Barnstable estate rental - The Main House ... A true Cape Cod Treasure !
The Main House ... A true Cape Cod Treasure !
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Barnstable Estate Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

This magnificent Estate is in pristine condition ... offering 1860s charm with 2014 expectations.

Spectacular property nestled amongst the rolling hills of Historic Route 6A (Old Kings Highway) less than a mile from quaint Barnstable Village.

Overlooking tranquil Hinckley Pond you will cherish the sunrise and sunset each day. This estate home is situated on a breathtaking 2+ acre parcel of manicured landscaping!

This Estate Home is located on the site of the Homestead of THOMAS HINKLEY, Governor of Plymouth Colony from 1681 to the Union with the Bay Colony in 1692.

The home features 3 private suites all with water views, highlighted by the master suite, complete with fireplace, walk-in closet, Jacuzzi tub and a large custom deck overlooking the 15+ acre Hinckley Pond. The 4th suite is cozy and warm with a fireplace of its own!

The home's open floor plan is filled with sunshine and is perfect for entertaining.

The “Great Room” is complete with a 50' flat screen entertainment center, wet bar and opens to a spectacular sun room with views of the open field and pond.

The Bistro kitchen is charming and the 3.5 bathrooms are sparkling.

Barnstable Village is located along Historic RTE 6A - the scenic road of Cape Cod known as Old Kings Highway.

The Village is a short stroll from the Homestead where you can shop, dine and antique. The beach is a short drive from the home and the center of the Cape - Hyannis is less than 5 minutes.

This Fabulous Estate Home Provides It All ...

Easy access to both land and sea, Breathtaking Views, Privacy and a Quiet Elegance!

Relax and enjoy Old Cape Cod!

Keywords: Private Estate Home on 2 acres overlooking 15 acre Hinckley Pond

More Details
Hide Details

Jim Norton is a local businessman and real estate investor, who in 1986, with his family. moved from Westerchester, New York to the Cape. Jim takes pride in everything he does and the Governor Thomas Hinckley Estate is a glowing example of that pride.

The Owner purchased this estate in 1999

The Governor Thomas Hinckley Estate is in PRISTINE condition. The owner, Jim Norton is constantaly upgrading the estate and adding all the modern conveniences which you have come to expect in 2014. From the bed linens (which are new each season and designer quality) to the new Patio Furniture. You simply will not find a property on Cape Cod that offers you more !

The Governor Thomas Hinckley Estate is centrally located in the center of Cape Cod. The home is very large and offers all guests a lot of privacy while providing extraordinary space for gathering of family and friends. This Estate is very entertainment friendly !

8 Reviews of Property 226975 in Barnstable, Massachusetts

This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
5

A+ First Class Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This Barnstable home was the perfect location for our family trip to Cape Cod this summer. Everything from the linens to the dishware was tastefully selected. Each room was spacious and well appointed with beautiful decor. The grounds were very well maintained and the home was extremely clean and immaculately cared for. The sprawling layout of the home is ideal for a family, offering privacy, yet plenty of space for togetherness. Our two-year old enjoyed lengthy, quiet, and uninterrupted sleep in the upstairs bedroom. We were uncertain as to how he would adjust away from home for the week, but the accommodations made for an effortless transition. The owner managed to create a true home away from home! Having stayed at a number of vacation rentals over the years, this was--by far--the very very best! We couldn't have been more impressed with all aspects of this wonderfully beautiful home! This is an A+, first-class vacation home!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
No Hampton NH
5

A Definite Winner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Five college friends chose this lovely home for a mini reunion. Everything was perfect. ..many amenities. It is perfect for vacationing families, a gathering for a small outdoor luncheon for a bridal or baby shower and family reunions. The only drawback we could see with the property was the many levels and stairs if anyone had a disability. We would return in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
Aurora, IL
5

May 2010 visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I rented this property for a family get together for 9 people the last week of May 2010. I will tell you that the house is simply outstanding and exceeded my expectations. The view from the patio and the master bedroom deck are spectacular and that in itself will make your visit memorable. The Master Bedroom is huge where my parents were able to step away from the children for quiet time or to watch TV. 9 people were very comfortable as the four bedrooms are spacious, clean and very well maintained. The furniture in the house is very nice, better quality and much nicer than other properties I've rented . Each bedroom also has a color TV with cable so everyone was happy in being able to watch the shows of their choice. Downstairs there is a big screen TV in the family room with a desktop computer with internet access. We found the large back yard very quiet where the kids spent time playing in the evenings. This house and property are simply fantastic and I highly recommend if you are planning to visit Cape Cod.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
Greenwich, CT
5

Staying here will change your outlook on life!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
February vacation is a time when both my husband (lawyer Dad) and I (Lawyer Mom) take time off from our busy routines to spend quality time with our 4 children (ages 14, 12, 10 and 8) and my Mom (Nana).

This year with cash a little tight and living in Connecticut we decided to simply go to Cape Cod for this February vacation. We made the right decision!

The Governor Hinckley Estate was great

The home was Spacious, Fresh, Convenient, Private, Warm and Cozy!

Our family played board games, had great conversation, ate meals together, played ball on the property and yes …… we actually spoke and bonded with one another.

This home and property provided the perfect setting for all of our family to simply relax and enjoy the simple pleasures of life. We once again fell in love with Cape Cod and we certainly fell in love with the Governor Hinckley Estate.

Staying at this property will change your outlook on life!

Mary Jane & Jack
Greenwich, Connecticut
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
Long Island
5

What a Wonderful Idea!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My husband and I have traveled extensively across the United States and have stayed at some of the finest five star resorts. In this day and age we often pay in excess of $500 per night for a simple hotel room.
Most often we travel alone (although we have 3 grown married children and 5 grandchildren). In August of 2009 our eldest son invited us to vacation with his family (wife and 3 children) on Cape Cod. Quite frankly we were concerned about the trip when our son told us that he had rented a home (site unseen). Our fears disappeared immediately when we arrived at the property. The home was spacious, spotless, family friendly and contained every modern convenience a family needs or could expect. I am pleased to say that after we returned home to Long Island, New York, that I spent the next 6 months redecorating my home because the home we rented in Barnstable was much nicer than mine! The children had space to run and play on this manicured property and the adults had the opportunity to share quality time and bask in peace and tranquility which this property provided. I never considered staying at a strangers home before last summer. However, Jim Norton (the property owner) made sure that we didn't feel like strangers. After the first 5 minutes we felt right at home. We actually rented two other properties from HomeAway.com since our Vacation on the Cape. The other properties were great ... but none compared to the warm feeling we all had while staying at this property in Barnstable, Cape Cod. We going back this year and we can't wait! This property is simply wonderful! The price is the biggest bargain you will find in vacation rentals. The home is at least 3,500 s.f. / 4 bedrooms + + +. We have finally found an affordable way to vacation with our friends and family. Don't waste your time looking at other properties ... none will compare to this one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
Burlington, VT
5

Pick of the Cape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
August 2009. We just completed a delightful week-long stay on the Cape at the beautiful Governor Hinckley property. Two families with grown children. Owner Jim Norton has this property in absolute top condition -- attention to detail is evident everywhere. The property exceeded our expectations. The view of the pond to the north is outstanding -- the web photo does not do it justice.
The home is spacious and beautifully decorated with high quality furnishings. And complete. From the linens and towels to kitchenware. From high speed internet to the BBQ. Just bring the food!!
Jim Norton was friendly and straight-forward from the contract agreement through to our departure. He was non-intrusive but attentive to our needs. Could not ask for more. Thanks Jim for making our stay special!
The Village of Barnstable is charming. If you are looking for nightlife, drive 15-20 minutes to Hyannis. But it will not be in your back yard. The Village has an outstanding Tavern for a high quality meal, and a great little breakfast spot next to the small grocery. There is a harbor in town with whale watching tours.
If you have been thinking about a stay at the Cape, and need the space to get together with family or friends, look no further. Just do it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
Greenwood, South Carolina
5

Life Styles of the Rich and Famous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Look no further! This charming home is beautifully decorated, immaculate and fully equiped! The grounds are groomed to perfection. We slept 9 and entertained 43 with every need met by the owner. We gathered our family here to celebrate the graduation of our daughter and used this home as our own home as we welcomed guests for Prom night and a graduation luncheon. The setting is fantastic! Nestled on a private pond, surrounded by historical neighborhoods, a rustic Cape Cod village where you can experience shopping, ice cream and fine dinning, you will find you have found paradise! If you are a walker/runner you will enjoy roaming the streets of this picture perfect village. If you are a reader, you will enjoy the quiet grounds where you can find many private areas to sip tea and relax with your favorite book. If you prefer the beach then a quick hop in the car and you're there! A ten minute drive into Hyannis will get you back to the malls, movies and modern surroundings if the mood strikes you. A short drive will take you to any number of historical locations that will entertain you for hours.The owner contacted me many times before our stay to make sure the house was prepared for our needs. He was only a phone call away when we had questions. Southern hospitality is alive and well in this unique Cape Cod home! Thank you Jim for a fantastic holiday! As a note to parents of toddlers and elderly folks, the home is multilevel with a few twists and turns. We had my husband's 90 year old Mother and she did have some difficulty navigating her walker. But we would take her back in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
This Home is Simply ... BEAUTIFUL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226975vb
(508) 737-2500 (Massachusetts, USA)
Barnstable Cape Cod
South Boston
5

Winter Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
My husband wanted to have a Super Bowl Party and I wanted to go to the Cape for a long weekend with the girls. So we decided to rent a home on the Cape for 4 days and do both. What a great decision ... everyone was happy and we got to share 4 days with good friends and left the children behind. This home was simply wounderful! Big, Beautiful and more than we ever expected! We sat by the fireplace in the great room, were warm, cozy and very content. I can only dream of someday having a home as beautiful and well maintained as this one. Just do it! If this home provided this much enjoyment in the winter, then I am sure that it is even better when the weather gets warm!
I simply loved everything about it!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6