Oak Bluffs house rental - Rear of Home Facing Cape Cod & the Sound
Rear of Home Facing Cape Cod & the Sound
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Oak Bluffs House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 9

Modern 3 level home located in a quiet and secluded area of East Chop with an over sized 2 level deck overlooking Nantucket Sound & Cape Cod. The home has a complete furnished apartment in the lower level with a handicapped entrance, ideal for guests and family members. The home has double appliances, 3 cable TVs, wireless Internet, stereo radio, etc as well as 2 outdoor showers. Water views from the bedrooms, living room, dining area, & kitchen. Adequate off-street parking and located within walking distance of the town & beaches.

Golf at Farm Neck: Golf is available at one of the top golf courses in Mass. The course is Farm Neck, the only 18 hole course available for daily play. Tennis is also available at the Farm Neck facility. The course offers water views from a number of golf holes.

A visit to the historic gingerbread cottages in Oak Bluffs is a must to see. Weekly community sings are held on Wednesday evenings in the Tabernacle where religious services are held each Sunday morning during the summer months.

On Top of the World- Tucked away in a quiet East Chop enclave of just a few houses, this lovely custom home has spectacular water views over Crystal Lake & Vineyard Sound to Woods Hole. Enjoy fabulous sunsets & myriad harbor activity from almost every room.An open design has cathedral ceilings & walls of windows, spilling onto an oversized deck.The walkout basement is finished with muliple rooms for added living space.

More Details
Hide Details

I HAVE BEEN LIVING ON THE ISLAND SINCE 1987 AS A PERMANENT RESIDENT. I AM A RETIRED SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR WITH A DOCTORAL DEGREE IN SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION.

Dr. Albert Alexander purchased this house in 1990

I PURCHASED THE LAND THAT THE HOME IS LOCATED ON BECAUSE OF THE OUTSTANDING VIEW OF NANTUCKET SOUND & CAPE COD. THE HOME IS ALSO CLOSE ENOUGH TO THE TOWN & BEACHES SO WALKING TO BOTH OF THEM IS VERY POSSIBLE.

TO CAPTURE THE FULL VIEW OF NANTUCKET SOUND & CRYSTAL LAKE, I HAD AN OVERSIZED 2 LEVEL DECK BUILT. THE WATER SIDE OF THE HOME HAS FULL LENGTH WINDOWS TO CAPTURE THAT VIEW WHICH ALSO PROVIDES A BRIGHT LIVING ROOM & KITCHEN.

8 Reviews of Property 191704 in Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts

Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
average rating of 4.571429 based on 8 reviews
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Another wonderful vacation on the Vineyard!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is my family's second year staying at this property. The rooms are spacious, well kept and appointed. The view from the deck assures beautiful sunsets and sunrises (if you wake early enough!). The surroundings are quiet and serene but close enough to get town by bike or a leisurely walk. We look forward to returning next year.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Springfield, Massachusetts
5

Wonderful week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I have been traveling to Oak Bluffs with friends and family for 15 years. We have rented many houses in Oak Bluffs, and this is hands down the best. Air conditions on all three floors kept the entire house cool even on the most humid days of the week. The main kitchen had newer appliances, tons of pots and pans and more corning wear than most regular homes. The open living room had a full wall of windows providing for a fantastic view of Crystal Lake and the ocean. The sunset was breath taking. The house is also very conveniently located off the beaten path, but a quick bike ride to OB and Vineyard Haven. I could go on and on with praises about this house! I look forward to returning next year.
Helpful votes: 4/9
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Wonderful home - phenomenal vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I've just returned from another wonderful week in Martha's Vineyard. I have been going for many years and this was the best home that we have rented on the island. The view from my room of the water was breathtaking in the early morning and at dusk. The house was clean, cool, well maintained and in a very convenient location. I was able to ride my bike to Nancy's and of course, for my annual trip to the Black Dog store on Circuit Ave. This house worked very well for our small group and I am already counting the days until we return next year.
Owner's Response: We were so pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay at my home in East Chop. According to them, it was the most enjoyable stay on Martha's Vineyard since they have been renting for many years. I try to provide all the necessary items in the house for comfortable living. The location of my home makes everything very accessible as well as providing one of the best waterviews in East Chop. We look forward to their return in 2013 .
Helpful votes: 3/8
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The Alexander's home was warm and comforting, it was so much more than pictures can describe. The home is well equipped with everything you could possibly need, so much space for everyone ( especially if traveling with children). The house was clean and cool and ready for our arrival. This house is in a quiet area with superb views. I would recommend this vacation rental!

Thank you Dr. Alexander
Helpful votes: 2/7
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Oak Bluffs home July 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We rented this house in July 2011. Our family has been vacationing on the Vineyard for the past 10 years, usually renting a different home each summer in various locations on the island. This house met all our criteria and actually exceeded our expectations. We would have to rate this house a "10" on a scale of 1-10.

