Asti house rental - Right hand view of property
Right hand view of property
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Asti House Rental Photos and Description
self catering or catered villa, in the heart of the famous wine producing region

The vineyard villa, a traditional cascina, is located on a quiet hillside with stunning views, only 2 kms from the town of Canelli.

Self contained, it has it's own entrance with automatic gates.The owner's home adjoins and they will be in residence during your stay, to assist or cook for you if you wish. Find out more about us by visiting our Facebook Page -

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cascina-Cavolpi/432175566871863?ref=hl

On the ground floor, there is a fully fitted kitchen, a lounge with open fire and dining area, and a store room. Upstairs there are 3 double bedrooms(2 with balconies), a playroom, a bathroom and separate shower room (each has a WC).

Outside you have your own private terrace for relaxing and al fresco dining while enjoying the fabulous view. Also your own above ground pool for cooling off in the summer, a barbeque and table tennis table.

A self catering or catered holiday. We can cook for you, either eat with us or have a home cooked meal in your house, ready to reheat. and enjoy with our own wine, made on site. Sample menu available.

Area Festivals: Throughout the Summer and Autumn there are many festivals and sagri ( specialist food festivals eg salami,peppers,hazelnuts, cherries ) in the surrounding towns and villages. Most involve markets, eating,drinking,dancing and generally making merry for all ages and the whole family.

Canelli has a market on Tuesdays and Fridays but every town has one, so it is possible to visit every day of the week.

The fourth weekend in September, Canelli hosts other wine cities of Italy, for the Citta di Vino celebrations, two days of food and wine tasting, and special events.

Every weekend in October, visit the International Alba Truffle festival or sample the world renowned white truffle at many of our local restaurants.

Hill walking: We can offer guided walks in the hills and vineyards around the cascina.

Tourist Attractions: Visit the major cities of Turin,Genoa and Milan, all approx 1.5 hrs drive fron Canelli. The historic towns of Asti, Acqui Terme, Alba and Alessandria are only 30 minutes away.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 19378 in Asti, Italy

Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
Chester-le-Street
5

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
The description of this villa does not do it justice. We have thoroughly enjoyed several peaceful holidays there. The villa has beautiful views overlooking the valley with the Alps in the distance. It is situated in an ideal location for touring around Italy's best wine producting regions. The owners are charming hosts and provide beautifully cooked evening meals with their own wine on request.

If you want to recharge your batteries I thoroughly recommend this villa and region.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
Somerset
5

Rural Tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
As a couple, we have enjoyed five holidays, at different times of the year, at restful Cascina Cavolpi.
Our first, in June, was to travel by air and join up with friends who were regular visitors. Although we live in rural England, we were immediately struck by the peace and quiet, and the beauty, of the Piedmontese countryside although, at that time of year, the weather was a little hot for us.
Three further visits have been made at the end of the Summer, when it suited us better - hot enough in the day but still warm enough in the evening to eat out on the Terrace. Our other visit was made in mid October and although it was warm enough during the day, we ate indoors in the evening, with the wood burner murmuring away in the background.
All the rooms are spacious, the bedrooms particularly so, and the property is very clean, well equipped for six people and has a nice rural feel to it, with magnificent views from its elevated position.
On many occasions we have taken the opportunity to eat with our excellent hosts, Di and Brian, and at other times we have availed ourselves of Di's superb pre-cooked meals accompanied by Brian's excellent wine. For other eating requirements, there are a large number of supermarkets in Canelli, as well as the twice weekly local market and, for eating out, a good selection of nearby restaurants.
All in all, it is a very relaxing place to spend a week or two and is really suited to anyone who wants to recharge their batteries.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
5

Highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have had a very good stay in this villa. Lot's of space, enough for a big family (6 people). Very friendly house owners (Dianne and Brian). Excellent view and beautiful surroundings.

Extraordinary value for the price. Too good to be true but it is. If we return to the region (hopefully we will) this will be our first choice.

Thank you,
Joao & Carla
Artur & Luisa
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
5

Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This cascina was clean, spacious and everything the pictures showed. It is on a hill some distance from the nearest town and requires a car. The views from your patio are fantastic with the Alps in the background and the hills and valleys before you. The location is great for exploring the great wine areas nearby. Wifi is in town and there is no TV to distract you. The best thing about this property are the hosts Brian and Diane. They truly have set the bar high for providing guests with wonderful hospitality. Not only are they willing to share their wine but also their great food. They were always ready to provide us with advice for the day. We hope to return some day.
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
5

Gracious Hosts, Comfortable Home, Much Variety

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This charming, cheerfully-appointed farmhouse sits at the crest of a tall hill looking over Canelli, a town rich with wine, excellent restaurants, shopping, and history. Your hosts Brian and Diane will soon be the standard to which you’ll hold all other hosts and neighbors! Canelli is large enough to meet your needs and provide variety while still feeling quaint. The Hilmancoxes’s suggestions of restaurants, offers to enjoy their wine and garden, and insights into local festivals, happenings, and customs, enhanced our 5-week stay. Just five minutes down the hill and you are in town; or on your way for a day trip to the wine villages (Barolo, Barbera, La Morra, etc.); or along scenic drives on ridge top roads; or to some of I Borghi Più Belli D’Italia (Italy’s most beautiful villages) and medieval watch towers; or to shop at fashions stores, outlets, or outdoor village markets. Some days we “stayed home” and enjoyed the house and view. Cooking for ourselves in this well-appointed kitchen as well as shopping in the local grocery store, village markets, and Alementari was fun. Two special recommendations in Canelli are: 4Maggio – ladies fashions with many items from Paris; and Scacciapensieri - a restaurant in the old town serving delicious interpretations of regional specialties.
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
5

Wonderful holiday!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful holiday in this villa. There is enough room for a family of 4 adults and two children, a great terrace with a beautiful view. Brian and Dianne make you feel very welcome and take good care of there guests with respect for their privacy. Everything you need is there.
Shops are not far away and you do not have to drive too far to see beautiful landscapes and villages. The locals are very friendly and the food and wine is great. Not too many tourists.

Wim and Maya
The Netherlands
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
Finland
5

What a place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We are a family of 3 + relatives + familymembers visiting us during our 2 weeks stay in this beautiful cascina. The view, the hospitality we enjoyed was amazing, the housewine one of the best of all Barberas we tasted. As we have spent several vacations in nearby areas this was the best - if I could - I would give 10/5.

Surrounding villages and towns are worth seeing - one of best experiences this year was Bra and the Slow food ideologia in restaurants there.

Thank you Diane and Brian, we will be back someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
Aberdeen, Scotland
5

Lovely home with fantastic hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We're a family of 4 with 2 young boys and stayed for 2 weeks in July 2010 and had a wonderful time. We have been travelling independently for years now and this was the first time when the house transpired to be nicer than the photographs on the web site led you to believe! Asti is very close by as are a host of other lovely towns and villages to explore. One of the best things for all of us was the proximity to so many Michelin starred restaraunts, however, if that is not your thing Dianne can provide you with great home cooking and wine.

Dianne and Brian are brillian hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. I would strongly recommend this as a great place to stay for groups of all ages who want to relax and get away from it all. We certainly intend to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
Worthing, Sussex, England
5

What a wonderful holiday!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The villa is very large and typically Italian, with rooms that are well-decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. There’s everything you could want in the kitchen – more than enough cutlery and other implements, which are usually a problem with self-catering holidays, but not here!

The bathrooms and bedrooms are very clean, again, well-decorated, and spacious and we found the beds extremely comfortable.

We were a family of six - the oldest (me - grandad!) aged 72 and the youngest (one of the grandsons, aged 16). There was an astounding range of games available to play - for kids from 3 to, well, 72, I suppose!

Evening meals were provided, on request, by Dianne and Brian and we were very pleasantly surprised at how good and plentiful they were – beautifully cooked and more than we could eat at one sitting. Good wine was provided, on request, and we took full advantage of that!

A car is essential to see the beautiful country-side and visit the perfect villages scattered around the area, though, for the brave, a simple walk down the hill to the centre of Canelli and back must be tried at least once – I did it and survived!

To sum up, we had a lovely, quiet, relaxing holiday, even though we toured around, visiting Turin and Genoa among other places - I would have very much liked to stay longer if it had been possible but it wasn’t. It’s going to make choosing a holiday next year very difficult but there will only be the two of us and we won’t need such a large villa. Thanks Dianne and Brian!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vineyard villa, stay at a traditional cascina on a tranquil hillside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19378
+44 (0) 7808141353
Asti Piedmont (Lake District)
Toronto, Canada
5

Perfect spot, perfect people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
Canelli was a fabulous spot for our family holiday - 3 adult siblings and our parents.

The location is just perfect, perched atop a hill that challenged our rental cars and offered fabulous views of the Piedmont countryside and the Alps in the distance. The area is spotted with tons of little towns, fun to explore, each with a selection of great Enotecas and restaurants. Good walks from the villa, an Dianne was happy to point us in the right direction.

The owners couldn't be better - invisible when you're looking for privacy but ever available to help you find a good place to eat in town or to give you suggestions. Their wine is fabulous and their cooking even better.

It was truly a pleasure to be here for a week, highly recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway