Big Sky townhome rental - Spacious, cozy liv. rm. with over sized furn. and dining table that seats six.
Spacious, cozy liv. rm. with over sized furn. and dining table that seats six.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Big Sky Townhome Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bath, sleeps 8 comfortably

Once you discover Big Sky and all this area has to offer year round, you will understand it's popularity. There is quiet and solitude for those who need it and nightlife with non-stop fun for those who seek it. A couple anticipating a romantic getaway or a group inquiring into a family reunion, look no further. When you arrive at our townhouse let the vacation begin. The winter ski season in the Big Sky area has something for all. Vast terrain offers a wide variety of skiing challenges no matter your level of expertise. Our close proximity (only 100 steps to a lift and the slopes) for winter fun is shared by year round blue ribbon trout fishing down the mountain on the Gallatin River. Our convenient location to everything in the Mountain Village is a big plus. Easy ski in ski out. In addition, the Meadow Village offers an Arnold Palmer design 18 hole golf course for more summer enjoyment (watch for moose). There is so much to explore in Big Sky country.

Year round we offer comfortable accommodations that we hope will please all. From high quality, cushy cotton sheets topped with cozy comfortors to a Pak-n-play and high chair for the littlest member of your group we try to see to everyones wishes. Our kitchen is fully supplied with extra appliances including a 6 quart crock pot (set the chili on low while you tear up the slopes), blender (from milk shakes to margarettas), 10 cup coffee maker and a two slice toaster. Each bathroom has a good supply of towels, shampoo, conditioner, soaps, lotion and a blow dryer. If there is anything our guests think they might need, just ask. We are more than happy to accommodate.

Come, enjoy, be our guest.

More Details
Hide Details

It didn't take long for us to fall for Big Sky country. This place does something to people. You linger longer - look closer into the views that abound, breathe deeper the aromas of the mountains and listen to the sounds of silence. This is our home away from home. We loved it so much we were married in the bowl.

Brian and Judy at Maxland Properties by email only purchased this townhome in 1994

Like many of you, we work hard so we play hard, too. Some of our favorite past times include hiking, fly fishing and golf not to mention hitting the slopes. And what a lovely place to practice all of these hobbies. It just made sense to invest in this area.

13 Reviews of Property 193107 in Big Sky, Montana

Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Where do you live?
5

great stay, convenient location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
my family and I spent presidents day week at bighorn 46. we had a great time. the condo was well furnished, clean, had a convenient lay out and was conveniently located to the base area and skiing. spent one day in yellowstone also an easy drive. the owners were exceptionally helpful and prompt with any questions we had. you cant beat the skiing at big sky, so expansive and no lift lines, great snow! can't wait to go back and check it out in the summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks, Jason, for your review. Truly appreciate your feedback. We love helping wonderful folks like your family have the best time possible. And yes, come back and see us again. We give discounts for repeat business no matter what time of year :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
5

Beautiful Condo & Owners are So Accommodating and Helpful

Beautiful Condo & Owners are So Accommodating and Helpful
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My friends and I were looking for a place to stay for the annual Military Appreciation Weekend Big Sky has every year. We contacted Brian and Judy and received a very prompt response. Most of my interactions were with Judy and she is a delight to deal with. Very helpful and friendly! The transaction was smooth and very straight forward. We received our check-in information well in-advance of our travel and the directions were clear and concise. Once we got to the unit, we found everything we could possibly need for an awesome weekend. Plenty of sleeping space, the condo was cozy, and the location was hard to beat. The listing says the condo is "ski-in/ski-out," and this would have been the case if the mountain had been 100%. However, the walk to the lodge is short (not a 1/2 mile, like some other reviews have said). The hot tubs were crowded, but what do you expect on a big weekend like that?

All-in-all, we could not have asked for a better experience. Thanks again to Brian and Judy :-)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Happy holidays Mike and friends. So happy you all had a wonderful time. Heard the skiing was great except the ski in/out poma lift was not yet open for the season. Didn't realize the resort would wait until Xmas week to start it up and running. But as you said it was an easy walk and there are storage lockers at the base so you do not need to move your equipment back and forth.

Have a good New Year. Come and see us in the summer. It's fantastic. Plus we give repeat business discounts :)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Traverse City, MI
5

Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We diligently reviewed our accommodation options for our trip to Big Sky. We travel multiple times a year to a variety of destinations. We unlocked the door and we were pleased to find this condo met or exceeded everything we were led to expect from the description. For this trip we were a father son group (two dads, two 16yr old sons) but this place would be great for the whole family. The beds were comfortable, the layout was perfect and mountain view from upstairs bedroom was wonderful to wake up to. We found a short walk to the Poma lift, it was extremely easy to use, opened right at 9am, lead to a short groomed trail which dropped us right into the mountain base! We skied during open lift hours. Found plenty of free, close parking at the lodge anytime after 4pm for easy access to the hot tubs, restaurants, or shopping. Truth is the walk was so short to the lodge we walked it several times just for the exercise. The kitchen in the condo worked great for breakfast and dinners (shopped at Alberton's on the way from Bozeman, saved $$). Ate lunch on the mountain to maximize ski time. The mountain offered a wide variety of terrain- something for everyone. I highly recommend Big Sky and this condo set up/location for any group of 6 people (I suppose 8 people if you want to use the pull-out sofa). I tend to believe there are too many place to see in the world to ever go back to the same place twice. But, this place is on my short list of a places I would return for another vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks guys for the glowing review of your stay. You captured our feelings completely. Good to know you took advantage of all the comforts and conveniences available in the Mountain Village of Big Sky. Come see us again...perhaps in summer next time? :)
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Tulsa, ok
3

Not exactly ski-in/ski-out

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We chose this property because it was advertised as ski-in/ski-out. The closest lift was not a lift at all but instead was rope tow. I guess technically it is called a poma lift. You have to walk up the crowded neighborhood street and then cross another road which is often busy with buses and other big sky vehicles. Then you have to climb a snowy hill that has no stairs just to get from this unit to the rope tow lift. In all its at least a hundred yard walk.

Obviously, this did not work well for our kids at all. All of them ended up on the ground being dragged up the hill screaming until they finally hit the emergency stop ditch. Which it was... it was not a lever on the surface of the ground but a deep pit that they got dragged into. This was horrible to watch helplessly from the bottom of the hill. But finally the nice lift operator went up the hill and rescued our children.

This was a problem because the next lift available is about a half mile walk. Which meant we had to drive and pay for parking... Not to mention having to lug the skis and gear from the car to the slopes and back. Which is to be expected, unless you are ski-in/ski-out.

Now lets talk about the hot tub. First it was a very long walk to it. Or you could drive and pay $20 to park as the free parking was as far away as the condo. There was no free parking close by. If you went during the day, it was usually not crowded and nice. But who goes on a ski trip to sit in a hot tub during lift hours? So, if you went after 4PM when the lifts closed then you could expect 40 plus people in each of the two - 22 person limit hot tubs. And each of them with a case of beer. Needless to say we couldn't be there long with our kids.

On the inside of the condo we have few complaints. We had everything we needed. The only mentions are the hot water was lacking. The bed in the master felt old and bouncy and sagged in the middle. And the fireplace was an electric insert that put out no heat and didn't even look real. We like a fireplace and look for that in the description. Not having one was a real disappointment.

Believe it or not, we did have a nice time. We just made the decision to pay for parking and drive and moved on. The condo itself was nice and furnished well. We were comfortable.

This place would have been perfect if it had a covered porch with a hot tub and a real chair lift. But even then it wouldn't be ski-out but the long walk all the way to the lift I mentioned above.
Owner's Response: Dear Wendy, Russell and family,

We cannot tell you how sorry we are for all the anxiety your trip to Big Sky caused all of you. But we also want to sincerely thank you. First of all for pointing out the challenge to using an unfamiliar lift such as the poma lift. We truly suggest safety first and highly reccommend the Big Sky Ski School for all our guests educational needs. The Ski School is happy to aquaint skiers and snowboarders with all the Big Sky ski lifts and operations whether it be on a rope tow, poma, or chairlift. We hope the trauma of your childrens fall and dragging, while trying to ride the poma, did not leave a lasting impression on them.

As for the walk to the poma, as advertised we are 100 steps to it's base. But if that is not convenient enough some of our guests have rented a locker slopeside to store their ski gear and simply walk the city block to and from the base. Some of our guests prefer the shuttle bus that picks up and drops off one street down from us. Because parking is at such a premium at almost all ski resorts charging a daily fee is not uncommon.

Hot tub use is always a popular apres ski destination. Sounds like the resort security staff was not monitoring the maximum occupancy rate and alcohol consumption in the pool area. The security is there for our guests safety. Another reminder to future visitors reading this review is to please use the resources offered. A quick call might have changed the outcome of your hot tub experience. We will alert Big Sky to this issue.

So surprised to hear about our newly installed full size water heater. We will have our maintenance company check it out. Perhaps the temperature could be set higher. Thanks for letting us know. Wish you would have notified us sooner.

Another surprise was regarding the master bedroom queen size top of the line Serta mattress and box spring set that is now two seasons old. We are dissappointed you did not find it along with the 400 count egyptian cotton sheets and luxurious comfortor set comfortable. Maybe a firmer bed with less pillowtopping?

Lastly, the eco-friendly fireplace, as described on our web sites, is following many ski areas green plan of reducing smoke, soot and emmissions. We are pleased to be a part of this movement :)

Along with an apology, all we can say is thank you for your comments and criticisms. We learn something new every day in this world.

Thinking spring,

Brian & Judy
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Chicago, IL
5

2012 Ski vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had a wonderful time and everyone enjoyed your condo which was exactly as expected from the posting on VRBO. We had 3 families and the 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms worked out really nice. One of the families had a 10 month old and the addition of the Pak-N-Play and high chair was welcomed. The little one in our party made good use of both.
The Ski-in & out worked beautifully. We were all able to come back easily for lunch and mom & dad could check on their little one.
Your kitchen facilities were excellent. Each family cooked a meal and had everything that was needed. (Our dinner out at Buck-T's was a real treat)
Some of our group took Friday off from skiing and went on the dog sleds in Moon Light Basin which they spoke highly of.
We will definitely recommend your condo to anyone who is vacationing in Big Sky and if we come back to the area we will stay with you again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so happy the Pak-N-Play and highchair came in handy. We want our littlest guests to be comfortable along with the rest of the family. Thanks for staying in our Big Horn.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Brooklyn Park, MN USA
5

Lovin' 50

Lovin' 50
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This condo is very well cared for in a quiet neghborhood. The condo is set up to share yet has space for privacy. It has everything you need. I would reccommend this to my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Come and see us in the winter next time :)
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Denver, Colo
5

Labor Day Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The four of us were able to be very comfortable during our stay. All the amenities we needed were available. The close walking distance to the Huntley Conference center was a great plus for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Jean,
Isn't autumn a lovely time of year in the Mountain Village. Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Judy & Brian
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Minneapolis
5

Fabulous accommodations and great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a wonderful time staying here! The unit is set up beautifully, everything I needed was there waiting for us. We are a family of 7, there was plenty of room for all of us to enjoy the spacious accommodations. Coming and going was easy, and there is so much to do all around the area. There were so many personal touches that made our stay a real treat. We will be back again, soon I hope!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank for your kind words. Always great to hear from our guests with larger families. We hope you will be back to Big Sky country soon :)
Judy & Brian, owners
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Vernon Hills, IL
5

Fantastic Big Sky

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The accommodations were perfect. We had 6 people in our party and the configuration of 3 bedrooms and 3 baths was wonderful. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We kept busy for 6 full days with all the activities in and near Big Sky including: golfing, zip-lining, white water rafting, horse back riding, spa visits, and many wonderful hiking trails. The town of Bozeman is charming and we enjoyed several restaurants there. You will want to consider a visit to Big Sky if you are looking for a relaxing (or be as busy as you want to be) vacation in a truly majestic setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sounds like you all will be back! Thanks for staying with us in Big Sky.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Super Seasonal Rates on Cozy Ski In Ski Out Townhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193107
Big Sky Montana
Wintergreen Resort, Virginia
5

Big Time in Big Sky

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We had a wonderful time in Big Sky! The scenery was magnificent. The touwnhouse was perfect for our family vacation -- wedding planning and all. The kitchen had everything we needed to make meals and the furnishings were perfect for relaxing in the evenings. The puma life made getting off and on the slopes so easy. I would love to return to Montana in the summer, but it would probably have to be another winter trip. My husband would not want to miss an opportunity to ski Big Sky again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10