Waikoloa Beach Resort condo rental - Ocean View from Pool
Ocean View from Pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Waikoloa Beach Resort Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Come enjoy our condo at Hali’i Kai (pronounced Ha lee’ e ki and it means ‘spreading out to the sea’)

Hali’i Kai is a 30-acre gated oceanfront complex on the Big Island of Hawaii with unbeatable amenities. Our spacious 2 bedroom/2 bath condo #23D is a second floor end unit (with no one above you) with a tropical décor and lots of windows to capture the Hawaiian sunshine. A beautiful 5 minute walk finds you at the Hali’i Kai Ocean Club with a spectacular lagoon type pool at the ocean’s edge – you must see it to believe it.

Enjoy the fitness pavilion overlooking the ocean where the trades keep you cool as you work out before jumping in the sand bottomed spa tub. Hali’i Kai also offers a tennis court and a half basketball court. There’s an open cabana poolside bar and grill with a delicious menu and great cocktails (little drink umbrellas are optional!). It’s a perfect spot to watch humpback whales from December to April.

The upscale furnishings include a Cal King in the master bedroom and Queen in the second bedroom. It has a fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. Our condo has central air and full sized washer/dryer for your comfort and convenience. Our unit includes high speed Internet access (WiFi). The living room includes a 47' wall mounted TV and stereo system with iPod dock.

The condo is located near the Coconut Grove BBQ area where you may grill your fresh mahi mahi to perfection! Enjoy your dinner on our quiet lanai with views of Mauna Kea (13,796 feet) overlooking Hawaiian flora and swaying palm trees. And for dining out, there are great restaurants nearby - some within walking distance.

The famous Anaeho’omalu Beach (“A” Beach) is a five-minute drive for sunning, swimming, and snorkeling. Hapuna Bay is nearby for additional beachcombing. You can enjoy deep sea fishing, sea kayaking, wind surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving as well as helicopter tours over the active Kilauea Volcano. There is horseback riding, swimming with the dolphins at the nearby Hilton Waikoloa, and let’s not forget the two world famous golf courses in Waikoloa where Hali’i Kai guests enjoy discounted golf at the 18-hole Robert Trent Jones-designed Beach course or the King’s course designed by Tom Weiskopf.

For your shopping needs, there is a Costco near the Kailua-Kona airport plus a brand new gourmet market in the nearby Queen’s Marketplace which offers great shopping and a calendar of events throughout the year.

When comparing rates, keep in mind there are two different floor plans for the 2 bedroom condos at Hali'i Kai. Our condo has the larger 'premium' floor plan (1459 sq ft with the lanai) and is an end unit on the second floor. The 2 bedroom condos on the first floor (unit numbers ending in 'B' or 'C') are smaller (1204 sq ft), interior units with fewer windows.

Please be sure to click on the link to our photo album for over 50 pictures of the unit, furnishings, and view.

Keywords: resort, end unit, pool, bar

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 200617 in Waikoloa Beach Resort, Hawaii

Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
United States
5

All True

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This condo is better than the photos even ! And the comfort level high, very nice furnishings, linens, maintained and everything you need. Which makes a vacation a vacation. We only had a few days here, really you need much much more. The environment is wonderful and only adds to your peace of mind. This vacation home, is part of a complex within a gated area. The pool is in a wonderful setting and it is shallow, therefore there are rules regarding diving, and jumping. Our kids are big rule followers but we did see another family being told by staff they needed to tone it down. So if you like total freedom and are free range parents this isnt' the place you for. But for us it was perfect. Also there is a nominal resort fee.
I need not repeat information in other reviews but would like to say this was a wonderful part of our vacation, one I would love to repeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Caron,
Mahalo for taking time to write such a kind review about our little piece of paradise. We furnish our condo for "us" to enjoy and thrilled that you share that enjoyment. Hali'i Kai is a special place ... start planning for your next visit!
Karen and Dave
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
United States
5

Hali'i Kai's The Best

Hali'i Kai's The Best
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I stayed 18 nights in this 2 bedroom unit. This was my 7th visit to the Hali'i Kai. What a great place! This unit is a short walk (10 mins.?) to the ocean front pool/restaurant/bar/exercise facility, a.k.a., "Ocean Club". It was "whale season" and they were very frisky while I was there. The viewing from the pool area is incredible. The owners where also staying in their other unit. What a friendly couple. Karen and Dave emphasize hospitality and offered, on more than one occasion, to do anything to make my visit even better. I'd definitely recommend giving them a call, and see if their place "fits the bill". Mahalo
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jon,
Sorry about this delay in sending a "Mahalo" for writing your review on our condo. It was very special actually meeting you and members of your family while we were both at Hali'i Kai and we sincerely hope to overlap with you on your future stays to visit your daughter.
Karen and Dave
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Dallas, Texas
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I recently stayed here for our annual 2 week Hawaiian vacation. We both loved the condo!! We had talked about buying a place in Hawaii and a condo like this would be ideal. The location was great and within walking distance to the shops and restaurants at the King's Shops and Queens Market.

The condo was well appointed with nice furnishings and had everything we ever needed from beach chairs, umbrella, towels to a coffee grinder in the kitchen. Speaking of kitchen it had everything we needed to make breakfast, lunch or dinner when we weren't up to eating out. We also grilled steaks on the new BBQ grills right outside the condo.

All of the live-in neighbors were friendly and more than willing to offer suggestions about places to go.
Better still is the friendly, no hassle nature with which we were treated by the owners Dave and Karen throughout the rental process. They even accommodated us with a late checkout (our flight didn't depart until 10 pm).

We would definitely stay at this condo again and we would recommend it to any of our friends and relatives. Enjoy your stay, you can't go wrong! Aloha!

Thank you again Dave and Karen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joe

We appreciate you taking time to write a review on our condo at Hali'i Kai. Always thrilled when our guests enjoy and appreciate this little piece of paradise as much as we do. Hope we can accommodate you again.
Karen and Dave
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Philadelphia, PA
5

Hali'i Kai Waikoloa Beach Resort

Hali'i Kai Waikoloa Beach Resort
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I highly recommend renting this particular unit. My wife and I visited the island in early December 2011 to attend a conference and for a vacation. Though we had an option to stay at the conference hosting hotel (Hilton Waikoloa Village- approximately five minute walk on a trail overlooking the ocean), we decided to rent this unit as soon as we read the reviews. Dave and Karen were fantastic hosts throughout the trip, from the moment we first inquired about the unit- to meeting them for a cocktail at the club (BTW, excellent food and service by Kathy)- until the time we returned home and received a "Mahalo" card. Between these time points, they generously shared tips on local masseuse, the most beautiful beach, and best breakfast on the island. In regards to the unit 23D, all rooms were nicely decorated and clean. Given that we wanted to prepare our lunches at times (rather than prepared Hilton lunches), the kitchen included all tools/appliances. Overall, this unit served us well, especially given that we needed a vacation house, not just a room.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Montana
5

A Most Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My husband, 9 year-old, and I stayed at this condo for two fabulous weeks. The entire Hali'i Kai complex is wonderful - beautiful landscaping, considerate and friendly staff, excellent food at the Ocean Club (and mai tais and smoothies!), and a relaxing pool that caters to whale watching closer than you could ever imagine. There was constant activity in the ocean whether it was a blow, fluke or full breach - babies and mama whales. What a treat!
This condo overlooks the beautiful Coconut Grove area which has three industrial sized grills and two hammocks that provide comfy escapes to continue your book or nap after returning from the beach or pool. The lanai also provides afternoon shade and is well equipped with a sturdy table and four comfy chairs to watch the sun rise over the mountain.
The condo is clean with top of the line furnishings and two extremely comfortable beds. We would take the master bed home if we could as it is much more comfortable than ours at home! There are boogie boards, swim noodles, beach chairs, coolers and beach towels for guest use. The kitchen has the basics you need plus a great coffee grinder, toaster, and more. It isn't poolside/oceanside, but we knew that and liked the afternoon shade.
The owners of this unit are very helpful both ahead of and during the trip to make sure your every need is met - very friendly and very conscientious. Shampoos, soaps and detergents are supplied too.
We got our shopping done the first day off the plane by going to Costco and a smaller grocery store for smaller items so we saved a lot of money by getting simple meals to make in the condo - and fresh fish for the grills!
The Hilton is next door and we bought a pass to use their pools one day - about $20/person which was fun, but our daughter was content at the Hali'i Kai pool too without the slides/crowds, etc. We ate at the Hilton a couple of times in their poolside cafe and once for their breakfast buffet and Chinese - the latter two being expensive, but good. My daughter participated in three lei making classes at the Hilton - a flower, a ribbon and an eyelash-reasonably priced ($15/ea) taking place on the Hilton grounds overlooking the ocean. Also took advantage of a massage at the Hilton - very nice.
We went to Hapuna, A Bay Beach, Beach 69 and a black sand beach all within 10 minutes or less of the condo - great fun with boogie boarding and snorkling.
Bottom line we love the Hali'i Kai and this condo was wonderful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Bay Area
5

All I can say is - WOW!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My wife, daughter and I have stayed in this unit multiple times. I believe we were even the unit's first guests. I can not speak highly enough about the kindness of Dave and Karen to share their little piece of paradise with us.

