Buena Vista house rental - Relaxing in the Natural Hot Springs pool along Chalk Creek
Relaxing in the Natural Hot Springs pool along Chalk Creek
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Buena Vista House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Come to the mountains and soak in magical hot springs mineral waters along the rustling waters of Chalk Creek. The property has wonderful mountain views and secluded privacy for your full isolation.

Enjoy the soaking Pool which is fed by an artesian geothermal spring with temperatures ranging up to 105 degrees mineral water (you can manually regulate the temperature). Up to eight people can relax in this secluded, private outdoor setting in our hillside therapeutic mineral Pool. At night, the stars come alive.

The 2500 sq ft house is a three bedroom, two bath fully furnished home with additional beds in the finished basement. Two rooms have king size beds with down comforters and the third bedroom has two twins. In the large family room area, there is a TV with a DVD player and a variety selection of DVDs (Sorry, no TV channels).

Fully equipped kitchen and Laundry facilities.

Keywords: Cabin, House, Hot Springs, retreat, vacation rental, mountain cabin, Colorado, biking, hiking, skiing, fishing,

More Details
Hide Details

I moved to Chaffee County, Colorado in 1985 to work and play in the mountains. I worked at Monarch Ski Area as the Director of Snowcat Tours. I also started and owned a rafting photography business, Sunshine Studio, on the Arkansas River. The area has endless opportunities for outdoor recreation.

Patty purchased this house in 2008

My wife and I always wanted a property near Mt. Princeton with geothermal hot water. We were blessed with this house which was located on Chalk Creek and had a geothermal spring that produces geothermal water at six gallons per minute. That's over 300 gallons an hour and over 4000 gallons a day of mineral enriched hot therapeutic soaking water.

Soaking in hot water wataching the cosmos. Other activities are endless, such as hiking, biking, fishing, skiing, rafting, rock hounding, horse back riding, mountaineering, and on and on and on. All those who wander are not always lost.

21 Reviews of Property 196267 in Buena Vista, Colorado

Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
average rating of 4.75 based on 21 reviews
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Arvada, Co.
5

Creek side hot springs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A slice of heaven! John and Patty , we couldn't have had a more wonderful weekend. Thank you. The deer, who came right up to us, the birds were wonderful. The hot springs pool was amazing! Your home is beautiful, we did not want for anything.We hope to come back with our children and spouses. Again, thank you for sharing your home. Mike and Barb
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks To our Wonderful Guests ! Its because of you we are able to Have Creekside Hotsprings Cabin !!!
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
4

Perfect for Christmas with family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family spent the week of Christmas at the cabin and enjoyed it. The rooms are nicely furnished and there are plenty of DVDs to watch. The kitchen is a good size for 2–3 people to cook at a time.
The only problem we had when we tried to use the hot springs, the water wasn't always hot. It felt more like bath water than a hot tub. On Christmas, we drove to the Mt. Princeton hot springs down the road. When we called the owner about the problem he sent a repairman out and also reimbursed us for the price of the hot springs admission. The hot tub was eventually repaired and quite comfortable, even when the temperature outside was 20°.
It was a great, relaxing vacation and the cabin and surrounding area was beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: A Hot Spring is a natural occurrence that we are very lucky to have. Due to extreme cold, changes in the pumping system occurred. Creekside Hotsprings worked very hard to provide a satisfying experience. Sometimes its never enough. We regret these comments and are happy things prior to and after this clients stay were reported as "Perfect " . Respectfully Submitted
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Leadville Colo.
5

Sweet quiet Creekside hot soak.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Where to spend our first day of my retirement? No brainer-Creekside Hot Springs of course!! Decompression, Relaxation, Adventure, Romantic Getaway, and a fabulous Hydrothermal hot tub made this our first choice! We recommend Creekside Very highly... our 4th stay was as delightful as our first! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You so very much ! We really appreciate our wonderful guests. We couldn't do it without folks like you !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Denver, CO
5

What a getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The Creek Side Hot Springs made for an amazing weekend getaway. The house was clean, warm and cozy. The springs were crystal clear and the temperature is easily adjustable depending on the soakers' preferences. John and Patty were very helpful in the weeks leading up to our visit, providing directions and ample advice.

We loved cooking up a storm in the well-equipped kitchen (hello cast iron!) and relaxing in the comfy living room, which has amazing views of the rocky cliffs around Mt. Princeton. If you're coming up in winter, four-wheel drive is strongly advised! And if you need a place to eat, try Grimo's in Salida; but be sure you make reservations! That place is hopping.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You very much ! We really appreciate your nice comments ! We hope you can come again sometime . Many Thanks once again
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Denver
5

The perfect spot for anyone and everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This place is absolutely amazing! Every little detail in this beautiful cabin is perfect. The geothermic hot tub is perfect during day or night and the area itself is absolutely amazing. I will recommend this place to everyone I know if they are in need of a place to stay in buena vista.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Dallas, TX
5

Fabulous Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We highly enjoyed our 2 week stay at Creekside Hot Springs! The interior is even prettier than the photos and very roomy, and was well stocked with every kind of amenity, including kitchenware & cookware, binoculars, great DVDs, books, board games, comfy bedding, and very convenient robes for wearing to and from the hot springs hot tub!! We met the owner and found him helpful and friendly. We would strongly recommend this property, as would our various family members whom we hosted. From ages 3 to 70, we all LOVED our stay here! The Buena Vista area is great for outdoor activities and we enjoyed a family float on the river, pony rides for the little kids, horseback riding for adults, nearby hikes and swimming at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs and taking the kids to feed the chipmunks at St. Elmo.. Sitting on the deck watching the birds come to the feeder and the light on the Chalk Cliffs was one of my favorite relaxing activities! Watching the stars come out during a night time soak in the hot tub was also a wonderful memory!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks ! We really appreciate you too !!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Co.
1

unhappy guest

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I got the info on this place from a friend in Salida. I made my reservation by phone. I should have gotten the things we were promised in writing before I gave them my credit card. On the phone we were told, no extra cost for the 2 extra people if we put in robes to be washed, no extra cleaning fee if we cleaned the kit. We did both of these. When we got there hot springs was too hot to use and no way to cool it, no way to check the temp. We talked to John and did what he said, still too hot at 11pm. We left it running just like he said and it was too cold to use in the morning. We called and thanked Patty for the stay and checked out early. There had been mildewed towels in the washer and dryer when we got there and the robes were hanging wet in the closets. We took the towels out and left them and dried the robes. I would not have complained if we had not received a bill for extra cleaning 3 days later. The kitchen was spotless but what Patty complained about was all of the towels she had to wash, 14. There were 8 of us, I know 4 of us used towels we had brought with us. The ones she was complaining about were the ones that were there soiled when we got there. My main problem is after we complained I receive several harassing E-mails and she cursed my daughter on the phone. We have stayed at many of the hot springs in Colo. and Wyo. and have never complained about any of them and never been charged extra. And all this and never getting to have a good soak!
Owner's Response: Creekside Hotsprings Cabin does not want to respond to this except to say
We stand by our guidelines clearly stated on our website and our confirmation email . In most cases we bend rather than break. We regret this guests poor experience and strive for each and every guest to have a wonderful time at our property.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Denver, CO
5

The best BV has to offer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family and I stay in BV every summer and this is by far the best place we have rented. The location is wonderful, views from the large windows are beautiful, often with deer eating in the yard. The house was very comfortable with plenty of room for 4 adults and 4 toddlers. The kitchen is very well supplied, a huge selection of DVD's, and very clean. The owners were very helpful and friendly throughout the booking process and even call the day of check in to make sure everything is to your liking.

The hot spring is really the highlight though. It was so wonderful to just walk out the door to your own private hot spring and not have to deal with the public at a near by hot spring.

We will be staying here in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Alexandra ! we really appreciate wonderful guests like yourself !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
denver
5

Cozy, beautiful, and AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Creek side tremendously. It is in such a beautiful area of the mountains and great location. The house was very clean, comfortable, and had an energy of love to it. The owner even called to make sure we were comfortable, see if we had any questions, and go over any details we would need to know for the weekend. And the hot spring! Absolutely amazing. No chemicals used, private, perfect temp, and no closing time. I can't say enough about this property and it's owners. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks !!
business
Creek Side Hot Springs Cabin - Private Hot Springs Chalk Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p196267vb
+1 719-207-2100
Buena Vista South Central Colorado
Colorado, U.S.A.
5

Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I rented this amazing cabin for my 40th birthday and it was more than I could have ever expected. It felt like "home" as soon as you came inside and we thought we were in heaven the whole time in the hot tub...perfect temp, perfect weather (alittle sun, alittle snow, alot of stars...) We will be returning soon...
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway