Sweet Valley house rental - Welcome to Herbies Hideaway
Welcome to Herbies Hideaway
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sweet Valley House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, living room, full bath and kitchen sleeps 8.

Herbies Hideaway, located in Sweet Valley, PA is a beautiful four bedroom home with full kitchen, bath and living room with central heat and air conditioning. It is situated on 70 very private wooded acres overlooking the Huntington Creek. It is ideal for family vacations or fishermen and hunters. You will experience a peaceful and quite atmosphere, no noise, no crowds and no traffic. We are Pet Friendly. This is a Smoke Free Facility. Our kitchen includes refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeepot, toaster, cooking utensils, dishes, silverware, salt/pepper, spices, coffee, sugar and powdered creamer. One bedroom is equipped with a queen bed the other three have double beds and all have a clock, closet or dresser. The only things you need to bring are your own linens, towels and food. Outside you will find a charcoal grill, fire pit, picnic table, swing set and deck. Ricketts Glen State Park is less than 5 miles away. COME AND ENJOY SUMMER IN NORTHEAST PA.

4 Reviews of Property 190773 in Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania

Herbies Hideaway A Unique Getaway Just 4 Miles From Rickett's Glen State Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Herbies Hideaway A Unique Getaway Just 4 Miles From Rickett's Glen State Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190773
570 706-5396
Sweet Valley Northeastern Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
5

Great Vacation at Herbie's!!

Great Vacation at Herbie's!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
My boyfriend and I rented out Herbie's Hideaway for the week of New Years 2008 with a few of our friends. We had an incredible time. We found the cabin to be very spacious, well-kept, and very clean upon our arrival. Marie and Rich made sure that our cabin stay was very comfortable and they were very accommodating. The group of us had a great time-- every afternoon we lit a campfire in one of the fire pits for roasting marshmallows and making s'mores. We cooked dinner outside every night on the grill or the campfire too. During the day we spent time hiking with our dogs in the surrounding woods. We also took a few trips to Glen Ricketts Park to hike on the trails or take in the beautiful view of the waterfall. My boyfriend and I (and our friends) would definitely recommend a stay at Herbie's Hideaway to anyone looking to get away from it all, enjoy nature, and roast a few marshmallows :) It was a great vacation. Marie and Rich are extremely thoughtful and sweet. We would absolutely stay at Herbie's Hideaway again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Herbies Hideaway A Unique Getaway Just 4 Miles From Rickett's Glen State Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190773
570 706-5396
Sweet Valley Northeastern Pennsylvania
Long Island, NY
5

A Tranquil, Refreshing and Secluded Haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
My Husband and I couldn't have stumbled on a more perfect place to recharge ourselves. This house is nestled in the woods for absolute privacy and has a stunning view of Huntington Creek, where we observed several pair of Wood Ducks from the kitchen window every day. Everything is clean and well maintained, and there are books and puzzles in case of a rainy day. All of the rooms, particularly the kitchen and bathroom, are very spacious, and Marie and Rich have thoughtfully included many modern amenities. After our long days of hiking we really enjoyed coming back to the house to enjoy the scenery and the tranquility in comfort.
As secluded as Herbie's Hideaway is, it is located a very short distance from the gorgeous Ricketts Glen State Park, and centrally located to other hiking destinations, such as World's End and Nescopeck State Park. If Antiques are your thing, the Mountain View Barn Antique Shop is also very close.
We highly recommend Herbie's Hideaway, and will definitely be looking forward to returning. Marie and Rich are most gracious hosts, and see to it that all your needs are met. It is very rare to find such a wonderful treasure without spending a fortune!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Herbies Hideaway A Unique Getaway Just 4 Miles From Rickett's Glen State Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190773
570 706-5396
Sweet Valley Northeastern Pennsylvania
Bridgeport, IL
5

A Little Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Our family of 6 recently stayed at Herbie's Hideaway for 3 nights. We did not want to go home! We were looking to get away from it all, and that is exactly what Herbie's Hideaway gives you!

As soon as we arrived, all of our stress melted away. The sounds of the creek are so relaxing... the only thing missing was a hammock! ;o) The creek is very accessible... no steep hike to get to it! We opened all of the windows and enjoyed the sounds of the rushing creek from almost every room in the house!

There was no TV... Yeah! There was so much to do... books to read, cards, board games AND outdoor games to play, puzzles to put together. They even had crayons, beginner reader books, etc... for the younger ones! We hiked, played in the creek, and visited Rickett's Glen State Park. The scenery is beautiful. We went swimming in the lake on top of the mountain at Rickett's Glen. We played on the beach, soaked in the sunshine... Can we stay here forever? ;o) We had more to do than there was time for!

We thoroughly enjoyed cooking over an open campfire every night. There is a grill too. We loved eating out on the picnic table and unwinding on the deck... all it needed was a hot tub! ;o)

Rich and Marie are so nice, friendly, and accomodating. You can't ask for better people! Super!

When we come back, our biggest need for a longer stay, will be a washer/dryer. After all, there are 6 of us! ;o)

We highly recommend Hebie's Hideaway. There's so much to do outside of Herbie's too. We simply did not have enough time to do it all. This is a great location to get away to, and also to enjoy the many various activities nearby. There is an amusement park, etc... The price, location, and hospitality is unbeatable!

Thanks Rich & Marie! You're going to be busy, busy, busy once the word gets out about Hebie's Hideaway! May God continue to bless you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Herbies Hideaway A Unique Getaway Just 4 Miles From Rickett's Glen State Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190773
570 706-5396
Sweet Valley Northeastern Pennsylvania
New Holland PA
5

A great place to get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Recently my girlfriend and I stayed at Herbies and had a great time. It was a great place to get away from it all but still enjoy the comforts of home. It is peaceful, quiet, and the owners thought about just about everything and were always happy to help.

Herbies is very close to Ricket's Glenn state park, which is a beautiful place to hike and see waterfalls, and is also located fairly close to a number of other attractions such as Knobles amusement park.

I highly recommend a stay a Herbies, we may very well be back ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7