Kapahi cottage rental - Hale Mala Pua. Our little slice of paradise ~
Hale Mala Pua. Our little slice of paradise ~
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kapahi Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible couch in living area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Welcome to our Charming 1 acre Property with cottage . If you love the country and privacy, Kapahi is for you, complete with down home hospitality.

We're minutes away from Gorgeous Beaches, quaint Kapaa town and sweet Mom and Pop boutiques of all kinds. We are half way between the North and South shores making trips easy. Your Sweet Private Cottage has all the makings of old Hawaii.

The entryway has been stamped with local ferns and palms. Around the corner is your private custom lanai, complete with hot outdoor shower, jetted tub, teak table and chairs, lounge chair and outdoor gas barbecue on beautiful farm raised ipe wood decking.

We do as the Hawaiian's do and leave our shoes in a little cubby outside by the door. It is a wonderful custom, both respectful of the home and helps to keep the outside where it belongs. Come relax, in your home away from home.

This lovely custom home has bamboo floors through out. The kitchen has bamboo, cabinetry, counters and a pantry filled with complementary items and all the gourmet needs for fine cooking. An antique table seats 4. A plantation style sofa bed makes for a comfortable living space along with a matching bamboo chair, ottoman, Flat screen TV & Board Games.

Your bedroom has a queen size bed, teak armoire, love seat, night stand, dresser and lovely local hawaiian art work.

Your bathroom shower has a river rock floor & imported green slate walls. The early morning sun bathes the slate in gorgeos warm colors.

For your pleasure and relaxation, a massage table is available.

Off the kitchen, you'll find a shared Energy Star front loading washer & dryer. Using only organic suds that are provided for your use ~~

We have made every effort for our home to be ~~GREEN!!!~~ When building we used NO VOC paints & renewable bamboo flooring throughout. We used diatomaceous earth under the floor boards to help control pests. Only natural cleaning products are used to clean our home and these are available for your use. They include laundry soap, dishwashing liquid, organic cleaners, hand soap & natural toilet paper. Your table is set to use cloth napkins with bamboo placemats. Your bed linens are 100% organic as well as your bath towels. We provide these for your safety, as well as our planet. Our organic fruit trees and vegetable garden can be used during your stay when available. We recycle, compost and offer clean delicious filtered water from our Whole House Purfier.

This is a fragrance and smoke free home. Natural botanical's are fine. Please be sure to have your items completely free of these substances before your arrival.

You will love the many organic fruit trees including: coconut, avocado, sour sop, lime, papaya's, banana, surinam cherry, mango, orange, lemon,mt apple & noni, depending upon season. A hammock is available farther down the rolling lawn under 2 shady mango trees, where you can listen to the song of the river and waterfall, below the property. For the adventurous there is access to this beautiful secluded waterfall nestled between state land, where you can take the plunge into its remote pool. Numerous hiking trails nearby off our country roads that lead to more private pools & waterfalls.

*Please note* Living in the country, you may come into contact with mosquitoes and ants. We have a mosquito net and organic spray that work for most people.

Ants are attracted to food left out, sugar and water. We use a safe way to keep them away as best as we can*

We have adult and childrens bikes to explore nearby beaches and trails. Pack a picnic and you're off to see beautiful Kaua'i up close and personal !

Available for your use are Surf boards, Kayaks, Boogie Boards, Snorkel gear,Bikes,beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, Picnic supplies, badmitten, croquet and LOTS more. We also have a fire pit, which is great for relaxing by the warmth of the fire & listening to the cricket serenade!

Many spas are nearby. Indulge yourself in a facial, lomi lomi or salt scrub massage, acupuncture or a yoga class on the beach ! We are surrounded by some of the greatest healers in the world ! Many therapists will even make house calls!

We have two precious golden retrievers, 5 cats and a pet feral piggy . They all live happily outside. If you love dogs as we do, you are welcome to take them on a nearby hike. If you bring a stick or ball, you'll be friends for life!

