Pavones house rental - Casa Roja from front showing balcony and roof terrace
Casa Roja from front showing balcony and roof terrace
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Pavones House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The lovely two-bedroom Casa Roja (Red House) on the 150 acre Finca Estrella is one of only four modern holiday homes in this area of outstanding natural beauty. Our neighbors are all wonderful local Ticos (Costa Ricans) so if you want to absorb the real Costa Rican culture, this is the place to stay. Plus we are only minutes from the beach and the local surf break!

Read 'A Friend Laughs' by Jo Freeman for the funny and true story of our beginnings. Essential reading for anyone who has dreamt of changing their life. Available from Amazon.

Casa Roja is best suited for a couple, a family with older children or two couples. This is because the second bedroom (blue bedroom which has a sink) is accessed from outside, down the spiral staircase, so the house isn't suitable for younger children. The laundry is also downstairs and has a toilet and sink.

On the balcony and roof terrace you are surrounded by verdant rainforest teeming with endangered squirrel monkeys, sloths, toucans, scarlet macaws, many different hummingbirds, armadillos, white-faced monkeys, and thousands of iridescent butterflies. The stars from the roof terrace at night are amazing and make sure you keep a look out whilst you are showering in the outdoor shower, a sloth is often spotted in a neighboring tree.

Inside the house are orthopedic mattresses, granite countertops in the kitchen, and stunning locally-carved wooden doors with rainforest designs. In the garden there is a huge mango tree and a variety of citrus trees. There are numerous walks for all abilites starting from the finca. You can also mountain bike and horse ride here.

The house includes use of the gorgeous 18m swimming pool with children’s pool and barbeque area, waterfall, separate washroom and amazing outdoor shower and our horse is at your disposal - others can be rented for $20 a day from our neighbours. The trek to the beautiful black sand beach at Pilon is a 'must do'. Watch the local surfers on the almost unknown left break, stand-up paddleboard or gawp at the kite-surfers on a breezy afternoon or you may be lucky enough to see the local fishermen in the water with their lines catching your dinner. Fish and jumbo shrimp are often available from them to buy and make a fantastic meal, look for the signs on the beach road or ask them.

Talking of food, there are two sodas (small restaurants) at nearby Pilon selling cheap Tico-style food and a bar which serves food and another new soda 10 minutes away in Conte. Pavones, with its world famous left-hand surf break 8km (20-25 minutes)away, has some nice restaurants which include an Israeli vegetarian (great power bars and broccoli quiche!), Italian and the Mediterranean La Manta that shows surf videos and new and old movies.

There are a couple of pulperias (small stores selling basic items) minutes away, a supermarket 10 minutes away and a man in a truck drives to your door every Monday with fresh fruit and vegetables. Pineapples, mangoes, watermelons, papayas, cashews, a wonderful type of lychee, coconuts, guavas, ice cream beans, oranges, lemons, and grapefruit can all be picked at the finca depending on the time of year. Come and see what you can find!

A 4x4 rental car is advisable and absolutely necessary in the height of the rainy season. Solid Car Rental are based near the airport in Golfito or 4x4rentacar are a good cheap option in San Jose if you want to drive down. Other companies will deliver a car to Golfito Airport for you.

Keywords: Luxury Rainforest House

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 192416 in Pavones, Costa Rica

Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
Canterbury Kent
5

Amazing Rainforest Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I stayed here for over 2 months. I stayed at Casa Amarilla which is the largest of all the houses (of 3) and from the moment I stepped through the door, I felt like I was in paradise! If you havn't read Jo's book 'A Friend Laughs' (available on Amazon), you really should before you come. Putting faces to names in the book is really fun, and the descriptions of the rainforest etc are spot on! I bought a Machete to hack through the Rainforest with, and felt just like Tarzan, its amazing!

White Faced and Squirrel monkeys are in the trees right outside the house, sloths, toucans, vultures etc... I even saw a Boa Constrictor that Freddy had caught attacking his chickens, they are very large!

Its so peacefull here, as it is right in the Rainforest with amazing views of the Ocean. I would definately recomend a car (or do as I did and rent a Quad Bike, much easier to get around on), as it is a good 10 minute drive to the Beach, but that is not really a bad thing because otherwise you would not be in such an amazingly relaxing, safe place.

Freddy, Enrique, Grace, Margharita and everyone else who lives/works on the finca are amazing, really friendly, invite you around for dinner and took me on a local horse ride with about 60 people! they really are friends for life!

When you come, remember to bring lots of mosquito spray if your as white as a sheet like me, they love sweet skin! A short drive away (along roads with amazing views), you will find Pavones, and Puerto Pilon which are lovely beaches for you to surf. pavones has the Second longest Left Break Wave in the world, but I was a beginner so only learnt in Puerto Pilon (by all the fishermans huts that I bought Lobster for $10 for 2KG's from Macho Pulpo).

Once you arrive, you will never want to leave! The drive there and back (if you choose not to fly from San Jose to Golfito) is amazing, I would recomend it, tis a long drive but you go up through the mountains (take the mountain route, not the new highway route) and you will experience about 7 different tropical climates in one trip!

Don't come here if you are expecting an Ibiza/CanCun style nightlife scene, this really is a serene place to come and get away from life's woes! Go to La Manta bar at Pavones if you want a drink/disco every friday/saturday and say British James sent you!!!

Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
Cincinnati, OH
5

The Real Costa Rica Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I stayed with my two daughters (1 and 3) for a month at Finca Estrella. Jo and Crispin have built beautiful houses with amazing views! On our previous trip to Costa Rica we had stayed by Arenal and Playa Flamingo. Both of these areas were heavily populated with tourists and this time we wanted something more authentic. We definitely got it! There was no need to drive to a national park when we had the beautiful grounds to walk around. We saw monkeys, macaws, and toucans while eating on the porch of Casa Madera. We enjoyed the beaches of Pilon, Zancuda, and Pavones, which were all a short drive from the Finca. When we didn't want to drive the pool was practically right outside our door. Most of all we enjoyed the INCREDIBLE hospitality of Jo and Crispin and their staff Freddy, Enrique, and Grace. Freddy was there to greet us and promptly answer any question we had. Enrique took us on amazing adventures. We hiked to the most beautiful waterfall and were able to ride horses to the beach. Grace somehow managed to keep the place spotless despite my two children. I have never felt so welcome someplace and never been so sad to leave. Staying here was an experience that I won't soon forget. My daughters had a wonderful time. I don't think they will ever look at a zoo the same after all the animals we saw right outside our door! I hope we will be returning soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
Pavones
5

Amazing Stay at Finca Estrella!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed 4 months at Finca Estrella and had the most incredible time! Getting to know the wonderful and inviting Finca Estrella crew and neighbors was one of the best parts. The pool is the perfect setting to relax and take in the the all beauty of the nature that surrounds you. We had squirrel monkeys visit right out on the deck almost every morning and more toucans than we could count! We watched some of the most beautiful red sky sunsets, setting over the sweeping views of the Osa Peninsula. The horseback riding trips Freddy arranged for us were great fun and very memorable experiences. We would highly recommend Finca Estrella for a tranquil yet adventurous get away! Pura Vida!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
5

Unforgettable three months at Casa Roja

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
It took us a long time to find that good place, considering that we had to budget our vacation on retiree funds. The moment we came across the description of Casa Roja on the VRBO, we knew we could stop our search. This was it! We also found a lot of valuable information regarding living in Costa Rica from the book published by Jo. We read it prior to our trip to Costa Rica and found it to be very helpful. My wife and I had some idea what to expect upon arrival at Finca Estrella; however, our personal impression of the place was much better than what we had anticipated. Casa Roja is a very comfortably and fashionably furnished home. We could see the tropical forests from all angles of the house. The balconies offered close-up views of monkeys, tropical birds, and colorful butterflies. We watched breath taking sunsets in the evenings and brilliant stars, free of city lights at nights. We could easily see the ocean and bay from the house, however getting to the beach on foot was not so easy. Renting a car in Costa Rica is more expensive than in North America. We were fortunate we did not need public buses; our hosts Jo and Crispin took us to grocery shops and the beach in their jeep. Local residents were extremely friendly and helpful. We got invited to dinners and birthday parties at their homes. We had an opportunity to experience local culture, customs and cuisine first hand. In the past we had rented out rooms for tourists at our home on the Baltic Sea. We experienced how difficult it is to please people. We were therefore doubly amazed by the level of personal care and attention to detail at Finca Estrealla. We are glad we had an opportunity to spend three unforgettable months in a paradise nestled in hills full of serene nature and peaceful people. We hope this winter we will again visit Finca Estrella and see our friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
Orlando, FL
5

