Craftsbury house rental - Welcome To The Farmhouse!
Welcome To The Farmhouse!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Craftsbury House Rental Photos and Description
4BR/2.5BA/Sleeps 8

Only minutes from the famed Craftsbury Outdoor Center !

Your family will treasure the memories of a Vermont vacation at it's finest ! Enjoy the aroma of wood smoke on fresh mountain air surrounded by natural beauty, magnificent views, and family.

The road ends at our classic c.1850 hilltop homestead farmhouse, where you'll find hand hewn charm, modern comfort, and private rejuvenation. Except for the Maple-sugar house, we're the only place on a secluded dirt road, where you can enjoy acres of fields and forest, peace and quiet ( the nearest neighbor is 1/2 mile away).

High above the noise and worries of everyday life, the mountain meadows and panoramic views will make you melt, and give your family the retreat you deserve. Only 1 mile from Vermont. Route 14, there's easy access to everything the Northeast Kingdom has to offer. Truly a 4 season paradise.

In spring there's Vermont Maple Syrup (made just out back), Apple blossoms, and Lilac festivals. Summer brings lazy days at the multitude of area Lakes, hiking the Green Mountains, or exploring the hidden hamlets in search of that rare antique. (There's also plenty of 'Ben & Jerry's' ice cream at the local factory in Waterbury !). Fall brings out nature's palette of rich colors, sweet harvest, and whiff of wood smoke from the cook stove. Winter is full of the best skiing in the East (both Nordic and Alpine) and long cozy nights curled up by the fieldstone fireplace. X-country skiers will enjoy Vermont's premier destination, 'Craftsbury Nordic Center' with miles of trails and of course, 'THE' Marathon.

Downhill skiers have as many choices as days in the week !! Stowe, Mount Mansfield, Smugglers notch, Jay Peak, Burke Mountain, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Bolton Valley ..... The list goes on, all from 45 min. to an hour and a half away.

When it's time for you and family or friends to relax and enjoy life, come home to Craftsbury's 1850 Hilltop Homestead !! Kathy & Chip

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 193218 in Craftsbury, Vermont

WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Minnesota
5

The quintessential Vermont experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was the perfect place to launch our Vermont family vacation. The location is completely private, the house is true to it's Vermont heritage including the furnishings and decorating, and the scenery is better than the pictures can capture. We found the house to be clean and well stocked. The bathrooms were updated and modern. The kitchen maintains its quaintness while being stocked and adequately suited for anything we could have wanted to do. The farmers that run the neighboring sugar house were kind enough to knock on the door, introduce themselves, and invite us to tour the sugar house which was in full production during our stay in mid-March. We have two boys ages 2.5 and 7 months and found the house to be well stocked with everything we needed for them including a crib and high-chair. We did not take advantage of the sliding hill as much as I would have liked to although there was plenty of snow during our stay. We look forward to returning this summer when we can enjoy the gardens and the rest of the grounds. I will feel comfortable having my preschooler play outside as there is virtually no traffic on the road that leads up to this house. Most VT farm houses were built along busy roads to minimize plowing; evidently this was a major road when the house was built in the 1850's. Thanks to Kathy and Chip for opening your antique farm home and allowing others to enjoy this unique and precious experience!
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
5

Charming VT Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Classic VT Farmhouse with some modern conveniences sprinkled amongst the historic charm. Great for family get away (lots of sleeping space and a great kitchen but no cell phone coverage). House is equipped w/ high chair and pack-n-play as well as TV, DVD, WiFi and Cable in case you or your kids tire of quiet contemplation by the fire. Magnificent views and nice proximity to Craftsbury nordic trails (7mi). Great little gem in the country! Kathy was the consummate host; she was so kind to pull together a VT gift basket with many of the culinary delights of VT!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Farmington, CT
5

Classic Vermont Character

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This is a classic Vermont farmhouse on a beautiful, serene, private and scenic tract. Nicely appointed, clean and with very comfortable accommodations, it's a perfect Vermont getaway for a family or small group. The owners, Kathy and Chip are extremely responsive, and very welcoming hosts. This will be a go to spot for us whenever we're in up in the area.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
North Hero, VT
5

Fantastic Winter Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My husband and I, along with six other family members, spent a long weekend at the farmhouse in January 2011. The house is warm, cheerful, clean, and comfortable. There is plenty of space to spread out, with five bedrooms, 2 showers, a living room, a den (with TV and DVD player), and a big kitchen.

The kitchen has everything you need to prepare and serve meals, and the beds and linens are very luxurious!

The location is ideal for winter fun. The house sits on a large plot of land, surrounded by forest with no houses in sight. We skied and snowshoed for hours and it was very peaceful. We also went downhill skiing (Smuggler's Notch is 45 minutes away) and cross country skiing (we like the trails at Highland Lodge).

Chip and Kathy are friendly, helpful hosts. They met us when we arrived and showed us where to find things like cooking utensils, snow shovels, and recycling bins. Chip drove a snowmobile around the property to pack down some trails for us. Now that is five star service!

We left the farmhouse just yesterday and are already talking about a return trip! Thank you Chip and Kathy for a wonderful mini-vacation!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We (my husband, me and our two young girls) just
returned from a wonderful and relaxing weekend at
the farm house. We would definitely highly
recommend this place. Everything about it was top
notch -- the decor, the antique farm house
furniture, the vegetable and flower gardens, the
upkeep of the property, the ice tea that was chilling
in the fridge when we arrived. Before we arrived,
Kathy had set up a bonfire for us to light later that
evening, which was one of the highlights of our
weekend & she also left a basket of goodies,
including smores ingredients (she also very
thoughtfully gave us a head's up on the
smores so that we could hide them in case we
didn't want our girls to have them, but we thought
it was a great idea). The house is situated on a
country road with no neighbors in sight. We loved
lounging in the morning on the grass in bare feet
and pajamas drinking coffee, taking our girls on
exploratory walks around the property, cooking
dinner with vegetables we picked out of the garden,
and watching a million stars come out in the night
sky. It was a great weekend & we are already trying
to think of a reason to return. We are lucky to have
stayed at many excellent places in our life and can
say with confidence that this place is truly a gem.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Cambridge MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Our family had a lovely time at the Craftsbury Farmhouse. With four adults and four kids, it was just the right size where everybody had their own space. The woods and fields were great for wandering and the sledding hill was a huge hit with the kids.

Kathy and Chip keep the place in such a way that it's really more like visiting a B&B or hotel. I've never rented a house before where the hosts leave you nice soap, super-cushy towels, flowers all over the place, etc. It was great.

We would definitely recommend the Craftsbury Farmhouse to anyone looking to explore VT's Northeast Kingdom and its whole burgeoning local food scene.
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Philadelphia, PA
5

Guestbook Comment

The farmhouse was even more than we could have imagined. We stayed for a week in February 2010 with our two young boys and had such a relaxing, fun, ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
The farmhouse was even more than we could have imagined. We stayed for a week in February 2010 with our two young boys and had such a relaxing, fun, family time, and Kathy is correct, it truly is rejuvenating! The house and surroundings are so beautiful and peaceful. We normally enjoy site seeing when at a vacation destination, but by the end of the week we didn’t want to leave our cozy farmhouse, and when we did we couldn’t wait to return. Our family enjoyed sledding around the house, and there are miles of beautiful trails behind the house for snowshoeing and Nordic skiing. The house itself is very clean, warm, and great colors and lighting make for such a nice atmosphere day or night. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking, baking, etc. We travel often with our boys from camping to resorts, Disney, etc., and my 11 year old son said, “This is the best vacation ever!” Needless to say, we cannot wait to return and only wished we had discovered it sooner!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Austin, TX
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
What a pleasant place to stay. Our two sons, daughter-in-law, grandson, and two more friends from New York City had an extended weekend at the VT Farmhouse in early January 2010. We went skiing at Jay Peak and Stowe where the skiing was great and the location for our stay was relatively convenient. The amenities were great and our Grandson loved playing in the deep snow. Thanks for allowing our visit to such a great place. BOB Ellison
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
My wife and I could not have been any happier with our stay at the Craftsbury Farmhouse!
Kathy's attention to detail was evident the second we walked into this lovely old farmhouse. It is warm and inviting in every aspect. The bed in the master suite is extremely comfortable with only the best sheets and blankets!
The farmhouse is extremely clean and well kept.
Our stay was in January and we where greeted with beautiful snowy mornings each morning...what a view to wake up to each morning :-) And the cross country skiing and shoeing was awesome!
We will without question be back in
the Fall for some Fall foliage and mt biking.
Oh yeah...and as a bonus, they have a treadmill that faces a window with an exceptional view!!!
Thank you Kathy and Chip...your Farmhouse is beautiful!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Brooklyn, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
A few friends and I decided to spend an extended New Years Eve vacation in Vermont. We unfortunately did not come up with this plan until a month before and were therefor finding it difficult to find a place that was still available. After plenty of searching, the Craftsbury VT home popped up. It had become available because of a last minute cancellation. Too bad for them, but great news for us! It looked like the perfect fit and proved to be so.

We arrived to the snow covered farm house in below zero temperatures but warmed up quickly by the wood burning stove. In total there were 8 of us. We all slept comfortably and were able to all sit down together at the same table to enjoy our New Years feast that we prepared in the well equipped kitchen.

I would have loved to take a tour of the sugarhouse, but our schedules were too jam packed with cross country skiing at the near by nordic center, down hill skiing at the numerous nearby mountains, and sledding on the property. The cross country skiing was the high light.

Just a note of advice; if you visit in the winter, it's best to have an all wheel drive vehicle, or one with snow tires. None of our 3 cars had them (even though Kathy and Chip warned us) and after a good snow, we found it hard to drive up the private road to the house. But the roads get plowed regularly.

Kathy and Chip were readily available and the house was so warm and welcoming. Kathy had made us a fruit basket and placed beautiful lillies around the house. We all had a great stay and would definitely do it again.
Helpful votes: 1/1