Alamo Square condo rental - Our Home
Our Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Alamo Square Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6-8

Bask in the exquisite period detail of this historic 3 bedroom, 2 bath home. With approx. 2,600 sq ft and two levels of living space, a remodeled kitchen and eight rooms, including a tremendous great room at the roof level with a luminous circular turret, a double parlor, a formal dining room and an additional office space,

This home seamlessly blends old world elegance with the comfort of today`s modern living. It resides in the historic Alamo Square area of San Francisco - the 'painted Ladies' (Victorian houses) surrounding the neighborhood park have been depicted in hundreds of postcards and movies.

The park includes tennis courts and a recently updated children’s playground.

The apartment is a short walk from the restaurants and shops of Hayes Valley and has easy access to the Symphony, Opera, Museums, Civic Center and lets not forget Union Square for the shopping!!.

Central Location!!: Our home is centrally located in San Francisco's historic Alamo Square neighborhood. Just blocks from Fillmore Jazz Preservation District and the trendy restaurants and cafes of Hayes Valley.

We also have easy access to world class shopping (Union Square) and entertainment (San Francisco Opera, San Francisco Ballet & the many excellent theaters).

More Details
Hide Details

40 Reviews of Property 200821 in Alamo Square, California

Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
average rating of 4.939394 based on 40 reviews
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Downers Grove, Illinois
5

Wonderful Family Holiday!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Our stay in December, 2008 was simply wonderful. The location could not have been better. We rented a vehicle for our stay and the garage 1 block away was great. The children loved the turret with the big TV. Everything was spacious and clean and the beds were oh sooooo comfortable! The park one block away was great for the kids too. When we return, this would be the property we would stay at.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home!

Kim
Downers Grove, Illinois
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/12
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Fantastic place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Well I have been slack not writing this review earlier. This was our first stop on a big USA trip & it was a great pick. We were two families travelling with 4 kids. The house was everything we expected and more. We really wanted an old Victorian home & this home has been well cared for. The beds were super comfy after such a long flight & linen clean. The loft upstairs is great for the kids to hang out with toys, books & TV & the bed in the turret worked well for the older children. Kitchen was great with basics provided plus a huge dining room for all of us to congregate around before & at the end of our day. The laundry room was a bonus & made travelling to our next destination which was without laundry services a pleasure knowing all laundry was done. The bus stops right out front & makes getting around too easy. Short walk to Divasdero St & our new found market Birite. Many short walks with ice creams in hand from Birite through Alamo Square on the way home. We loved our time here. There is still the noise of living close to other homes so don't think it will be super quiet, plus the street noise. This didn't bother us one bit & we live in rural country in Australia! It all adds to the hustle & bustle of this beautiful city San Francisco. We rode the open deck bus to the city which goes right past. the public transport was a dream & other passengers super helpful. Cathy was super with a few minor issues & a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Beautiful apartment, great location on bus route

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our party of 8 stayed here for a long weekend. It was the perfect size / style for three adults and a bunch of kids (9, 11, 13, 15 and 18 years old). The apartment is beautifully decorated / furnished and after previously spending a few weekends in San Fran in modern faceless hotels, this place felt like home - such character and history.

You are literally 1-2 blocks from the Painted Ladies (Alamo Square park) with a stunning view of the city. The #5 bus stops right outside and will take you to Market Street where you can connect to virtually anywhere.

We enjoyed Chinatown, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, the GG bridge and a baseball game while we were here (tip: make sure you get Alcatraz / Giants tix in advance) and it was great to come back home each evening and discuss the day.

Both the owner and the housekeeper were super helpful and we appreciate them accommodating a special request for some of our party that were returning to England on the day we left.

Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Perfect for a City Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We travelled to San Francisco for two purposes- to run the marathon & to see the city. This apartment could not have been any better for those things.
Before we arrived, the owner gave excellent information- both about the property & other local knowledge.

The house itself is amazing- the photos do not do it justice. The rooms are large, the beds are heavenly, the kitchen is superb. There are two lounge areas, so if you're two families or groups wanting a bit of alone time, it's ideal.
The bus outside takes you downtown in 15 minutes, or to Golden Gate Park & the ocean. Get yourself a Muni 'Clipper' card.
There are some great local restaurants & cafes- we can highly recommend Eddie's Cafe for post race breakfasts & Cafe Abir for excellent cappuccinos- both on Divisidero. There are any number of good places to dine in the evening- Green Chile Kitchen, Little Star Pizza & a little farther Roam Artisan Burgers, on Union Street, to name a few.

It's a short bus ride, or half hour walk via Panhandle, to Golden Gate Park. Close by is Amoeba Music (you have to go if you love record stores!) & Whole Foods, which is great for coeliac veggies like me.

All in all, a great stay in a perfect location, enjoying wonderful facilities.

Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
5

An Absolute Treasure of an Apartment!!!......None of Us Wanted to Leave!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
From the time we stepped through the door until the time we left, we were amazed at how much we felt at home in this beautiful, quaint, extremely well-cared for and well-equipped apartment!!! To say that it's an apartment is not really doing it justice, however, since it's more like a huge home....so huge that at times, we had to search to round up one person or another in our family group of seven. There are actually two levels to this place, and that top level is huge and light-filled, beautifully decorated and furnished, and even has a round bed in the turret section of the building. The main area has a living area off the main bedroom, two additional bedrooms, an office area with computer, a large wonderful kitchen for cooking amazing meals, and a very elegant dining room which offered great ambiance for our stay-at-home meals. Everything you need is in the apartment, from iron and ironing board to washer and dryer. There is a long flight of stairs from the entrance up to the apartment, but we greatly appreciated that little stair-climbing workout after far too many sinful meals and treats as we roamed the city. However, I must say that my mother, who is 85, managed those stairs without any problem whatsoever, and we all felt that the separation from entryway to living area added far more privacy to the apartment......which we loved. It was like our glorious, gorgeous little sanctuary up there! Linens were extremely well-stocked as well. Additionally, just outside our door we could catch the MUNI #5 to anywhere and everywhere in the city. What a wonderful bonus that was! Very quiet area, short walk to Alamo Square Park, "painted lady" homes, and some great little "colorful" eateries on Divisadero, including a great little cafe called the Oasis, Mojo's Cafe down a few blocks, and our favorite, Little Star Pizza. With the great location of this apartment and the MUNI #5 bus stop just outside, this is where you want to be! I might mention as well that the owner is quick to respond to any questions you may have, and soon after my arrival home, my deposit had already been credited back to my account. Great place, great location, great owner! My family cannot stop raving about our "home away from home" in San Fran! We will certainly rent this apartment again on our next visit, and I can honestly say that if you want a great San Fran experience, this is absolutely the apartment you want to rent! We left our hearts there!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Excellent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed for 4 nights, 4 adults and 4 children (ages 10 -7).
Excellent location, excelentlly equipped and perfectly cleaned. 2 blocks away from the painted ladies, an easy walk to Market street. Just an excellent stay. Will definitely recommend it and stay at it on our next visit
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Charming Victorian house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My family recently stayed in this wonderful house. It fit our needs perfectly and made our family reunion quite enjoyable. All the rooms were as descirbed. The garage access was necessary as street parking is quite a challenge. Great documentation on the house and surrounding businesses.

We will no doubt rent this property again.

One suggestion is for the owner to put into the description that bars of bath soap are not provided...a minor critique to an overall excellent property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Great place to stay in San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Six of us had a week in SF and this was a great base to play tourist.
Good position close to Hays Valley for some excellent resturants. Bus stop outside so easy access to the transport system and all of San Francisco, once you've worked it out(Muni pass is great value). House was everthing we needed full of character, clean & very spacious. Lots of useful information from Cathy was much appreciated. Definately to be recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
5

Une fabuleuse location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
quinze jours merveilleux dans unt rès bel appartement avec tout le comfort,des explications claires,en plein centre ville mais sans le bruit,un contact permanent par e mail avec la proprietaire pour toute question,rien a redire ,tout etait parfait,à recommander pour une decouverte d'une ville merveilleuse.Un seul regret,devoir partir.
Merci Cathy
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
HIllarys, Perth, Western Australia
5

Lovely house, great for families.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a lovely four nights in San Francisco and thoroughly enjoyed staying at this wonderful house. It was beautifull presented, everything was clean and immaculate. It was very homely and we had plenty of room. Travelling with three younger children, it is difficult for us to go out at night after sightseeing all day, but it was wonderful to come home to such a lovely home with lots of San Francisco charm. We were able to get take away or cook, and the children could relax (they loved the upstairs living area, it was like their own "den". The owners were lovely people, very helpful. Thanks for the use of the computer and all the helpful information you provided us as well. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/5