Sapelo Island apartment rental - You'll probably ride the passenger ferry, the Katie Underwood to reach Sapelo.
You'll probably ride the passenger ferry, the Katie Underwood to reach Sapelo.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sapelo Island Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Loft + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

(Property owner is a licensed realtor in the state of Georgia. Company affiliation: Coastal Properties of Georgia, 912-437-2444.)

Weekly Summer Rates Now Available!

Ready to leave the world behind for a complete get away? The Retreat on Sapelo awaits you. Yours may be the only footprints on the 7 miles of uninhabited beach on the Atlantic Ocean, this barrier island if full of sun, wildlife, birds and outdoor recreational opportunities. INCLUDES USE OF A VEHICLE WHILE YOU ARE ON THE ISLAND (You pay for the gas) AND TWO 26' BEACH CRUISER BICYCLES ARE INCLUDED IN THE PRICE. CALL OR EMAIL NOW!

ARTIST, WRITERS, PHOTOGRAPHERS--Need a quiet place away to work. The Retreat on Sapelo is perfect, private, with highspeed wireless I-Net and your own vehicle and bicycles to roam the island at will and let it inspire you. Empty out mainland cares and distractions and let the creativity flow.

Get on the passenger ferry, Katie Underwood, for the 20 minute ride to the island. Let the wind and waves wash away your cares and stress and recreate you into the person you are AND RECONNECT WITH YOUR LOVED ONES.. Peaceful, serene and full of wildlife and birdlife, this 44 square-mile island has less than 100 inhabitants and is home to the historic Geechee community of Hog Hammock. island population is less than 100 people.

Your base camp will be the The Retreat, an upstairs apartment with its own private deck, a great place for morning coffee and breakfast, unwinding after your day out on the island or stargazing at night. You will have a separate bedroom with a queen size bed, built in bunk beds for two, a sitting area with futon (can sleep 2 more), a full bathroom, full kitchen and pine dining nook.

Two bicycles are furnished with the rental and guests are furnished transportation during their stay.

Generally, you have to bring your food; there is now the option of having the evening meal catered. If you're lucky to be here when she's cooking you may get to eat at Lula's Kitchen where local food is served in abundance and in the Gullah/Geechee style.

GA.R.E. Lic. #286116.

Keywords: Cottage like retreat; beach, solitude, serenity, non-consumeristic, geechee, research, artist, writers, photographers, rest, relaxation, fish, hunt, renewal,restoration.

More Details
Hide Details

HI! I AM LUCY AND MY HUSBAND, MIKE, AND I OPERATE OUR VACATION RENTAL APARTMENT ON SAPELO. IN OUR OTHER LIVES MIKE IS A CONTRACTOR AND I AM A REALTOR WITH COASTAL PROPERTIES OF GEORGIA (912 437-2444. WE'VE BEEN LIVING ON SAPELO FOR 16-22 YEARS DEPENDING ON WHICH OF US YOU ARE TALKING TO. WE LOVE IT. SAPELO CAN PROVIDE TOTAL AND COMPLETE DOWNTIME-SOMETHING HARD TO GET IN TODAY'S WORLD. YOU FORGET HOW MANY STARS THERE ARE. NO TRAFFIC. NO LIGHT POLUTION. NO TEMPTATIONS TO STALK THE MALLS. WALK OUR BEACHES AND LET THE SUN, WIND, AND WATER WASH AWAY YOU CARES, FATIGUE AND FRUSTRATION.

32 Reviews of Property 194521 in Sapelo Island, Georgia

Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
average rating of 4.96875 based on 32 reviews
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
5

Georgia's best kept secret ...

Georgia's best kept secret ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A once a year fishing trip has now turned into a bi-annual visit to Georgia's best kept secret. Although March weather can be chilly, we were warm and comfortable. The owners; Lucy and Mike, went above and beyond to accommodate us. Use of their Jeep allowed us to explore the island ourselves. If you did know better, you would think you were in another country.

While leaving the island, I made a reservation for our late summer fishing trip. I have no doubt that a late fall fishing trip may be in order.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
5

Fun, cozy place to return after beach time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was an excellent place to relax and loose track of time. There are lots of interesting things to do on Sapelo! It is certainly more of quiet get-away, but if you like the beach and quiet island life, it is perfect! This rental is small and cozy, yet has the potential to sleep a lot of people. The kitchen is small, yet serves its purpose as a great vacation kitchen with all the things you could need (so you don't have to pack cooking utensils). It's a great place to return to after a long day at the beach. The decor is cute and cheerful. The owner is very friendly and nice. Everything was clean and beds comfortable. I would recommend this to friends and family, but not to anyone with elderly, disabled or large pets (there are 3 flights of steps which would be challenging).
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
5

Absolute Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Lucy has a lovely place and is an amazing host. This island is absolutely gorgeous. I would highly recommend staying out at Sapelo at least once in your life and enjoying the tranquility.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
5

A few days in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful time at My Sapelo Retreat. It was the perfect way to have some time to unwind after the busy holidays. The apartment was filled with everything that we needed. We had four adults and two kids with us and we had plenty of room and plenty for everyone to do each day. The residents of the island were very welcoming to us. One of our favorite things to do was to walk on the beaches totally uninterrupted. It was quite a change from our day to day lives. We enjoyed a tour of the north end of the island, walks on the beaches, a bonfire on the beach, and stargazing at Cabretta as well as playing games in the apartment. It was the perfect way to spend holiday off time with family and friends. We did not want to leave and plan to return very soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
Hollywood, FL
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
From the beginning to end it was perfect! Mike and Lucy were great. The apartment was really cute, clean and it had everything we needed. The island was exactly what we needed, pristine, isolated. We could not ask for more. We drove the jeep to the west of the island (West perimeter road) and rode the bicycles all the way to Chocolate Plantation. It was a beautiful experience riding the bikes under the canopies of trees, so peaceful..it was like 10 miles total since we made it to the shell ring. I recommend that ride, it was worth it...and we are not young kids...we are in our mid forties and did it!! By the way,Lucy made a red velvet/cheesecake to die for on Thanksgiving day and we've got a couple of slices!! We will be back for sure...thank you for sharing this magical place with us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
5

Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Gorgeous and serene.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
Braselton Ga & Birmingham Al
5

B'day weekend ,Ga & Al.

B'day weekend ,Ga & Al.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My friend and I arrived at Sapelo on Friday for a long weekend to celebrate b'days. The Island is wonderful. I now understand the meaming of " On Island Time" It was like steping back in time. Lucy was
a great hostess, she has so much knowledge of Sapelo! The apartment was very comfortable, has everything one needs. The Beaches are awesome . Lucy took us a tour of the Island and I think that was
the best.

We hated to leave and head back into the Rat race, Can't wait to go again
Thanks so much Lucy!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
Lawrenceville, GA
5

A True Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We traveled to Sapelo to celebrate my 40th birthday. We both enjoy places off the beaten path and after traveling to Cumberland Island, we thought Sapelo would be an interesting place to visit as well. It far exceeded our expectations. The island is serene, calm and time seems to stop. Many times over the course of the weekend, we had no idea what time it was. You just don't notice. That is the complete opposite of what our lives are usually like. Lucy is absolutely a lovely hostess. She gave us so much information about the island--things to know, historical stories and things not to miss. She makes you feel very welcome and is charming to talk to. The apartment is very comfortable. Everything is very clean and you can tell it's a place that is cared for. There are many special touches so that it feels like a friend's place instead of a run of the mill rental. We would highly recommend it and hope to be back very soon. Thank you Lucy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
5

A+++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Awsome place A+++ Will be back soon!! Thanks for everything Lucy!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Sapelo Island-Leave the World Behind
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194521vb
(912) 485-2232
Sapelo Island Coastal Georgia
United States
5

What a treat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Four girl friends stayed here in late August 2013. The apartment was great! Everything we needed was there, and it was great to have a vehicle. Lucy is a wonderful host, and gave us excellent advice about our visit. The apartment was extremely clean and well maintained. I would gladly stay here again! Thanks, Lucy...... We loved the island and the residents!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway