Nice house, no ski-in/out, needs update
We had a nice stay - however, there were quite some amenities non-working
• The entry door downstairs from outside into the mud room could not be opened from outside. The only access to the house was through the upper front door (especially inconvenient when arriving w snow gear) - acc to the owner due to another renter kicking in the door
• The fireplace would constantly shut off – maybe needs a cleaning?
• The microwave NON WORKING – a significant inconvenience when trying to heat up a quick cup of tea or some hot chocolate. Furthermore, more than 50% of the power outlets along the kitchen countertop are NON working - the switch mentioned was turned on, yet no function
• we missed pot scrubs, dish rugs, laundry detergent and plastic bags - would be convenient and customer friendly w/o being a huge cost factor to provide basics(avail at $$$ stores)
Last but MOST IMPORTANT: We strongly recommend to be very careful with the bunk bed downstairs in the room next to the playroom to avoid serious injuries! We were sitting having dinner when we heard a LOUD NOISE…and then cries – our friend's 6 yr old daughter was climbing up the bed where she was supposed to sleep – and hit her head on the ridge of that very low ceiling. Extremely dangerous… we were concerned about having our daughter hurt her head and had her sleep in our bed. Imagine her waking up in the middle of the night, sitting up in her bed – and hitting her head when trying to climb out to use the bathroom or whatsoever. I do understand the need to maximize sleeping space for rental purposes but that could end painful - and expensive
We did rent the unit ( which was nice and spacious) at a regular and not discounted rate. Therefore, we do expect the items to be in proper condition; if not we would at least expect some kind of good will gesture from the owner as compensation. We have received apologizes and the info that items do seem to disappear and/or break but no compensation so far - as a rental owner myself I do not feel that we should sacrifice our comfort for shortcomings of others.
Finally, more than one week after end of our stay our deposit has not been received back yet - we were advised that an add check of $ 25.00 will be included in the deposit return as compensation. Merely a noticeable compensation, considering the actual nightly rental fees paid - we would have hoped for 5-10% refund for the amenities not in perfect order
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Let me respond by first stating that our information doesn’t state that our home is “ski in, ski out”. We do everything we can to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible….unfortunately if we are not aware of issues until after you have checked out we can’t try to fix the problem. On Sunday after the renter departed our caretaker went to the home and went right in the entry door downstairs with no problem when I informed him of the issue he went back three times and still there were no issues, I also checked with the last renters since their stay and they too had no issues. We have had the fireplace checked out and found that someone had taken all of the logs out of the fireplace and put them back in incorrectly so a log was over the pilot causing it to shut off, again checked with the renters from last weekend and it worked fine. The kitchen outlet/microwave problem was a simple fix that had I been called I could have remedied the problem immediately, the receptacle in the kitchen (which was marked) had tripped which I sent an electrician out while it was tripped and he could not get it to happen again, I did have him change out the receptacle to try to prevent it from happening in the future. There was laundry soap in a big box next to the washer, dish soap and dishwasher soap under the kitchen sink and dish rags and towels on the counter. Bunk bed height and ceiling height are normal. We will include a safety note in our information to renters of this; however it is a parents/renters decision to use the beds for kids/persons of whatever age. In over three years of renting this is the first issue we have had with the beds. Security deposit was returned within the allotted 10-day time frame that is stated in our contract plus we included a small compensation for inconvenience. Please know we make every attempt to make our home comfortable, clean and fun to stay at, however it may not suite some.
Helpful votes: 6/10
Did you find this review helpful?