San Rafael cottage rental - Tranquil Guest House Awaits
Tranquil Guest House Awaits
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Rafael Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 3-4

This is a beautiful, 20-sided shingled cottage set on more than an acre of oak trees, with views of the San Francisco Bay through the trees. The property is gated with off-street parking. This unique guest house offers one bedroom with a queen bed, and a full size sofa bed in the living room. Windows in every room look out into the oaks, where you can see deer, squirrels, and occasional rabbits.

The cottage was built with the finest materials, including slate roof with copper gutters, bamboo and slate floors, granite counter tops, tumbled marble shower, and maple cabinets. A deck with glass railing encircles the entire house. There is a full kitchen with refrigerator, gas cook top, True convection oven, and dishwasher. Wireless high speed Internet and cable are included.

The Bay View Cottage is just 2 miles from charming downtown San Rafael, and about the same distance to mountain biking, hiking, and picnicking at China Camp State Park.

Don't feel like cooking?: The neighborhood grocery store is about a 5 minute walk from the cottage, and their deli offers an extensive selection of salads, sandwiches and pizzas, as well as complete gourmet meals. The wine selection is incredible, with wine-tasting every Friday evening.

More Details
Hide Details

53 Reviews of Property 191123 in San Rafael, California

Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
average rating of 4.962264 based on 53 reviews
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
Intervale, NH
4

Beautiful place, but do read the fine print.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First off, let's get a couple of minor complaints out of the way. The yurt is beautiful but compact, lacking amenities that would be helpful for stays longer than our 3 days. Examples: 1 towel rack in the bathroom (over the toilet paper) and none in the kitchen area; little closet space; and no coffee table in the living room area. Also one should read the fine print - we counted on doing our laundry there but there is no washer/dryer in the yurt. The owner graciously allowed us to do our laundry in the main house, otherwise as the listing states "there are laundry facilities in town". Having said all that, would I recommend this place? YES! It's lovely, the design is unique and very beautiful, it is sited on the hillside property to maximize privacy from the main house and provide a view to the harbor. The lighted, curving path down to the yurt and the tree limbs growing through the surrounding deck make the entry almost magical. The location is within easy driving distance to the ocean attractions, and San Rafael itself was lovely. The deer in the yard were very entertaining as well
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

A True Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
There is a reason that this gem is consistently rated 5 stars. This peaceful escape is a refreshing change from the standard boring hotel room. The description and photos of the property were exactly as portrayed. The house is immaculately cared for and was perfectly clean when we arrived. The owner was extremely attentive from the initial booking in May all the way through our departure. As a matter of fact, I briefly mentioned the special occasion for which we were traveling and the owner, Joe, remembered this when we checked in four months later. Even though this is a private owner rental, the service was better than most five star hotels I've frequented.

The roundhouse is hidden in a peaceful area of San Rafael - perfect for our day trips between the wharf of San Francisco and wine country. The location was ideal for our daily trips back and forth. We were thrilled to see the city during the day only to come back to deer prancing around the roundhouse in the evening. Getting to see the deer and other wildlife was such a treat.

My husband and I travel often for both work and pleasure, and we both agreed that this vacation was one of the best ever. This is a perfect getaway for the working professional. The area is quite and the wrap around porch is perfect for enjoying a glass of wine. The owner is attentive, but not intrusive. He was more than willing to offer recommendations in and around the city. There are two nice grocery stores nearby (not within walking distance). You should plan to have a rental car for sure.

The unit was well equipped with what appeared to be brand new appliances. There is a small stove to cook for a quiet evening and a coffee maker, refrigerator, and dishwasher. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of storage in the bedroom for our belongings.

Our busy lifestyle delayed this review, but I definitely wanted to share our positive experience for others to know that they will not go wrong at the round house.

The home has one bedroom, but could easily sleep four with the sofa.

