Tamarindo house rental - The Rancho - great place to have a massage
The Rancho - great place to have a massage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Tamarindo House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Casa Doshack is a comfortable family home that is truly BEACH FRONT! Located on the southern end of Tamarindo Beach, midway between Tamarindo and Langosta, Casa Doshack has its own tranquil oasis 30 feet above the beach, ensuring absolute privacy. This ideal beach home is situated in a tropical garden in a quiet, secluded neighborhood across from Isla del Capitan and three doors away from Hotel Capitan Suizo, one of the premier hotels in Costa Rica. Yet just a few steps down to the white sands of Tamarindo Beach puts you in the best location for sunning, surfing, swimming, kayaking to Isla del Capitan or a moonlight stroll after dinner. Walk two minutes to Hotel Capitan Suizo and its world-class restaurant or walk ten minutes to the heart of Tamarindo for shops, restaurants and night life. Best of all, from the Rancho of Casa Doshack, you can look out over the whole of Tamarindo Bay to check out the waves, watch the fishing fleet go out and return each day or simply read, relax and monitor the daily activity of the beach.

Casa Doshack consists of the main house, all on one level, which sleeps 4 and the Garden Apartment, on the lower level, which sleeps 2. The main house and the Garden Apartment can be rented individually or together.

The main house has two bedrooms and two baths, air-conditioning in the bedrooms, a full kitchen and a 550 square foot terrace for your outside relaxation and enjoyment. Each bedroom has its own private TV and the master bedroom has a private dressing room/bathroom suite.

The Garden Apartment is a large studio with air conditioning, a small but fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom and TV. The Apartment has its own 200 square foot private patio and separate entrance.

Both the Main House and the Apartment have hot water, security boxes and daily maid service. Off-street secured parking is available on the property.

Enjoy days of swimming or surfing, horseback ride through the surrounding rivers and hills, savor the local fiesta scene, and then relax with a private massage on the Rancho overlooking the beach. All these things and much more are available to guests of Casa Doshack.

Keywords: House and Apartment. Can be rented together or separately to sleep 2, 4 or 6.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Kathy Doshack and I have lived in Tamarindo since 1991. I am fortunate to have my daughter, Donna, living nearby and two lovely Costa Rican granddaughters. I have been involved in Tamarindo community organizations for many years and in addition participate in a local art group, walk the beach every morning and regularly walk the hills surrounding Tamarindo.

Kathy Doshack purchased this house in 1991

I retired to Costa Rica in 1991 settling in Tamarindo when it was still a sleepy fishing village. Although Tamarindo has developed since then offering a wide range of services, the beach itself remains the same, timeless and beautiful. I love the fresh air, warm days and nights and the variety of flora and fauna available here.

Hanging out at the Rancho is a singular experience. Restful, swinging in the hammock reading a book or watching the world go by on the beach just a few feet below. This vantage point allows for bird watching, iguana sightings and monitoring of the fishing boats going to and fro.

39 Reviews of Property 198773 in Tamarindo, Costa Rica

On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
average rating of 5.0 based on 39 reviews
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
5

Perfect end to our perfect trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family just returned from Costa Rica where we ended our incredible trip with a wonderful stay at Kathys place.

The house was perfect - close enough to town to walk to (5-10 minutes on the beach - depending on how distracted by the water, shells, picture-taking, etc.. you get....) but secluded enough that it felt like we had our own private beach. Which, in a sense, we just about did....

The 'apartment' (which was a cute room with a small kitchen / bathroom and king-size bed ) was perfect for the in-laws; the upstairs/main-house with 2 bedrooms (each with a king bed), 2 bathrooms and full kitchen was perfect for the wife/kids and me. We ended up making coffee in the morning and making a quick breakfast before heading out for the day. The full kitchen was more than enough to make all meals, but we wanted to take in the flavors of Tamarindo....AC in the bedrooms cooled the rooms off quickly, and made for a comfy sleep.

The property is raised a bit off the beach, and a quick walk down a short path to the end of the property and after walking down about 20 stairs - you are just about IN the ocean. This house is as close to 'on the beach' as you can get!

HIGHLY recommend Casa Doshack! If I were to book another trip to Costa Rica, I would book around the availability of staying here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Virginia Beach
5

Unique SURPRISE at this house...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We've enjoyed renting beach houses in Mexico, Hawaii and the FL Keys. They all offered beautiful views, comfortable king beds, well equipped kitchens and friendly owners. Casa Doshack had it all and looked exactly like the pictures in the VRBO listing. However, we had two wonderful additions -- 2 of the sweetest, well behaved dogs you'd ever want to meet! When we arrived, they were waiting on the porch... the slap, slap, slap of the wagging tails let us know we were welcomed to their home :)
Early each morning, the gardener arrived to fill their food bowls and gave them some exercise before it got too hot. His wife came a little later to make the beds and keep everything clean and tidy.
Kathy, the home owner, was so helpful and explained everything we needed to know about the house and the local happenings. We found that almost everyone spoke English. Be sure to go shopping in the beautiful grocery store called Auto Mart. On Friday evening, check out the really nice BBQ with entertainment at Capitan Suzio - steps from the house. Getting down to the beach was easy thanks to the teak-wood stairs. The beach was hard packed sand - so nice for walking. I really enjoyed the outside shower!
Inside the house, we had powerful AC in the bedrooms; the kitchen and living room were opened to the sea breezes. (Be sure to check out the convenient rolling island in the kitchen!)
If you choose Casa Doshack, please give the dogs hugs from all of us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I'm not even sure how to put into words how renting this house affected the success of our two week vacation but, I will try.
We flew in on the 8pm Liberia flight a bit wiped out from the day of travel and was met at the airport by the driver that Kathy set up for us that would take us to the house. He was very nice and we were able to stop at a market to pick a little something to throw together once we got to the house. When we got to the house it was everything we had hoped it was going to be.. Kathy met us there, went through the details of the house and the relaxation began.
The location was just where we wanted to be, on the water with the ocean sounds going through the house day and night and just a short walk to great food and wonderful people. The house had boogie boards and beach chairs that we used and also had a gardener and maid that were both very nice and the two house dogs made leaving our own two dogs at home bearable.
My husband and our friend met many locals, all knew "Casa Doshack". Kathy was able to set up massages and her daughters family have stables where we were able to go on a 2 hour horseback ride for a very reasonable price. . I can't wait to head back again!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Southern Oregon
5

Paradise on the beach.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The apartment was our home for 5 days. The beach is 30 seconds from our door and a 10 minute stroll into town for lunch or dinner (we had a car but didn't need it for getting into the main area). If you are looking for the perfect walking beach this is it---wide and long. The water is calm and warm making for great swimming. The apartment is very comfortable with a small kitchen with all the basics. Kathy is the perfect hostess with a wealth of knowledge about the local area. She also was helpful in arranging our sightseeing adventures--boat trip up the river and zip lining (we were picked up by the tour operator another reason why you don't need a car). Enjoyed many afternoons under the thatched hut overlooking the beach and watching the howling monkeys in the treetops and the pelicans fishing in the ocean. This was our favorite spot during our two weeks in Costa Rica. Thanks Kathy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Regina Beach, Saskatchewan
5

Paradise in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Hard to describe this house because there's SO much to rave about. It's beautiful, extremely well maintained, reasonably priced, within walking distance to everything you need, includes all the equipment you need to enjoy the beach in front of you, and the owner is incredibly helpful. We didn't bother renting a vehicle because we could walk for everything we needed (on that fabulous beach!) or take a quick cab ride to bring home a bunch of groceries. We are so glad that we chose this location and this house --- they are the definition of "hidden gems". Thank you, Kathy, for an unbelievable hoiday in paradise. We can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Springfield, MO
5

Fabulous apartment with unbeatable view of beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The apartment at Casa Doshack was perfect for my husband and I. We had one of the best views of the beach in Tamaraindo from the lookout point at the back of the yard. I highly recommend a massage looking over the beach! We were also very pleased with the level of help we received from the owner in booking excursions. It was nice to have advice on what to do from someone who has lived in the area for so many years. She provided great recommendations on activities, places to eat, shopping and helped us book transit from the airport to the apartment.

Access to restaurants and shopping is a short 10 minute walk down the beach. The kitchen in the apartment is pretty small, but worked fine for breakfast and light meal preparation. I believe in eating out as much as possible on vacation, to experience the local food, so this worked out fine for us. We were also surprised to have cleaning service every day, but Sunday, and for just a few extra dollars she also did our laundry before we returned home! All around it was a great experience. We hope to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Nova Scotia, Canada
5

Thoroughly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed at both the apartment and the house at Casa Doshack. We found both accommodations charming, clean, convenient and comfortable. We had all that we could want and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The birds visiting the beautiful gardens there are as plentiful & varied as anywhere else that we visited in Costa Rica. The monkeys were frequent & fascinating visitors. The location is perfect, especially for body surfing & beginning surfers. We believe that the rancho is the best spot in Taramindo and we spent a lot of time there. The sunsets were truly magnificent. We loved to set off bare foot along the beach to go to restaurants or grocery shopping.
Kathy was great! She is a mine of information & a very experienced local guide. We enjoyed horse riding with Donna and zip lining. Ileana & Manuel were very helpful, lovely people. We also really enjoyed the dogs. We would return in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
spokane, wa
5

Great Beach Apt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My husband and I came to Casa Doshack for an anniversary. The garden apartment was perfect with just enough room. The hammocks were where we spent the majority of our day, due to surf only being good at high tide. It was an easy walk to town, we preferred walking along the beach, max 10 minutes. It was far enough from the hustle and bustle that we had a very relaxing time. Would recommend renting a car if you want to surf other breaks but if not, no need to have a car. We had monkeys in our trees on more than one occasion. Lots of lizards and frogs running about. Kathy was great. Always have bug spray and sunscreen with you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Houston, Tx.
5

The best place in Tamarindo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife and I are leaving the Garden Apartment tomorrow and we will miss this place so much. The owner is a great help and the property is perfect! The house keeper and ground keeper keep the property fresh and clean and the rancho that overlooks the ocean is hard to explain in words. It is the perfect place for coffee in the morning then great to relax after day on the beach and then perfect to stare at the stars and watch the lights of town by night! There is a patio on the main house that often has a breeze and we were able to see a lot of wildlife from here as well, including anteaters and iguanas and lots of monkeys (we saw monkeys the most).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the Beach. House Sleeps 4. Apartment Sleeps 2.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198773vbi
011(506) 2653-0040
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Illinois
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I wasn't sure what to expect. Casa Doshack exceeded my expectations in every way! The views are spectacular, the access to the beach is fantastic.
A 5-10 minute walk to town via beach. It's a great walk in either direction along the beach! Not just sand, there are rocks, but easily walked. A beautiful stroll in both directions. The house, terrace and property are all as pictured; breathtaking, clean and comfortable. Beach towels, chairs and boogie boards are there! Tamarindo is full of friendly people, good food, excellent cerveza, access to tours... I could go on and on. I look forward to returning!
Kathy is a wonderful hostess!
5+ star review from me! pura vida! Lynn
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway