Captain Cook cottage rental - Welcome to Makalani OceanView Cottage
Welcome to Makalani OceanView Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage-Studio w/King bed & Queen futon + addtl.BR, 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-5))

Makalani (Heavenly View) Cottage is a delightfully romantic cottage surrounded by a tropical garden in South Kona's coffee-belt with a breathtaking panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. For the adventurous traveler seeking authentic Hawaiian beauty and serenity, you can spend your whole vacation here gazing out over the endless ocean and its incredible sunsets. In the winter, you can spot whales breaching from your outdoor lanai or listen to them singing at night. Awaken to the music of colorful birdsong from papaya, mango and banana trees.

With a perfect year-round climate, perched at 1200 ft. above the sea on the side of Mauna Loa Volcano, Makalani Oceanview Cottage is authentic Hawai'i unspoiled by crowds and resorts. A great location that gives you many options for experiencing The Big Island's natural diversity. From your cottage you are just 4-minutes from the closest beach and 15-minutes to Ho'okena Beach State Park for sunbathing and swimming with dolphins. A 20-minute drive brings you to the famous Pu'uhonua o'Honaunau (Place of Refuge) National Historic Park and Kealakekua Bay where you can kayak to Captain Cook's monument and snorkel with an endless variety of tropical fish and sea turtles. And best of all, you're only 65-minutes from Madame Pele's live action at Volcanos National Park.

Your cottage is tastefully appointed with Indonesian teak furniture providing a romantic comfort reminiscent of Colonial British tropics. Your large open-room (studio) cottage sleeps two luxuriously with a romantic king-size canopy-bed with a memory-foam mattress fit for royalty. There is also a convertible couch-futon which can comfortably sleep two additional guests. You'll have a fully-equipped kitchen as well as dining area for four. A large outdoor lanai with barbeque gives you garden seating with a stunning ocean view. Your detached private bathroom with semi- outdoor shower will provide a refreshing Hawaiian experience with nature.

There is also a detached guestroom/meditation room available which is set in a grove of mango trees overlooking the ocean, called the 'Mango Grove Lookout'. It has a sofa-futon which can comfortably sleep one or two people. Serene and magical, this special extra-room provides daytime privacy as well as an intimate camp-like Hawaiian sleeping experience.

Managed with aloha spirit, Makalani Oceanview Cottage is the perfect vacation/retreat cottage where you'll find yourself surrounded by the natural beauty of Hawaii.

We hope your stay here will be the first of many happy vacations to South Kona and this beautiful island of Hawaii.

Keywords: Cottage/Ohana

More Details
Hide Details

I love Hawaii and sharing it with friends and guests, especially those who appreciate the spirit and mana of the island.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2005

To be in authentic and natural Hawaii,close to the ocean and untouched by tourists, hotels and resorts.

I love the ocean and the secluded beaches nearby with the wonderful trails leading to them. It feels like 'Old Hawaiiana'. The sounds of the birds, wildlife and whales singing at night in the winter makes you feel like you're in the great outdoors. The tropical garden and romantically furnished interior provide a unique comfort. Lots of wonderful wildlife to encounter.

25 Reviews of Property 199288 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
5

Beautiful Oceanview

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I stayed at Makalani Oceanview to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We were impressed with the beautiful tropical vegetation, flowers and fruit. The sunsets were amazing at this location. Harry greeted us with many nice touches such as a personalized welcome card and vases of cut tropical flowers from the property. He also set out some ripe fruit from the property. The house had everything we needed for our visit and the bed was very comfortable. Harry visited once and gave us some tips on nearby places to visit and restaurants at which to eat. We had only two complaints: firstly, there was a rooster on a property nearby that was confused about sunrise and secondly, we simply ran out of time to do all the activities we wished to do on this side of the island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Serenity...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were met with a beautiful tropical bouquet, a fruit basket and an hand written card from Harry welcoming us to our stay at this beautiful cottage. My daughter and I took our first trip together for her 24th birthday, and I am forever grateful we found this treasure of a hideaway at which to stay.
The main house was comfortable and had everything we needed. The lanai was comfortable and had a beautiful view overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately it rained at sunset the first two nights, but we finally got the awesome sunset on the third evening. Even in the rain it was so beautiful!
I slept in the meditation cottage which, by the way, has a down mattress! I slept deep and sound all three nights we were at Harry's. I didn't even hear the roosters in the morning! We were visited by gecko's, wild turkeys and a dozen or so wild chickens.
Harry had all the snorkel gear we needed along with beach chairs and a cooler for our use! Harry was also very helpful in giving us directions to local swim and snorkel sights. Harry was only there when we needed something, but allowed us our privacy.
Thank you Harry for your wonderful hospitality and allowing us to stay at your cottage. I hope to come back and bring my husband next time!

Mahalo!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
NYC
5

Beautiful, romantic cottage on the cliff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We only spent 3 nights at the Makalani Ocean View Cottage, but wish that we could have stayed longer! It is a beautiful and romantic place with great ocean views and gorgeous natural landscaping. The cottage itself has gorgeous decor, is extremely comfortable and spacious, with a well-stocked kitchen (best knives I have found in a rental unit!), and a nice king-sized bed. Although it is fairly far away from stores or restaurants, it is conveniently located for exploring all that the magical island of Hawaii has to offer, and the owner supplies you with a book of useful information about hidden beaches and good restaurants. Be sure to take advantage of the delicious fruit that grows on the property and make smoothies or mixed drinks!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Mallorytown, ON Canada
5

Cherished Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
A very magical and peaceful place - so much so that we just hung out at Makalani for four days and absorbed its wonderful energy. The furnishings are exquisite and the extra touches, including flowers, fruit, and Harry's welcoming card evoked many aahs! Mahalo Harry, you are a great host.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The description and photos really don't do this property justice. It is paradise. The cottage is cozy, romantic and inviting, with a beautifully appointed kitchen and gas barbecue making preparing meals easy. The lanai and deck on the Mango Grove Hut added so much to our enjoyment of the cottage. The views are gorgeous and the local wildlife and birds a delight. The bath and shower room was fantastic. The property is so beautiful and well kept. The owners couldn't be nicer and more accommodating giving us all kinds of great advice of places to visit and things to do. The nearby Fruit Stand offers up all kinds of fresh grown fruit and some veggies, and many other Hawaiian delights. The Coffee Shack nearby is a must for delicious meals and coffee. The only thing we could complain about is the fact that we had to leave. Truly paradise found.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Alabama
5

Beautiful Cottage, Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed here for only 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer!! The cottage is clean and welcoming with lovely decor. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful flowers and wildlife. Harry is the perfect host and gave us excellent recommendations on places to visit during our stay as well as the remainder of our trip on the eastern side of the island. I cannot say enough about our wonderful experience at Makalani Oceanview Cottage. On our next trip to the Big Island we will plan accordingly and extend our stay here to at least 5 nights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Jungle Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Spent two weeks on the Big Island and Harry's place was week #1. Hands down I would return, it was fantastic. Few things to know: 1.) this place is STOCKED - snorkel gear, beach chairs, water shoes, coolers, ice packs, beach towels and an incredibly stocked kitchen, anything you could need is there 2.) Harry had great recommendations for things to do and was such a sweet host. 3.) Bring your bug spray - there are lots of mosquitoes (but hey it is the jungle) 4.) The grill is MONEY we cooked dinner there almost every night. 5.) the house is a little south of the Kona area but we appreciated being away from all of the tourists 6.) make sure to go grocery shopping in Kona on the way down, the grocery store near the house is expensive.

Enjoy! It was AWESOME.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Poway, California (San Diego)
5

Beautiful, Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This cottage was better than advertised. The grounds were beautiful and Harry, the host, was great.
We slept incredibly well and thoroughly enjoyed the 10 days we spent here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Our first Big Island experience -- FABULOUS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This little gem was a wonderful find! We rarely stay at hotels anymore, as it is so comforting to us to be able to drink our coffee in leisure and cook a meal when we don't feel like going out. Here, everything is "eye candy" -- the ocean view, the flora, the fauna (beautiful roosters, turkeys, colorful birds, etc.). Harry, the owner and proprietor, has done a wonderful job of adding thoughtful touches to the cottage. We originally chose Makalani Ocean View because it has a king-size, memory foam bed (great sleeping!), but there was so much more than that. We discovered Hanomolino Bay on our last evening in Hawaii. Getting there at sunset, there was a school of dolphins in the bay, playing and jumping in the air. Quite a sight! Paleaku Peace Garden was a favorite of mine, as was snorkeling at "Two Step", just north of the City of Refuge. Thank you, Harry, for sharing this piece of your paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Lakewood, CO
5

Charming Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The house was much more than just a place to stay while exploring the Kona side of Hawaii - it was a destination in itself! Harry's artistic touches are everywhere, from the landscaping, the masks... all the decorative touches. We really appreciated having a full-stocked kitchen (thanks for the cold beer - we left the next guests a box of decent wine), with all the things needed to cook fabulous dinners. It was also great to use the boogey boards and the flippers (good ones) while at the beach. Harry was full of great suggestions on beaches and sight-seeing (definitely purchase the guide book he recommends) . My 5-yr old son was in heaven - he explored the grounds, chased the roosters, played with the cats, studied the geckos - good clean fun! We'd definitely come back here again - so much to explore on the Kona side - we barely scratched the surface!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4