Rockport house rental - Veranda at back & dock big enough to tie up a 41 ft yacht or launch kayaks
Veranda at back & dock big enough to tie up a 41 ft yacht or launch kayaks
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Rockport House Rental Photos and Description
House - 4 Bedrooms + Den - 4.5 Baths - (Sleeps 10-12)

This family-friendly luxury 4 bedroom/4 1.5 bath home is truly exceptional! Located on a prestigious private drive on Key Allegro Island, this special place provides a quiet comfortable retreat where you and your family and friends can relax and play. Enjoy fishing from our new private pier in Aransas Bay across from your front door. Dock your boat in the canal behind the house where the kids can swim. Or hire a local guide to take you fishing in the many nearby bays or the Gulf of Mexico. Sip your morning coffee on the pier or our benches 10 feet from the edge of the bay beside our large bronze sailfish, or in the palm garden just outside the living room. Savor sunsets from the 2nd story front balcony or the large back porch. Snuggle up in front of the fireplace. Soak up the serenity from inside this well-lit and airy home with vaulted ceilings and large glass windows both front and back! Dine out at one of many outstanding nearby restaurants or cook in using the large, well-appointed kitchen with island and bars on both sides.

If you want to stay at one of the nicest properties on the Texas Gulf Coast, this is is the house for you! I look forward to hearing from you.

New private fishing pier was completed June 2011.

More Details
Hide Details

Paul Hudson was born and raised in Austin and has lived there all his life with the exception of one year in Brazil and 4 ½ years at Texas A&M University in College Station. In addition to a B.B.A. from Texas A&M in Business Computer Science, he holds a M.B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin, with specialization in real estate and finance. Immediately after graduation from UT in 1989, Paul started a consulting business, which has evolved into a commercial real estate firm now known as Hudson Properties, Inc. Paul holds a Texas Real Estate Broker license, as well as a Texas Loan Officer license. He is a member of the Austin Board of Realtors, the Central Texas Commercial Association of Realtors and the Commercial Leasing Brokers Association.

Paul is very active in the community where he has served in various capacities including President (and several other leadership positions) of the Westlake Rotary Club, Chairman of the Westlake Rotary Club Foundation, and President of the Capital City Toastmasters. He is also a graduate of Leadership Austin’s Class of 2003.

Paul has served in many leadership roles at First United Methodist Church of Austin, including Lay Leader, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Chairman of the Property Committee and Co-Chair of a $3,100,000 Capital campaign. He is currently a member of St. Johns United Methodist Church, where he serves on the Board of Trustees and as member of the Companions Sunday School Class.

In addition to his work, community service and church responsibilities, Paul enjoys playing the guitar, singing, songwriting, and many outdoor activities including coaching soccer and baseball, boating, fishing, snow skiing, hiking, and generally spending quality time with his wife and three children.

Paul Hudson purchased this house in 1999

We owned a smaller house in Rockport since 1979 and have always loved the atmosphere of the town. Key Allegro is the most vibrant community in Rockport and this house in particular is stunningly beautiful and comfortable – open and airy – it just has a wonderful feel. It was way above our price range, but once we saw it, we couldn’t live without it!

39 Reviews of Property 193985 in Rockport, Texas

Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
average rating of 4.9375 based on 39 reviews
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
United States
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had never been to Rockport and we decided to go all out and stay at the nicest place we could find and bring everyone. I brought my two boys and 4-6 other friends also drove down at different times over our 3 days. The place is great! Everything was beautiful and in wonderful condition. It is perfectly located. We were even given access to paddle boats and kayaks. Like others have mentioned (and I did not really count on), we actually saw some dolphins swim up to within 2 feet of the back porch. Really amazing!

The fishing was great. My little guy caught endless perch and smaller trout from the back porch (almost became a problem keeping up with helping him to bait and throw back all of his catches). I suspect the fish get bigger back there when the weather is not so darn hot. He could not have been more thrilled. The fishing from the pier for the big guys was also fun although we had less luck.

(As sort of a side note) I suggest taking a Bay fishing tour the first day instead of waiting until the last day like we did; it would have been good to have brushed up on some of those tips earlier on.

Great place! Thanks!
Owner's Response: I'm glad to hear that your family had such a great time and that you caught so many fish! Catching so many fish that it's almost a bother is indeed a good problem to have! I agree that it's always a good idea to take your guided fishing trip early in your stay, not only so you can apply those techniques while fishing in the bay in front of the house (and canal behind the house), but also so that you can enjoy eating the fish during your stay.

We look forward to having your family stay with us again sometime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, TX
5

Great for family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house is exactly as shown in the photos or better! Kitchen is equipped with everything you need. Lots of towels and extra linens available. Fished from the dock every day and caught quite a variety. It was a little too windy to fish from the pier. The kids enjoyed the kayaks and paddle boat in the lagoon.
Looking forward to staying here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Always happy to have you at our home away from home down in Key Allegro!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Watching Dolphins at Play

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Comment from on-site guest book: "Had the most AMAZING time in Rockport this weekend! Your BEAUTIFUL home offered the perfect balance of comfort and entertainment for the entire family. SPECTACULAR VIEWS from every room in the house. The beautiful weather was perfect for enjoying the paddle boat & kayaks! We were entertained by dolphins at play multiple times throughout the day – it’s pretty incredible that you can watch them right from your living room window!! We enjoyed good eats of crab & crawfish at The Boiling Pot – yum! Thank you for (sharing) this lovely jewel with our family. We can hardly wait to visit again!"
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Easter 2013

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Comment from on-site guest book: "We have had a wonderful time in your amazing home. We have been coming to Rockport since my parents bought their 1st house here in 1969. Their last home was 2 doors down from you. We sold it in 1993 after my Dad passed away. Our kids and grandkids love Rockport and have many fond memories here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Spring Break Family Fun

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Comment from on-site guest book: Dear Hudsons, Our family had the most wonderful time with your beautiful home for spring break. The grandkids fished & play on the beach, while the grandparents watched the gorgeous sunsets. Best Regards
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thanksgiving wedding celebration

  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
From on-site guest book: "Amazing! This beautiful home provided the vacation/ holiday/ wedding setting we were looking for! My son is stationed in Corpus; we are from Ohio; bride's family is from California. We celebrated Thanksgiving together here in this spectacular home! Perfect for first meetings, greetings and fab Thanksgiving meal. Our family so enjoyed this peaceful, relaxing home. The dolphins were so enjoyable both in the canal and from the living room and pier. Thank you for sharing this, again, AMAZING home!"
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

50th Anniversary Celebration

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Entry from on-site guest book: "Our daughters rented this beautiful house for our 50th Anniversary - how great is that! We actually ate fish that the guys caught - lots of fun. It was wonderful to celebrate with our families. The grandchildren had a great time with the paddleboat. This was our 1st trip to Rockport & we loved it."
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Gathering & Fellowship

Great Gathering & Fellowship
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Entry from on-site guest book: "Thanks to the Hudson family for sharing the coast with us. Celebrated pre-retirement festivities. Great gathering and fellowship as usual. Beautiful weather while still a bit hot in the mid-90s. Winds 15 to 20 mph. Seas about 2 ft. Did some tubing in the bay. Fished off the dock both a.m. and p.m., but no fish caught. P.S. We're bringing additional RC copters next time!"
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Luxurious Vacation by the Water

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Entry from on-site guest book: "We have truly had a luxurious vacation in you beautiful home surrounded by water. We felt like we were back in Costa Rica while enjoying a cruise!! Every detail in your house is perfect! We even caught trout (one 26") and redfish off the pier. The porpoises, paddleboat, and kayak just added to all our fun. The little swifts were entertaining and even the frigate bird who would fly high every afternoon seemed to enjoy your home.

Our family celebrated (my mother's 87th birthday; a 40th & a 38th anniversary plus a retirement!! Thank you for a wonderful respite; we hope to come back."
business
Big Bayfront Home with Great Views & Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193985
+1 512 328-8744
Rockport Texas Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family vacation - 3 generations

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Entry from on-site guest book: "What a wonderful family vacation we've haved in your home with children and grandchildren! This was our 1st visit to Rockport, and we have loved it. Your home has been a respite for all from our busy lives - to sit anywhere & gaze out at water & sky has been amazing! A highlight was sitting at dinner and watching a dolphin swim by. Of course, many thought it was a shark. Nature and God's creation are so close by. Thank you & God bless you."