NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY
Looked forward for 4 months, after signing Lease and paying reasonable Security Deposit, to 2 holiday weeks with newborn grandson and 4 adult family guests in this house. Owner had my payment-in-full for two months prior to our December 2013 arrival. House was warm, so turned thermostat down to 72 degrees. Air conditioning came on, but never cycled off. It was 80 degrees inside, before repaired. House was unclean and floors were so dirty they turned the feet of our socks black. Beds were made, but sheets were not fresh. House slept 6, but only 4 chairs @ dining table. With only couch & loveseat in livingroom, we 5 had to sit side-by-side to share the room. Towels were so stained and dilapidated, we used our own beach towels for bathing. Pots & Pans were so disgusting they had to be covered in foil before every use. Paid extra for Spa heat, but Spa was cold. Multiple service calls later we had steaming Spa water that reflected 140 degrees on our meat thermometer. When I complained by phone to owner, he told us to pack up and move out on Christmas Eve, to which I refused, so he contacted local law enforcement to inquire about having me forcibly removed. Guess that signed Lease was my protection. Cannot in good conscience recommend this rental to anyone. No one. Not even my ex-spouse!
Owner's Response: We did have mechanical issues with both the A/C and spa heat during your stay for which I am sorry, have apologized and refunded funds. These unfortunate mechanical issues were not intended or anticipated, especially since both units were less than 16 months old (still on warrantee).
In response to your being asked to leave, our local property manager highly recommended we evict you given your actions and comment directly to me stating "I could trash your home". Regardless, I CHOSE not to with hopes that you could find peace with being compensated for the inconvenience along with the fact we had service people out on Christmas Eve to work on both of these unforeseen mechanical issues. I heard from both of them after leaving our house that they regretted trying to be nice on Christmas Eve due to how they were treated - that is unfortunate.
Thank you for not trashing the house, I am glad my judgment of character and trust in human decency did not bite me in the back side!
Unfortunately it was not a good experience for either of us on a personal level but I paste the following from your email on December 22nd as it relates to the house itself (setting personalities aside) - "We have completely moved into your lovely home, put up and decorated our Christmas tree, and are anxious to enjoy every moment of our 2-week holiday".
I look forward to sharing our "lovely home" with many other friends and guests in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/2
Did you find this review helpful?