Sanibel Island house rental - Private Pool area
Private Pool area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sanibel Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Our quaint island home awaits your arrival. Sea Winds Cottage is located in Historic Old Town on Sanibel Island at the end of a quiet sandy street. The Historic Sanibel Lighthouse and fishing pier are located 1/2 mile from Sea Winds Cottage. White sandy beaches & the gulf waters are just 150 steps from your door. A unique and charming variety of specialty shops, grocery, deli & restaurant are just a short 1 block walk from your private island home.

Sea Winds Cottage is a perfect vacation home for families and couples. Nothing could be better than a private home for a quiet and relaxing vacation. Enjoy the private pool, spend lazy afternoons relaxing on the screened porch with a favorite book and venture out for moonlit walks on the gulf beach.

Let Sea Winds Cottage be your Sanibel 'Home Away From Home'!!

* Quiet & private

* Comfortable furnishings

* FREE Nationwide Long Distance telephone service

* FREE DSL Internet connection

* FREE Wi-Fi

* Satellite TV

* Private Pool

* 1 Block from the Bike Path

* 150 Steps to the Gulf Beach

Keywords: Private Home, Beach Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has vacationed on Sanibel Island since 1979 and in 1996 we were very fortunate to find and purchase a place of our own! Sea Winds Cottage is located in the quaint and quiet Old Town section of Sanibel. Since we are unable to spend all of our time on the island, we are happy to share our cottage with other folks that love the island as much as we do. We think that you will find Sea WInds Cottage a delightful 'Home Away From Home'.

Micca Grizzell purchased this house in 1996

As newlyweds in 1979, we rented a lovely little duplex unit on the East End of Sanibel, also know as Old Town Sanibel. For the next 17 years, as our famiy grew, we returned to the same location year after year. When a cottage near our original vacation home was offered for sale, we did not hesitate to buy it. We named our new home away from home 'Sea Winds Cottage'. Sanibel has many unique areas but we have always loved the nearness of the historic Lighthouse and the quiet and peacefulness of the east end of Sanibel

Staying in a cottage like Sea Winds gives you the peace and quiet of a private home. Your own private swimming pool, quiet screened porch, and just 150 steps to the gulf waters. Eat out at one of the many great island restaurants or cook your own meals in the fully equipped kitchen. The fishing pier and historic Sanibel Lighthouse are only 1/2 mile from the cottage!

26 Reviews of Property 191597 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fun in the Sun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is our fifth year heading back to Seawinds and was every bit as special this year as the previous four years. The house is so fully equipped, including a crockpot, that we would never need to leave however we did to enjoy some great meals out at the local restaurants. The large open living space is perfect for entertaining which we did daily as the rest of the family rented nearby. Our place was the gathering space for sunrise walks on the beach which was steps away, meals, and lots of family time. If you are looking for a clean and comfortable place with great location then Seawinds is for you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Cary, NC
5

Wonderful "Home away from home"!