When we come back to CA, we will be staying at the Round House. I'd even be willing to change my travel dates just so I can stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
United States
5

Outstanding stay in San Rafael

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our second stay at the round house in San Rafael and so far the best. The house is so clean and beautiful with everything you need. The owner has put loving touches in the bedroom and bath. The peek a boo view of the marina was nice on a sunny winters day. We were close to all the places we wanted to see. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

Great Place for a Couple to Relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Love Shack is in a great location for anyone visiting San Rafael. It is close to HWY 101, restaurants, San Francisco, Point Reyes and Muir Woods. The property is clean, well provided with linens and kitchen supplies. The owner, Joe, is available is there are any issues (we have stayed twice and have had none). There is wildlife you can watch from the house or sit on the deck and drink your coffee or wine. This roundhouse is unique and a very relaxing environment. We will definitely hope to stay here again.
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

Oh my Gosh.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved the home and surrounding environment so much that we have booked the home for 8 more weeks during this year. The owners are wonderful and the vibe is amazing. You will not be disappointed. Rick and Denise
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
Santa Fe, NM
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I stayed here for one week during a business + pleasure trip and absolutely loved the place. The house is kept in perfect condition, very clean and neat, peaceful and quiet. Zen like in its simplicity and design. Intimate and cozy. Every morning we awoke to tiny footsteps of deer right outside the bedroom window eating bits fallen from the trees outside. This is a truly wonderful private spot surrounded by trees with a small but sweet view of the water in the distance. Joe was fantastic! Very friendly and helpful. Really nice to sit out on the deck in the morning with a cup of tea or coffee. Bathroom is very nice with a beautiful stone/tile shower and marble countertop. Cedar shingles on the outside of the house give that ocean/woods feel. Excellent surround-sound for music built into the walls/ceiling. One minute drive to Andy's Market which has everything you would need and only minutes from Whole Foods and Trader Joe's along with various restaurants (Sol Food is great) in San Rafael. Great middle location for going into San Francisco proper, around and down to Berkeley or Oakland or up north to wine country. We will definitely stay here again when we return. Highly recommended!
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved our stay! The owners were wonderful! The yurt is beautiful! We enjoyed every moment there and hope we can stay there again in the future!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
Fort Myers, FL
5

Fantastic Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Round House is an absolutely perfect stay for us. San Rafael is the perfect pivot point for exploring the city, Napa Valley, Muir Woods/Stinson Beach, really anywhere in the area. We took the ferry from Tiburon to the Ferry Building and back from Pier 41. Loved it. Tiburon is a very short drive from the round house so very convenient.

The house itself is small but very adequate for 1 couple. Its tranquility is amazing! We nicknamed it the "deer camp" as the deer roamed freely and seemed very comfortable there. We woke one morning to deer right out the front door, truly the best!

One thing to note: the kitchen does not have an oven, but has a 2-burner stove top and microwave. We managed just fine.

Coming from the summer heat of Southwest Florida, we loved the weather. Beautiful sunny days and cool refreshing nights.

Thanks Joe for a wonderful stay!
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

Loved, Loved, Loved

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband, 9 year old twins, and I spent four days at the round house. It was absolutely beautiful inside and equipped with everything we needed including videos and a yoga mat. Joe and Mali were very gracious and helpful. The property was very well maintained and very quiet at night. I have already recommended the round house/love shack to my parents and to some friends. We will definitely be back.
business
Beautiful, Secluded Bay View Cottage in the Trees
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191123
+1 415 686-0576
San Rafael The Bay Area
Las Vegas, NV.
5

Can't Wait To Return!!

Can't Wait To Return!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We've rented many places through VRBO. But this one was probably the among the best, and certainly the most unusual! Everything was as described and the owner was very amiable and accommodating. To add to the beauty and serenity of the roundhouse and its surroundings were plenty of excellent classical CD's and even a yoga mat! I absolutely would recommend it and hope we will be able to make a return visit soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway