Manchester house rental - The patio, and screened cottage on a summer morning.
The patio, and screened cottage on a summer morning.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Manchester House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, 3 Full Baths, 1 Half Bath

For your Vermont get-away, a wonderful home away from home, welcoming, cozy, comfortable, with luxury details, and sited on the most impressive location in Manchester Village. The house abuts and overlooks the protected 40 acre Hildene Meadow, which is accessible for long walks, trails to the Battenkill River, a new boardwalk through the marsh, kite flying, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and even hitting golf balls, or just a great place for kids to run and play.

Our home is completely outfitted with the finest handmade furniture, the best of beds and linens, flat screen TV, game room, ping pong table, wood burning stove, central air, patio and a screened porch. Barbeque out back, watch the sun set over the mountains, enjoy an evening around the fire pit or gather together in the screened cottage.

We are three minutes from the Equinox Resort & Spa, the Hildene Estate, the Gleneagles Golf Course, and 15 minutes to Bromley, 25 minutes to Stratton Mountain, and 20 minutes to the Vermont Summer Festival Horse Show. A perfect location as we are 5 minutes to the center of Manchester offering shopping, restaurants, galleries, and antiquing, yet you will feel as though you are is the heart of the Vermont countryside.

With all the comforts of home this is the perfect location for a family gathering, or time spent with friends.

More Details
Hide Details

This house was originally purchased to be part of the inventory for a high end vacation home club. It was furnished, outfitted, and detailed with this purpose in mind. The business was ultimately sold, but we retained the property. Our family has enjoyed many gatherings at this wonderful home, as have numerous guests. We welcome you to also enjoy a special experience in a home away from home.

Ariane Tallman purchased this house in 2003

We sought a house in a location that had the feel of being among the mountains and meadows of Vermont, but not isolated. We are minutes away from everything, great restaurants, shopping, art galleries, antiquing, spas, and all the sports associated with the Vermont seasons.

48 Reviews of Property 191752 in Manchester, Vermont

Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
average rating of 4.975 based on 48 reviews
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

A perfect place for a family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
After a long days travel we opened the door to the house and it instantly felt like home. The snow was thick outside but the house was warm, cosy and inviting. We prepared supper and sat around the fire for the first of our many famiy get togethers. After relaxing hot showers we all got into our wonderfully comfy beds. The following day we went to buy our Christmas Tree from the local Garden Centre, and had great fun dressing it, we hadn't done this together since we were children. We went to Manchester Village to do our Christmas Shopping, (on more than one occassion), we shopped 'til we dropped! Then on Christmas Eve we did some mammoth wrapping and covered the front room in presents -"It was beginning to look a lot like Christmas". We spent many hours walking in the Park at the back of the house, the snowy scenes were beautiful and the frozen Battenkill River was amazing. We went to The Silver Fork for a memorable dinner, Melody was the perfect host. We also had many lunches in town, we visited Seasons, Zoeys, Mullighans, Firefly, Christo's, The Other Woman and The Spiral Press at the Bookstore, we couldn't fault any of them. A must is the Muscians Tart from Mother Myricks, the Speciality Cheeses from Al Ducci's Deli and a variety of Exceptional Wines from Manchester Beverages. Returning to our wonderful home and preparing a meal together in our lovely kitchen was such a treat. We spent a day at Hildene, and despite the extreme cold, we had a fantastic time, also touring the beautiful surrounding countryside and villages was outstanding, they are so pretty. After a spectacular New Year it was time for us all to reluctantly leave our new found home in River Road, reluctant firstly because we had such a special time here and secondly it was time to say goodbye and for us all to return to the various parts of the globe. Ariane we can't thank you enough for making our dreams become a reality and sharing your spectacular home with us. We hope to return someday and do it all again, in the meantime we will have to make do with looking at our hundreds of photos we took of our family in your amazing home - what fantastic memories we have! We can recommend this home to anyone looking for a special vacation in idylic surroundings
Kindest Regards
The Peters Family, New Zealand.
Owner's Response: Oh my, what a review! Thank you so much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Middletown, ct
5

Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Returned again this year to this lovely Manchester home to celebrate Thanksgiving. We had a wonderful 5 nights. Very well appointed from the kitchen to the bedrooms. Very comfy beds. Plenty of space to read, watch tv and take in the lovely view. Convenient to shopping and good eating. Mistral's our favorite. Will definetly return. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you back this Thanksgiving, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for mentioning the quality of our home and its terrific location. Hope to see you soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Ladies Reunion

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Dear Ariane,

Thank you so much for sharing your magnificent home with us. The house was perfect! All of the bedrooms were so cozy. We just adored the living room. It was at times difficult to leave the house to explore Manchester.

