Lexington cottage rental - 1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, VA
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, VA
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lexington Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

This 200 year old house has been restored and awaits your visit to Historic Lexington Virginia. Whether you are visiting the colleges, vacationing, visiting the Virginia Horse Center or 'whatever' it will be your favorite headquarters for a visit to our area. It is conveniently located on Main Street near the colleges and the Historic District and only 2 miles from the Horse Center. The new park at Jordans Point is down the hill 2 blocks! The Chessie Trail and Woods Creek Trail begin at the park. Access to the Maury River is here as well. The VMI sports facilities are but a short walk up Main Street.

My house is quiet inside its two foot thick walls. I have furnished it with interesting things and it is a special place. Linens are furnished as well as my ecclectic collection of kitchen ware. Come to Lexington and stay a spell at the Historic 1780 Stone House! Thanks, Tom Bradshaw

Keywords: Historic 1780 Stone House

I have lived here for 35 years and love Lexington. I met Faye while I was a cadet at VMI and we have operated businesses here since I graduated from photography school. We have 3 vacation rental properties and are involved with managing 10 rental properties. I have enjoyed restoring old buildings and especially this 200 year old property. Our focus most recently has been to work on the landscape. Little by little it is improving.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1996

I chose this property while looking for investment property next door. I told the realtor that I sure would like to own the Stone House next door. Several days later he called and said I just Listed it! My answer-'you just sold it'! We had previously built a log cabin as a vacation rental at Natural Bridge and enjoyed the vacation rental business and thought that an in town property might work.

One of the unique benefits of renting a house instead of a room is space to spread out. Also, uniqueness of the property--not a 'cookie cutter same as everywhere else' accomodation. we had stayed in a house in Williamsburg in the restored area and felt a part of the community even for only a few nights so we thought others might enjoy having a place of their own while visiting might have some appeal. Also, seemed important. the opportunity to bring pets

25 Reviews of Property 1350 in Lexington, Virginia

1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Rogersville, AL
5

Great Vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My husband and I and our 2 cats very much enjoyed staying at the stone house for a week. The house was perfect and the town of Lexington is great. The people are so friendly and willing to help and everything was just perfect, including the weather!

The fact that our 2 "children" were allowed to be with us made it even more special not having to worry about them being at home alone.

I would most definitely stay at the stone house again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Austin, Texas
5

Comfortable home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely home. It was comfortable and appropriately decorated for the style of the home. A perfect location to explore the area.
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Virginia Beach
5

Great location to colleges and town of Lexington

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Loved the stay in Lexington. The house was in a great location and was a great space to eat and sleep.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Hagerstown, MD
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a lovely home on a busy street but that's not much of a big deal. We loved all of the different collectibles in the home. When you enter, the front room just feels welcoming. My 14 year old niece thought the house was "spooky" but I think that faded by day two. It rained for most of our visit, but I would have loved to have enjoyed that balcony off the bedroom. We did get a brief period to use the grill and the stone patio. Thoroughly loved the Virginia Safari Park about 20 minutes away, even with the rain. There are many other shops & restaurants to explore in Lexington. Seems to plenty to do for a long weekend. We skipped Hull's Drive-In because we wanted to get up early for the Hot Air Balloon Rally-----but it rained. Other tidbits, no cellphone service in the house for calling, but there is wi-fi. Not sure if there was free long distance on the landline, so we just used our cellphones outside. This house was really clean. Directions for the tv were great, although we only used it to watch the local weather. If I were to ask for one thing to be different--- I'd like nicer bathroom towels--- but that's just me. Great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The Safari Park is 11 miles south of Lexington and is very popular. Lexington has many historic sites to visit and the Natural Bridge is another must visit! I am proud of this house and am glad to share it with those who appreciate history and architecture. I have furnished the house with interesting things and original paintings.
Tom Bradshaw
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
5

Wonderful and Relaxing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I brought our two Boston Terriers to the Stone House for a relaxing weekend. We loved the charm of this old house. It is close to the road but the yard is fully fenced so there were no issues for the dogs. We heard some street noise while on the patio but the 22 inch stone walls made the inside of the house sound proof from the outside noises. Fully stocked kitchen and brand new grill were a plus as we chose to grill at the house all but one night. The bed was comfortable and my wife loved the eclectic mix of furnishings. The house is conviently located next to VMI and a few blocks from downtown. We loved Lexington and people were so friendly.
Owner's Response: The patio has been covered with slate and makes a nice place to have a cook out. The location near the park and the trail heads as well as near the sports facilities for VMI make this the perfect place for a football or basketball weekend!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
5

1780 Stone House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our stay at the 1780 Stone House in Lexington was wonderful! How often can you find a place that has all the comforts of home coupled with a historic building, furnishings and appointments--not to mention Wi-Fi, cable AND a washer and dryer?