Wonderful "Home away from home"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Sanibel Island! Our stay at Sea Winds Cottage was amazing as well! Location! Location! Location! So convenient! The beach access is 150 steps! Loved walking to the lighthouse, enjoyed the nearby restaurants, and of course, shelling! The house itself was equipped with anything we could possibly need! Very clean, roomy and comfortable! We hope to stay again sometime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Incredible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Just got home to 30 degree weather here in St. Louis. Left behind delicious 80's. I could not wait to write this review. This cottage is amazing! We had never rented a home online and I'm a skeptic...nothing can be as good as it seems to be... but this was better! We walked in and immediately felt at home. This was my 50th birthday and I honestly do not think I have had a better birthday. There were just the two of us and we had a bedroom for us and one for each of us to spread out with our luggage/clothes and a bathroom for each of us :) Heaven! The beach (day and night), the town, the food (Mucky Duck's, Gramma Dots, Island Cow, Doc Ford's, Chips Steakhouse ($$ one but I had a gift card) all fabulous, the drives, Jerry's (grocery store) for dinner at "home", Thriller dolphin boat ride (a must, probably saw 50+ dolphins, get there early to sit in the back of the boat, left side facing the boat was best that day), sunrise, sunset, screened in porch (my hangout), pool, huge TV if you have time to watch, books galore to read (I read a whole one), keep a journal for all the fun times you will have! We wanted to do more but didn't want to leave the cottage. Amazing! Highly recommend, unless you are going the week we want to go :) Thanks Micca for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have been to Sanibel 3 times and have stayed in condo our 2 previous visits. This time we decided to rent a home. We'll never stay in a condo again! We truly felt like we were staying at a friends house. The cottage is very spacious and comfortable with a large kitchen/dining/living area that was much larger than the photos show. My boys loved the big screen tv :) Bedrooms were very nice and comfortable. The cottage was clean and nicely decorated and we loved the pool! I didn't think we'd use it much because we love to be at the beach but we spent time in the pool every afternoon when the beach was a little too hot. The beach is very close....just a short walk and there are a good selection of beach chairs and umbrellas at the cottage. There are also some floaties and things for the pool. We have a family of 5 adults...our youngest is 18, and we were all very comfortable. This would also be a great place for people with young kids. The kitchen is loaded with dishes and cooking utensils, pots and pans, etc. We could not have been happier and we will return no doubt! We also loved that this cottage is on the lighthouse end of the island which is a little off the beaten path. We rented bikes from Billy's Bike Shop for the week and had them delivered to the cottage. We rode our bikes over to Pinocchio's every mornig and had coffee and read on their porch for a couple of hours and rode down to the lighthouse beach and park area many times. Micca was very helpful and responsive when I inquired about renting, and instructions were very clear as far as arrival and departure procedures. The cost of renting a cottage was just a little more than renting a condo but it was abosolutely worth every penny!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New Hampshire
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just returned from an amazing stay at Sea Winds Cottage. We were hoping for a quiet and relaxing week with our daughters before we send our oldest off to college. Sea Winds delivered beyond my expectations. It is spotlessly clean and well equiped. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever experienced while traveling. We enjoyed the private pool and screened porch. The beach just beyond the cottage is beautiful with surprisingly few people. Micca was quick to respond to any questions prior to our arrival and instructions, information, and contact numbers were readily available at the cottage. We encountered no problems, but I am confident that if we had, they would have been resolved promptly. We have successfully rented from VRBO several times, but this was by far the best experience. I would love to return to Sanibel, and I will keep my fingers crossed that Sea Winds is available.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Dubuque, Iowa
5

Sea Winds Utopia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The Sea Winds Cottage is exactly as advertised. It is very well maintained and equipped with everything needed for a wonderful Sanibel vacation. As we did last year, we stayed in the cottage for 3 weeks and loved every minute. It is very close to the beach and a short walk for Ice Cream. What else could one need?

We hope to return again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Loganton, PA
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Relax, enjoy the beach and have a wonderful peaceful time. This cottage was very well stocked. We've been renting houses throughout FL for vacations for the last 20 years and this by far was the most comfortable, cleanest, and most relaxing! I would give this 10 stars is I could. Everything is close by in walking distance and Sanibel and this cottage is the gem of Florida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Tennessee
5

Vacation home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family loved our week at Sea Winds Cottage. It truly felt like we were staying at a friends house -- everything that we needed was provided. What we kept saying the entire vacation was how "easy" it was to stay there. The property was clean, larger than expected, and really, really close to the beach. Some of our favorite activities were walking to Pinocchios for ice cream, fishing off the pier and in the surf, biking, and of course perfecting our Sanibel Stoop. We look forward to returning again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Wilmington, NC
5

Our Week of Total Relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a treat it was for my 3 girlfriends and I to spend a fabulous week relaxing and reconnecting at Sea Winds! We were so pleased to arrive and find that every last detail seemed to be attended to. The cottage was very clean, every paper product and all soap products were supplied---even pool floaties were supplied. Both bathroom cabinets had a couple of tubs containing trial size shampoos, soaps and lotions. The kitchen was very well stocked with plenty of dishes, silverware and pots and pans. We especially enjoyed the selection of books and jigsaw puzzles. We spent quite a bit of time floating in the pool in the screened in lanai---just beautiful! It was a great spot to enjoy all the ospreys in the area too. When we weren't in the pool, we were enjoying sitting on the screen porch talking and reminiscing. The one problem we encountered was connecting to the WiFi. That was quickly solved with a brief call to the owner who got us connected. Sea Winds was a great home for our annual girls get-away. I know we would all agree that we would definitely recommend Sea Winds!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Private Home w/pool, 3 Bedroom/2 Bath - Just 150 steps to the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191597vb
865-428-6629
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Bentleyville Pa/east
5

Sea Winds Cottage at Sanibel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We enjoyed our vacation at Sea Winds cottage immensely. The caretakers are wonderful and thorough. The cottage was immaculate. There is plenty of space and accomodations. The location does not get any better. The yard is exceptional as is the pool. Close to the pier, close to the lighthouse, close to the beach, close to biking trails and everything else. Couldn't ask for a better vacation cottage. We will stay again and again. Thank you! The Gniadek Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1