CASA AMARILLA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Where to start? We stayed at the Casa Amarilla and it was simply the BEST. Could not have imagined this Finca and home to be anymore amazing. We found the home to have a FULLY stoked kitchen and library which was a delight. From the Toucans in the trees above to the hummingbirds and poison darts frogs on the patio with us, parrots flying by and cows mooing from across the way. PURA VIDA! Everything was extremely comfortable and so hard to leave. Jo is awesome with communicating and has some truly great people there to help. Enrique and Freddy are locals that have the pace of life and knowledge of the land that is what we look for when we visit Costa Rica. We trekked on a hour horseback ride to a nearby waterfall with the help of Enrique and his son, an amazing experience. The horses do roam freely on the property so if your going for a morning walk, don't be surprised to see one standing in your way :) In Pavones there are more horses than cars on the main road to the beach so get ready to slow down, this isnt Jaco or even Mal Pais! Which reminds me, about a 15 min drive to beach but worth every second to come home to the lap of luxury! I Recommend this place to someone that loves the simple side of Costa Rica, the natural beauty of the land and people, and that wants to have a killer vacation in the most macking house in Pavones. Also, A Friend Laughs. We could feel the stories she wrote about building their Home and Finca, which in a small way makes you feel apart of it! Thank you again Jo and Crispin! PS Surf was up in June.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
central coast, California
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Comment Text: My husband and I stayed in Casa Amadera, which is one of Crispin & Jo's newest rentals. We stayed for a month and it was perfect in everyway! the open layout of the house, the gorgeous balcony looking directly at the oso penninsula and the gulf was breathtaking.In the mornings we would enjoy the squirrel monkeys and in the evenings we would enjoy the sunsets. The pool is huge and great for swimmers. Serene and tranquil environment with amazing hospitality from the local Tico's who are the caretakers of the property. The only thing I would suggest is, if you don't have a vehicle (figure out something) because the property is about 20 minutes from the beach and the road up to the house is steep. If you don't have transportation it is difficult to get around. We will definetly be back to casa amadera!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
Old Orchard Beach,Maine
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Tim and I stayed at Casa Roja for 2 months from Jan-March. It was the best time of our lives!. Jo was helpful from the start with reservations and many questions that she answered for us. From the day we arrived and met Crispen our dream vacation began. The area was beautiful and views breathtaking...but the best was meeting the local families and making friends with many we encountered. Casa Roja was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy all of the beauty that surrounded us. We saw lots of rainforest wildlife just from our deck. The sunsets every night were incredible!

We have to mention the horses because they were such a big part of our trip. They were gentle and took us to many beautiful places..from the rainforest to the beaches. Also a big thank you to Freddie our guide on many of our treks.He also helped with many other questions and showed us wildlife we never would have seen without him.

I could go on forever about all of the amazing experiences we had and the wonderfull people we encountered during our stay. I'm sure we will be back again.We miss you all!

If you go you won't regret your decision. The Casa is beautiful and Crispen and his crew are all helpfull with anything you may require.

We hope to see you all again soon.
Cathy & Tim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern House with Pool - as seen in 'Easy Living' magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192416vbi
+44 1216843781
Pavones Puntarenas
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
The house: Is is beautiful, it has every thing you need to live very confortably. The view is fantastic, it is very quiet to relax and to refill you energy.
The pool, very nice, with a little ranch for the barbeque.
The zone, superb. You hace everything, beach, mountains, wildlife and forest.
I have to return...
Helpful votes: 1/1