McGrath cabin rental - Wilderness Acres Lake Home/Cabin Retreat
Wilderness Acres Lake Home/Cabin Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 6 - 30 nights
 

McGrath Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms plus den, sleeps 8, 2 full bathrooms

A magic place....100 miles north of the Twin cities, in Aitkin County, Wilderness Acres is steeped in history of one family's wield of pen, rod,and hoe. Located on tranquil Bear Lake in the popular Mille Lacs region, this lake home offers a magnificent natural setting on 120 acres of woodland.

Enjoy the firm tug on your fishing line, a walk in the woods in search of wild berries in season, and a quiet canoe ride perhaps to view a breathtaking sunset.

The inside boasts gleaming knotty pine, antique furnishings, a cozy fireplace, a full-size kitchen and 2 full baths. A three season picnic house not far from the house allows you to enjoy the outdoors while keeping Minnesota mosquitoes out. Wilderness Acres provides great privacy as a sanctuary unto itself.

For more information please call number or complete the email form below. Thank you!

My grandparents purchased this property in 1949. I grew up spending time with them and loving the nature. I inherited Wilderness Acres in 1983 and have raised my son to enjoy the wilderness. I now would like to share the beauty with others and still save time for myself and family to enjoy as well. It's a little slice of heaven!

Robin purchased this cabin in 1949

It is rare to find such privacy surrounded by 120 acres of woodland on a very quiet private lake. It's a great place to rejuvenate and heal your spirit from the hustle and bustle of your daily lives.

Wilderness Acres offers a peaceful place with complete privacy and a unique opportunity to commune in nature. It is rustic yet has all the modern conveniences. The cabin is only yards away from the lakeshore and there is a screened picnic house to enjoy the outdoors while being protected from the elements.

7 Reviews of Property 200182 in McGrath, Minnesota

Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
Berlin, Wisconsin
4

Wilderness Acres- delightful

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We took a family vacation to Wilderness Acres. Loved the lake and the many chances to paddle around it in the boats provided. Outdoor fire pit was very nice. Got to hear the loons on the lake and practically had the entire lake to ourselves. We do not fish but from the looks of many fish around the dock and the few people casting from row boats you will not be disappointed if you drop a line in. We went in June of 2013. The owner is clearly making wonderful improvements to a delightful cabin. The books, tea pots and other nick-nacks give you a private museum to stay in. Like other reviews you must understand that this cabin is out in the woods. Tons of birds, wildlife and bugs live here. If you like rustic, deep woods and camping then this will suit you just fine. If you want spa, or resort, this is not for you. We liked it and had a great time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
West Hartford, Connecticut
5

My dream of a Northwoods Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our week at wilderness Acres exceeded all my expectations! The history and charm of this property, its convenience to the Twin Cities, its secluded location on a peaceful lake and all the wonderful amenities made it a dream vacation for our family. The owner's clear and detailed notes about what to do, what would be supplied, where to find things and how best to enjoy the property was a big factor! We enjoyed kayaking and canoeing every day, saw deer in the gardens in the early mornings, watched the hummingbirds at the feeder, swam in the lake, and fell asleep to the music of the loons. It couldn't have been more perfect! We used the History House and the screened picnic structure to accommodate our family of 10, including a baby!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
Saratoga Springs, Utah
5

Wonderful Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We were so happy with everything! The pictures and description provided are exactly what you get. It is spectacular!! We caught some huge Northern Pike from the, provided, canoe; many smaller fish were caught off the end of the dock. The lake is warm for swimming in July and not over crowded with recreationers. In fact, most days we were the only ones out on the lake. We enjoyed all the games, inside and outside, that came with the cabin. To sum this up for anyone interested: You will not be disappointed!! We will be looking at staying here again...probably this year too. Awesome, and Robin is so great to work with! Oh, and my brother is in a wheelchair and he stayed with us for a week and was able to move about freely, on his own, inside and outside!! Just Great!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
Mpls.,MN
5

Best week of the year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We have been going to this cabin for many years now and find it to be one of our most relaxing weeks of the year. It is quiet, tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of life. Yet, there is many activities available to do right on sight. We love it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
Southeastern South Dakota
5

What a wonderful vacation spot!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our stay at Wilderness Acres was wonderful. It was so quiet and peaceful! Just what we needed after a very busy summer! Everything was very clean and it had everything we needed. We enjoyed playing games and eating out in the screened in porch, canoeing as the sun went down, watching the deer, birds, and eagle, and the kids loved catching fish right off the dock! We enjoyed reading the books that Robin's grandmother wrote. What an unbelievable place! It was even peaceful when it rained. We appreciated Robin checking in on us after storms were close to our area. Thanks so much for sharing your property with others!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
Minneapolis, MN
5

Restful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We've been visiting this location for many years -- it's almost like going home! Great space to retreat to. Perfect for the nature enthusiast.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wilderness Acres: Secluded 2BR/2B Lakehome Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200182
+1 6512717874
McGrath Mille Lacs Lake
Twin Cities, MN
5

So relaxing......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My family really had a great time! The secluded beauty and charm was just what we were looking for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2