*****

Reservations/Deposit/Payments:

A $200 (non-refundable) deposit (refunds after departure from cottage) is due at time of reservation at Hale Mala Pua, along with a $49 Property damage protection fee that protects the property up to $1500 during your stay. The balance of the rental fee, cleaning fee and taxes are due in full, 90 days prior to check in. Your security deposit will be returned within 2-3 days after departure.. If you plan to stay 10 nights or more, we ask for 50% down on the total, at time of booking. Rates based on 2 person occupancy. Add $10 per night/per person.Holiday fees apply, please inquire.

*****.

Taxes:

All rates are subject to a Hawaii Excise and Accommodations Tax

of 13.42%. (4.167% Hawaii Excise Tax AND (9.25% Hawaii transient accommodations tax).

*****

Cancellation Policy:

The $200 deposit required to reserve Hale Mala Pul is non-refundable should you need to cancel for any reason. Cancelations made less than 60 days prior to arrival date will be refunded less the security deposit IF we are able to re-book the accommodation. The $49 Property damage protection fee will be returned as long as you haven't arrived here at Hale Mala Pua. This will be returned directly to you by the insurance company.

*********

Mahalo for your interest in our sweet home away from home...

We know you'll bring back lots of great memories & will want to return again & again!

Keywords: Cottage, Homestay,Country,Private,Organic,

Garden, Fruit Trees, Animals,Farm

More Details
Hide Details

101 Reviews of Property 173304 in Kapahi, Hawaii

Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
average rating of 4.967033 based on 101 reviews
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
Bozeman, MT
5

TRULY AMAZING IN EVERY WAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I stayed at Hale Mala Pua for our honeymoon. It is SO absolutely gorgeous! As much as I rant and rave about this homestay it won't do any justice until you have stayed here! Hale Mala Pua was absolutely wonderful and romantic! My wife especially loved the jetted jacuzzi tub with all the bubbles! It was a perfect place to come home too after a day of going on adventures around Kaua'i! Hale Mala Pua was very clean and very private. The only time we saw Holly and Rick is when we actually sought them out to ask a question. My wife and I actually wish we could have seen Rick and Holly more as they are such lovely people! Truly, our lives are richer now knowing Holly and Rick and all the animals! We wish we could have stayed one more night just to take Rick up on his offer to have a bonfire and chat more! Rick and Holly have so much knowledge about the island and so much love for each of their guests! This love, kindness and respect shows itself throughout your stay and will definitely make an impact on you when you leave, leaving you feeling more enriched and blessed for having these amazing people in your life!
Hale Mala Pua was in an amazing location as well. We were only 10 minutes tops to the closest beach and the sports shack was such an amazing thing to have. I cannot tell you how much we saved not having to rent outdoor equipment for our activities! Such a huge bonus for anyone hoping to experience Kauai to the fullest!!!! The grounds are absolutely beautiful as well! It is so much more lush now, than the photos I am seeing while typing this review! SO BEAUTIFUL! Having the garden's was absolutely amazing too! I think we made orange juice every other day! SO GOOD! We could write pages and pages about how excellent our stay was at Hale Mala Pua! If you are considering vacationing in Kauai (for whatever reason) your search for a place to stay has ended! Don't hesitate and call Holly and Rick! You will not be disappointed in Hale Mala Pua!
Holly and Rick, we cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful honeymoon! We will recommend Hale Mala Pua to anyone and everyone who wants to vacation in Kauai. We will definitely be coming back (hopefully in the near future). We have felt like we have made lifelong friends and we cannot wait until we can see you and the animals again.

Much love and blessings to you all!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
5

Cozy cabin with awesome landlords

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The Hale Mala Pua is an outstanding place to stay. You won`t be disappointed by the amenities and with the people leaving there.

We where greeted like if we were long time friends and they kept looking after us all week to make sure we were having a good time. Giving advice on where to go, what to go, where to eat, name it. You have so much more for your buck than staying in a condo/resort.

The place is loaded with high end features. Slate custom made shower, bamboo floor, bamboo counter, gas fired range, jetted outside tub, high end sink & faucet, ceiling fans, 1000$ mattress, coffee grinder, drawers in the bottom kitchen cabinet to slide the cooking tools out without effort and even chock absorber on the cabinet door hinges. (I`m shopping for those so I can add them in my kitchen right now!). Also outfitted with dimer on lighting and fans. You don't see these things in an hotel. The owner is a general contractor and it shows that he built the place like if he would live in it. Just like Jurassic Park, they didn`t spare the expenses.

Moreover, we had access to the mud room that has a gas fired dryer and front load wash machine. Here you go, you are covered. You can go every day to the beach with your pair of teenagers and dry those towels when it rain at night and pack light luggage because you can wash your clothes in the middle of the trip.

That was a complete stress relief therapy to stay with Holly and Rick and we got to understand what was Aloha about. We look forward to go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
Manitoba, Canada
4

Lovely escape from winter!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We certainly enjoyed our 3 week stay at Hale Mala Pua! We arrived late in the evening but Holly greeted us warmly and had the place filled with gorgeous flowers, fresh fruit, candles and lovely music - a very welcoming atmosphere after a long travel day. The place was very clean, nicely decorated and filled with little "extras" such as condiments and staples in the fridge and cupboards, lots of bath and beach towels and extra bedding for the few days we had overnight guests. We enjoyed the private lanai with a great outdoor shower and jet tub. The grounds are lovely, the surrounding rainforest is stunning and we certainly loved the walk down to the nearby waterfall. One thing that had attracted us to stay there was the Sportshack filled with snorkel gear, boogie boards, and everything you would need for the beach which was wonderful and for our exclusive use. Thanks Holly and Rick for sharing your gorgeous place with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
Victoria BC
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our time at Hale Male Pua was fantastic. The cottage is perfect for a couple to retreat to after a busy day exploring the island. Everything we needed was there: the deck and jacuzzi tub is lovely, the bed is comfortable...not to mention the thoughtful touches with the decor throughout the cottage. The grounds are gorgeous and having fruit to pick from the trees was such a bonus. The sports shack was so nice - we had flippers, boogie boards, etc. to use at the beach without needing to bother with rentals. The location being on the east side was perfect- it was easy to travel north or south on any given day. Holly and Rick are wonderful hosts. We came to Kauai to get married and honeymoon, and Hale Mala Pua was the perfect place for us. We are so glad we chose this place to stay and are looking forward to coming to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
Red Deer Alberta Canada
5

MCS Friendly & Everything You need Included

MCS Friendly & Everything You need Included
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is the second time for staying at this cottage. Hard to say what my favorite thing about it is from the chlorine free jetted tub on the private lanai, smoke and fragrance free environment, eating fresh organic papayas and avocados from their orchard to sleeping in organic bedding in a super comfy bed. You can pack light as there are washer, dryer, beach bags, towels, snorkel gear, beach chairs, umbrellas etc. all provided.The kitchen is well stocked, great bbq on deck and lots of coolers, ice packs, Tupperware containers etc. to pack up lunches. There is a 24/7 Safeway in Kapaa before driving up to the house but don't buy any condiments as other guests have left lots to sample and just leave your new finds when you leave for others to do the same. We found we liked Poipu Beach best for swimming and snorkeling and the Country Kitchen has a great breakfast with the freshest ingredients and decent price. There is a Pizza buffet at Brick Oven Pizza on Thursday nights and the local markets are wonderful too. We love the location of this place, the hospitality of the hosts and the feeling of really getting away and relaxing. You can travel all around the Island having different adventures and then return to this piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
5

