Manchester barn rental - Welcome to the Isham House!
Welcome to the Isham House!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps18
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Manchester Barn Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 14

This historic, large carriage barn has been our family retreat for over 20 years. The warmth of the home is undeniable: from the original wood plank floors, to the cozy wood-burning stove, to the kid-friendly upstairs loft, to the breathtaking view of the Green Mountains - you will feel right at home. Our style is Vermont country chic, with comfy couches, quality mattresses, a big kitchen, a jacuzzi tub and all the amenities you could ask for in a house rental, including:

• Wood-burning stove with firewood

• Free wi-fi

• Quality stereo system: a record player with over 100 LPs, iPod hookup

• 3 bathrooms: 2 bathtubs & 3 showers (1 is handicap accessible)

• Washer/dryer

• Large backyard

• Full range of kitchen appliances, cookware and utensils: outdoor gas grill, blender, juicer, griddle, coffee maker, espresso maker, dishwasher

• Outdoor fire pit

• Foosball table

• One bedroom is downstairs, far from the other bedrooms upstairs. Good for those unable to climb stairs.

• Large amount of children's toys, books and games

• Children's items available upon request: highchair, pack n' play, crib

• Baby-proof features: covered electrical outlets, baby gates on stairwells, and safety latches on cabinets with hazardous cleaning products.

• All bedrooms have cable television, and the master bedroom also has a DVD player.

• Cable TV is also in the kitchen and upstairs loft

• Pets are welcome!

Built in 1890 by Robert Todd Lincoln's best friend and law partner, the Edward S. Isham House is only 1.5 miles from the heart of Manchester Village with its charming boutiques and galleries. Walk down the marble sidewalks of Manchester to enjoy excellent restaurants, a wonderful bookstore, perfect cafes, and some of the finest outlet shopping available anywhere. The Isham House is nestled in the valley between the 3,816 foot Mount Equinox and the imposing Green Mountains. From the front door of the Isham House, you can go hiking up and around Mt. Equinox. Within a short drive, you can go biking, kayaking, or fly-fishing on the famous Battenkill River. Located on the main road passable in all weather, the Isham House is only a 10 minute drive from Bromley and 20 minutes away from Stratton ski area. If you prefer, walk around the corner to Hildene -- Robert Todd Lincoln's estate -- and take a tour of its lovely Georgian mansion, or go cross country skiing through its groomed trails and finish with a hot chocolate in its quaint warming hut.

As hosts, we will welcome you as family. We provide you with recommendations for local eats, shops, sights and countless activities.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband, Jed, and I live in Nyack, NY - a small town just north of New York City. I am a professional organizer, and Jed teaches English and philosophy at a prep school in the Bronx. We love to hike in Vermont with our standard poodles, Rufus & Bessie, and look for out of the way swimmin' holes. Jed's family has owned the Isham house since 1991, when it was a run-down working barn. Jed's father Bernie good see the building's 'good bones' and renovated it to it's current beauty. We take a tremendous amount of pride and joy in offering it to other families to enjoy.

Lilli Weisz purchased this barn in 1991

We converted the Isham House into a home because the area offered us a rare mix of outdoor activities, culture, history, and outlet shopping (!).

You can walk to the trails of Mt. Equinox from the front door. We are on the main road and are only a 5 minute drive from town. The house is large enough to sleep 14 people but cozy enough for a perfect Vermont weekend getaway!

27 Reviews of Property 193938 in Manchester, Vermont

Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
average rating of 4.962963 based on 27 reviews
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Above expectations - fantastic house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Clean, historic, tons of character and spacious.
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Could not ask for more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This property is very spacious. Myself and some friends met up for a ski weekend at Stratton, and it was the best place. Minutes away from the spa and shopping but still only 25 minutes from the mountain. Everyone enjoyed the location.
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Perfect house for a family getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Isham house is a beautiful home that meets the needs of all age groups! The baby gear and toys were perfect for the little ones, while the downstairs room was accessible for our grandparents. The kitchen was stocked with everything that we needed for our stay. The location was perfect for everyone. Some of us were able to ski, while others visited the outlets. It was a great stay and we can't wait to return!
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

What a great spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Had a wonderful stay with my family at the Isham house. Very well appointed and clean. Super convenient. Terrific house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Wonderful Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had such a fabulous stay at the Edward Isham House. We came to ski at Bromley Mt and found travel between the two easy and appreciated the house's proximity to Manchester Center. The house surpassed our expectations in every way. It was immaculate, very well appointed, and had a cozy feel despite its large size. I don't think the photos do it justice!! The layout was perfect for two families with the kids enjoying their space in the loft, and the adults relaxing by the wood stove downstairs. The owners provided excellent and flexible customer service before and during our stay making us feel most welcome. I highly recommend this property and we're already talking about making our visit an annual tradition!
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
hopewell jct., NY
5

Wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We spent the week between Christmas and New Year's day at the Isham house and had a great time at this interesting and unique home. Our party consisted of 6 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs. The rental more than met our every need. It was spacious and comfortable. The owner has stocked the house with numerous extras that one would not expect in a rental property. The kitchen was better equipped than any property we have rented. It is obvious that the owner takes pride in this house, and tries to make renters as comfortable as possible. In addition, the owner and his support staff were extremely accommodating in every way. What more could we have asked for? Nothing except more snow.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Great home and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My wife, son, in-laws and I spent a long weekend at Isham house last ski season. Our stay was fantastic. The home is beautiful, comfortable and well equipped. We were delighted to find lots of toys and a fun loft play area for our son. The owner was very accommodating and was basically our personal concierge for all our needs and questions. The location is great for access to downtown Manchester and local ski areas. We will definitely be back for a winter and/or summer stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Berlin, CT
5

Our 50th Anniversary Family Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The house was perfect for the 8 of us...grandparents/children and grandchildren!
The bonus room, deck, kitchen & dining room were perfect for a family of diverse ages to enjoy. Plenty of space for all with a welcoming decor. The owners provided everything you would want in the rental--including items in baths and the frig you wouldn't expect. Made life allot easier for shopping for kitchen supplies.
The home is in close proximity to town and places of interest--including the nearby Hildene and Ormsby Farm were sites not to be missed.
Can't say enough good things about the home. Extremely clean and well-supplied baths, bedrooms, etc.
Wouldn't hesitate to come back for another visit. Thank you!
Al & Pat Blankenburg
Children Sharon & Roy Dellinger & Kim Blankenburg
Grandchildren: Patrick, Cassidy & Morgan Duffany
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Suffern, NY
5

Location and comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We stayed (two families, 9 people) over the Presidents week and could not have been more pleased. The house is large and comfortable with a great location just outside of Manchester. The owner was great and offered us a discounted night should we be snowed in on the last day of our stay. I would and have recommended this house to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family-friendly Vermont Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193938
+1 917 715-6263
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
New Haven, CT, USA
5

Lots of snow! Great skiing and nice house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We spent a week at the house between Christmas and New Year. The house was a nice size for two families of 4 and had everything you needed to cook for ourselves. The heating worked well, which was just as well, as it was freezing, and we enjoyed the wood burning stove.
The village had a good number of restaurants and shops including a great book store.
Would stay again in the summer or winter.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3