Duck house rental - 'Life's a Joy!' Sits way up high for great views of the entire area!
'Life's a Joy!' Sits way up high for great views of the entire area!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Duck House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Spectacular Ocean and Sound views await you in this charming

waterfront vacation get-a-way in Duck. Located on a quiet cul-de-sac and only steps from the Currituck Sound, 'Life's A Joy!' is perched on one of the highest dunes in the area offering breathtaking ocean and sound views. Your own pool, which can be heated in the off season, features whirlpool jets and color changing lights that will refresh and delight the whole family. Just a stroll up the road,exactly 1 mile to be exact,is the picturesque coastal village of Duck, a shopper's paradise featuring many one of a kind shops,boutiques,and exceptional restaurants, some of which are waterfront.

The picturesque resort village of Duck has a split personality. On

one hand it's a sleepy hamlet ideal for families craving a quiet

beach vacation. Delightful cottages fill the village from sea to

sound; there are no hotels and only one B & B. Duck's lively side also boasts activities galore. The sound side waterfront area

features para sailing, kayak and jet ski rentals, plus sail boat and windsurfing outfitters. The bike path running the length of the

village is traveled with early morning exercisers, tots on bikes, and inline skaters and provides a scenic trail on the easy trek to and from the village.

The entire area is a fisherman's paradise: from convenient shoreline fishing to full day ocean excursions out to the Gulf Stream for the really big ones. Take in some serious crabbing from the sound pier adjacent to your home, visit the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse or the even closer Currituck Lighthouse. Take a short drive down the road to see the site of the Wright brother's first flight, or experience Manteo Island's unforgettable live performance of the Lost Colony outdoor drama under the stars. For golfers, there are four public courses nearby. If adventure's your game: you can set off in search of the wild Spanish mustangs of Corolla often seen frolicking on the secluded northern beaches or ride the free ferry to Ocracoke Island to hunt down Blackbeard's ferocious pirates.

Here on the Outer Banks, there's something to do for everyone. Or if you prefer, do nothing at all but kick back, relax by the pool, and enjoy that glorious OBX sunrise & sunset!

More Details
Hide Details

Hello! We are Reed & Joy Cook and live just outside Richmond, VA along with our teenage son Joseph. We always loved vacationing on the Outer Banks so we decided to buy the perfect get-a-way in the most perfect location: Duck. We're sure you will find it a perfect place for you and your family to get-a-way from it all too! Come and stay anytime, we'll leave the light on for you!

Owners purchased this house in 2006

It's a cozy and comfortable beach cottage. Close to the beach. Close to the Village of Duck. Right beside the Currituck Sound. Sits up high so you can see for miles and miles. Very private and peaceful on our cul-de-sac street. And it has a great pool!

Close to everything but out of this world!

8 Reviews of Property 200091 in Duck, North Carolina

Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
average rating of 4.857143 based on 8 reviews
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
5

Highly recomend it !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our first visit to the outer banks - and we had a great time. The house was perfect for us , there were 6 of us, so there was plenty of room. You could easily accomodate 10 -12 people. The house and the pool area were very clean - and the views were as advertised - from the sun room or the deck (s) the sunsets were beautiful. Also, pretty amazing views from the dock as the sun sets. There was a TV in every bed room , a big screen tv in the living room - with quite an assortment of movies to pick through . We took advantage of the beach for a couple of days , just relaxed by the pool on a couple of others - and if you golf (3 of us are avid golfers) - there are several beautiful public courses within 1/2 hour - and we had no problem getting next day tee times. My wife and daughters made several shopping trips into Duck and the surrounding areas , and had a great time shopping the waterfront stores. I think we ate out 5 of the 7 nights we were there , there are tons of restaurant options. On the last day , we booked a tour to see the wild horses of Corolla ... amazing and extremely interesting history there . So, we had a great time and hope to go back . The owner , Reed Cook , was very nice and easy to work with throughout the whole process and I would have no problem recomending this house to anyone considering a vacation on the outer banks.

