Angel Fire house rental - Front View of Home
Front View of Home
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps22
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Angel Fire House Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms, 4 baths, Sleeps 22

This large 5,000 s.f. 6 bedroom, 4 bath log home adjoins 'Heading Home Ski Run' at Angel Fire Resort. Walk along the wooden ramp less than 100' and you will be on the ski slope. Features include 3 fireplaces, one in the Master Bedroom, one in the family room, and one in the game room. A 'whirlpool' tub was added in on the back deck. You can watch the skiers from the wrap around wooden deck, and/or watch the deer, elk and other wild life. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL setting at 9,750' altitude and 100' from the ski run.

In the summer, Angel Fire Resort continues to hold its status as the TOP mountain biking destination in New Mexico with world class events including the UCI World Cup, Collegiate National Championships and Mountain States Cup have resulted in now legendary downhill and cross-country trails and perhaps one of the best 4-cross courses in the country. The mountain has plenty of switchback tree trails, rolling cruisers and wide, scenic vistas for the novice rider as well.

WONDERFUL 'SKI-IN, SKI-OUT' FAMILY HOME: Large luxury log home perfect for the large family or group of friends that want to ski together, or spend time together in the winter or summer. Home is at 9,150' elevation and during ski season you can walk out the ramp to the slopes and SKI DOWN to the lifts. When returning, you can ski down the ramp to the deck of the house. The wrap-a-round deck allows all family members to enjoy the area and non-skiers to watch the skiers come down the hill. This home is 3 miles up the hill from Angel Fire Resort.

More Details
Hide Details

The 'WRIGHT' family have owned this vacation home for the last six years and believe it is a great place for a family vacation. We are all from central Texas and enjoy the home in both the summer and winter.

This home is GREAT for a large family or group to ski since it is only 100' from the slopes and you can actually ski in to the deck of the house. Large home with lots of room, wrap-a-round deck. Swing on porch and in the summer, it is a great place to hike and bike.

A family of four will save over $100 a day by staying in our ski-in, ski-out home merely by having all your snacks and drinks available at the house instead of having to purchase them on the slopes. The home is GREAT for multiple families to stay and play. The convenience of staying 'at the slopes' and not having to drive is GREAT.

22 Reviews of Property 191836 in Angel Fire, New Mexico

Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Portales, New Mexico
5

The cabin was fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We absolutely loved our stay at the Wright cabin! The house was so clean and beautiful. There was plenty of space for my 18 guests and my wedding was absolutely gorgeous outside. However, the house was missing a few necessities such as hand soap in the kitchen (ran out after a few uses), kleenex in master bath, and sponges. Overall, my experience was wonderful and I'd love to rent this cabin again! Precious memories.

Just a bit of advice, don't cook bacon without opening a few doors. We set off the fire alarm and couldn't turn it off without a code. Jim, the owner, was very forgiving and nice about the ordeal. On a positive note, I got a great picture with the guys from the Fire Department!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. The cleaning team should have left enough hand soap and kleenix for your stay. I will speak to them about it.

Glad you had a good stay and that your wedding went well.

Jim Wright,
Owner
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Killeen, TX
5

A highly recommended experience for any time of year at The Wright Family Lodge!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our group stayed at the Wright Family Lodge from 2/23/2013 - 2/27/2013. After a 12 hour drive from Texas, our group was more than happy to finally get to Angel Fire! Upon arrival, finding the house is not very hard if you stay on the main mountain road and then turn onto Panorama Way. At the end of Panorama Way is the house sitting right next to Headin' Home ski slope (green slope) and is breath taking from the driveway!

From Pizza Stop (also recommend!), it took us 16 minutes to drive up to the house and keep in mind we were there after a big snow storm (and during), so the roads were plowed, but still had some snow covering the road. We had no problem going up & down the mountain in a Dodge Caravan (but had chains just in case).

The pictures do not do this house justice. You really have to see to believe how immaculate this house is. First, the ground floor offers four bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a fireplace in the common area where there are also games, TV, HEATED garage and HEATED floors! Until you look out the window into the snowy scenery and a distant snow covered mountain from this level, you wouldn't know it's single digits & freezing. The second level which is the main level (not street level - the stairs in the main picture lead you to the second level) offers the kitchen, breakfast area, dining area, fireplace in the common area (around 20 foot ceiling with large windows to enjoy the snowy scenery outside) and two more bedrooms. The third level is the loft where beds are located and has a fun log ladder that would amuse kids to climb to their sleeping area. When the description says this house can sleep 22 people comfortably, this is more than the truth!

Mountain location of this house is on Headin' Home ski slope which is a green trail on the Angel Fire Resort Trail Map. How simple is the ski in/ski out? The ramp in the picture would take you to the slope, then you turn left and go down the rest of Headin' Home to the resort. Take Chili Express lift up and explore the mountain. When it is time to return home, take Chili Express and then Headin' Home back to the house. The fun part is skiing down the "S" shaped curve and turning into the deep snow where the ramp (pictured) leads back to the house! Then eat lunch and head back to the slopes!