You currently have 8 women talking about your beautiful property. I hope you get more vacation rentals from our word of mouth advertising.

We had lunch at Seasons, Zoey's and Ponce's. We had dinner at Ye Olde Tavern and Brasserie L'Oustau. The food and service at all of the restaurants were outstanding. We spent 3 hours at Hildene on Saturday afternoon. What a beautiful place!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Amazing VT vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family and I had the most amazing time in this house for a long weekend. There were 8 of us and it comfortably fit all of us perfectly. The house is homey and perfect for a getaway anytime of the year, the property is beautiful and only a 5 minute drive into downtown Manchester for good restaurants and shopping. I can't wait to come back again.
Owner's Response: I am so pleased you had a wonderful weekend in our home. We agree it is a cozy space in a terrific location. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Last minute visit by a lovely family from France

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Dear Ariane

We have spent a very good time at your house which is so gorgeous
Thanks very much and have a nice day
Jean marc

Envoyé de mon iPhone
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

More wonderful than anticipated!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank your Housekeeper for us, she was wonderful in every way, very welcoming & informative! We had an amazing family vacation--your home is beautiful, even more lovely and spacious in person than the great online photos depict. We we're more than pleased when we arrived. Everyone just loved it, the warm and comfortable rooms, the beautiful patio and screen house, the magnificent gardens and the view--we couldn't have asked for more--and I think we made use of it all, from coffee in the screen house, a cookout and s'mores on the patio, my 2 1/2 year old grandson loved playing with the toys, and all the men even enjoyed the ping pong table :) If the 4 families can manage it, we'd love to go back again next August--this time for a week! So we will be in touch again. We are so thrilled to have found this great vacation spot, thanks again for everything--and oh yes--thanks for the wine and the note--it was such a nice welcome. We will definitely be recommending your home to friends and family.
Owner's Response: I love delivering a wonderful, better than expected home for your family visit. You actually are not the first to mention that our photos don't do the house justice, but better that way than being disappointed. We look forward to hearing from you again. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Even Better Than Expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property was even more beautiful and accommodating than expected. It was cozy and charming but comfortable and modern at the same time. It's obviously well maintained. We found there to be more room than expected for the eight of us, as well. We especially enjoyed sitting in the lovely patio admiring the flower and herb gardens, in addition to the spectacular views. We highly recommend this property and hope to return.
Owner's Response: How wonderful you and your family enjoyed your stay in our home. We try our hardest to make your visit even better than you had hoped, and I guess we are succeeding. Thank you for your lovely review.
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Email from Vermont Summer Festival Equestrians

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Ariane,

Thanks. We had a great time at your house. We have rented other houses in previous years, and we all agreed that your house is the best so far. We loved the location, and how the house and furnishings are beautiful yet also comfortable and welcoming. We will consider renting from you again in the future!

Karen
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Post visit email from a returning family

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thanks Ariane, We had a wonderful time again this year and continue to make great family memories at Simplicity. Thanks again.
business
Wonderfully Comfortable Home, Amazing Village Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191752
203 227-2954
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Hauppauge, NY
5

Everything We Hoped For!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home is beautiful. It is absolutely true to the photos & description in the listing. It had all the period details, warmth and coziness that I would want if I ever had my dream home in VT. My husband and I have been coming to the Manchester area since 1985. We have stayed in many places in the area and this was our first time renting a home. It was so convenient to have an entire home to spread out in and not be confined to a hotel room. We not only gained the space and comfort of your beautiful home, but we were happy to find all of the typical hotel amenities. Not only does your housekeeper do a wonderful job of keeping your home sparkly clean, but she is a friendly and gracious help as well when needed. Thank you for all of your help, Ariane. It was so easy doing business with you. We would definitely recommend your property to others and we hope to be able to come back again! There are many family friendly and romantic restaurants in the area, as well as fun activities for the family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts to make a visit to our home the best it can be. The house is unique, not a typical vast ski house, it is welcoming, cozy and comfortable and we find families love the many spaces. We hope to welcome you and your family again.