Situated on the edge of the historic downtown district very near VMI, it's close enough to leave your vehicle parked and meander through town on foot.

Our host's directions were great, a binder is provided that helps you make local choices for restaurants and activities and the kitchen has most everything needed to call it home. In addition, when we discovered we'd left something behind, every effort was made to help us find it, and we were rewarded with success.

Thank you for a lovely weekend. We'd love to come back some time and visit again.
Owner's Response: We work hard to make our vacation rental special. The park just down the hill is a great place to walk and the trail (Woods Creek Trail) starts in the park and wanders through W&L and through the town. Pets enjoy the park and trail as well. This location across from the VMI football stadium and near the basketball arena (both only a short walk away) makes this a great place for a sports weekend! I added WIFI this summer and just bought a new gas grill for the patio. We keep the house open all year so wintertime visits can be fun. The gas logs in the fireplace make for a cozy environment!
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Reston, Virginia
5

Cozy historic cottage for a weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Perfect location for a weekend getaway! The cottage was clean, comfortable, and well-stocked and had a convenient location to everything in town. The decorations are beautiful and fit the historic cottage perfectly! The adjacent yard is perfect for having a pet. I highly recommend this place as a great alternative to all of the chain hotels in Lexington! We look forward to returning sometime in the future!
Owner's Response: The 1780 Stone House is well located, just a block away from the park and trails at Jordans Point and from the VMI Sports facilities (football, basketball, track and tennis). Restaurants are 4 blocks to downtown. Also, parking in the immediate area of the house is plentiful and safe.
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Covington, Georgia
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is a unique, historic property which my wife and I highly recommend. Will certainly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The 1780 Stone House is a great place to make your headquarters while visiting this beautiful area. The flowers in the garden are at their peak at this time. Parking is plentiful and safe. The sleep sofa is comfortable. One guest remarked that it was more comfortable than her bed at home! It is an American Leather sleeper sofa with memory foam mattress. The house has two full baths which makes it nice for two couples or one couple with children.
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Three Rivers Michigan USA
5

The Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My girlfriends and I had the privilege of getting away to this quaint, lovely, well-maintained historic stonehouse in downtown Lexington. We arrived late in the evening and the owner Tom had left a few lights on for us and the home was cozy and warm. It was well stocked and nicely decorated. We found the location to be ideal for many reasons - sightseeing, shopping, dining - lots to do in the area. We would highly recommend this location to other guests and would return for another visit if in the area!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
1780 Stone House in Historic Lexington, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1350vb
Business (540) 463-2521 (Virginia, USA)
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Mint Hill, NC
5

Wonderful home- great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband, Layla (our english bulldog) and I stayed in the Stone House from July 1-5 and had a great time! It was so nice to wake up, take our dog to the park just down from the house, head out afterwards for a few hours in town then come back for lunch. We definitely saved a lot of money by cooking almost all our meals while visiting. The location is convenient to everything and made it easy to enjoy some down time while vacationing. We could just go back "home" when we got tired and relax for an hour or so then head out again.

When we arrived the first thing I noticed was how clean and welcoming it was. We have stayed in rentals in the past that were not so inviting. There is nothing worse than arriving only to have to clean a little before unpacking. The house was great, we were very pleased with our experience, and the weather was perfect all weekend. We had a great time and would highly recommend staying here to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We try hard to have the house as we would like it to be if we were staying there. The park at Jordan's Point is a great place for a walk and the Woods Creek Trail through Lexington starts there.
I have my ecclectic collection of kitchen ware in the house so cooking should be easy with plenty of pots, pans etc. as well as full sized appliances.
Tom Bradshaw
Helpful votes: 2/2