Oak Bluffs house rental - The Pennacook House
The Pennacook House
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Oak Bluffs House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, sleeps 10, 2.5 bathrooms, private outdoor shower

Summer 2014 is filling fast. Contact me ASAP to reserve your week(s).

*multi-week discount available

The Pennacook house in Oak Bluffs on the charming island of Martha's Vineyard is beautifully maintained, bright and sunny, with a large eat-in kitchen, living room, dining room, and library with WIFI. Play outside on the large lawn, relax in the hammock, watch sunset from the front porch and enjoy cookouts at the huge picnic table. 6 bedrooms, 2.5 baths and a fantastic outdoor shower.

No car needed! Walk just a few blocks to beach, town, tennis courts, basketball courts, playground, bike paths and bus stop.

Fully renovated with updated kitchen, baths and windows yet fully restored period details, this historic home is well built and is wonderful for holiday gatherings in every season.

Linens: Please bring your own sheets for 4 queens and 3 twins, pillow cases, and towels, or rent them.

Linen rental is available from Takemmy Linen Rental. They will deliver and pick up.

Trash: Trash is picked up on Mondays and Thursdays from the three large bins on the west side of the house.

Recycle is picked up every other Thursday.

We value your feed back: We try our hardest to make The Pennacook a wonderful vacation home. Please let us know your suggestions for improving this home or the rental experience.

Avoid Scams: Please call to confirm your reservation before you send any money. I will never ask for a wire transfer.

More Details
Hide Details

The Pennacook House is a wonderful place for family gatherings, play and relaxation, with island activities for all ages right near by.

Here I am collecting shells at the beach with my twins.

Rebecca purchased this house in 1994

My husband and I visited Martha's Vineyard in the spring of 1994 and fell in love with the island and the town of Oak Bluffs. We found the Pennacook House for sale, bought it and spent the next year completely renovating it. We love the island in winter, too! It's peaceful and ideal for long walks or cozying up on the couch with a Latte from Espresso Love.

20 Reviews of Property 191935 in Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts

Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 20 reviews
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Olathe, KS
5

25 Wedding Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a fabulous place!!! It was everything you said it would be. Thank you for sharing it with us. Great location and loved the way we could walk everywhere. More than enough room for everyone.
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Coryn loved her stay

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Dear Rebecca,
Just wanted to let you know how much my family enjoyed our stay at your home for the week of our daughter Natalie’s wedding. It truly was Home Sweet Home for us for that week. We loved having our morning coffee and evening glasses of wine on the front porch. We shared several family meals in the beautiful kitchen. Enjoyed grilling in the backyard. Your cozy, clean, comfortable home added to the joy celebrated by our family that week. We look forward to staying at the Pennacook House again.
Sincerely,
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

A 3rd great year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Once again our family including our son,his wife and 2 young children 4,5, enjoyed a great week at the house. A great home with all the amenities and closeness to the beach and shopping,restaurants,but located in a quiet street. Already booked for next year
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Loved the Pennacook house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house is in great condition and suited us perfectly. We were having a family reunion with 6 adults and 4 teenage kids staying at the house. Plently of space both indoors and out. The house is extreamly well maintained with a fantastic and large well stocked kitchen. Great location - close to circuit and the beach.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
4

Idyllic House & Location

Idyllic House & Location
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
As soon as I stepped through the door of the Pennacook House I felt comfortable and at home. All the amenities you need are provided and the location of the house is perfect. Even though it was off-season and a number of the shops weren't open yet I still found plenty to do in the area. I was lucky to have sunshine everyday and got to enjoy many walks. Martha's Vineyard at this time of year is very relaxing and just what I was looking for.
The owner, Rebecca, was very helpful and provided all the necessary information (and I received my deposit back very quickly).
Beautiful island and house!! Thank you.
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Yet another great week at Pennacook House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This year was our second time to spend a week at Pennacook House.Every aspect of the house is exceptional.1. Located well within walking distance of the center of Oak Bluffs,5 minutes maybe.2. The street is quiet and the house is next to a church on one side and the back of the property backs up to the parking lot of the church (well protected for privacy).3 The house has all amenities that one would expect,especially for small children.4. The house has full baths on the 2nd and 3rd floor,providing a quiet refuge for grandparents on the 3rd floor.5.The home was spotless upon our arrival and Peter the local rep is quite responsive.6.and lastly the owners are great to deal with!!!!
Owner's Response: So glad you love our home! We look forward to having you again next year.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
New York, NY
5

Wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were two families with four children total (ages 15, 10, 4, 2). The house was perfect for our needs - plenty of space for everyone, walking distance to the beach, a two minute walk to the main street in Oak Bluffs with all of the shops, cafes, etc., and an easy drive to all of the Martha's Vineyard sites. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the property to others. The owner was extremely pleasant and responsive.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Home Away From Home Indeed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
After over 40 years of travel, both domestic and international, and having domiciled in ten different countries, we feel qualified to say that the Pennacook experience has been the closest to being a “home away from home.”
Notwithstanding the pure comfort of the house with all its amenities, the walking proximity to all the excitement of Oak Bluffs downtown, the campground’s 1800’s rainbow-colored Victorian houses and the short distance to the Atlantic, it was the community ambience enhanced by the large front porch seating that made our stay unforgettable. Chatting with next door neighbors and walking folks, we felt like lifelong neighbors.
In answer to the question would we repeat such a venture at the Pennacook, the response is an unequivocal YOU BET!

G & C
Boulder, Colorado
July 29, 2012
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Memorial Day Weekend 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My son graduated from college in Boston the end of May and my parents are getting up in age. I knew the drive to the graduation would be quite long from our home in upstate NY. Returning home right away would have been too much for them. They wanted to drive and refused to fly. Following the graduation I arranged the trip to Martha's Vineyard to savor our time together.

Well, I must say arranging the trip to Martha's Vineyard was a great idea and staying at the Pennacook House was an even a better one, as it exceeded all expectations. The house was so neat, spacious and comfortable and much to the liking of my family of four, my mom, dad and sister. Everyone had their own bedroom. We grilled in the back yard, walked to town to shop and dine, played tennis a short block away, went to the beach and just had a fabulous time creating really special memories.

Rebecca, the owner was quite accomodating and easily reachable for all of my questions. I highly recommend the Pennacook House for an especially comfortable and relaxing vacation.

LGordon
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Walk to beach, town and park from gorgeous Martha's Vineyard home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191935
+1 7203524059
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Atlanta, Ga
5

Honeymoon Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My new husband and I spent our Honeymoon week on Martha's Vineyard. We wanted a home in Oak Bluffs since this was our first visit to the island and wanted to explore the island... yet be within walking distance to restaurants, gingerbread campground, water and have our privacy too. We were not disappointed! All of our needs were met, and then some. The owner's were easy to work with and the pictures displayed on the site were true to life. We will most definitely request the Pennacook Home on our next trip to MV, with one exception, we will be bringing friends/family. It is a perfect home for entertaining with plenty of room
inside (4 floors) a fabulous large and bright kitchen as well as a wonderful private back yard. Thank you for sharing your home with us. Bill and Donna
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1