Dermott Larkin
Attleboro Massachusetts.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This home is very relaxing. Have been here every year for the last 8 years and every time I enjoy myself. Beach is close and not crowded. Town of Duck is friendly and great for shopping and souvenirs. New park is fun for the kids. I especially like the pool - spend hours swimming and catching up on my reading. Every night is Sunset night with the spectacular views.
Thanks for the memories!
Sally Ann, Richmond, VA
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
4

wonderful vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a great time at Lifes a Joy. The view were outstanding. The beach is a very short distance away and you can also walk to it. This town of Duck is very nice. We had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
Island Park, NY
5

A Great Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This is a great home. It was clean and met all our needs. Great views and decks. We were three 50+ couples that enjoy cooking and the kitchen had everything we needed. The community was wonderful with short drives to supermarket( that was spotless as well). We are all from the South Shore of Long Island so we are spoiled by our beaches but were very pleased to visit the ocean. The week we were there the temperatures were in the upper nineties so we made good use of the pool. It was clean and well maintained.
Highly recommend it
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
Cary, NC
5

Fabulous property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Right from the beginning the owners of the property were very accommodating answering my numerous questions. This set my mind at ease renting from folks that I didn't know and a property that I haven't personally seen. The house sits between the sound and the ocean and both are easily within walking distance. You have a great view of both from the deck. We went crabbing a few times while we were there which was a blast. The pier is only about 1/4 mile from the home if that. The house itself is wonderful. It is beautiful and very well maintained. I went with my family but it easily could accommodate more then 4 individuals. We were also very appreciative that we could bring our dogs, Willow and Jasmine. They thoroughly enjoyed the vacation with their family. For vactioners who don't have pets, you would never know pets stayed at the house. The cleaning service does a fantastic job. The home is spotless. The kitchen is fully equipped and I can't think of a thing you would need to bring. The owners have a large TV in the living room and TV's in all of the bedrooms. They also have a large selection of movies and board games. Plenty of things to do in the evening or if you get a rainy day. The pool is a wonderful addition and it is also very clean and well maintained. All in all it was a great property and a good value. I would highly recommend this property for your vacation. It has everything you could possibly want or need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
Whitestone, NY
5

Pet Friendly and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Thisis a beautiful house with a terrifc pool. It is very clean and includes everything you will need for anenjoyable vacation, It is set in a quiet cul-se-sac on the soundside. The walkway to the sound pier is only about 200 feet away. It is centrally located and the pet-firendly Duck beaches are a 2 minute drive across the road. My family and I had a great time, and our dog enjoyed himself fully. You won't find many, in any, beaches around the country that allow dogs to walk unleashed ( but supervised) on the beach. We chose Duck for this reason, and we chose this house for the pet-friendly designation. Neither disappointed. We highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
Perkasie, PA
5

Breathtaking water views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We have stayed at many places on the Outer Banks and this by far has been the best. The house was clean and relaxing. A real beach cottage!! The sunroom was just a great place to view the beautiful sound and relax with the family. We had one rainy day and were entertained watching the storm roll in from the sound. We all had turns napping on the deck hammock. The close proximity to the dock was a favorite as we love to crab and fish....and an easy walk or ride to the beach or into town. The pool was clean and refreshing as it was a hot week!
The house was equipped with everything we need and we really appreciated being able to bring our dogs.....they had a vacation with the family too.
What a beautiful home! Thanks for sharing!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Captivating Water Front Home with Ocean Views in Duck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200091
+1 8049216081
Duck Outer Banks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thank-you!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Wonderful experience staying here! Home is immaculate & clean, nicely furnished, and has amazing water views. Sunroom is breath taking! Nice floor plan with the living area on the upper level with expansive decks and great views in every direction. Loved the private pool which was crystal clear and well maintained. Our kids used the bikes daily and also had scooters which we didn't even know about. House is very private yet close to the ocean and town of Duck. We'll be back! Thanks!!
Helpful votes: 8/8