Ocean Beach townhome rental - Front of duplex
Front of duplex
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Ocean Beach Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

The beach is bustling outside, but walk inside this unit, and you are welcomed by the immaculate, quaint, homey environment.

Everything has been remodeled to bring this bungalow style home up to date. Recessed lighting, newly remodeled kitchen and bathroom, new double windows.

On nice beach days watch the parade of beach goers walking by with surfboards, wagons with children; everyone out for a day of fun in the sun.

One half block from beach, fenced courtyard, Super clean, quiet, relaxed area. Five minutes to Seaworld, 1/2 hr. to Lego Land fifteen minutes to world famous San Diego Zoo. Ten minutes from airport-(SAN) called Lindbergh Field.

You may see a flock of wild parrots that live in Ocean Beach; you can also hear the lifeguard (faintly) and sometimes barking sea lions from the patio. Walk to pubs, dining (casual or fine there are five star dining places within walking distance), antique stores,beach sunsets, sunning, swim in the ocean. Balboa Park is fifteen minutes away with museums and gardens.Torrey pines golf course is just minutes away, and lots of championship courses are close by. Many people walk around town, VERY pedestrian friendly town.

Ocean Beach is truly an old fashioned friendly beach town. Great farmers market every Wednesday evenings. Fishing from pier is permitted. Close to sport fishing.

Historical gas-lamp area is ten minutes away. Visit the beautiful embarcadero and maritime museum. The U.S.S. Midway is there.

Everything you want in a vacation at the beach.

Keywords: Beach Bungalow/ Duplex

with a common area shared courtyard

More Details
Hide Details

Our mission is to provide a clean, safe, comfortable environment for families to have a fun vacation. We provide the place; you provide the memories.

The Owner purchased this townhome in 1989

Ocean Beach is a fun, relaxing place where people are free to walk around to go shopping, to the beach or dining. People are very friendly here, and there is a laid back atmosphere like no other that we have found.

This bungalow is close to everything that San Diego has to offer. Lots of things are going on at any time in San Diego, and this place is centrally located. The beach is only steps away.

30 Reviews of Property 126719 in Ocean Beach, California

1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
average rating of 4.826087 based on 30 reviews
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Cave Creek, Arizona
4

Great location... so close to beaches!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Overall our stay in this cute Ocean Beach duplex was pleasant and relaxing. The drawbacks: dirty carpet, uncomfortable sofa, unusable sofa bed and a lack of privacy. While the owners do a terrific job of providing a clean property overall, the carpet really turned us off. I'd get rid of it and put down hard flooring :) The sofa simply needs to be replaced. About the privacy... to stay cool you need to keep the windows open since there is no A/C or ceiling fan. (The owners provide a portable fan which we moved from room to room). With the other side of the duplex occupied, and other neighbors in close proximity, we felt somewhat exposed. We also worried that we would bother others! A window A/C unit or window fan would solve the problem... just so you don't have to leave the windows open. It's also a little insecure feeling at night, but we did not have any problems.

There are many good things!! Great little kitchen, with a dishwasher, and pretty well-equipped. The skillets were really bad... I'd take my own next time. If you don't intend to cook it's not a problem. I cooked once or twice every single day. The fridge is old and crusty but it works like a charm. So does the cute little gas stove which is an oldie but goodie. Also good... I mean great!... is the bedroom. It's the coolest room and has a very comfortable bed. There is no TV in the bedroom which was no problem for us. I had my laptop and the owners provide WiFi, so on a couple of evenings we watched a Netflix show. The bathroom is very nice, too, and well stocked. I had to wash towels a few times, but the washer and dryer are just outside the unit. (They are pretty crusty, too, but that's what happens outside near the ocean. I was just glad to have them.)

The location of this property is wonderful... so close to the beaches (including the dog beach) and all the shops and restaurants. We walked just about everywhere. It was important to plan the grocery runs so that we did not have to move the car over the weekend. With no dedicated parking you are on your own to find a spot on the street. Mostly it's not a problem, but on the weekends the throngs of people flocking to the area to enjoy the beaches will take all the available parking. Just park and stay put on Saturday and Sunday!

Walk to the TeMana Cafe on Voltaire St. in the morning for breakfast and coffee. Really good food, very friendly people, and they love dogs... my kind of people. Another favorite: the fish tacos at South Beach
Owner's Response: We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I had the carpet cleaned the day you left, as we often do. New pans have been installed and you were in the place that had the oldest fold out (since been replaced) because there were only two of you. Great input, and it was unseasonably hot the week you stayed there, for about two weeks of the year an air conditioner would be nice; that's the beach!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
AZ
5

Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The place was exactly like the pictures. Very clean and stocked with everything you need for a beach vaca except for your food and swimsuit!! Very quiet and comfy inside. The owners were very nice and helpful! We would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Alberta
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a wonderfully restful place to catch some sun! We spent one month in the unit; it was exceptionally clean, everything was there to use for activities - books, movies and games for rainy days, bikes, all the beach things, coffee and cream (thank you Julie!), and food supplies in pantry and fridge.

Julie and Jerome are so generous, picking us up from the airport, taking us back for our return flight, offering rides, answering questions, and making sure we had everything we needed.

The little courtyard is quiet and great for morning coffee or a little restful reading time, the neighbours are very friendly, and the washer/dryer were always available.

We enjoyed our month in Ocean Beach, all the walking and exploring we did, discovering the beautiful craft beers available, and of course Pizza Port and Little Kitchen! It is hard to be back in our harsh climate, but for now our pictures will have to do.

Julie and Jerome, we really enjoyed meeting you and having our spontaneous conversations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Hoffman Estates, IL
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed at this place for a month, and had a lovely experience. Townhouse has everything you need for comfortable and relaxing stay near the beach - beach towels, surfboard, you name it. The area in general is quiet and safe.

Thank you, Julie, for picking us up at the airport, and thank you, Jerome, for recommending the OB Noodle House (too bad we ate there for the first time on the last day, but it WAS excellent). There are a few other very good place, like O'Bistro, that had excellent meals.

I would recommend this place to anyone who appreciates clean and homey place near the beach.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

First vacation to San Diego

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our first time visiting San Diego and our kids first time seeing the beach. The location is walking distance to the beach, we took the kids to the beach during the day and walked the beach at night to the local restaurants for dinner. Property was clean, maintained, and pretty much everything is provided. The only downfall is there is no assigned parking, but that is given in that area. But there are bikes w/ baskets provided that we used to go to the local markets. Overall our experience was memorable and we look forward to doing it again. Thank you for everything
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us Pamela; it is so very nice to hear that our guests had a nice time together. Family vacations are so very important for everyone and we strive to make your stay relaxing and fun.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Melville sask. Canada
5

Terry and Janice melville sask. Canada

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We spent a month in Jerome and julies ocean beach condo.we found everything to be exceptional,it is very clean and comes with everything you might need for a beach stay.the location(1/2 block to the beach) is within walking distance to all local shops, restaurants, bars and the pier.as we flew down we purchased a month pass for the bus,which also included the trolley and coaster train.with the pass we where able to see all the local sights in san Diego and use the trolley and coaster to travel up the coast to Carlsbad and down to the Mexican border.we found everyone in the ocean beach area to be very friendly and spent much of our time biking and walking in the area.Jerome and Julie are exceptional hosts and made sure are stay was comfortable and fulfilling.we had the best time and met many interesting people. We would highly recommend this ocean beach condo to anyone.thanks again Julie and Jerome, your the best. Terry and Janice
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Oh Thank you Terry and Janice; it was a pleasure being your host for the month. We hope to see you again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Rockville, MD
4

A great San Diego vacation rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is a perfect beach rental in Ocean Beach. The house is very clean and well stocked with all of the little things that you need to enjoy your vacation...from beach towels and sunscreen to a fridge full of condiments if you want to eat at home. We didn't bring our dogs on this trip, but their dog hair came with us on our clothes and we were happy to find a lint roller in the closet :) The location is perfect, only a 1/2 block walk to the beach, but still a quiet and safe beach community. We loved the new OB Pizza Port that is only a few blocks away and looked forward to our beach walks every morning to Newsbreak for breakfast. On the days that we did drive to other neighborhoods, I was happy that we had no problem finding street parking on our block when we returned. This is a great way to enjoy San Diego!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Oh it is so fun to hear that our guests had a great time in our place. Ah yes the lint roller; you can tell we have had furry pets of our own.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Ogden, UT
5

Julie & Jerome's Place Made OB Extra Special

Julie & Jerome's Place Made OB Extra Special
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We just spent a week in this cozy little townhouse and are already talking about doing it again next year. The first thing we noticed was how clean it was. Then we noticed all of the little extras that helped make it feel like we were home. From coffe and condiments in the refrigerator and cupboards, to beach towels, chairs, etc in the closet, this place had it all. Julie and Jerome have done a wonderful job making this a very special place to stay. This was our first time in Ocean Beach and we immediately fell in love with the friendly atmosphere of the neighborhood. We read other reviews that said everything was in walking distance, but we were surprised to find so many restaurants and a wonderful organic food market. We did not drive our car once in the week we were there (except to move it across the street on street sweeping day). Rezzi (our dog) reminded me to tell everyone how much fun she had at the dog beach. I think we had as much fun watching her play in the surf and play with the other dogs as she had. We all had lots of exercise and relaxation. What a great way to spend a week at the beach. Thanks to Julie and Jerome...until next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests had a wonderful stay at our place. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Thanks so much,
Julie & Jerome
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Toronto
4

Great getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I spent a total of 55 days in this rental and loved every moment of it. The pictures are an accurate depiction of the unit which was very clean and well stocked with linens, kitchen utensils, etc.
The area was great as well. I had my two dogs with me and having dog beach just a two minute walk away was a huge bonus. I loved being in Ocean Beach and found everything in the area accessible by foot which really beat having to drive everywhere. I would definitely recommend this rental if you're considering spending time in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you ZK and we hope to see you again sometime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1/2 Block from Beach! Come Play at the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126719vb
(619) 222-5570
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Colorado
4

A way to unplug from the rush of life

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The property really fit the bill. No need to drive..walk or take the bikes for spin downtown for food drink and fun. The owners are awesome very caring about the property and making sure your visit fits your expectations. The courtyard is a way to keep the business of the beach from your early morning coffee or late night wine. I would recommend this place for two people more than that may feel tight. Everything you need is provided.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1