Our group is very grateful we were able to stay at such an immaculate house in a wonderful location. We highly recommend the Wright Family Lodge at Angel Fire anytime of the year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pat,
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and had a good time in Angel Fire. I understand the snow was great during your stay, which always makes the skiing better.
Sincerely,

Jim Wright
Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Richardson
5

Beautiful Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
18 of us stayed 4 nights for a 50th birthday celebration (mine unfortunately). Everyone had a comfortable spot to sleep. The home is spectacular, with large exposed log beams, and an open floor plan. The REAL fireplace in the den got a lot of use!

The best part is the location - you are literally steps from the slopes. Watch other skiers eye you with envy when you ski right to the house for lunch or at the end of the day!

One word of advise - third night we had 7 inches new snow, and were sure glad to have 4 wheel drive vehicles. The house is a good bit of the way "up the mountain" so keep that in mind.

All in all was a truly special vacation - great way to "ring in" the next 50 years!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Charles,
THANK YOU for the positive review of our home. I am glad you had a good time. The resort is pretty good about ploying the road shortly after a heavy snow and I have a gentleman that ploys the snow in our drive and parking area anytime we have 6" or more of snow, so most of the time 4-wheel drive is not needed.
Sincerely,

Jim Wright
Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Tracy,ca
5

family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a family reunion there in July and the place was amazing. We stay at a lot of vrbos and this one is at the top. Beautiful scenery, bears, elk, and deer were abundant. We mountain biked down the mountain every day and rode ski lift up. It was great. The house was clean, well equipped, great kitchen, and nice bathrooms. Never ran out of hot water. The worst I could say is they are in need of a new can opener! Hope to stay there again next summer. SPECTACULAR!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: THANK YOU for your nice review. We will take a new can opener up when we go next week. I am glad you have a good time and will look forward to your leasing the house again.

Sincerely,

Jim Wright,Owner
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Wichita Falls, Texas
5

The Edge of Nature

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
If you are afraid of or don't like wildlife feeding beside your house, then don't stay at the Wright Family Lodge. What a wonderful place and special time we had here up above the Angel Fire village overlooking the Moreno Valley and Mt. Wheeler to the north. It was a special place for our family including little grandkids to see Mule Deer, Elk, turkey, chip monks, woodpeckers and all kinds of birds all around the house. A hike down to Heading Home and the front Ski Base was only 30 minutes, but the quietness and isolation from other development was what made this place special. It was a wonderful respite from the hard Texas drought this year, the comfort of this place hidden up high in the Sangre de Cristos made some special memories for our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review Dick. I appreciate th positive remarks and am glad your family had a good time.

Jim Wright
Owner
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Vista,Ca.
5

Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a great time all 18 of us that were there,the Wright Family Lodge is beautiful,great views even saw a bear cub in the front yard.The home was beyond our expectation. Angel Fire and Eagle Nest are wonderful cities to visit and shop,the people are very nice and friendly. We look foward to vacationing here againit is great to see the elks and deer come every morning and evening,once again Thanks especilly to Vicki the care taker of this home, she was very helpful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our home and I am glad that your group had a good time.

Best regards,
Jim Wright
Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

December 2010 Reveiw

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
5/5Wonderful home for large groups
Guest: Angie (Van, TX)
Date of Stay: December 18, 2010 Review Submitted: December 31, 2010

We saw this picture on VRBO last Christmas and instantly fell in love. After waiting almost a year for our trip, the Wright family lodge exceeded our expectations! Very few places are large enough to accomodate our entire family (20+), and this cabin has plenty of space to spread out and relax. It is perfectly located for skiing; even the drive to the cabin is beautiful! The non-skiers enjoyed playing in the snow around the cabin and taking pictures of the skiers from the
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

February 2011 Review

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
5/5What a Great Location, loved the Ski In/Out!
Guest: Paul (Dallas, Texas)
Date of Stay: January 14, 2011 Review Submitted: January 22, 2011

We stayed at the Wright Family Lodge a couple weeks ago and had a wonderful time! The lodge is an excellent place for a family gathering or a large group of friends. We loved skiing right out onto the slopes in the morning, grab a quick lunch or snack anytime, and after a day of skiing it was great to be able to ski right up to the house…no walking to a parking lot or driving…you’re already home! The lodge is very warm, spacious, and comfortable: nice couches for watching a football game or movie, and big kitchen tables for gathering around a home cooked meal or playing games together. Showers were nice, hot and clean, and hard to get out of after a day of skiing! You don't need a large truck or SUV to reach the lodge, we had no problems with our small 4-door sedan. The Wright Family Lodge is a great value and a great place to spend a vacation. We can’t wait to plan a trip in the Summer to see it without snow!
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

February 2011 Review

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Great house-perfect location
Guest: bonniehe (Texas)
Date of Stay: February 18, 2011 Review Submitted: March 29, 2011

This house has a great location on the slopes. The house is nice and great for large groups. We have a large family ski trip every year and will rent this house again.
business
Large, Luxury 'Ski-In, Ski-Out' Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191836
+1 254 289-3145
Angel Fire New Mexico
Texas
5

Great house-perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This house has a great location on the slopes. The house is nice and great for large groups. We have a large family ski trip every year and will rent this house again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review.

Sincerely,

The Wright Family
Helpful votes: 0/1