Exceeded Our Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The pictures do not do this charming cottage justice. It is a lovely well done private cottage. Holly and Rick were most hospitable and always available whenever needed and full of information. We loved the outdoor shower and relaxing in the jacuzzi after a long day of adventure. Being able to pick our own fresh fruit off the trees and Rick's upside down pineapple cake were a huge added bonus. The location of this cottage in the tropical forest of Kauai really was magical and is the perfect place for a romantic holiday. So many great personal touches! We would highly recommend this to anyone for their holiday and we hope to return soon! Thanks Holly and Rick for such a great holiday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
From the first voicemail Holly left, my husband and I knew we had to stay at their place, we could tell that they both have such a big heart and go above and beyond to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. Hale Mala Pua was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon/one year wedding anniversary. In the mornings, we loved making juice and smoothies using fresh organic fruit and spent our afternoons utilizing some of the equipment from the great sports shack that had a little bit of everything. We particularly liked the outdoor spa tub on our private lanai and our favourite cat Fluffy, who often joined us out there. We even enjoyed a campfire one night - a wonderful way to spend some time under the stars. The home is in the perfect location, making it easy for us to take day trips to both sides of the Island. Furthermore, it is close to a town that offers lots of tasty restaurants, cute shops, farmers markets and lets not forget the beach. The home is very clean and quiet plus has comfortable sheets and blankets for a good nights sleep. We loved everything about our stay and highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking to have an amazing time in Kaua’i.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
Hamilton, Montana
5

Truly paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I surprised my husband with a week here to celebrate his retirement. A lifelong Rocky Mountain cold weather guy, he was skeptical, but we both absolutely fell in love with this place! It felt so much like our own home, not like a hotel or resort. The bed was comfy, and while the noise of the roosters was a bit or a surprise, it became part of the quirky charm of this lovely island. We set out every day loaded down with beach chairs, coolers, snorkels and fins and mats from the sports hut. We loved having breakfast in our room while we planned the day using the guidebooks provided in the unit. We shopped at the many farmers markets, and found some wonderful food.

We spent our days driving from one part of the island to another, hiking, snorkeling, boat rides, and it was lovely to come "home" to our own place instead of a hotel lobby. It's in the mountains so if you would miss being right on the beach, this isn't for you, but Kauai is small - it's only 5 minutes away from the beach and we loved the quiet lush tropical environment. It reminded me of my days living in Kaneohe and Kalihi while a student at UM in the 70s. I expected bugs but they weren't bad at all. There is some traffic noise in the morning -- it's right off of a well-used road. Still, we took great pleasure in sending a photo of us enjoying a breakfast of fresh papaya on the lanai in our shorts and sending it to coworkers in Montana who were enduring below zero temperatures and gray skies.

Holly and Rick were delightful, helpful when we wanted help, and absent when we didn't. There is a notebook of restaurant menus, services and shops in the unit and they will recommend beaches, restaurants and other activities. We're already talking about when we can go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
5

positive energy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had 5 lovely days and nights of comfy bed, starlit sudsy baths, enjoying feline visitors, swimming in the stream, and day trips to sundry spots of wild beauty and serene shores. I would highly recommend the cottage to all who appreciate being off the beaten path and yet close enough to enjoy it's positives. The cottage is lovingly cared for in every way and is evidenced by the creatively placed flowers, the organic soaps, welcome basket and the gentle way that the owner treats the earth. Those who live lives that take care of the earth and love it's diversity will surely be blessed during their stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 1 Acre W/Charming Homestay by Waterfall Sleeps (2-4)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173304vbi
+1 8086517217
Kapahi Kauai
Eugene, OR
5

Awesome Homestay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent a week with Holly and Rick at their homestay cottage in Kapahi. The description and amenities were understated and actually, much nicer. The space was small but well designed, most comfortable for one or two people, and exceptionally clean and comfortable. Both Holly and Rick were very welcoming and full of helpful hints to assure an enjoyable visit to Kauai. We loved the outdoor whirlpool tub for relaxing soaks in the evenings! We had complete privacy but no lack of communication with the owners. We didn't take advantage of all the sports equipment they offer to guests, but it looked like an incredible array of water sports and hiking apparatus which one doesn't usually bring on the airplane. Loads of good books to read about local places to check out for excellent snorkeling, waterfall hikes, best tours, and places to eat. Holly and Rick have put a lot of thought and effort into their rental and I would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1