Had we not found this perfect condo on VRBO, we would still be squeezing into a rack rate hotel room at the Hilton, right next door, for much more money. This unit is perfect. Two bedrooms, each with their own bath, makes taking our child a dream. She goes to bed at 8pm. In a hotel, we would need to go out to the balcony or turn the TV way down and whisper. The floor plan is huge. At over 1400 sqft, this is like staying in a house. The living room has a comfy sofa and love seat, with a large flat panel TV, DVD player and iPod stereo system.

The kitchen has all the amenities of home. We stopped at Costco on the way up from the airport and stocked up with food and drink. We must have saved hundreds of dollars eating breakfast "at home" before venturing out. On beach days, we would load up one of the provided coolers with sandwiches and sodas, grab the provided beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, snorkels, boogie boards and even kids sand toys and drive off to explore a new beach. We did eat dinner out quite a few times (don't miss Sansei Seafood Restaurant and Sushi Bar as well as Roy's right in the Waikoloa resort) but having the huge built-in grills, picnic tables and hammocks right outside our window was perfect for nights that we just did not want to go out to eat.

One of the highlights of the Hali'i Kai property has to be the pool area. The pool is very large for a condo complex and laid out such that kids can splash and play in the top part, while adults can relax in peace in the lower section. Add the grill, where you can get top notch food and Mai Tais all day and you may not even want to go to the beach. We found ourselves alternating every other day. Even on beach days, we would end up back at the pool grill for happy hour.

Even the location of this complex is perfect. Waikoloa is sunny every day. The don't call it the gold coast for nothing. We made the mistake of staying in Kailua-Kona one trip, and it was cloudy and voggy every day. You will not experience that here. Waikoloa boasts 350 days of sun and only 9 inches of rain a year.

This is the best complex and best unit on the Big Island that we have found. If you are looking for a great vacation to Hawaii, this is your best deal!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Anchorage, AK, USA
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My family has stayed in this unit a number of times...and will continue to do so for some time. It is one of the finest appointed units in Hali'i Kai. The owners take great pride in managing a unit that is fully equipped with the finest. They have impeccable taste and have furnished the unit with the highest of quality. Perhaps one of the biggest attractants for us is the kitchen - fully equipped. When you stay in a place like this...at least for us...the goal is maximizing family time. That is ofter done around a meal. Many units have kitchens that are only "barely" equipped...not this one. Lastly, the morning sunrises over Mauna Kea are spectacular. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Seattle
5

Beautiful, well equipped condo and whale-watching from our pool-side lounge chairs!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
This was our BEST Hawaiian experience, in over 30 years of traveling to the islands. The condo had everything we needed and more, they thought of everything. We shopped for food on the way from the airport and spent a most relaxing week in this gorgeous, comfortable and well-appointed condo. We started our days with coffee and breakfast outside on the deck. The temperatures are so mild, we never needed the air-conditioning, we were able to leave the windows open 24/7 and let the sea breezes blow through, hear the birds and sounds of the palm trees blowing in the wind. We spent hours each day at the pool, which had an excellent bar and cafe, so we ate lunch there everyday. We Barbequed our dinners a couple of nights but ate most of our dinners out, as there are several great restaurants nearby. We hope to spend many more vacations here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 2 Bedroom End Unit!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200617vbi
(415) 385-5511 (California, USA)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Ravensdale, WA
5

Our new 'Hawaii house'

Our new 'Hawaii house'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My husband, 2 small children and I stayed in this unit and found it to be exactly as stated in the description and shown in the photos. One of the big draws for me was the nice pool, the decor of the condo and the location right near the ocean.

In the beginning I was hesitant to rent off of VRBO but found my credit card company would cover everything if I charged it and it ended up not being exactly as expected. With this type of coverage, I felt fine moving forward with this transaction. We were lucky enough to meet the owners while we were there, so I'd be fine with Pay Pal next time.

When we arrived, we were very happy with the grounds, location, and condo. The grounds are extremely well-kept, condo was immaculate and it included everything we could possibly need for a 2 week stay. The garden area included a beautiful Jenn-air grill that was cleaned prior to meals each day... that we managed to use a few times. One huge plus to this location is the proximity to many shopping areas, nice hotel grounds you can explore, a couple of America's top 10 beaches (5 min away), and loads of constant sunshine and trade winds. We have stayed in Kona before and now it's hazy and gray, more often than not. This location was central to many sites and an easy drive back into Kona if you'd like to see more of that area.

My favorite parts of the trip would have to be having fresh Kona coffee out on the lanai each morning and our cool night walks around the grounds. All in all, it was a great trip and my 4 year old now calls it our 'Hawaii house'. We were all very sad to leave but we will stay there again. I would recommend this place above and beyond any other I have seen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2