The home description was accurate. We had 2 families vacationing together (age range 6 yrs to 60+) and never felt cramped as there was ample space for everyone. We found the house to be very functional for the 2 families as the 2 refrigerators and washers/dryers came in handy. The home was clean and well maintained. Our favorite place to congregate was on the oversized deck which provided more than enough space to take in the beautiful view of the ocean.

The owner, was very helpful and made us feel comfortable. He ensured to us that he was available to assist us in anyway, if needed.

The house is a quick drive to State Beach (our favorite beach) as well as the downtown area. We always enjoy eating at Nancy's and our kids love Sharkey's. The area of East Chop (where the house is located) is beautiful, as we took advantage of walking, running, and biking. We enjoyed early morning walks/jogs on East Chop Road which provides a spectacular view of the ocean as well as the East Chop Lighthouse. The road also provides a quiet and safe route to the downtown marina. The area is relatively quiet, in that there was not a lot of traffic to contend with. The house is on a dead-end street so the younger kids could safely ride their bikes without worry of traffic.

We loved vacationing at this house and would recommend staying here. We are hoping to return again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: WE APPRECIATED THE VERY EXCELLENT REVIEW (#4707100) OF OUR HOME AND WE WERE VERY PLEASED IN THE FACT THAT THEY ENJOYED THEIR STAY AND FOUND THE HOME TO EXCEED THEIR EXPECTATIONS. AS AN OWNER, I ATTEMPT TO PUT MYSELF IN THE RENTERS PLACE AND TRY TO MAKE EVERYTHING INCLUDING THE AMENITIES SOMETHING THAT I WOULD EXPECT IF I WERE THE RENTER.
Helpful votes: 2/7
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Rhode Island
2

August 2011

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The air conditioning is not central air as advertised but there is a/c units and only cools down certain areas of the house. There is air in all of the bedrooms (except two, not in the single bedroom upstairs or the queen size bedroom downstairs in the in-law apartment) and air in the living room.
The landlord, who was very pleasant, does walk by the house daily which felt very uncomfortable to me as well as to other guests and one day just stopped in to change a lounge chair on the deck and water plants without prior notice. While I am on the subject, the landlord wanted to show the in-law apartment to a party, interested in renting for the fall/winter, at 1:00 pm on Saturday or so we thought (as agreed upon) and never showed but came on Sunday at 1:00pm. Guests never felt so violated of their privacy as they did when he showed unannounced. I have rented for ten years plus from other owners on the island and showing a property while renters are on the premises , has never happened before.

Also, I was not a fan of spiders and their webs which were located in various areas on the deck and more importantly in the house mainly around the kitchen ceiling, corner walls and lights.

On a positive note, the best part of the house was the "awesome water view" especially when sitting on the deck when the sun sets.
Owner's Response: The a/c units are called mini-splits. They are not window models. These units have outside compressors so there is no noise inside the house.
I attempt to be sure everything is in good working condition in and around the home so my reason for replacing the lounge chair was that the one on the deck had been damaged. I was concerned that someone might be hurt if the chair collapsed. The new chair I had ordered had just arrived so I felt it should be installed immediately.
I always make previous arrangements with my renters if someone is interested in viewing the home for future renting. A clear understanding of both parties as to the time & day of the viewing is very important.
In order to be sure the exterior of the home is maintained in good condition for future renters , it is important that flowers and other plants are water regularly as well as lawns cut on at least a weekly basis. Although the home has an "awesome water view", it is still very important that the grounds and its surroundings are always kept in excellent condition.
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Cape View

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have been renting from the Alexanders since 2004. We eagerly await our return each summer. The property is extremely clean & well-maintained.The listing description is accurate. The view is spectacular from each location in the house.This is a wonderful place to relax,entertain,or simply meditate & rejuvenate. We can't thank Dr.& Mrs. Alexander enough for their hospitality-they are both attentive to our "needs". The home is centrally located to the town. We have enjoyed dinners & lunches in restaurants conveniently located .We especially enjoy the close proximity to the beaches & to the Gazebo in the "heart of Oak Bluffs".
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Modern home with spectacular views of Nantucket Sound & Crystal Lake.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191704
+508 560.0916
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Chesapeake, Virginia
5

Home owned by Dr. Albert Alexander

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have been renting from the Alexanders since 2004. We eagerly await our return each summer. The property is extremely clean and well-maintained (we often comment that we always feel that it has been prepared especially for us). The listing description is accurate. The view is spectacular from each location in the house. This is a wonderful place to relax, entertain, or simply meditate and rejuvenate. We can't thank Dr. and Mrs. Alexander enough for their hospitality - they are both attentive to our "needs".

The home is centrally located to the town. We have enjoyed dinner and lunches at Nancy's and Slice of Life (conveniently located to the home; merely a short walk or drivel). We especially enjoy the proximity to the beaches and to the Gazebo in the "heart of Oak Bluffs".

Our family would highly recommend this property to a friend or family (we have invited family members and friends to join us at this location). We simply love spending our time at this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have enjoyed having this family spend their vacation at our home for many years. They leave the home exceptionally clean each time they visit. We always look forward to their return.
Helpful votes: 1/4