Astoria house rental - The living room/great room has floor to ceiling windows
The living room/great room has floor to ceiling windows
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Astoria House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

A gorgeous cedar home nestled in over four acres of dunes and sea grass on the ocean on Oregon's north coast. Floor to ceiling windows flood all the rooms with light. The house is fully furnished with comfortable furniture and antiques. Large rooms accommodate many activities and the deck awaits your lounging and meals. Walk steps through a path on our private property to the beautiful beach; play croquet in the yard or fix dinner on the BBQ or s'mores in the fire place.

Located in a gated community (recently acclaimed as one of the 10 best in the country), half way between Seaside and Astoria, there are roads for riding, trails for hiking and history to explore. Nearby Astoria, Seaside and Cannon Beach offer theater, art and cooking schools. History museums and Lewis & Clark sites dot the area.

Credit card accepted through PayPal.: The house was remodeled in the winter of 2010 and is even more wonderful. Both bathrooms were completely remodeled with new high-end fixtures and floor and wall treatments. The kitchen has granite counters, tile floors and top quality appliances. We installed a gas furnace, fireplace and on-demand water heater and an outdoor shower. The yard can accommodate badminton and croquet as well as providing a wonderful play space for children while adults relax on the deck and new flagstone patio. The outdoor shower cleans kids and dogs.

More Details
Hide Details

Charlie and I are semi-retired: he is a playwright and director and I was Head of a private elementary school. We are enjoying this phase of our lives with time for family, travel, and entertaining.

Susan Holloway purchased this house in 2002

I have always loved the beach and the peaceful days, beautiful night skies and the quiet. I wanted a house on the oceanfront, but desired privacy and protection from the wind, This house has everything I desired - nestled in the dunes and sea grass but only two minutes down my own path to the beach for those long walks, watching the pelicans and enjoying the changing sea.

26 Reviews of Property 194068 in Astoria, Oregon

Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
5

Wonderful stay for humans and dog! :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband, myself and our dog found this wonderful home to be just perfect. We have an active border-collie/lab so having a path to the beach was ideal. She found her nirvana and did not leave when it was time to return home (took us one hour to get her out of the house and into the car), and we can understand why! The home is beautifully appointed, very clean and so comfortable.

Susan was a gracious host and answered all of our questions promptly. We would happily return without hesitation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Kirkland, WA
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had an excellent stay here! This is the only rental we have ever stayed in where the pictures did not oversell, in fact the pictures don't do this home justice. We thought it would be smaller and not as nice as it was.

The home is just beautiful with an open floor plan, floor to ceiling windows throughout the main floor, beautiful remodeled bathrooms, and comfortable beds. Everything was clean, well organized, and well laid out. The yard is big and open and just perfect for little ones to run around safely. The deck is very large and perfect for sitting outside. The house had everything we needed to have a relaxing and comfortable stay. Lots of games and magazines were a nice touch.

The walk to the beach is exactly as described. A very short walk through the beautiful grass and you're on an amazing, almost empty beach! You can see the beautiful homes on the nearby hills in the background, and every day we were there we saw a herd of elk making their way through the grass. What a beautiful sight to wake up to. The weather was less than ideal while we were there and we still had a wonderful time just sitting on the comfortable couches looking out the home's many windows.

This home is far enough away from the main cities that you get to see a lot of wildlife and it is really quiet and peaceful. In addition to elk we saw deer, chipmunks, and many types of unique birds. If you are wanting to go out to eat or do something else Astoria, Seaside, Cannon Beach, and Manzanita are all an easy drive away.

We just cannot recommend this place enough. We went with another family and we all agreed this is the first rental that we all have to return to in the future. We can see ourselves making it a yearly retreat. The house is well worth the money! We highly recommend it for couples, families, groups of friends, really anyone. We are 100% happy with our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so delighted that your visit was satisfying and hope that you can stay longer next time.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Orem, UT
5

Annual Golf Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As expected we had another wonderful week at the Oregon Coast. This home is so well maintained and inviting the minute you walk through the door you feel at home. This was the 3rd year we have stayed here and have already reserved it for next year. We brought our grandkids with us a year ago and they loved the easy access to the beach. We love the openess of the living room with windows all around to see the variety of wildlife that pass through frequently. The owner is so nice and works very hard to be sure we have everything we need to enjoy our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love being part of your summer plans and look forward to your return next summer.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
5

Lovely home by the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time and a great escape from urban life. We saw elk walking through tall grasses, deer, puffins and wonderful sunsets. The home was very comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed the fire pit, and access to the beach immensely. LOVELY! THANK YOU.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
5

I would stay here again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The home is beautifully appointed. The fixtures and appliances are modern and new. The home is impeccably clean. The location was excellent and wonderful beach access. Our experience was positive and I can't say a bad thing about the property. I would highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
5

Surf Pine house that instantly feels like home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We LOVED this place!!!!! It was perfect in every way....beautiful, quiet, as a whistle, comfy, and only a short walk through the dunes to the ocean. The owners went way out of their way to accommodate us and make our visit especially pleasant. We'll return at the first opportunity. Plus, we discovered that Astoria is a gem of a town, with great restaurants, wonderful outdoor access, a lively art scene, and warm, welcoming people.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
5

Great place for a family stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We were impressed by the roominess, quality of furnishings and cleanliness. This houise fit our needs for a family Christmas gathering to a tee.
Owner's Response: I am delighted you found the house so comfortable for your gathering. I work hard to make the house feel like home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Austin, TX
5

August on the Oregon Coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a lovely home -- clean, well located,well appointed, and well maintained. For my wife and me it was the perfect venue for a two week escape from the August Central Texas heat. We will definitely return. The listing and listing photos were accurate and the owner is delightful, someone we'd like to meet. We would recommend the home without hesitation. Oh, yes, the bakery in neary Gerhart is not to be missed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Boise, Idaho
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Exactly as advertised! Owner was extremely accommodating and resourceful. We could see ourselves coming back every year, but I fear this place books out extremely quickly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad the house enhanced your visit to the northern Oregon coast. Please do come back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on 4 Acres in Northern Oregon Dunes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194068
+1 503 706-5860
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Orem, UT
5

Annual Utah Golfers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We could not have asked for a better experience! This home is well maintained and the owner is so helpful and easy to work with. This is the 4th year we have traveled to Oregon for a golf tournament, twice we have stayed at this home. The location is quiet and meets every expectation shown on their listing. I have already reserved it for next year because I don't want to risk losing it again! The walk to the beach- right out the back yard- takes about 5 minutes and is easy enough for children as well as grandmas (that's me) to navigate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am thrilled that your family will return to the house. It is our goal to have a house that feels like home! Thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/1