Hakalau house rental - Another beautiful sunrise
Another beautiful sunrise
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Hakalau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Aloha and welcome to Hawaii Paradise by the Sea on the incredible Hamakua coast in historic Hakalau. This is a two bedroom, two bath plantation style home. Your back lanai offers beautiful views of the ocean, incredible sunrises, passing ships and whale watching. You can enjoy all this while relaxing over a refreshing tropical drink at your outside dining table or grilling tonight's dinner. While at home have some friendly competition at the foosball table (table soccer). Take a 5 minute stroll to the cliff's edge or down to Hakalau Bay for a refreshing swim or body boarding.

The locals refer to this part of the island as God's country and it won't be long before you see why. We are minutes away from Umauma Falls, botanical gardens, the grand 442 foot Akaka Falls, Kolekole Beach Park (a nice place to picnic), 2 Zip lines and the small town of Honomu with it's quaint shops and the best shave ice around. Honolii, one of the best surf spots on the island is only 10 minutes away. The historic town of Hilo is 5 minutes further with a farmers market, Tsunami Museum, Rainbow Falls, Liliuokalani Japanese style garden, Banyan Drive, Coconut Island and downtown shopping and dining. Another 30 to 45 minutes South will bring you to Kilauea Caldera-the world's most active volcano, the hot ponds and tidal pools to snorkel in. A 30 minute drive North of the house brings you to breathtaking Waipio Valley, Parker Ranch and golf courses.

The spacious retreat comes with everything you need to enjoy making your special meals or smoothies in this beautiful kitchen with granite countertops. You will find everything you need to make your vacation complete even your own washer and dryer. This home is handicap accessible. Sorry no pets or indoor smoking.

This is a separate rental unit adjoined to our home where you will have complete privacy with your own private entrance and phone number. So come relax, enjoy, and experience Hawaii Paradise By The Sea.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Bob and I moved from New Jersey at the same time as our home was completed in 2008. After vacationing on the Big Island for many years and never wanting to leave our dream finally came true. We are in awe of the beauty that surrounds us with the ocean view, mountains and beautiful flowers, this is an amazing island and we look forward to sharing it with you.

Sandy and Bob purchased this house in 2008

This property offers a wonderful ocean view for watching the ships, whales or just day dreaming while sipping lemonade. It's walking distance to Hakalau Bay to watch the surf, boogie board, have a picnic or see an occasional monk seal.

Our registration ID #W52556059-01

48 Reviews of Property 198935 in Hakalau, Hawaii

Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 48 reviews
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great hosts! The property was incredibly clean, decorated wonderfully, and had beautiful view of ocean. Located close to Hilo so it was very easy to purchase groceries and grill for family meals. 2 bathrooms was definite plus for our group of 5. If you are looking for a beautiful place to hang out at night, watch water at night, and RELAX this is your rental. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We certainly enjoyed having you here and meeting your family. There's nothing better than grilled food especially when you can look for whales while cooking. Hope to see you again.
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
Sun Prairie, WI
5

More Than Just a Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our one month stay at Hawaii Paradise by the Sea was everything that its title suggests. It was a once in a lifetime experience. The facilities were spacious, clean, and well maintained, including a wonderful lanai with a gorgeous view of the Pacific Ocean. But what really made the experience exceptional was our gracious and attentive hosts. They greeted us with fresh flowers and fruit from their beautiful yard (as well as delicious home made banana bread!) offered innumerable suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to try, and even provided discount tickets to many of the local attractions. Since their facilities are essentially a duplex they were always close by if we had any questions or concerns, but they were rigorously respectful of our privacy. We could not have asked for a more ideal relationship, nor wished for a more idyllic location to use as our home base as we explored The Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad that we got to spend some time together with such a delightful couple during your month stay. Hearing about your travels to Europe was quite interesting and funny at times. One of the highlights was learning about the Pillsbury Doughboy, we're still laughing about that. Mahalo for sharing your fabulous photos with us. a hui hou
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We really enjoyed our stay in this clean, spacious and beautifully decorated apartment. It is attached to the family home but feels very private. The owners were friendly and welcoming and available if needed. The kitchen is very well equipped so we cooked most nights. It was great to have our own washer and dryer! The lanai is beautiful and a nice place to sit looking at the lovely garden and the ocean behind. Truly, a home away from home! There is plenty to see and do in the area and it is very convenient for Hilo. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's always nice to have guests who traveled so far from the UK to be here especially since Sandy originated there. We agree that having a washer and dryer while traveling is so helpful and you can't beat the view while waiting for the laundry to finish. You were lovely guests that we look forward to seeing again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is such a wonderful, charming and nice house. This house went above and beyond our expectation. I saw the photos from VRBO and thought this is probably a nice place, but when I arrived and saw it - this place is AWESOME. We can see the ocean every morning through the living room, the house is clean and well-stocked, two bedrooms are big and kitchen is huge!

Sandy and Bob are so wonderful too. I received a very quick response from Sandy, every time I emailed her questions. She is happy to help in every way she can. Bob is also really nice. We met him when we tried to find a house's key. He came greet us and gave a suggestion on how to get to Volcanoes National Park. He is a very nice guy.

We all (myself, dad, mom and my boyfriend) wanted to thank you Bob and Sandy for this great experience and warm welcome that we received from you two.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are so very welcome, it was our pleasure! We're so happy that you enjoyed the house and your stay. It was so nice that your parents were able to meet you here from Thailand which I'm sure made your visit even more special. We look forward to seeing you again.
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
West Des Moines
5

Perfect for a 22 year reunion with the Big Island.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Thank you Bob & Sandy for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. We had a great time and the location was perfect for all of our day trips. Thanks Sandy for the recommendation to visit Cronies, we ate there 3 times during our stay. We had so much fun recreating memories with our daughter at places we took her to when she was only 9 months old. My husband and daughter especially LOVED the foosball table. The fresh fruit and chocolate cake were such a treat. Again Thanks
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good time celebrating your daughters graduation. That's such a special treat to share old memories and create new ones and of course bragging rights on who's the better fooseball player. We hope to see you again.
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
Sacramento, CA
5

Island paradise..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed in early October, and found Hawaii Paradise By The Sea to be wonderful! Plenty of room for two couples, very spacious and decorated very beautifully, but oh so comfortable! Owner Sandy Nutt is a gracious hostess, very personable and so helpful with suggestions and directions to the many attractions. She had homemade goodies waiting for us on arrival. If you are looking for a home away from home with magnificent water views from the lanai, this is the place for you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You all were so funny, always joking with each other. You four should write a book about friendship, I think you're experts. We so enjoyed your company and conversations and hope to see you again.
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
Texas, USA
5

Such a wonderful, welcoming and classy vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My friend and I were immediately astonished at the beautifully appointed rooms and overall appearance of this VRBO unit. Bob and Sandy were quite pleasant, and the personal touches were appreciated (where can I get MORE of that chocolate/passion fruit bread?). The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Hilo was beautiful, and the just-outside-the-city locale of this home was perfect.

See you next time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed showing and explaining the different plants and fruit we have in the yard and glad you got to sample some. Hopefully you went home refreshed and ready to teach for another semester. We'll have to give you an extra loaf of the chocolate cake next time to take home with you, if you don't eat it all on your flights. We look forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
Placentia, CA
5

Hawaii Five O Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I just turned 50 this year, and wanted to visit the Big Island for the first time. My family and I spent 6 days on this Hilo side of the island at this place, and we enjoyed every minute of it! Bob and Sandy are great owners. We arrived with a fresh home grown pineapple waiting for us. The place was so clean, and great view of the ocean from the deck. Oh yes, there was a foosball table too. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a memorable stay at Hilo. When you do visit Hilo, be sure to ask Bob and Sandy on where to visit and where to eat. We took their advice, and they were all great. Zipling was awesome. Ask Sandy for a coupon to get a discount. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Bob and Sandy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for choosing us for your stay for the big Hawaii 5-0 celebration as well as your daughter's birthday and graduation. We felt honored to have been choosen for such a special time. You have such a nice family and we wish we could have spent some time with you, so maybe next time with some birthday cake, yum. See you for your 60th.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
Marseilles, Illinois
5

Warm,Clean and Friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stay in Hawaii for three months every winter. This winter our house in Kona was already booked for two weeks in Feb. so we decided on Bob and Sandy, based on the reviews, for this two week period. What a nice place! We wished our house in Kona was as nice. Bob and Sandy are great hosts and anyone who books there will be very happy. We won't forget Bob bringing us fresh cut bananas from his trees or Sandy's banana bread to greet our arrival. This was the nicest overall property we have stayed at in 9 months and three different islands in Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed your company, especially over dinner while we "talked story". It was also nice to meet your other family members at the cafe and get to see you again. Maybe next time you can chop the banana's down too. A hui hoa
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Ocean View, Free Wireless Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198935vb
+1 (808) 963-6160 (Hawaii, USA) after 7am Hawaii time
Hakalau Hilo District
United States
5

Skip, Sherri, TC and Vicki

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is the place. Beautiful beyond words. Wonderful beds, great in every way!!! Would like to give this
wonderful place many more than 6 stars if possible. We are determined to visit again. Thank You Bob and Sandy for providing us a bit of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for staying with us. Bob looks great in his vintage Iolani aloha shirt, thank you. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to your return from the Lone Star state. A hui hou
Helpful votes: 4/4