid.....we love it though....reminds us that we are on an island....the fans and breeze felt amazing. The boys room was a bit warm, but they didn't say a thing.....they had their fans on and still used blankets...hehe.

We totally enjoyed our stay.
Mahalo
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

A Convenient, Luxurious, and Private Kona House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We wanted a private home from which to introduce our sister and brother-in-law to the Kona Coast and other wonders of the Big Island. This property more than lived up to our expectations and the photos and descriptions of it on the website. We suspect it is one of the best locations in the Kona area if you value privacy, convenience, and a view. The home is furnished with comfortable furniture and adorned with interesting art throughout, and the kitchen is well-equipped with appliances and spices. The grounds are very attractive and well-maintained. E-mail contacts with the owner were responded to in a prompt and helpful manner, and suggestions were very useful. Our favorite activities included a snorkeling trip on the FairWinds II to Kealakekua Bay (the crew are extremely helpful to novices and the equipment is superb); subsequent snorkeling at a nearby beach; drive to the volcano; and tour of the Lyman House and Museum in Hilo. Favorite eating experiences in addition to those on "our lanai" with produce from local farmer's markets included Bubba Gump's in Kona, Sam Choy's above the Keauhou shopping center, and Tex's Drive-In in Honokaa for malasadas and Portuguese bean soup. We had many pleasant interactions with folks on island including other owners and workers at Kona OneNalo, volunteer and paid tour guides, and wait staff at restaurants. All in all - a great vacation spot that we would recommend to others.
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Our Kona, Hawaiian Rendezvous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Just back from our trip to Hawaii where we met up with our 2 adult sons. This house worked well for the 4 of us. A very clean home with, "all the comforts of home." My husband and I were in the spacious master suite with King bed. One son in bedroom 2 where he pushed the twins together to create a king bed. Other son in the den where the futon cushions were put head to toe on the floor to create a very comfortable bed and private bedroom. Kitchen was stocked with everything you would need to cook in. We ate all our meals out on the deck which has a fabulous view of the, " bravest boogie boarders from, Magic Sands Beach." We would definately stay here again.
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Calgary, Alberta,Canada
5

Luxury in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our stay in this luxury home exceeded our expectations. The furnishings and special features were top notch. We especially enjoyed the two person shower in the master bathroom and the king size Temperpedic bed. We had our breakfasts on the lanai overlooking the postcard view of the bay. The pool area was a wonderful spot for a late afternoon glass of wine while watching the sunset. The owner and the caretaker were very helpful and responsive to the our few questions. We had a tremendous 2 weeks at this beautiful location and look forward to our next Kona holiday
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Fairbanks, Alaska
5

Beautiful view, great pool, and a comfortable living space for a family of 5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We've stayed in several Kona rentals over the years and this place was certainly one of the best. It's the little things that make a big difference, such as entering an ultra clean house after a long night and day of traveling, having kitchen appliances that are clean and updated, having enough utensils, plates, glassware, etc. for all of our family's needs, and a we especially liked the stash of beach chairs and beach mats. Beautiful view, great pool, and a comfortable living space for a family of 5.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Modern Luxury in South Seas Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p201332
215 938-0588
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Bend, Oregon
5

Beautiful spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family of five loved this spot. Great views of waves breaking, snorkeling with turtles right outside the back door and all the amenities you could ever need. We used the BBQ on the lanai and unfortunately found the boogie board and beach goodies only after we'd bought our own.

Possibly the cleanest place we've ever stayed in. Hope to get back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway