Mendocino cottage rental - Marigold Cottage
Marigold Cottage
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mendocino Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Marigold Cottage is Located in the Historic Village of Mendocino and is Walking Distance to Restaurants, Grocery Stores and Fine Shopping in the Quaint Village of Mendocino.

Marigold is located directly across from the Mendocino Art Center, which makes attending a local play or art event as easy as crossing the street. Walk the Headlands, to Local Beaches or up the Big River Trail. the Scenery Just Outside the Front Door is Spectacular!

More Than 40 Films and Television Shows Have Been Shot in Mendocino, Due to its Charming Victorian-Style Homes and Dramatic Ocean Views. Adjacent Big River Beach Leads up to Big River, Where a gravel trail Leads 8 Miles up Into Redwood Groves Along the River. Many Beautiful Birds, as Well as Land and Sea Animals Can Be Seen.

Marigold Cottage Offers a Very Private and Charming Space that is Close to Everything and Yet Secluded. This is the Ideal Place for that Romantic Weekend, or Retreat Space for Writers and Artists of All Types.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 193980 in Mendocino, California

Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
average rating of 4.571429 based on 15 reviews
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
4

Ideal Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I live in the village of Mendocino and booked Marigold Cottage for my visiting in-laws. The location is ideally central for enjoying our walkable village, and the cottage is the perfect size for a party of two. My mother-in-law had this to add: "Marigold Cottage was very comfortable, and the kitchen was nicely appointed. The space was very bright and welcoming." The owner was very helpful and prompt in answering questions and ensured our booking process was smooth. We will most certainly be booking Marigold Cottage for future family visitors.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
San Francisco
5

New Year's Get Away

New Year's Get Away
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed our New Year's get away here! The small cottage was perfect for a relaxing New Year's Eve. It is located right in Mendocino Village. We were able to walk to Harvest Market and pick up groceries to cook in the kitchen with. We walked to Moody's Coffee and the bakery in the morning to grab breakfast and it's even a walk to the ocean to watch the sunset! If you're looking for a quite place to just relax and enjoy the beauty of Mendocino this is the place for you. It has everything you need for a get away weekend.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Windsor
5

Magical experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
There's something about Mendocino that revitalizes my soul. I arrive city-stressed and in no time the charm of the village and a walk along the cliffs overlooking the sea transforms me. My lady and I have stayed in a variety of places along this coast but our latest experience was one of the best. This adorable little "Marigold" cottage was exactly the romantic getaway we were hoping for. What a sweet little space! This place is quaint, comfortable and quiet and thoughtfully maintained. Being situated in the heart of Mendocino, we enjoyed being able to wandering around town or down to catch the sunset over the sea on a whim without having to drive anywhere. Marigold is the best value for the price and we'll be back, hopefully sooner than later...

A tip for a nice spot to share a glass of wine: The Mendocino Hotel has a "living room" (just to your right as you walk thru the front door). There's usually a roaring fire and comfy chairs to pull up close.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Phoenix
5

Very nice romantic place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed there from October 23-25 and had a wonderful stay. The place has a nice fully equipped kitchen and a private deck, comfy bed and more. The landscaping is beautiful. Location could not be better, right in the Mendocino village within walking distance of everything in town. Very Romantic!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
fortuna ca
3

Dirty and tired

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The place needs to be put on a foundation so the water will drain out of the shower. The bed is lower at the head than foot. It really needs a microwave. It took 24 hr. of experimentation ( in spite of two different sets of instructions) to figure out the heating. The location is super for convenience. We might stay again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Naples Fl
5

Romantic hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin is a perfectly located in the heart of Mendocino, near restaurants, ocean, etc. It is a single room with kitchen, bath, bedroom. Everything was immaculate and the owner/manager was very nice and very helpful. There is not a lot of space here, so you will not be spending much time in the room, but it's in a perfect spot. There is a nice porch and a grill.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Sacramento, Ca
4

Sharon

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The cottage in Mendocino was charming. The location was perfect and very quiet. the towels and bedding were very good quality. The cottage itself could use a bit of sprucing up. The carpet wasn't great and the kitchen very dated. the kitchen and bathroom seemed to slope downhill a bit!! The porch was very peaceful, feeling like you were in a private garden. All in all a nice place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Santa Rosa, CA United States
5

Birthday retreat in Mendocino

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I enjoyed everything about the Marigold Cottage--the location, the accommodations, the view. It was warm and cozy with a great little porch for morning dining. We could not have asked for anything more and intend to check out the Marigold Cottage for all of our stays at Mendocino.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Marshall, Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again.
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Fairfield, CA
4

It is a nice cozy cottage.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The cottage is nicely situated and remarkably private, even though directly across the street from the busy and popular Mendocino Art Center. It is very clean and comfortable but could use some improvement in the kitchen. A power strip on the bar would free up some space and leave an outlet available there. It was wonderful being able to walk everywhere. My wife and I had a very quiet and relaxing stay. I would stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Russ, thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and will look into implementing our suggestions.
business
Mendocino Village Romantic Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193980vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Santa Rosa
5

A great get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Perfect, peaceful environment for a week of writing. The whales were in migration and the walking distance to the sea was a great incentive for being there. Loved having the kitchenette to be in charge of my meals and that also made my stay very affordable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway